Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Fosfelle Country House Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Bideford > Fosfelle Country House Certificated Location Reviews

Fosfelle Country House Certificated Location
Hartland
Bideford
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX39 6EF
Tel: 01237 441273
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 7 Reviews
                7/10 from 7 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Smaryj 5 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at caravan club sites all over the country and this one is not up to the standard of the others. In the 10 days we never saw the owners. We had paid before we arrived. We were arriving late so the owner told us to just pitch up and she would catch up with us the next day, which never happened.

The toilet did not appear to have been cleaned in a long time with cobwebs full of dust and dead insects everywhere. The shower needed a token from the house so we used our own.

The pitches are very tight to turn into so we used our motor mover. There are 5 alpacas wandering around which run if you try to go near them, and are probably the reason you have to drive through a gate which was a pain.

There is no view from the caravan only of trees round the site. On the plus side it is quiet and peaceful and each pitch has its own picnic bench. 


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for one night after seeing their website, but didnít book in advance.

When we arrived there was no-one home and no notices saying whether to just pitch up or wait, tried calling but no answer either. We were just about to leave and go elsewhere when the owners arrived home. Not the friendliest of welcomes was given. Parked up and returned back to the house to pay and again was ignored by the owner who was in the courtyard area.

It was only on paying I realised the showers cost extra to the advertised price on their website. For the high price, I thought these would have been included. The facilities were clean and tidy and the water in the shower hot, although the lights in the toilet hut didn't work.

Whilst the pitches were hardstanding (gravel type), they weren't very long nor flat and also quite muddy. The quiet situation of the site is the main plus point, other than that, disappointing for the price you pay. 


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

 We picked this site as were visiting Hartland for the weekend and wanted somewhere close to stay.

The entrance driveway is quite grand and we were happy to pull up at the farm house which is also very pretty. Unfortunately there was no-one home when we got there and the phone was just ringing out so after 5 minutes we decided to leave, just as we were heading back up the driveway the owners arrived and whilst they were happy for us to go on down to the site and pitch up, we didnít feel very welcomed, this may have been because we were blocking their driveway but we had little choice.

The hardstanding pitches are situated down the bottom of a slope from the farmhouse and opposite some woodland, the lane down to the pitches is shared with some long term tenants so whilst the campsite is secluded, not completely private.

The toilet/shower facilities were housed in two separate huts, both clean and well maintained although it wasnít obvious how to turn the light on in the one of them and it didnít turn on with a sensor so a torch was required! There is a bar on site which the owner encouraged us to visit but as we had our dogs we didnít take him up on it. The site was a little bit expensive, and then they charge for showers as well.

It would probably be a really pretty site in the summer but we wonít go back to find out. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Logandog1 1 review from this member

 Stayed for one week, site is ok and toilets are quaint and clean.

I do however feel that alpacas should be kept away from caravans whilst causing no problems, the pile of alpaca crap on the track opposite one of the pitches was not acceptable.

I had pick of pitches so kept away from fly ridden mess

Be wary of site if full

Not suitable for children because of above problem

Water and electric both ok, close to caravans 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stubbsy 4 reviews from this member

 Nice, quiet, out of the way site. Brilliant wardens, Mark and Jas, really good toilet/washroom and shower pods, (£1 for a 6 min shower) always kept clean. Only one of each, and I would imagine there could be a bit of a wait with more than 3 or 4 vans on site, but as a CL there should be no more than 5 anyway. You WILL need blocks/bricks/ramps as the hardstandings are not at all level. This will be addressed over the winter, I am led to believe.

Nice little fishing lakes in amongst the trees, and Mark is doing a sterling job turning this into a little nature haven, and Jas is passionate about keeping the grass trim! On site pub has only limited opening, but 'The Hart' in Hartland village is well worth a visit. Good food, good beer, good atmos!

'Poppins' shop in Hartland very good for basic needs.

For a CL, this is pretty good. Not cheap, but worth it for the night sky, the 'pods', the peace and quiet and the Wardens! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MoonrakerUK 1 review from this member

 The 'partially sloping' description of this pleasant CL in the CC handbook is an understatement! Do take levelling blocks and chocks. The owners are planing to do more levelling to the hardstandings and adjacent awning plots, and then it will be a fantastic getaway. The toilet and shower pods (one of each - unisex) are really fab.

Superb location for dark skies, as well as the peace and quiet. The on-site bar/restaurant is open Wed-Sat (do let them know your plans). Local village has a good shop and one great restaurant/pub too.

On the downside, there were frequently more than 5 vans there, which isn't allowed under the CC's planning rights. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JaxElm 2 reviews from this member

 If you want to get away from it all this is the place to go. Very spacious and the best toilets and showers I've ever seen on a site.

There is a bar/restaurant on the site where you can get a good meal at a reasonable price. Good beer/wine selection.

Could do with more light by the gate entering the site and perhaps a light at the bottom of the field.

We had to cut our stay short due to a slight family crisis but will return later in the year.  



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fosfelle Country House Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fosfelle Country House Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fosfelle Country House Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bideford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2080 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December