Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Howgrave Hall Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Howgrave Hall Caravan Site Reviews

Howgrave Hall Caravan Site
Sutton Howgrave
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 2NU
Tel: 01765 640741
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Belrob 1 review from this member

 The site is well kept and in a lovely position with views over the fields.

Toilets and showers were spotless.

Paul is very friendly and helpful. The location is very quiet and you do need to drive to pub or shops, but we knew that and so it was not a problem for us.

We intend to return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mucky123 2 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely relaxing weekend. Small site with limited but modern and well kept facilities.

Paul, the owner, was very welcoming and friendly.

No pubs in walking distance but not far from there is the bull inn with a fantastic riverside beer garden 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Withernsea Steve 4 reviews from this member

 Well what more can I say

Great site

Great quiet location

Great warden (Paul)

Paul couldnít do enough for us on our very first outing in our motor home.

Great value for money and facilities etc

Guess what?

We have booked again for later in August

THATS HOW MUCH WE ENJOYED OUR STAY AND HOW WELCOMING IT WAS 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Deborah Oliver 1 review from this member

 Lovely little site. Spotless and clean. Very friendly.

1st time here, already booked to return August. So peaceful.

Nothing was too much trouble. Only 12 places but that's just perfect.

Stunning views 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Digger1965 1 review from this member

 Great site, lovely walks, nice clean facilities. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kgav 1 review from this member

 My family ( 2 a, 2 kids) have just spent 8 wonderful days at this lovely caravan site and we donít want to leave. The site is a big field behind the farm buildings with fabulous views of the countryside and miles and miles of sky.

The 12 plots are well spread out and only along one side of the field so everyone has plenty of room and lots of grass in front to kick a ball about or just relax. 2 toilets and 2 nice hot showers are well kept and Paul who runs the site is friendly and hard working to keep the site in tip top condition.

We used the site as a base to explore North Yorkshire including Brimham Rocks, Forbidden Corner, several abbeys and market towns, the Seated Man and the North York Moors and even the East Coast. However, on our last day we decided to pop up to Bedale for supplies then spent the rest of the day simply enjoying the peace and quiet ( and sunshine ) of Howgrave Hall.

This was our second visit to this site and wonít be our last. Great value for money and a little slice of Yorkshire heaven. Thank you, Paul. See you next year! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Max V 6 reviews from this member

 This was my second visit to this site. I only go back to the good ones, and will keep going to this one. I can't fault this site, its quiet, clean, got great views, shower and toilets are spotless, good space between pitches and friendly.

Well placed for Ripon, Masham, the Hambleton Hills, Lightwater Valley, Wensleydale and the A1 (which can't be seen or heard from the site). There are no hard standings but the field is well maintained but with slight uneven patches.

If there's a downside I suppose it has to be a nearby race track which I believe can be quite noisy on a race day. I've never been the during a race meeting so can't say but I'm sure Paul would be able to advise you if one is planned during your visit.

The village doesn't have a shop or Pub so you need supplies! No attractions for children.

This in my view is an excellent site and great value. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John+judy 109 reviews from this member

 An excellent site for those looking for peace and quiet. Apart from owls, grouse and the twice daily formation fly-past of the geese there was zero noise.

The last couple of hundred metres of access lane are very narrow, and the owners therefore ask for departures before 12 and arrivals after 1pm, but as it was low season we arrived at 11am with no problem. In fact we never met anything on the lane during our six days.

Our days out included visting Ripon and its cathedral, Fountains Abbey/Studley Royal and the Wensleydale railway from Leeming Bar to Redmire/Castle Bolton.

We only found out on our last day that entrance to Lightwater Valley theme park is free for over 60s, but we will take advantage of this next time!

As others have said the owners are very friendly and happy to chat. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Amos08 1 review from this member

 Spent a lovely 4 nights at Howgrave Hall Farm. We received a warm welcome, pitch up and pay afterwards.

The site is basic being a farm site. The field is fairly level and each pitch having EHU points. Pitches are a good size so campers are not on top of each other.

Shower and toilet blocks are located at the edge if the farm house and showers are red hot. Lots of bins provided to dispose of your waste and recycle where possible. Water and elsan point (chemicals provided if you don't have your own)

We arrived on the Sunday and after setting up we were visited by the organisers of the local car race rally with an offer of free tickets (due to noise pollution)

We found ourselves driving everywhere as there is a lack of local shops (this we didn't really mind as it encouraged us to explore local villages and towns)

Picnic benches are provided on site which came in useful on our final evening when we had a BBQ

We really liked the flexible arrival and departure time which allowed us to arrive first thing making the most of our first day. We'd planned to leave on departure day later in the afternoon but due to poor weather we left early.

The site is very quiet making it perfect for a peaceful retreat, the owners are helpful and even came to say goodbye as we were leaving

Only negatives were lack of mobile signal but we were able to use the farmhouse phone free of charge if needed.

Rates are very competitive £12 per night for the caravan, awning, two adults & dog 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jan99fm 1 review from this member

 Just spent Easter weekend at Howgrave Hall Campsite, what a peaceful and picturesque site it is. 2 Toilets and 2 showers are clean and tidy and ample for the small amount of caravans.

Never heard any noise from the farm and the field is big enough for kids to play well away from caravans. Will certainly be returning, a little gem of a place and a bargain too.

Lots of lovely places to visit roundabout, Masham was lovely and had a market on Saturday too. Had a lovely Sunday lunch at the Green Dragon in Exelby which is not too far away.

It's a basic site no frills but the views from the bottom of the field are fabulous. An unusual road to reach the site but well worth it. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Howgrave Hall Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Howgrave Hall Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Howgrave Hall Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ripon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3419 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement