Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Boe Rigg

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Bellingham > The Boe Rigg Reviews

The Boe Rigg
Charlton
Bellingham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE48 1PE
Tel: 01434 240663
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Quickpitch 2 reviews from this member

A nice site that's open year round. Decent pitches with some EHU for those that need it.

Onsite restaurant and attached pub that serves decent food and nice beer.

Clean toilets/showers.

I've visited half a dozen times in the 'off' season and always had a great camping experience. The site has been very peaceful.

Camping fees are pretty reasonable imo
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fnaz 5 reviews from this member

Chaotic. Facilities too few and not well 'refreshed' during our stay. Romantic campfires? In a national park during a heatwave? Really? Ladies, get used to plastic curtains not doors on your shower. Dishes to wash? Boil the kettle, there is no hot water at the potwash. Restaurant was good.

Really, a site that needs developing by people who know/care about campers. Could be a goldmine because of the location.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yorci 9 reviews from this member

I spent 2 nights over the weekend. The reception is at the bar in the restaurant, I was greeted by very friendly staff, who explained the site and facilities. I was pitched on top of the hill offering great views of the area. There is no WiFi or Cell reception at the top of the hill. Access to the pitches was via a steep hill of crushed rock - need to drive very slow! The pitches are level with a fresh water supply next to the electric hook up. The pitches are not marked so it is a bit of a free for all when pitching near the electric hook up, but I got their early so I was able to secure a good pitch, but when I returned to my tent Saturday, I could no longer park my car next to my tent as the space had been filled by a tent, but managed to park on the hill in front of my tent, though my car did spoil my view. It was a bit cramped when taking my tent down! The services are very clean with good hot showers and located at the bottom of the hill, but with 3 showers in the men's, there were queuing times - early bird gets the shower. The services are not signposted, on the entrance door it says 'quiet babies sleeping'. The restaurant offers breakfast and evening meals which need to be booked daily, I can't comment as I never used the restaurant or the bar. The quiet time is not monitored by site staff as there were a couple of rowdy groups, screaming, singing and whistling, and people running music from their cars up until 0100 hours. Though if complaints are made they do address them, an elderly couple complained about another family's dog and they were spoken to. I didn't bother complaining as it was my last night. Though if I was staying longer a complaint would have been made. The site is in a good location for walking in the area and Bellingham village is only a couple of miles down the road with a couple of pubs, cafes, butchers and mini-market. I would stay here again, but they need to control the noise and a few pitch markings wouldn't go amiss, nor would a couple of signs to the services.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tinathrip 3 reviews from this member

Loved it

Facilities were being improved whilst we were there

Friendly staff lovely great big space

Just right friendly feel for us.

Could do with a playground but such a big space kids made their own fun.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

We have been advised that this campsite has reopened (following a period closed from 2015) and it once again offers tent camping and campervan pitches.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Krazykamper 37 reviews from this member

We spent four nights at Boe Rigg in our tent. We pre booked and camped on pitch number 11 which was up the top of the hill. The pitch was huge. Our friends were on pitch 12 which was slightly smaller. Our pitch had a tap which was shared between two pitches which was handy. The facility block was kept clean. My only gripe was the showers. Only two in the ladies. The men's had three. I had to queue on a few occasions but I suppose it's not the end of the world. The pot wash however was not adequate for the size of the site. There was only one sink in the laundry for washing dishes so queuing was quite a common occurrence. There were two outdoor sinks but the water was cut off and the sinks were full of dirt.

The coffee shop was a nice touch. We didn't have any meals but we did sample some of their beer, wine and cider. I can recommend also the coffee and scones. You can use the free wifi inside the shop and around the wooden decking area.

There is lots to see and do in and around the surrounding area. We visited the Vindolanda Museum, The Roman Army Museum and Hadrians Wall. Keilder Forest is only a short drive away. There are plenty outdoor activities for families. We took bikes and went for a nice cycle round Keilder Water. We also went on a ferry trip which was good value for money.

I would recommend this site but don't be expecting finely manicured lawns and regimented rules regarding pitching. This ain't going to happen at this site but that's why I liked it so much.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davidandjunemuir 24 reviews from this member

This campsite is better for some kinds of campers than for others. We came away rather disappointed, but we can see it was suiting others.

Good points: it’s in a quiet location, pretty much in the middle of nowhere. It’s got several marked level pitches, with electric if you want it. It has modern facilities, including a laundry room with washing machine, dryer, and open drying space. It has a café, open 8am – 10pm every day (6pm Sundays), serving drinks (including alcohol), snacks and meals, and with free wifi. It has a bunkhouse for those without tents. It has space for several motorhomes. Easy drive back into Bellingham which is a nice little place with good facilities, and easy drive up to Kielder Water etc. There is a play area for children.

Downsides: The modern washrooms are a bit meagre for the women, with only three loos and two showers; so at peak times it is rather crowded. The showers are on a 5 minute timer, with 5 minutes between showers, so a family of three may take over a shower for half an hour. The dish washing facilities are very meagre; two outside sinks with only cold water (which almost no-one uses) and one sink in the laundry room (which everyone has to queue up for), causing major irritation. The only place to freeze your iceblocks is the bottom of the icecream cabinet in the café, and this does not freeze them solid at all even after 24 hours. The wifi is so heavily used it can be hard to log on. The rubbish bins are right on the edge of the site, so rather inconvenient and no encouragement to separate rubbish and recycle – strange for such a new site. Not on a walking trail or very close to MTB trail, so pretty much everyone ends up taking the car out every day to start their activities.

Good for bunkhouse travellers and one/two people on their own with a small tent, especially if the weather is bad. You can eat all your meals in the café, so no need for cooking outside etc. This could be a nice experience as you would meet lots of other young people doing the same. In fact, the whole place feels like it is set up essentially for the bunkhouse folks, with camping a kind of add-on. Not so good for conventional campers who are really looking for background support facilities like good showers, good washing up, freezing of iceblocks etc. , so they can camp fairly independently on their pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blinxter 11 reviews from this member

Have just returned from two week tour of Scotland and used Boe Rigg as my start/finish base because I know I can rely on the cleanliness and quality of the facilities.

Having read through some of the recent reviews I do have to wonder what people expect from camping? as this site, for me, is the best by far up and down the country.

They are small but on a wide open scale, the pitches are huge, they could easily fit more but greed is not an option here, guest comfort and enjoyment seems to be the priority.

They are constantly improving and seemingly reacting to feedback. A small site map is now given to guests on arrival now showing where bins are etc. (the bins can easily be seen from the main site but are kept a distance from the tent pitches so as to avoid unpleasant smells and to minimise disturbance when the bin lorry comes to empty - there are also butter churns around the bunk house for small item rubbish disposal)

Third visit here now. The only thing I would suggest is maybe a price increase to encourage a more camping aware visitor, perhaps keeping the wild camping at the same low rate as people going for this option tend to be more 'camp site etiquette aware'. (I'm not one of these, I like my EHU, this is just an observation)

Great site, friendly and helpful staff, amazing restaurant quality food very well presented. This place just gets better and better. Keep up the great work :)

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Icarus5 1 review from this member

Overall we enjoyed our visit but had a few issues with the site. I will list them so everyone reading can be better prepared than we were. 1) the grass on the site was very long and the old clippings were not cleared away, the result was soaking wet feet and soggy hay everywhere! Still picking it off our kit. I would say wellies were essential. 2) the toilet block is quite a distance from the tent pitches, also the tent pitches are half way up a hill. I was worried our car wouldn't make it off-road. It did, but it wouldn't have in the wet. Be prepared to carry your kit to the tent. 3) couldn't find the bins, ended up taking our rubbish home. I think they were behind the motorhomes but I was too lazy to check 4) the play park was close to the road leading to tent pitches, people were driving fast up to get up the hill so it is best closely supervised. Also if site managers are reading; it would be nice if sewerage smells are dealt with in that area. Though it was just a smell at the far edge of the play park, it wasn't pleasant. 5) only 5 mins per shower not ideal for those who have to wash kids too. Ours stopped while soap still on hair, had to rinse out with a dribble. Can't suggest anything for this other than wash quickly. I would also shower at night too as there are only 2 showers in the ladies. There was a wait time in the morning 6) midgies are a pain at night, we had a firepit (£5 hire £20 deposit, about £7 for a bag of kindling, softwood logs, 2 fire lighters and matches) and DEET and still got bites. Recommend to cover up and use some kind of repellent as well as use the fire pit.

We ate at the coffee shed quite a lot and though it was expensive the food was really nice and the facilities were really nice too. It was also really good that we had tap water and electric hookup right next to each tent too. Our daughter really enjoyed the huge play park at Kielder Water so it is well worth the trip if you have kids. It was near the bird of prey centre.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheDawgs 15 reviews from this member

The site is not what we expected from looking on the website and at the map. The site is quite hilly with rough ground to cross/pitch on. We were advised not to drive onto the grass (shrub) in case we got stuck. This was a bit of a pain because it meant carrying all of our equipment quite far over uneven ground. We managed to find a relatively flat spot and had great views. The following day we drove up to the tent to reload our vehicle with no problems (we have a 4x4). Each pitch has its own water tap which was a life saver as the walk to the facilities was a decent distance. The reception for the site is in the café which threw us initially. This was a nice site and the facilities were lovely, although we couldn’t find any bins (seriously neither of us could find any outdoor bins). We didn’t use the café, but it looked really nice with some interesting gifts. Sounds on the site travel quite far, including the traffic passing on the road. Though there wasn’t much, it still sounded very loud in our tent overnight. Our tent was ‘inspected’ by the two large site dogs (who were being walked off lead). One of them jumped up the back of our tent, luckily causing no damage. Thankfully our own two dogs were inside with us at the time. The man walking the dogs did not approach us or apologise which seemed a bit off putting. Overall we liked this site, but it was a little too far from our expectations. We would recommend it, however I don’t think we’d be quick to return as it was only a stop off for us on our way up to Scotland.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5497 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019