Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gunvenna Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Wadebridge > Gunvenna Holiday Park Reviews

Gunvenna Holiday Park
St Minver
Wadebridge
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL27 6QN
Tel: 01208 862405
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 62
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Timjsearle 10 reviews from this member

 Short visit this time but longer one is planned as site is excellent. It is quiet and very well maintained by family who were very helpful. We had touring caravan and we sited it on fully serviced pitch and levelled it very easily due to generous space. This is a gem of a site within easy reach of some beautiful Cornish coastal villages, Wadebridge and Padstow. The roads to the site were absolutely fine to navigate towing our large caravan. We don't look for club house or entertainment so this site was perfect. There is a small shop at reception, an indoor swimming pool, a children's play park and a dog walk manicured field if you require this. Thanks Gunvenna for a great stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eugeneaustin 2 reviews from this member

 Great place to stay, staff brilliant, polite, helpful, sociable, the site is very clean great for children play area, toilets showers very clean very close to sea areas also near wadebridge for shops and central for most visits in twenty mile area, at night you can here the owls, see hedgehogs looking for food and house martins nesting near by, will be there next year,

But on the down side It was nice to see the union jack Cornwall flag, but the welsh flag oh come on. If the person is not there take it down. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jhetland 3 reviews from this member

 We booked in late, and got one of the overflow sites. That meant that we basically had the nearby facilities to ourselves, which was great. The warden was very helpful in getting power and water sorted for us, and show us around. The main area has a great playground, and a complete set of amenities that are well kept. We where lucky enough to come in on Pizza night, and really enjoyed the fresh on site Wild Bake Pizza. Very easy access to Tintagel from Gunvenna. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pogster 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for 16 nights in August - my husband and children are staying for 4 weeks and we love this site.

Facilities are all really clean - 4 showers in the ladies (cant' speak for the gents !) and I never had to wait once in all the time I stayed here. Owners are always busy and ensure everything is kept clean and well kept.

Our pitch was in the field away from the main area and we were quite glad about this - pitches were huge. We have a big tent and had 2 cars and there was plenty of space. Pitches on the main area were large as well, but it did look to be more caravans than tents - not an issue for us though.

Play area was great for our sons and they enjoyed the games room when things were wet.

Only slight criticism would be the pool - there are no changing facilities within the pool area - you have to change in the toilets on the other side of the drive and walk over. Also the shower in there wasn't working, so it meant walking all the way back down to the shower block in swimming gear to get a shower.

Location is great for exploring - easy enough to jump on A30 to head towards Bodmin or Newquay.

Site itself felt very safe and when we did get noisy neighbours on 1 night, they were asked to keep the noise down by the owners in a really good way.

Would really recommend this site and we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mrs mouse 13 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite. We were able to get onto our pitch early for the Half term school holiday at the end of May and were under no pressure to leave by a certain time which gave us plenty of time to pack up without rushing. The site is clean and well maintained, the toilets and showers were kept very clean. If there is a criticism it is that the shower cubicles have a curtain to pull across and because the cubicle is small the curtain kept brushing against me which was annoying. It is a quiet site with a small shop in reception selling essentials, a games room, no bar or entertainment, just how we like it and it was also dark with no unnecessary lighting around the site. There is a small play area. The pitches are a good size with room to park alongside, they are a mixture of hard standing or grass and mostly level. The camping area is set back from the road so there was no noise from cars either. There are plenty of interesting places to visit within a short drive, we went to Boscastle, Tintagel, Port Isaac, Polzeath, St Nectans Glen and waterfall, and Rock where we caught the ferry to Padstow. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Miked2372 1 review from this member

 A wonderful campsite. We first stayed here and camped in 2013 and it was our first camping experience, since then we have been back each year culminating in a stay in one of the Glamping pods this year. The site is kept immaculately and is run by a lovely, friendly family who will do anything to help. The toilet/wash/shower block is spotlessly clean seemingly all the time. It is also in a great location to enable you to visit most areas very easily.

I cannot recommend this site enough. I was thinking of not recommending it as it may make it harder to book but I think it is the least the owners deserve! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KeepTriin 1 review from this member

 We were surprised when we were able to book a short break at Gunvenna at short notice but were glad we did. It's a lovely, spacious, well-maintained site with good facilities. Pitches around the site are all large and ours easily accommodated our 8m x 4m tent with space outside for eating and car. The owners are friendly and welcoming and will try to help in any way they can.

Facilities are spotless. The showers and toilets are tiled, look relatively modern and were always clean. Space for dishwashing was perhaps limited at the peaks of mealtimes, but everyone managed and the site was very nearly full. Water was hot and free, no paying for showers or anything. 20p for the hairdryer in the ladies I'm told. Dog showers, wetsuit washing, family bathroom - Gunvenna seems to accommodate most requirements. You can even borrow a thermal brick to put your disposable barbecue on to avoid spoiling the grass.

There's no facility for meals on site, so you will have to visit local restaurants, pubs, takeaways, or cook your own. And there's no bar on site either where you might gather to drink and socialise. The site is therefore fairly quiet after about 10pm when it gets dark.

There's a park for the kids and a games room. This is home to a pool table and an air hockey table. These were reasonably priced to play. Wi-Fi signal is at its strongest here although we were able to receive a signal on our pitch which was one of the furthest away. That said, wi-fi was one of the services you do need to pay for and didn't seem particularly cheap although we didn't investigate if the cost was per pitch, or per device.

The site isn't lit at night, other than the light from the shower/toilet block, but we prefer this. (We were pitched under a light in our previous site and it never got properly dark!) So you might need a head torch if you're one of those who need to visit the loo in the night, if only to find your way back.

Out and about it's a good location, but doesn't have the choice of beaches available that some sites do. Polzeath is the nearest, and only, beach within a few miles. Harlyn, Constantine and others are reachable but require a bit of a drive to get there. For our short break we didn't mind being limited to Polzeath. For a longer stay we like to venture to different beaches. Tintagel is within easy reach. If you want to brush shoulders with the rich and famous Rock is only a short drive away. Wadebridge is the nearest town with its Tesco extra for shopping and access to the Camel Trail should you have your own bikes or want to hire some.

Overall, it's a great site and we liked it, a lot. We'd certainly go back again as it suits our needs perfectly. Perhaps we'd like a bar, but that's just us. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gullsie 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned home after a 4 night visit in our bell tent and can not wait to return. Beautiful site spotless. The grass was in amazing condition considering it's the end of the season. The facilities were spotless plenty of toilets, showers even disabled bathroom with baby bath in which was so spacious. The owner and family/ staff obviously take great pride in keeping this site in such a high standard. Used the dog shower, which is a god send after taking the dog on the beach. In the washroom it had every thing a sink to soak, washing machine spinner and dryer reasonable prices as well. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emma Cook 5 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful campsite set in the hills; offering a lovely view as well as peace & quiet. It isn't very big and is beautifully looked after. The family owners are friendly and helpful.

The toilet block is well maintained and plenty of toilets, sinks and showers. As well as 4 washing up sinks and a washing machine and 2 driers.

The indoor pool is also well maintained and was well used by my daughter. The children also enjoyed using the games room. The children's play area looked great!

We were only here for 5 days but wished we had booked for longer. Will definitely be coming back. I could not fault it at all.

It is a drive to the nearest shops but the on site shop stocked a good range of 'emergency' items plus the fresh croissants for breakfast were divine! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Debbienicola 21 reviews from this member

 We spent 10 days in one of their hexagon glamping pods and loved every minute. We usually camp with a tent but thought we would 'glamp' this year and definitely recommend.

The site itself is very good. Very quiet at night. Brilliant park for the kids, even a swimming pool, which is only small but just right for a cool dip! I thought there were adequate showers with plenty of hot water. Enough pot wash sinks, recycling and laundry room. The small games room was a favourite with our 12 year old. There is a small fully stocked shop on site.

The site Is an ideal base for touring around north Cornwall. The beaches at Polzeath and Rock are brilliant for surfing, body boarding etc. We also did Coasteering from Polzeath, with ERA Coasteering which was superb! I recommend a visit to Port Isaac where Doc Martin is filmed. Also take your bikes as the Camel trail is excellent.

Would definitely stay again. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gunvenna Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Gunvenna Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gunvenna Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gunvenna Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wadebridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3665 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement