Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Barra Holidays @croft183

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Barra > Barra Holidays @croft183 Reviews

Barra Holidays @croft183
Croft 183
Bolnabodach
Castlebay
Isle Of Barra
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS9 5UT
Tel: 01871 890373
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 6
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dmarkm 4 reviews from this member

Campsite is a short drive from the ferry terminal.

Pros - Great camper's kitchen with area where you could sit to eat if bad weather. Friendly laid back owner.

Cons - Booking essential as there were only a few pitches for tents. We got the last pitch available - pitch was quite small with uneven ground / a bit rubbly and stony (but widely spaced and felt private). Toilets and showers were in need of some renovation and could have been cleaner.

Overall a bit rough and ready but good value for money. Not handy for the beach and nowhere to play or kick a ball.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Arniesdad 14 reviews from this member

Barra is a stunning island but be careful to book ahead for space as there are limited spaces available on the few sites on the island. This is an excellent site with really friendly and helpful owners. (I always think it a good sign when they say 'Don't bother to pay now, we'll see you before you leave!'). All facilities are spotless and free and the pitches are level with hard standing, EHU, and well-spaced - I also have to say it is outstanding value for money! Maybe it doesn't have the spectacular backdrop of the other popular site on the island but Barra is very small and access is quick and easy to all parts of the island. The world-famous airport is five minutes away with an excellent little café serving a good range of vegetarian and other snacks. Barra is a lot about beaches - start with one opposite the airport then, contrary to the guide-books, try the east coast beaches - they are breathtaking. There is a substantial Co-op, and other shops, in Castlebay - a nice town to while away a couple of hours as you watch the Cal-Mac ferry performing its delicate docking manoeuvre. Barra is a beautiful island with very friendly people (and sheep-dogs) - this is an excellent site which I can thoroughly recommend

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Benito76 1 review from this member

5 friends and I stayed at this small campsite and we would recommend it to all of you. Why? The ground is ideal for pitching a tent, although the campsite can be a little exposed to the wind in places. The facilities are great - nice, clean toilet block with good showers, kitchen with assortment of cutlery/crockery, microwave, kettle and a little shelf for spare food left by previous occupants, washing machine and dryer, dining area with table chairs, TV, and info on the surrounding area incl. Ferry times, covered shelter for bicycles, good location (<4miles to Castlebay and Ardmhor ferry terminals) and reasonably priced. There is a nice bunkhouse if you're more of a glamper. I wouldn't say there's much for young children to do in the campsite, but there's enough on Barra itself. The owners are extremely helpful and will make your stay as pleasant as possible. There is the Heathbank Hotel for food/drinks, about 2 miles away, or a Co-op in Castlebay if you're self catering.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chipkiss 4 reviews from this member

A great campsite. Everything you could need. Hook up, hot showers, washing machine, dryer and a campers room.

It was past nine o'clock when we arrived but the owner was there, ready to welcome us. Many thanks. It is easy to find, even in the dark.

The campers room is ideal for rainy days. Table, TV, little kitchen etc etc. Washing line for sunny days!

A small site but we were there in October and there was only one other friendly campervan on the site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nelly12 6 reviews from this member

Absolutely fabulous site. The owner and his wife are amazing. They'll pick you up from the ferry and drive you to the campsite.

Once there, you are pointed in the correct direction and shown the facilities.

The facilities are amazing, sky TV, very good showers, cooker, washer/dryer, Wi-Fi and much much more.

The owner is a friendly bloke and always on the site with the dogs, he's up for a blether anytime.

It's only a small site but with great character and fab views, it's a nice walk down into Castlebay(a long walk but worth it)

I recommend this site to anybody.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fraser Gardiner 25 reviews from this member

On our travels from Uist and thought we will use this site for a night and then move on. It was so good we stayed for three and on the fourth day we were on the ferry from Barra to Oban. The site is first class, although windy while we were there, having experienced windy conditions before we slept throughout. As previous visitors have said you do not want for anything and with sky tv in the lounge what is a rainy day? We took the motorhome out every day while visiting the island and had no problem parking on return. The hosts have done a remarkable job providing A1 facilities and will be back next year. The hotel about a mile down the road serves excellent food and beers and is also worth a visit even on Sundays.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rik412 3 reviews from this member

The first night we camped which was very windy and wet so decided to stay at bunkhouse as it is very reasonably priced.

For campers there is a camper's room which has everything you could possibly need, a cooker, microwave, tv, books and information about Barra, wifi, table and chairs. It's warm and well equipped for sitting in on a wet night.

The Bunkhouse is lovely. Rooms are clean and modern with en-suite toilet. The owners have thought of everything.

The owners add to the lovely atmosphere at the site. They go out of their way to help you. They drove us to the beach and picked us up as we didn't have a car. Helen even took us cockle picking one night.

Would highly recommend this site. Run by friendly owners who go out their way for you.

We will definitely be back !

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jack Hutson 2 reviews from this member

An excellent family run site. We were made to feel very welcome. Showers and toilets were excellent and kept scrupulously clean.

The site is on the east side of Barra, so fewer sandy beaches, but this gives a degreee of shelter from the prevailing Westerly winds, although it was still quite windy when we were there.

The owner is extending the facilities to include a bike shed and a drying room.

Thoroughly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Babygoo 9 reviews from this member

Excellent (and spotlessly clean) facilities for those not so self sufficient e. G cooking and refrigeration facilities. They have even provided a dining area with TV, books etc. It's the only camping kitchen I've ever been to where the owners have left a roll and eggs!

Also has a laundry area with tumble dryer and washing machine. Handy for both ferry terminals ( not that the island is that big!)

We didn't need to ask the owners for anything but I gather that they go out of their way to help their guests and of course are very knowledgeable about the local area.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hillpj 3 reviews from this member

Sunny, cool and very windy. Site fairly exposed but the ground I camped on was good with no worries about loose pegs.

The facilities are good for a small site with toilets, showers, washing machine, a dining/sitting room and basic cooking facilities.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. Thoroughly recommended unless you are looking for all mod cons, and a bar and pool, then you are unlikely to be in the Hebrides.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4045 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019