Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tyn Yr Onnen Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Tyn Yr Onnen Farm Reviews

Tyn Yr Onnen Farm
Waunfawr
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4AX
Tel: 01286 650281
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lianne1978 8 reviews from this member

Out first trip out in our new (to us) campervan - 3 nights over Easter 2018 at Tyn-Yr-Onnen.

The road in is a narrow single track but does have passing places.

We were greeted on arrival by a very friendly Len the farmer who explained where everything was and showed us to our pitch.

There are 2 shower/toilet blocks both which are modern and clean and lots of hot water (one block also has a family shower room). There are only 2 showers in each of the toilet blocks and I can imagine it getting a bit busy in peak season. The only minor negative I can say about the whole site and our stay is that there is no coin operated hairdryer or a plug for your own hairdryer in either of the toilet blocks.

There is also a utility room for washing up which also has laundry facilities and A TV room with pool table and table tennis (which we didn't use but seemed popular with teenagers).

There is a good sized play park for the children which our 2 loved. It is right next to the utility room so they could play while we werehed the dishes and the park is also next to the donkey field.

On our first morning, we bumped into Len the farmer at the shower block who informed us that he was about to feed a couple of lambs that were being bottle fed and would we like to help. My 2 boys were absolutely thrilled to help and they fed one lamb each. Considering it was the middle of a cold and wet lambing season and they were a farm-hand short, the staff had lots of time for us. Then Len showed us the pigs and piglets and the chickens - my 2 boys were given an egg each for breakfast. The staff on the farm and campsite were so friendly and helpful and they have a shop on site selling essentials as well as local product from the farm and other local farms.

The weather was not great over Easter but we still had a lovely time. We has a lovely afternoon walking in Beddgelert where we ate out, we also had a trip into Caernarvon Castle, both which are only short drives away. On out last morning we stopped for a walk around Parc Dudley - a local nature reserve about a mile from the site which was a nice short circular walk.

There is a pub (also serves food) which is about just under a mile from the site - we didn't walk it as the weather was not great but we did speak to others on the site who has walked there.

We will definitely be returning in the summer.

They have a couple of static caravans and cabins that they hire out which we are contemplating for my in laws to join us camping over the summer.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Lynchster 3 reviews from this member

This is a fabulous campsite. We recieved a very pleasant welcome from the site owner and were shown where all facilities were and had a choice of areas to camp. We chose the 3rd field as we could have a fire and electric hook up. Fire baskets are mandatory to protect the grass and to provide campers with more options to pitch - no having to pitch the tent over someone else's ashes! These can be rented from the office and seasoned logs can be purchased at 4 a bag (very reasonable).

Showers are amazing! Always with hot water, no button pushing required and they are free of charge so no need to carry a ridiculous amount of change. These were spotless. Exactly what you need after a hike up Snowdon via the Watkin Path!

There are washing up facilities on site which again, were very clean, along with a washing machine and tumble drier (additional cost but minimal) should you need to wash or rather dry your kit after a day on the hills.

There is a small shop on site which carries the essentials. As this is a working farm, local produce can be purchased (eggs, bacon etc. ) but I would recommend letting them know in advance if you want this daily as it's so tasty, it gets snapped up quick. If you want a real treat, ask to buy their locally produced Rib-Eye steak. SIMPLY AMAZING! (we brought some home). Tesco, Morrisons etc. Are a 10 minute drive into Caernarfon.

This site is ideal for exploring the national park and has fantastic views of the local hills (the elephant being the main one). The approach road is a narrow single track but has passing places.

We don't have children but there were adequate facilities and our friends brought carrots in advance to feed the donkeys (food can be purchased for them on site at 20p!).

We got to meet a week old lamb courtesy of one of the young ladies from the farm and were invaded by a mother and child who had escaped from another field (these were no trouble). This resulted in us getting to see the sheepdogs in action which was really cool.

We absolutely loved this place and will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Speedy666 1 review from this member

Our first camping trip in our 22 yr Old campervan and all went well apart from the weather.

Shower and toilet blocks clean as long as the 2 girl terrors hadn't been in throwing toilet roll all over like steamers ( some parents have no control). Lovely view from site over the hills and numerous people having bbqs and campfires really added to atmosphere late at night.

Be warned some websites say pub is local but in reality its a mile walk mainly on unlit single track road but decent pub when you get there.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heather38 1 review from this member

We've just had a 6 night stay here and we had a lovely time.

The site is a mixture of tents and vans, over 3 fields.

There are 2 shower blocks, one is older and a bit grubbier but they were cleaned daily and the showers were hot and free.

We were in the bottom field which is on a slope but you can have an open fire which was great. They sell bags of wood in the office for 4.

The playground and TV room were well used by our children and they made lots of new friends. They also enjoyed the animals and there were sheep and chickens wondering about amongst the tents.

Beware the lane to the campsite is very narrow and twisty so keep your speed down and you may need to reverse to a Passing place

There is no shop locally so you need to go into Caernarfon to buy essentials, there is a Morrisons, asda and Tesco so lots of choice.

Our trip was spoilt by a large group arriving on the Friday and setting up what can only be described as a small village, they had a huge fire and were playing loud music until well after 11pm. We did complain but nothing was done and it happened the next night again.

We probably won't return because of this, which is a pity as its only 2 hours from home so ideal for short breaks

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CaraLouise 1 review from this member

We had a fantastic few days at this campsite. We were specifically looking for a site where you could have campfires and have electric hook up (which narrowed things down rather a lot) I was very pleased to have found this site. Beautiful surroundings, relaxed atmosphere(the farm dog who wonders round camp is a real sweetie!), very reasonably priced and the best camping showers (which were also free) I have ever had the pleasure of! Boiling hot and no stupid button to push every 30 secs! Very welcome after a walk up Snowdon!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scrunchkins 19 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a 4 night break at Tyn Yr Onnen. We had originally booked and paid for 5 nights but decided to head home early as the peaceful, tranquil site was ruined when a large family group descended for the weekend. The adults were shouting loudly and their young children were playing out until well after midnight.

The site is situated within the beautiful Snowdonia National park with stunning views of Elephant mountain. The approach to the site is down a very narrow winding single track lane which can be challenging when meeting other vehicles. The Welsh Highland Railway stops in nearby Waunfawr, next to a lovely pub serving good reasonably priced food.

The facilities on the site include a utility room containing washing up facilities, communal fridge and a washing machine and tumble drier. There are 2 shower blocks, one old and one new. The old one is a bit tired and grubby looking but the newer one is lovely. There is also a children's play area, pool room and tv room, although we didn't use the pool and tv rooms so I can't comment on what they were like.

The site contains quite a lot of seasonal vans and the only available electric pitch was on the same field as the seasonal vans and there didn't seem to be many other hookups for tents. Midges were a bit of a problem so insect repellant is a must. A lot of the pitches were sloping which did cause us a bit of a problem, especially when cooking and eating.

The sheep from the farm regularly find their way onto the camping fields. There is also an old sheepdog that wanders around the site leaving its mark on tents and awnings. Lastly there is a very cute black cat which becomes less cute when it is miaowing outside our tent wanting to come in at 1am in the morning.

All in all, a lovely site in a beautiful setting. We probably would return but would definitely avoid weekends.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lea2201 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at Tyn Ty Onnen.

This was a first trip for us with our children aged 2, 5 and 10.

The site is great and the area absolutely stunning! Its so nice to wake up to the view of mountains around you.

There are quite a few seasonal pitches with caravans on - the owners are all very friendly and the children all play together and leave nobody out.

The facilities are great - everything you could possibly need!

- Toilets/showers: there is an old block and a new block. Both are very clean and functional.

- Utility Room: the washing up facilities are indoors, there is a fridge freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer.

- TV room: plenty of seating, a freeview box/tv, books and board games/puzzles to use.

- Table tennis and pool table

- Children's playground: swings, slide, climbing frame, roundabout, see-saw, sandpit

There are a selection of fields to choose from - we chose to pitch in the bottom field by the stream as this is the field where open fires are allowed. There are areas where people have had fires previously but you are able to make your own fire should you choose to do so.

The stream provided lots of fun for our children - there are trees to climb etc, a tree swing was made by all the children and hours of fun was had.

The farm is a working sheep farm so you can hear constant noise from the sheep/lambs but this doesn't cause a problem. Some cheeky sheep escape from their fields on a daily basis and they like to mingle with the campers :-)As did a sheep dog from a neighbouring farm.

There are also pigs, lamas, donkeys, chickens/rooster and peacocks. The farmer doesn't mind you looking around the grounds at the animals so long as you respect the work that is being done etc.

The campsite feels very remote and tranquil however, it is only 5-10 mins drive out of Caernarfon where there are ample shops, supermarkets and attractions.

We went crabbing along the harbour and caught lots and lots! There are crabbing kits available from the local shops if needed. Boats trips are also available from the harbour.

In summary, this is a lovely site that we are so happy we found. We shall be returning very soon and I'm sure time and time again after.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: North Wales Campers 1 review from this member

Lovely stay over the bank holiday weekend!

Mixed weather, but we had a really sunny Saturday which allowed us to take advantage of this camp site's beautiful location. We chose to follow the footpath over the top of the valley to Llanberis a lovely walk recommended to us by the owners which the whole family enjoyed.

The facilities at this site are very clean and well maintained, the owners have upgraded the toilet block for the 2012 season with good sized free hot showers. The children enjoyed playing on the playground and we all enjoyed marshmallows on the campfire. Having read other reviews I was pleased to see the tumble dryer fixed and it was handy to have access to the communal fridge and freezer. The kids enjoyed feeding the donkeys and chickens and collecting peacock feathers. Handy to have a tv room as somewhere for the kids when it was raining but other than the table tennis table it was basic.

A brilliant stay the whole family enjoyed at this relaxed friendly campsite.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fay Fife 14 reviews from this member

We spent eight nights at Tyn Yr Onnen on the wettest camping holiday we have ever been on. And that's saying something because we've done a few. It wasn't cold however, and with Snowdonia being breathtaking in any conditions, coupled with the fact that there is loads to see and do there. The holiday was still a resounding success.

Tyn Yr Onnen is a hilly site in a lovely secluded location, just 10 minutes by car to Caernarfon. Handy for supplies. And the castle there is fantastic!

As it is pitch-where-you-like, don't be tempted to pitch your tent on the flat strip down at the bottom of the site, as we were. After two days of rain it became a marsh and we had to move to a slopier but drier site uphill. That strip is great for caravans but not tents. If you inspect the camping fields thoroughly you will find flattish pitches here and there. The views from the site are wonderful.

The owner and manager were very pleasant, helpful and relaxed. They allow campfires (yay!) and will sell you a big bag of great logs with a kindling kit that works like a dream, for 4.

The facilities were basic but clean, and we made great use of the games room and tv lounge in being able to deposit our three kids there when we had to move camp in the teeming rain, and at other times too. The kids happily watched tv and played in the little playpark while my husband and I got on with jobs, or just relaxed in the tent. Our lot had a whale of a time on this holiday!

We pretty much had the site to ourselves during the week, as we were there before the English and Welsh schools break for the summer, with it coming to life at the weekend as the seasonal pitch people made an appearance. The site had a really nice atmosphere.

During our stay there we found ourselves spoilt for choice regarding entertainment. We went on the little Lakes Railway at Llanberis, visited the copper mine at Beddgelert (pricey for what it is folks, but interesting all the same), took a long walk to see a magnificent waterfall, visited Bodnant Garden (gorgeous), did Caernarfon Castle, and took the kids to Greenwood Forest Park as well. Tyn Yr Onnen is well located for reaching all the attractions.

I have only a couple of criticisms to impart.

1. The campsite is adjoining a working farm, which is absolutely fine. The comings and goings of it certainly didn't bother us. But there was one sheepdog in particular who roamed the campsite, cocking his leg against things. We shooed him away numerous times, fearing for our canvas bell tent. Someone's camping table and a satellite dish on a caravan were not so lucky. Not nice.

2. The tumble drier was either total rubbish or defective, and when you have three kids in 9 days of rain, that is a big problem. I fed much coinage into the damn thing only for it to warm our wet washing through slightly and we ended up driving 15 miles to Porthmadog for a launderette, as it's the only one in the area. I explained this to the manager when we were leaving, and she pleasantly swiped 3 from our final night there, as recompense. It's better than nothing, but we spent a lot more than that on their 'drier' and had to travel out of our way to have dry clothing. I don't think her 3 off was up to much.

Apparently they are getting a new drier. They certainly need one.

In short, if you want an attractive, ramshackle, natural site within easy range of holiday attractions and walks, then Tyn Yr Onnen will very much fit the bill.

I am taking a few stars off for the lack of tumble drier though - that presented us with a real pain in the neck to deal with.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allygething 1 review from this member

This secluded site offers a variety of accommodation to suit all family members on a reunion. We were given a warm welcome by the owners and were given a good choice of available pitches albeit slightly on the slopey side. The location and facilities made up for this, with stunning mountain views and only 10 mins away from Caernarfon. The local chippy and convenience store in the village were good and a meal at the local pub was reasonably priced.

Showers and loo blocks were clean with hot water always available, wash room had washing machines, tumble driers (works better if they are not overloaded) and a fridge freezer (perfect and unexpected as our usual method would be to chill food in a bucket filled with ice!)

The children enjoyed the play area with sand pit and playing in the small brook behind our tent. There is a games room with table tennis, useful when the weather was wet. The local animal population kept the children busy too with donkeys, lamas and peacocks. We hardly saw them all week.

Footpaths were immediate from the site giving you access straight onto the hills and even onto Snowdon (for really enthusiastic walkers!)

Most evenings were rounded off with our own camp fire and family catching up on their days adventures.

With the basic amenities for camping and helpful assistance from the site owners, this campsite is a gem.

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3221 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019