Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hales Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Staffordshire > Stoke On Trent > Hales Hall Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Hales Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Oakamoor Road
Cheadle
Stoke On Trent
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST10 4QR
Tel: 01538 753305
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 76 Reviews
                7/10 from 76 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Charly 1 review from this member

 Perfect weekend away with my family. Weather was bad but that didn't stop us from having a great time.

Camp site facilities are great and very clean, grounds maintenance is very well maintained. Definitely recommend 😊

Only downside is main road going past so peak time traffic wakes you up. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Donna Nicholls 10 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site with really helpful and pleasant staff. Really clean facilities. People there are very friendly.

The park is good with football pitches. Beautiful views. There's a pub on site that both visitors and local people use. Reasonable prices.

There's a little hut on site for breakfasts and others hot foods to take away. BBQs are allowed. Good for camping, motor homes and tourers. There's also camp pods there too.

We travelled with adults from in the 30s to late 50s and young children. A very enjoyable weekend.

We will definitely go back.

The hall also catered for weddings, with inside and outside bars. There's also a good games room for adults ie pool table and darts.

Only one thing I didn't like. When getting off at junction 14 there's a very steep downwards hill. This is not a fault of the site. It's better to get off at junction 15, it's a much better journey. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Mellywelly 3 reviews from this member

 Not our usual type of site, we try to avoid commercial sites and we were reminded why. The 11pm noise limit was not observed by a party of young girls who were screaming and laughing at 2. 30 am. The camping was tight and haphazard. Children with football's near the vans. Dogs barking constantly.

The only saving grace was the bar was cheap and the beer was good. Close to Alton Towers and Churnet Valley Railway. Well kept site with large ornamental pond. Won't be back as we prefer peace and quiet, sorry. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joannem1 13 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Hales Hall. Upon arrival we were shown to our pitch which wasn't level and on a gentle slope. Levelling blocks are required due to the slope & luckily enough we found 4 blocks to lift and level our van. We had torrential rain for a day which did make the lower level VERY boggy so be aware if you're pitched at the lower end of the site. The owner told us there was a pop up bar, however we didn't go, which was a shame as we were told by a local resident that it wasn't so much a temporary bar but actually a very nice established bar within the old hall. The washroom facilities were clean but very basic & to agree with another review, your clothes do get damp whilst you shower as the drainage system is inadequate. Overall this site is OK for a couple of nights and preferably when there is no rain forecast 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: FurryTowers 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here last weekend for BH May which also coincided with half term. Therefore, with this in mind on the down side there was no pitch choice given, and the pitch needed was for a tiny caravan and porch awning with a pop up tent.

We were given a pitch on the corner of the road leading on/off the site and to/from the play park, which was noisy and kids constantly in our space. The rules stated no fires and the groups of super tents opposite us had a fire every night.

The rules also said well behaved dogs and must not be left unaccompanied but there were 2 dogs in a seasonal pitch opposite that cried, yelped and whined constantly. The site is very pretty, but if you are looking for a peaceful site this is not the one for you unless a bit quitter in the season.

If you have kids and want a safe place for them to explore then this is for you, they looked happy and like they were all having fun. Toilet facilities, clean and well maintained. Rubbish cleared constantly and site well maintained. Bar prices very cheap! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pol60 1 review from this member

 Myself and hubby and our 2 boxer stayed here September 2015 it is a lovely site well kept and a nice sandwich man on site every day till 12. 30 or thereabouts with del bacon and egg butty

Down side for us was No PUB which is the reason we booked it has closed down altogether

Also I think there should be somewhere on a site this size where we could have let our dogs off the lead they have no dedicated space for you to walk your dog I think this is a must

Think it is far to pricey for what they have to offer

But had a nice few days due to the town being a short walk and the alton castle pub were dog and people friendly 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MASIA MICK 1 review from this member

 We visited the campsite for the bank holiday weekend. The place is fantastic. Spotless clean and the grass is like a snooker table, they cut it with a large mower then a hand one to get it perfect. The toilet and showers are very clean. We went to the bar at night which is in the large hall, this is not a part of the campsite, the building is old and in need of a lot of work, but what a great night we had they had Karaoke on and we had a great sing along Carole and Lenny who run it are great people, make you feel so welcome, food is amazing, we had a pint a wine and soda, scampi chips peas and salad with 3 rounds of B&B, the wife had cheeseburger chips peas and salad, and got change from £14. Overall a fantastic long weekend, also if you have no caravan etc you can hire a POD. We shall definitely be going again. Ideal for going Alton Towers 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrs brown s B 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights and had a really good time. Site lovely and clean. Owners very friendly and helpful. This site has quite a few seasonal caravans on and the people were all really friendly, they even had there own little get together on the field with there own karaoke which was great, they came and asked all the campers first if there was any objection and as promised it was switched off at 9. 30pm prompt. The kids loved it and cant wait to go back again. This is a really good site with a real friendly atmosphere. We will definitely be returning in the near future. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marshmellow101 1 review from this member

 Couple camping for 3 nights, visiting Alton Towers.

We had originally booked (via telephone) another local campsite, but due to their shockingly poor customer service I was VERY unwilling to camp there, and continued to search for another site. And then found Hale’s Hall, and what a great find it was!

Due to the distant we had to travel and working commitments we couldn’t be arriving on site until 9pm at the earliest. I explained that we are both very experienced campers and pitching our tent during darkening hours is not uncommon for us, in fact 9pm is an early pitch to what we’re used to. Staff were very understanding, but asked if we could contact them if we’re to arrive later than planned.

When arriving on site again staff were friendly, and prompt. Explained all needed information such as toilets, washing up areas, food bar opening times, and importantly the on site pub!

The pub is rough around the edges, but nothing you wouldn’t expect. Drink prices are very reasonable, with the classic nibbles and sweets behind the bar. Families are very welcome from what we could see, and the environment is safe for little ones to venture off. Friday night drinking was very peaceful with the odd conservation with a local. But as for Saturday night, this is a different story. The place is buzzing with conversations and laughs. Very friendly locals, and the owners couldn’t of done anything more to make us feel welcome! A few drinks later and we found ourselves singing a duet on the karaoke with them! Bare in mind this place is what you make it, go in with a negative attitude, and wanting the Rintz dinning then unfortunately this isn’t it. But we had a brilliant evening.

The site has a bus stop 50 yards from the front gate which runs straight to Alton Towers. Roughly £4 for an adult return ticket, journey takes around 15 minutes. There does appear to be more than one bus service/company that runs this route.

Toilets areas are always clean and in tip top shape. Toilet rolls did run out first thing in the morning, but this is to be expected with the amount of people on site. Showers are hot and cleaned regular. My personal highlight was the useable (safe!) plug in the toilets, located away from the sinks and water. Perfect for drying and straitening hair. We may be camping, but we still want to look nice!

Staff are very willing to help, with information, directions and even leading us plates, knife and forks (which we forgot to pack).

Like other reviews, the site is on a slight hill. We were pitched on the bottom of a hill, which did prove a bit of an issue with the amount of rain we had but nothing tightening a few guideline etc couldn’t fix.

To cut a long story short YES, we could highly recommend this site.

And we plan to visit again soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kjd1979uk 2 reviews from this member

 Had a two night stay here. Overall very good and would stay again. Children had a great weekend and played non stop on the on site park. Shower blocks were very clean, only downfall is that was impossible to dress without getting soaking wet as the drainage in the cubicles wasn't good and the entire floor gets soaking but nothing you couldn't live with.

Staff were friendly and helpful. I would say check prices as I was emailed a price on booking but when I came to pay on arrival is was £10 more, I am currently waiting for an explanation to this.

Only one thing I would say as a negative for children's safety only is that behind the park is a woodland area, it has make shift swings in etc and a very accessible area for the children who obviously thought it was a great adventure, it had tonnes of rubbish in there, broken mirrors, furniture, gas bottles etc, it was like a dumping ground and although we told our children not to go in, it was very tempting for them and all other children on site. I did leave a comment card suggesting for safety reasons it should be cleared out.

The on site pub didn't look very appealing at first, it's very old and in desperate need of a revamp but we had a great night in there and glad we went. 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hales Hall Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Hales Hall Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stoke On Trent      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4535 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement