Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Yr Onnen Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Tyn Yr Onnen Farm > Reviews

Tyn Yr Onnen Farm
Waunfawr
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4AX
Tel: 01286 650281
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 15/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mperr6 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite. Amazing views. Situated on a working farm with a number of fields and pitches. Donkeys kept kids amused with a small play park near to reception. A nice sized site, not overcrowded and services were very clean and maintained.

We were camping in a tent in Field 3 with an electric hook up. Good sized pitch with ample space to set up and park.

The place was busy with plenty of families with children staying but in general the campsite remained quiet and facilities remained spotless throughout our stay - they are checked and cleaned regularly. Weather was wet throughout our stay but the shower blocks still remained clean each time we used them.

Main block with male and female toilets and showers with 2 toilets and showers in each plus a family room too. A third toilet and shower up by reception and the utility room with wash facilities, microwave, fridge freezers and washing machines.

Reception had a little shop where you could buy ice lollies, drinks and farm shop items (4 x lamb burgers for £7). WiFi also available on the site.

Previous reviews mention a games room / TV room - but this is no longer on site but didn’t bother us. Single track lane to get to and nicely tucked out of the way - overall a great location and certainly one of the better sites we’ve visited.

Highly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Avidpsyche 7 reviews from this member

 A gem of a campsite. Great views and area. A working farm with a number of fields and pitches. Many with electric hook ups even for tents which I have rarely come across.

We were camping in a tent in the lower field which was on a slight slope. We didn't get to choose where we pitched.

On arrival we were met by a decent young chap who's name I forget, who gave us a tour of the site, and showed us our pitch.

All pitches are numbered and I guess due to the busy period are allocated. Would have liked to have a choice but it wasn't a big deal. Plenty of space to set up and park.

The place was getting busy with plenty of families with kids staying but in general the campsite remained quiet. Fire pits were available at £5 and had points already set for use. The facilities are pretty good.

Main block with male and female toilets and showers with 2 toilets and showers in each. Plus a third toilet and shower up by reception. Considering how busy the campsite got waiting for the toilet or shower was never a problem.

Reception had a little shop where you could buy drinks. Plus there were fresh eggs and mushrooms available. Shitake and Lion's Mane :O

Adjacent to reception was the Utility room. 3 sinks, washing machine and 2 fridge freezers so your food can be kept without a worry.

All in all for camping I couldn't fault the place. It had everything we needed in a great location for anything you want to do, whether it's hiking or just as a base camp.

Only downside is I got bitten countless times by horseflies so I suggest taking insect repellent or at least have mozzy nets up in your tent. Part and parcel of camping.

Still had a great stay.

Highly recommend the place. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulw6 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site situated in a valley overlooked by Snowdonia. Toilets were clean. Lynn was very helpful. Microwave and fridge are an excellent addition.

Only issue was not knowing fires were out at 11 pm. Were having the perfect evening. Threw an extra few logs on the fire before 11 only to be told it was out by 11.

All in all a perfect spot. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ourkerry 1 review from this member

 First time visiting the site. Loved every minute of it. Children especially loved bottle feeding the lambs and the park.

The staff were really friendly. The views were breathtaking.

The toilet and showers were basic but always clean and the utility room was great as it was equipped with a microwave and a large fridge/ freezer.

All in all I would highly recommend this site. We will deffo be back 😀 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Piphay 1 review from this member

 Met at the front gate by a very nice warden.

Big pitch on a spacious site with very clean and tidy facilities,

This was perfect for me and my short stay, but I'd happily stay for longer, this is a great campsite. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Katet3 1 review from this member

 The staff were very friendly, the campsite was in a great location close to Snowdon and Llanberis and has good facilities with lots of space.

There is a nice pub a 15 minute walk away that serves great food and drinks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Nessi 1 review from this member

 Spent the weekend at this AMAZING campsite with a friend for a planned weekend of walking Snowden. There is nothing to fault at this site and from the minute you arrive are made to feel welcome.

We were greeted by Kathy who was warm and friendly and showed us to our pitch. We experienced an issue with the electric hook up which didn't appear to be working, however on reporting this it was resolved within 10 minutes and back up and running.

There isn't a shop per se, however on realizing that my friend had forgotten his sleeping bag they were able to sell me a(extremely reasonably priced)sleeping bag and informed me that they stock one of most popular forgotten essentials - we were amazed and extremely grateful.

The rental of fire pit and logs was a real treat and as most other reviews highlight the luxury of hot, clean showers was much welcomed and the views were outstanding.

If you're looking for a peaceful retreat in the most beautiful unspoiled countryside with friendly staff and clean facilities this is the campsite for you! 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lianne1978 8 reviews from this member

 Out first trip out in our new (to us) campervan - 3 nights over Easter 2018 at Tyn-Yr-Onnen.

The road in is a narrow single track but does have passing places.

We were greeted on arrival by a very friendly Len the farmer who explained where everything was and showed us to our pitch.

There are 2 shower/toilet blocks both which are modern and clean and lots of hot water (one block also has a family shower room). There are only 2 showers in each of the toilet blocks and I can imagine it getting a bit busy in peak season. The only minor negative I can say about the whole site and our stay is that there is no coin operated hairdryer or a plug for your own hairdryer in either of the toilet blocks.

There is also a utility room for washing up which also has laundry facilities and A TV room with pool table and table tennis (which we didn't use but seemed popular with teenagers).

There is a good sized play park for the children which our 2 loved. It is right next to the utility room so they could play while we werehed the dishes and the park is also next to the donkey field.

On our first morning, we bumped into Len the farmer at the shower block who informed us that he was about to feed a couple of lambs that were being bottle fed and would we like to help. My 2 boys were absolutely thrilled to help and they fed one lamb each. Considering it was the middle of a cold and wet lambing season and they were a farm-hand short, the staff had lots of time for us. Then Len showed us the pigs and piglets and the chickens - my 2 boys were given an egg each for breakfast. The staff on the farm and campsite were so friendly and helpful and they have a shop on site selling essentials as well as local product from the farm and other local farms.

The weather was not great over Easter but we still had a lovely time. We has a lovely afternoon walking in Beddgelert where we ate out, we also had a trip into Caernarvon Castle, both which are only short drives away. On out last morning we stopped for a walk around Parc Dudley - a local nature reserve about a mile from the site which was a nice short circular walk.

There is a pub (also serves food) which is about just under a mile from the site - we didn't walk it as the weather was not great but we did speak to others on the site who has walked there.

We will definitely be returning in the summer.

They have a couple of static caravans and cabins that they hire out which we are contemplating for my in laws to join us camping over the summer. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Lynchster 3 reviews from this member

 This is a fabulous campsite. We recieved a very pleasant welcome from the site owner and were shown where all facilities were and had a choice of areas to camp. We chose the 3rd field as we could have a fire and electric hook up. Fire baskets are mandatory to protect the grass and to provide campers with more options to pitch - no having to pitch the tent over someone else's ashes! These can be rented from the office and seasoned logs can be purchased at £4 a bag (very reasonable).

Showers are amazing! Always with hot water, no button pushing required and they are free of charge so no need to carry a ridiculous amount of change. These were spotless. Exactly what you need after a hike up Snowdon via the Watkin Path!

There are washing up facilities on site which again, were very clean, along with a washing machine and tumble drier (additional cost but minimal) should you need to wash or rather dry your kit after a day on the hills.

There is a small shop on site which carries the essentials. As this is a working farm, local produce can be purchased (eggs, bacon etc. ) but I would recommend letting them know in advance if you want this daily as it's so tasty, it gets snapped up quick. If you want a real treat, ask to buy their locally produced Rib-Eye steak. SIMPLY AMAZING! (we brought some home). Tesco, Morrisons etc. Are a 10 minute drive into Caernarfon.

This site is ideal for exploring the national park and has fantastic views of the local hills (the elephant being the main one). The approach road is a narrow single track but has passing places.

We don't have children but there were adequate facilities and our friends brought carrots in advance to feed the donkeys (food can be purchased for them on site at 20p!).

We got to meet a week old lamb courtesy of one of the young ladies from the farm and were invaded by a mother and child who had escaped from another field (these were no trouble). This resulted in us getting to see the sheepdogs in action which was really cool.

We absolutely loved this place and will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Speedy666 1 review from this member

 Our first camping trip in our 22 yr Old campervan and all went well apart from the weather.

Shower and toilet blocks clean as long as the 2 girl terrors hadn't been in throwing toilet roll all over like steamers ( some parents have no control). Lovely view from site over the hills and numerous people having bbqs and campfires really added to atmosphere late at night.

Be warned some websites say pub is local but in reality its a mile walk mainly on unlit single track road but decent pub when you get there. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Yr Onnen Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Yr Onnen Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tyn Yr Onnen Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caernarfon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2815 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement