Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Howgrave Hall Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Howgrave Hall Caravan Site > Reviews

Howgrave Hall Caravan Site
Sutton Howgrave
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 2NU
Tel: 01765 640741
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Pennine Plodder 27 reviews from this member

 Lovely, peaceful relaxing site. The only sounds to be heard were birds and somewhere, some sheep.

The greeting was pleasant and informative; he was available at all times and checked all was well each day.

The facilities, sink, water, toilets and showers, were quite a distance for me to trek, being at the other side of the camping field. All were spotless. There were no child based facilities, a swing or other specific play area, although the centre of the field was empty.

We were blessed with very unusual Bank Holiday weather, sun pretty much wall to wall.

We were joined on site by some travellers who were taking their time going to horse fairs in the area. The site owner kept a very wary eye on comings and goings, he had not been aware of their status. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mjh73 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely open site, with fantastic views. Nice, quiet and relaxing site, Paul the warden is very welcoming and helpful.

Electricity supply went off a couple of times but was sorted very quickly, water supply was quite a distance (other side of the field!) for fresh water and emptying grey waste!

Great base for exploring the area.

We will be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Belrob 1 review from this member

 The site is well kept and in a lovely position with views over the fields.

Toilets and showers were spotless.

Paul is very friendly and helpful. The location is very quiet and you do need to drive to pub or shops, but we knew that and so it was not a problem for us.

We intend to return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mucky123 2 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely relaxing weekend. Small site with limited but modern and well kept facilities.

Paul, the owner, was very welcoming and friendly.

No pubs in walking distance but not far from there is the bull inn with a fantastic riverside beer garden 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Withernsea Steve 4 reviews from this member

 Well what more can I say

Great site

Great quiet location

Great warden (Paul)

Paul couldnít do enough for us on our very first outing in our motor home.

Great value for money and facilities etc

Guess what?

We have booked again for later in August

THATS HOW MUCH WE ENJOYED OUR STAY AND HOW WELCOMING IT WAS 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Deborah Oliver 1 review from this member

 Lovely little site. Spotless and clean. Very friendly.

1st time here, already booked to return August. So peaceful.

Nothing was too much trouble. Only 12 places but that's just perfect.

Stunning views 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Digger1965 1 review from this member

 Great site, lovely walks, nice clean facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kgav 1 review from this member

 My family ( 2 a, 2 kids) have just spent 8 wonderful days at this lovely caravan site and we donít want to leave. The site is a big field behind the farm buildings with fabulous views of the countryside and miles and miles of sky.

The 12 plots are well spread out and only along one side of the field so everyone has plenty of room and lots of grass in front to kick a ball about or just relax. 2 toilets and 2 nice hot showers are well kept and Paul who runs the site is friendly and hard working to keep the site in tip top condition.

We used the site as a base to explore North Yorkshire including Brimham Rocks, Forbidden Corner, several abbeys and market towns, the Seated Man and the North York Moors and even the East Coast. However, on our last day we decided to pop up to Bedale for supplies then spent the rest of the day simply enjoying the peace and quiet ( and sunshine ) of Howgrave Hall.

This was our second visit to this site and wonít be our last. Great value for money and a little slice of Yorkshire heaven. Thank you, Paul. See you next year! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Max V 6 reviews from this member

 This was my second visit to this site. I only go back to the good ones, and will keep going to this one. I can't fault this site, its quiet, clean, got great views, shower and toilets are spotless, good space between pitches and friendly.

Well placed for Ripon, Masham, the Hambleton Hills, Lightwater Valley, Wensleydale and the A1 (which can't be seen or heard from the site). There are no hard standings but the field is well maintained but with slight uneven patches.

If there's a downside I suppose it has to be a nearby race track which I believe can be quite noisy on a race day. I've never been the during a race meeting so can't say but I'm sure Paul would be able to advise you if one is planned during your visit.

The village doesn't have a shop or Pub so you need supplies! No attractions for children.

This in my view is an excellent site and great value. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John+judy 111 reviews from this member

 An excellent site for those looking for peace and quiet. Apart from owls, grouse and the twice daily formation fly-past of the geese there was zero noise.

The last couple of hundred metres of access lane are very narrow, and the owners therefore ask for departures before 12 and arrivals after 1pm, but as it was low season we arrived at 11am with no problem. In fact we never met anything on the lane during our six days.

Our days out included visting Ripon and its cathedral, Fountains Abbey/Studley Royal and the Wensleydale railway from Leeming Bar to Redmire/Castle Bolton.

We only found out on our last day that entrance to Lightwater Valley theme park is free for over 60s, but we will take advantage of this next time!

As others have said the owners are very friendly and happy to chat. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Howgrave Hall Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Howgrave Hall Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Howgrave Hall Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54454 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement