Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Howgrave Hall Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Howgrave Hall Caravan Site Reviews

Howgrave Hall Caravan Site
Sutton Howgrave
Ripon
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 2NU
Tel: 01765 640741
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 12
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Digger1965 1 review from this member

Great site, lovely walks, nice clean facilities.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kgav 1 review from this member

My family ( 2 a, 2 kids) have just spent 8 wonderful days at this lovely caravan site and we donít want to leave. The site is a big field behind the farm buildings with fabulous views of the countryside and miles and miles of sky. The 12 plots are well spread out and only along one side of the field so everyone has plenty of room and lots of grass in front to kick a ball about or just relax. 2 toilets and 2 nice hot showers are well kept and Paul who runs the site is friendly and hard working to keep the site in tip top condition.

We used the site as a base to explore North Yorkshire including Brimham Rocks, Forbidden Corner, several abbeys and market towns, the Seated Man and the North York Moors and even the East Coast. However, on our last day we decided to pop up to Bedale for supplies then spent the rest of the day simply enjoying the peace and quiet ( and sunshine ) of Howgrave Hall.

This was our second visit to this site and wonít be our last. Great value for money and a little slice of Yorkshire heaven. Thank you, Paul. See you next year!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Max V 6 reviews from this member

This was my second visit to this site. I only go back to the good ones, and will keep going to this one. I can't fault this site, its quiet, clean, got great views, shower and toilets are spotless, good space between pitches and friendly. Well placed for Ripon, Masham, the Hambleton Hills, Lightwater Valley, Wensleydale and the A1 (which can't be seen or heard from the site). There are no hard standings but the field is well maintained but with slight uneven patches.

If there's a downside I suppose it has to be a nearby race track which I believe can be quite noisy on a race day. I've never been the during a race meeting so can't say but I'm sure Paul would be able to advise you if one is planned during your visit. The village doesn't have a shop or Pub so you need supplies! No attractions for children.

This in my view is an excellent site and great value.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 101 reviews from this member

An excellent site for those looking for peace and quiet. Apart from owls, grouse and the twice daily formation fly-past of the geese there was zero noise. The last couple of hundred metres of access lane are very narrow, and the owners therefore ask for departures before 12 and arrivals after 1pm, but as it was low season we arrived at 11am with no problem. In fact we never met anything on the lane during our six days.

Our days out included visting Ripon and its cathedral, Fountains Abbey/Studley Royal and the Wensleydale railway from Leeming Bar to Redmire/Castle Bolton. We only found out on our last day that entrance to Lightwater Valley theme park is free for over 60s, but we will take advantage of this next time!

As others have said the owners are very friendly and happy to chat.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amos08 1 review from this member

Spent a lovely 4 nights at Howgrave Hall Farm. We received a warm welcome, pitch up and pay afterwards.

The site is basic being a farm site. The field is fairly level and each pitch having EHU points. Pitches are a good size so campers are not on top of each other.

Shower and toilet blocks are located at the edge if the farm house and showers are red hot. Lots of bins provided to dispose of your waste and recycle where possible. Water and elsan point (chemicals provided if you don't have your own)

We arrived on the Sunday and after setting up we were visited by the organisers of the local car race rally with an offer of free tickets (due to noise pollution)

We found ourselves driving everywhere as there is a lack of local shops (this we didn't really mind as it encouraged us to explore local villages and towns)

Picnic benches are provided on site which came in useful on our final evening when we had a BBQ

We really liked the flexible arrival and departure time which allowed us to arrive first thing making the most of our first day. We'd planned to leave on departure day later in the afternoon but due to poor weather we left early.

The site is very quiet making it perfect for a peaceful retreat, the owners are helpful and even came to say goodbye as we were leaving

Only negatives were lack of mobile signal but we were able to use the farmhouse phone free of charge if needed.

Rates are very competitive £12 per night for the caravan, awning, two adults & dog

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jan99fm 1 review from this member

Just spent Easter weekend at Howgrave Hall Campsite, what a peaceful and picturesque site it is. 2 Toilets and 2 showers are clean and tidy and ample for the small amount of caravans. Never heard any noise from the farm and the field is big enough for kids to play well away from caravans. Will certainly be returning, a little gem of a place and a bargain too.

Lots of lovely places to visit roundabout, Masham was lovely and had a market on Saturday too. Had a lovely Sunday lunch at the Green Dragon in Exelby which is not too far away. It's a basic site no frills but the views from the bottom of the field are fabulous. An unusual road to reach the site but well worth it.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alaud 11 reviews from this member

Been to this site for a few days and although we found it easily enough following the signs and the owners directions when you are nearing the site the roads go to single track and there didn't seem to be any passing places so could be a bit daunting for some.

Arriving at the site we followed the signs that told you to set up and pay later, we thought we were going to be on hardstanding but there was none in that field but when we did find h/s later we were glad we had gone in the field as the views were so lovely. The fresh water tap, bins and cdp were altogether and it is a green site so you need green chemicals but they do supply some if you don't have it. The showers and toilets were clean but we didn't use showers so don't know weather they are any good. We only saw the owner once but he seemed really nice.

At £12pn with electric was good value.

Overall good site but signs for h/s need to be better you only know where they are when you leave as you go out of a different gate and pass them on your way out.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Park72 1 review from this member

Second visit to this lovely spot, this time on pitch 2, so well down the field making the working farm much quieter, having said that, harvest was in full swing and it was great watching large trailers backing into the sheds and tipping up load after load of ripe grain. The site is superb, very gentle slope, toilets and showers are immaculately clean. The owner is often on the field willing to help and there are numerous lanes and tracks to walk the dog.

Good food is available in nearby villages, especially Noston Parva about 2/3miles from the site. Really enjoyed the bank hol wkend there and will certainly be going again. Also since our visit earlier this year for the Masham steam fair the owner has signed the route well and made it a lot easier to find. Geoff n Ava,

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andymarketer 3 reviews from this member

Howgrave Hall is a very relaxing site, with clean toilets and showers. Paul the site owner is very helpful.

The roads leading to the site are very narrow and the edges were very overgrown with tall grass and hedges so you feel like you have taken the wrong turning; although when I mentioned this to Paul he organised cutting the grass verges the next day.

Signposting could be better though, especially off the B6267.

Overall though, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the measurement is, would we stay again. If we plan to visit the area again, yes we would stay again.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cazza2512 6 reviews from this member

This site only has 12 pitches and there is only the 2 toilets & 2 showers on site but what a lovely and relaxing weekend we had. The toilets/showers were spotless and had heaters in so were lovely and warm. The owners could have not done more to help, we forgot to take milk with us so my husband went to ask where the nearest shop was where we could buy some, they went and got a carton of milk, would not take any money for it and said not to bother replacing it (we did of course). No good going to this site if you are looking for anything other than peace and quiet or some quality time with your family.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5606 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019