Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grange Farm Brighstone Bay

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Brighstone > Grange Farm Brighstone Bay Reviews

Grange Farm Brighstone Bay
Grange Chine
Military Road
Brighstone
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO30 4DA
Tel: 01983 740296
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 91 Reviews
                9/10 from 91 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Shadwo180886adu 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with good facilities right on the coastal path - handy for Brighstone village with its pub, shop, newsagent and cafe and the number 12 bus to The Needles and Newport. Great beach with easy access.

Good pitches. The site is dog friendly but unfortunately not everyone with a dog picked up their dog's poo. There was no hot water in the toilet block in Field 1 but plenty in the wash up and the showers in the main block. A good play area for children.

A well stocked on site shop. Very friendly and helpful staff.

A bit on the expensive side, but we're used to French sites that are cheaper than UK sites. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Annafa113976qaw 1 review from this member

 Grange Farm did not disappoint. Friendly welcome.

Facilities good. Beach was lovely (steep climb home kept us fit). Farm animals regularly kept the younger ones occupied.

And do believe Dave when he says the pitches with the view also result in the pitches struggling with the wind !

We had no need to go over to the other coast. The less commercial side of IoW gave us everything we needed.

Thank you Grange Farm. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 43 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to this wonderful site. Coronavirus measures are sensible but fairly unobtrusive. Facilities are fogged and deep cleaned several times a day (though not all the cleaners do behind the doors). Alternate urinals are taped off to help maintain distancing. There's a big perspex screen along the counter of the site shop, and hand sanitiser at usefully strategic points. The children's play area is closed. A fine new toilet block opened whilst we were there. People were mostly sensible about not crowding, but I think the excitement and "ordinariness" of being on holiday did make some forget.

We visited a few old NT/EH favourites including Carisbrooke castle and the Needles Old Battery, but not much inside space was open. Bodyboarding at Compton Bay was a hit, as was the Needles chairlift and boat ride out to the lighthouse.

The weather obliged with Grange Farm's traditional howling winds, also providing some beautifully clear nights - Neowise was visible with the naked eye - wonderful after so many months with only a "London selection" of stars.

As ever we met plenty of really civil other campers and there was lots of interest on site. The pleasant walk through the fields to Brighstone passes the village play park, which is open. Freshwater CoOp is still good, as is the WightWood pizza van (book by phone before 4pm Tuesday for Weds evening pizza-fest).

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moragb46084pwa 1 review from this member

 What a fabulous site, welcoming staff on arrival. Great pitches overlooking the sea with fantastic views over the sea in the day and wonderful sunsets at night.

Convenient location to explore the Island. Brilliant walks along the cliff tops.

Facilities are plentiful with lots of hot water, in showers & dishwashing areas as well as family bathroom if needed.

Great site and will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michae34024quj 1 review from this member

 Grange Farm, even we stayed only one night was perfect for us. The views are amazing, sunrise rise and sunset perfect. Shower blocks recently renovated and were very clean. Lovely coastal path walks, one to village. Beautiful.

Lastly staff were so welcoming and friendly with a great little shop where you can order freshly baked croissants and baguettes for the morning.

The beach is 2 minutes and was ideal for dogs.

Thank you

(Welsh) Lisa and Michael 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ericbetty 1 review from this member

 Stayed at Grange Farm for 7 nights in August 2019

Site location and views fantastic

Toilets were dirty, 5 menís toilets for a large site and one was closed while we stayed there

Showers were no better, dirty water from other shower uses on the floor. Donít forget your flip flops

On the camping field there was a wooden port a cabin style toilet wit one ladies and one menís toile, the pot wash out side these were filthy and blocked most of the time

While we were there we had bad winds, up to 80mph gusts, we took our sons tent down

In the night it got a bit rough so we decided to take our air awning down at 2. 00 am

Others on the site were also doing the same, the owners were no were about to help

There were people with young kids were could of done with a bit of help

Lovely place, great location, kids seemed to enjoy it

Just needs some care and a bit of money spending on the facilities 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: VDubGirls 1 review from this member

 First time of staying here and we would reiterate the other reviews. We have camped for several years now but this is the first time I have ever written a review! We loved this site. It is quiet and relaxed, although there is a children's play area and animals, it was never too noisy. You can choose your pitch on arrival and move if you feel there is something better! We did move as we experienced all weathers at this site. Couldn't put up our awning for the first two nights as there were 50mph winds and there is very little shelter on the site. It has stunning views and you can be extremely close to the cliff edge if you wish, but beware, we saw people lose their tents as their poles weren't strong enough! When the weather is good, the winds were still around and can be quite powerful. Would reiterate the strong pegs, guy ropes and other methods of tethering down tents as commented on by other reviewers! We used all of our storm straps that we have not used before, but left the site after 13 happy nights.

Shop is very well stocked - we visited every morning for the fresh croissants, pain au chocolat etc which were amazing. Also for the first time, we used the on site caterers- curries, fish and chips, pizza and burger that alternate throughout the week, alongside the coffee man that visits in the morning. We did not try the pizza or burgers, but heard good reviews from other campers. The others we tried. Several times! Personally I loved the coffee hut and visited every day and wouldn't class myself as a big coffee drinker. Everyone was just so friendly.

The staff couldn't do enough - info on weather, cycle routes, things to do was never too much trouble and the site rules were adhered to by all, without any fuss. No music, quiet after 10pm (very important to us!) and dogs on leads. Beach is a very short walk and was sandy most of the time (tide allowing) meaning you could walk a good distance and come back via the coastal path with runs next to the site. Good pubs we found were the Sun Inn, Hulverston and Crown Inn, Shorwell (amazing Sunday roasts!) as well as some recommended to us, but we didn't visit. Nice chatting to people on the site- all very friendly.

If you want a site for sea views, relaxing times, happy campers all round, we think this is a good bet. It's not the cheapest by any stretch, also facilities aren't up to the high standard of some campsites we have stayed in, but there's something about this site we loved. (Found staff to be extremely helpful in the shop and around the site, especially in the bad weather) Just don't forget to bring waterproofs, warm clothing and plenty of tent pegs. Even in August! We will be back! Thank you Grange Farm! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 43 reviews from this member

 We had another superb stay at Grange Farm (see previous review from July 2016). Once again the weather did not disappoint, with very strong winds, heavy rain and hot sun testing our aged airbeams to the limit and very nearly beyond it. I've said it before, but bring more rock pegs than you think you can possibly need, and then buy a couple of packs of the 9' nail pegs they sell at the shop. You will also need a hefty claw hammer because the ground is unbelievably hard: our hitherto trusty mallet snapped like a fresh courgette.

The re-vamped facilities are an improvement, but only a cosmetic one apart from the new bath. All the facilities were in need of a good, deep clean. We used the laundry this time round and it was pretty effective on the hot wash - I can recommend the middle washing machine and the top left dryer.

As the weather improved, the site filled up with joy-filled families, tourers, goths, Dutch 'pro' campers, German students etc etc. It was full of life and interest (I'd never seen a Karsten in the flesh, but there were two here) and the most pleasingly social camping trip I've experienced. We had some wonderful sunsets and there would be quite a gathering at the cliff top to enjoy watching the sun going down. The night skies were excellent too, with very little light pollution.

The beach was good this year too, with far less 'winter shingle' and much more sand exposed. Grange Farm is in a wonderful area, far less built up than the more popular eastern side of the island.

The staff continue to be very helpful and the street food from visiting vans remains popular.

I managed to trip the EHU at the bollard whilst drawing less than 3kw, so probably best treat it as a 10A supply.

To sum up, it's not a perfect site, but we did have as nearly perfect a holiday as we could possibly have hoped for. Well done Grange Farm; I suspect we'll be seeing you next summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gazbudge 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic clean site, the large tent area was unfortunately closed but we were sited on a good part, only 2 minor drawbacks

1, like other sites the pitch wasn't clearly marked.

2, the ground was rock hard and we ended breaking a lot of our pegs.

Overall a good holiday and great site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ShazSpen70 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, friendly staff, beautiful views. Beach is down a slope, then onto quite big stones, there are some sandy patches and okay for dogs. The shop had everything you could need including warm Danish pastries for your breakfast, delicious! Only gripe I have is that I emailed the site to book on and they emailed me back to inform me we didn't have to book for one night, we arrived when we said we would to be told they had no record of us booking! I showed them the emails I had received from them, they were very good as they wasn't busy. So even if you're only going for one night make sure you have it confirmed! The site is a little isolated, but žt does have everything you need. Showers are a bit small but everything was spotlessly clean. 


Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grange Farm Brighstone Bay child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grange Farm Brighstone Bay?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Grange Farm Brighstone Bay dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brighstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1872 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement