Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Boe Rigg

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Bellingham > The Boe Rigg Reviews

The Boe Rigg
Charlton
Bellingham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE48 1PE
Tel: 01434 240663
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: NicciMac 58 reviews from this member

 I loved this site! Owners so helpful, lovely and quiet, and a nice relaxed attitude about how/where to pitch. I've just read a review that mentions a rope swing, I wish I'd seen that! I went foraging for mushrooms with the dog, and there were lovely open walks in both directions.

Two criticisms: 1. There is nowhere private to undress for the shower, or a place to put clothes, towel etc. 2. The wifi signal only works in the loos or bar. Usually this wouldn't be a problem but since it is a mobile signal black spot (so no mobile data), a bit annoying. Had to keep going and sitting on the loo to download films to watch in the van! It would be great if they could invest in some signal boosters.

Great little restaurant and bar, lovely location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sonyx 2 reviews from this member

 The campsite was great for children with a bustling duckpond, rope swing and stream. Great location: rural but convenient.

The other campers were friendly, the owners quite helpful and flexible.

The facilities weren't great for campers when we went - the washrooms needed attention, particularly in terms of privacy and places to leave clothes when showering, and facilities for dishwashing were inadequate.

The overall impression was positive, but as though more attention was paid to the B+B and restaurant than to the campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Usual Suspect 4 reviews from this member

 Close to Kielder forest, the site is obviously popular with walkers the majority of whom were in the tent field.

We were there shortly after reopening. Good that it has a bar/restaurant as the location is not safely walkable into the nearest town Bellingham 3 miles away.

The site was fairly quiet when we were there so restrictions on the amount of people in the loos wasn't a problem and the hygiene facilities were good although some paper towels were lying on the ground outside for a couple of days.

Free wifi in the bar. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MAGIC10 6 reviews from this member

 Nice big pitches, peaceful location. Facilities nice and clean. Staff friendly.

Only downside. Ladies showers have nowhere to put your belongings and dry clothes whilst actually showering. Showers are nice and hot and powerful and don't have the silly button to press every 10 seconds.

Would definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ALH1 21 reviews from this member

 There are just 6 hard standing pitches, a little small for large units but all with grass to the side for sitting out or awning. Needed chocks as are slightly sloping but not too bad.

There is a huge camping field which was quiet when we arrived but filled up on the Friday - lots of room for kids play etc without bothering others.

There is a restaurant and bar on site but didnít use so canít comment.

The showers and toilets were ok with hand sanitizer and sanitising cloths for use.

Not many walks close but cycles ok. Kielder water was 7 miles or so with a fantastic 26 mile ride around on really good paths with bike hire available.

Nearest village is Bellingham (2miles) with a few shops providing everything needed.

Cost £16 p. N. Plus £5 for electric. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Roman_1 5 reviews from this member

 Fantastic little campsite, we booked this last minute for one night to see how our new dog would settle camping. A very relaxed and chilled atmosphere to the campsite. Both the kids loved the amount of space there was to play and run around.

There was no play ground but a very short drive into the town there was a great park and a nice walk along the river which eventually lead to a waterfall. Also not too far from Kielder forest.

A nice little pub restaurant on site which was pretty reasonable in price. Immaculate toilet and shower block. The washing up area only had cold water and was in need of a bit improvement.

You could hire a fire pit for a £20 returnable deposit which was great and you could either bring your own wood or buy a bag of logs.

Overall I would recommend and we will be returning for longer stays to this campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Quickpitch 2 reviews from this member

 A nice site that's open year round. Decent pitches with some EHU for those that need it.

Onsite restaurant and attached pub that serves decent food and nice beer.

Clean toilets/showers.

I've visited half a dozen times in the 'off' season and always had a great camping experience. The site has been very peaceful.

Camping fees are pretty reasonable imo 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fnaz 5 reviews from this member

 Chaotic. Facilities too few and not well 'refreshed' during our stay. Romantic campfires? In a national park during a heatwave? Really? Ladies, get used to plastic curtains not doors on your shower. Dishes to wash? Boil the kettle, there is no hot water at the potwash. Restaurant was good.

Really, a site that needs developing by people who know/care about campers. Could be a goldmine because of the location. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yorci 9 reviews from this member

 I spent 2 nights over the weekend. The reception is at the bar in the restaurant, I was greeted by very friendly staff, who explained the site and facilities.

I was pitched on top of the hill offering great views of the area. There is no WiFi or Cell reception at the top of the hill. Access to the pitches was via a steep hill of crushed rock - need to drive very slow!

The pitches are level with a fresh water supply next to the electric hook up. The pitches are not marked so it is a bit of a free for all when pitching near the electric hook up, but I got their early so I was able to secure a good pitch, but when I returned to my tent Saturday, I could no longer park my car next to my tent as the space had been filled by a tent, but managed to park on the hill in front of my tent, though my car did spoil my view.

It was a bit cramped when taking my tent down! The services are very clean with good hot showers and located at the bottom of the hill, but with 3 showers in the men's, there were queuing times - early bird gets the shower. The services are not signposted, on the entrance door it says 'quiet babies sleeping'.

The restaurant offers breakfast and evening meals which need to be booked daily, I can't comment as I never used the restaurant or the bar. The quiet time is not monitored by site staff as there were a couple of rowdy groups, screaming, singing and whistling, and people running music from their cars up until 0100 hours.

Though if complaints are made they do address them, an elderly couple complained about another family's dog and they were spoken to. I didn't bother complaining as it was my last night. Though if I was staying longer a complaint would have been made.

The site is in a good location for walking in the area and Bellingham village is only a couple of miles down the road with a couple of pubs, cafes, butchers and mini-market. I would stay here again, but they need to control the noise and a few pitch markings wouldn't go amiss, nor would a couple of signs to the services. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tinathrip 3 reviews from this member

 Loved it

Facilities were being improved whilst we were there

Friendly staff lovely great big space

Just right friendly feel for us.

Could do with a playground but such a big space kids made their own fun. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Boe Rigg child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Boe Rigg?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Boe Rigg dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bellingham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2717 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement