Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Penpont Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Penpont Camping Reviews

Penpont Camping
Penpont
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 8EU
Tel: 01874 636202
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 14 Reviews
                10/10 from 14 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Minivan 2 reviews from this member

 Quite a basicsite and is my idea of perfection. Set up backpacker tent on riverside pitch and revelled in my solitude.

Set in the the grounds of this wonderful estate I could wander at leisure to explore the gardens, woods, and river to my hearts content.

A beautiful camping field with so many exquisite pitches. I came here to photograph and walk the Beacons but only left the site for 1 day, too much to enjoy here.

Our Hosts are so friendly and willing to chat. I can add no more because my needs vary a great deal to many other other campers.

I will return with my Wife without doubt. 8 out of 10 holidays we take are in our caravan so this is quite a change for me. (I am of well retired age). 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ddswhi 1 review from this member

 Gorgeous place. Lovely hosts.

What more can a couple of travellers ask for?

There is a great opportunity for wild swimming and dipping.

From the rock in the water about 50 yds upstream from the bridge there is a long deep pool of cool calm water. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: T21972 1 review from this member

 I Travel solo on a motorbike and came across this sight, Absolutely Stunning site on the bank of the river Usk.

Quite isolated but that's what I prefer.

I have definitely marked this place on my map an will revisit. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Clarep 1 review from this member

 We had such an amazing time at Pentwyn farm. The campsite is lovely with all the facilities you need for your trip.

Thomas was so welcoming and helpful, making sure we had everything and giving us directions for some of the local walks. He made a fuss of our puppy and the whole experience was really relaxed.

The farm is close to Brecon and some really good hikes.

We will definitely be back! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay 😊 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andreachapman 3 reviews from this member

 Penpont is a wonderful place to camp. We stayed for 2 nights. There is a lovely central orchard camping space which has a place for a communal fire, plenty of fire baskets with grills available too.

There is riverside camping too for a few tents with a fabulous view of the river, bridge and outbuildings. The whole site is beautiful and well looked after.

Very basic facilities but all superclean with hand wash and loo roll provided. 2 loos for ladies and one shower, Same for gents. Plus a belfast sink for washing up.

It would be nice to have had a plug socket or coin operated hair dryer, this was the only thing that I missed.

The beauty of this place is that it is small and simple, no caravans, no cars next to tents (carry your stuff on a wheelbarrow to your chosen pitch).

We had a wonderful time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Colinc 1 review from this member

 Excellent pitches on flat even ground surrounded by trees

Beautiful surroundings

Large shelter / sail shade in the centre of the camping area

Fire pits and logs in good supply

Short drive from Brecon

Good toilet and washing facilities (though might get busy when all pitches occupied)

Close to the river where our children enjoyed paddling

Farm shop had lovely organic vegetables 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Carolyn Marshall 1 review from this member

 Came here with my then 34 year old son. Absolutely loved it.

Very peaceful and camped by the river and saw an otter which was the whole point of the trip.

Would recommend to anyone who wants a peaceful location.

Been trying to go back and plan a yearly visit but lockdown stopped us sadly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fatsam47 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights. Had the pick of where to pitch, either by River or Garden, as only people camping there. Really beautiful location with decent facilities which were always really clean.

On site farm shop for bread, meat and organic veggies. We felt surrounded by nature with loads of birds nesting nearby. Also loved watching the bats hunting at twilight, skimming the riverís surface, catching insects.

The location is really handy for Brecon itself (about 15 min drive) or local shop about 5 mins away and for walks into the nearby hills. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Impreza280 5 reviews from this member

 I was slightly bemused as to why there were only 4 previous reviews for this site. However, I can confirm it is a well-kept secret, having just stayed with 3 9-13 year old girls. The pictures don't do the campsite justice.

You can pitch your tent in an old garden which is beautifully kept, or pitch by the river. Your car is parked 25-50m away and there are wheelbarrows to help you move your gear.

This is the first time I've camped without having the car nearby and I have to admit it's much nicer, also safer for children.

There are firepits to use and logs can be bought. Walk back across the bridge (50m) and you'll find the wash block. Plenty of toilet roll, and free, hot showers with good pressure. There's also an honesty organic farm shop with all sorts of veg grown on the estate.

Also, homemade jams, local sourdough bread and a freezer full of local meat. There's also a maze on the estate for the children, a river where much of it can be paddled by supervised children and amazing topiary too.

The atmosphere is shabby chic and you'll get a very warm welcome and are trusted to leave the site as you found it. It's not the cheapest site but it's a well kept secret that I'm reluctantly sharing with you. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Muse kidd 1 review from this member

 A cycle tourist's paradise. A wonderful oasis. Picture perfect. A surprise beyond place I've stayed in Wales. I felt as if I had fallen back in time 200 years.

It's a bit like Alice in Wonderland. There's so much to see in such a small place. Wandering about is a marvellous adventure.

I camped by the Usk, I purchased fresh food from their garden shop, cooked over a small fire. I could have stayed all summer. I wish I had. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Penpont Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Penpont Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Penpont Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Lifestyle 2022 Show, Shropshire 06/05 to 08/05
Holiday homes, caravans, camping, holidays, garden rooms, hot tubs, garden furniture, gardening, health & fitness - 20% off tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4133 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement