Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Salthill Caravan Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Galway > Salthill Caravan Park Reviews

Salthill Caravan Park
Salthill
Galway
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 00353 91 523972
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 10 Reviews
                7/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

To start with, we did not stay overnight at this site. But we did look in and consider and thought a more up to date review on here may be helpful to anyone considering this site.

The site is right down on the bay, stunning views on 3 sides. The hardstanding pitches have been renewed / replaced and the whole area looks great, all pitches are fully serviced with water, grey waste and ehu.

Showers were immaculately clean as were toilets. The site is right at the end of the Salthill Promenade so you can walk traffic free back to the city - about 4 km.

The owner was friendly and helpful when we called in.

We decided against purely on price €34 per night plus €2 each for a shower was €38 and that was out of our budget - but would say it looks a brilliant site and if you are looking for a site with pitches right down by the water this is the only one in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Linda Morrison 13 reviews from this member

WILL NOT BE BACK!

I emailed to request a booking for 3 nights in July, reply was 'turn up and we'll sort you out' I thought this was a somewhat casual response to a booking request but assumed I had a booking. On arrival I was told this was a standard reply & I did not have a booking (how was I to know!?!) however we were given a pitch right at the edge of the site overlooking the sea - after driving over a vacant hardstanding pitch - onto an unmarked area of grass very close to the motorhome next to us; in fact so close we kept the blinds closed on this side as did they! We assumed we were last in. How wrong we were!

The following evening a van was shown into the spot next to us - they were so close we didn't think they would be able to open the drivers door while our awning was out! Then a caravan was pitched onto the hard standing behind us! This got worse the next again evening when a further camper van was parked at a position halfway between the vans already in position effectively blocking any route out for around 15 motorhomes (including us) & resulting in them having to move at 9am the following morning to let us out! The general consensus was that as this was during school holidays the owners put greed before safely & comfort of their customers! I noted the tents also appeared very close together. Despite being so close together this did not deter other residents from walking through our pitches to get to the sea front.

In relation to the site it was well maintained although busy & only 3 showers (female). 1e required for shower and 50c for hot water to wash dishes! Lots of kids & teenagers on this site although quiet after 11pm.

Walk along sea front very pleasant but Salthill itself run down & tacky. Galway is a great place with street music in abundance and a lovely atmosphere. Bus from top of lane out of campsite into centre of town.

Would love to go back to Galway but not this site!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Urbanpetr 2 reviews from this member

Brilliant location, walking distance to the Galway city; beautiful nature, view on sea side and friendly receptionists. BUT THAT WAS IT.

Tent area is unprotected againt the wind and also visitors. The tent area is at the front of the camping site and gate, so anyone can come or leave the tent pitches at any time ( especially throughout night). Also our neighbours were very noisy until midnight and no security bother about it.

Every time you need to wash your dishes, you must pay for a water.

Walking distance to the indoor kitchen was quite long from tent pitches as should be.

Indoor play area NONE.

At first day was very windy and our tent got slightly damage, the people at reception help us and vere very friendly, but the fact that tent wasn't OK make our camping holiday shorter.

If the owner will improve the tent bariers and security, I will gladly come back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DMD40J 17 reviews from this member

We visited during May 2015 which could be called the rainy season, we were very lucky as it was dry. The site owner was a very knowledgeable chap who was also very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The site was laid out very well with the sea on one side and a sea inlet. We spent ages watching the birds there. Everything was very clean and very tidy. We walked into the city of Galway and even managed a walk back, it was very flat and about 5 or 6 miles return. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LWilkes 2 reviews from this member

Great site with buses running into Galway every 30 minutes. Owner was very helpful and allocated us a site sheltered from the wind. For a great spot try and book a position looking out to sea as these really are stunning positions for a Galway Bay view. Facilities were nice and clean. Great beach walks.

If there was one downside it would be the gate to access the beach is always locked preventing easy access. This is understandably locked to prevent access to site from the public. As an after thought, a key pad style gate would be a great option allowing beach access.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

This is a spacious, open site on the edge of the sea. The pitches are all tarmac hardstandings surrounded by well-mowed grass. A fellow camper who goes regularly told us that pitching used to be haphazard and rather cramped but is much improved now.

As you enter the site there are a number of static caravans, but the area for tourers is nearer the sea and in fact a number of pitches are right beside the sea - we had one of these and the views were lovely.

There is a central block with toilets, campers kitchen and washing-up sinks (50 cents coin in slot. ) The showers are in a separate block next to reception. The facilities are clean but definitely in need of refurbishment. Showers cost 1 euro, but this gave plenty of hot water.

As others have said, the adjacent seaside walk into Salthill is very pleasant. There's a good supermarket, Joyce's, about 1 mile from the site. Galway is an interesting old city but parking is quite expensive.

The best thing about this site is definitely its location, but it's somewhat overpriced, especially as there is no wifi.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andy55moto 4 reviews from this member

This is a large, well established site about 6 km from Galway centre (not the 2. 5 advertised by the site!) in the area of Salthill. There are good shops, cafes, swimming pool etc nearby in Salthill and well within walking distance from the site, walking along the sea front. In fact, this site is right on Galway bay with some pitches within touching distance of the sea, so great location. Not much of a beach, but there there is a diving and swimming platform not far away.

As for the site, its a bit dowdy and old fashioned and is need of updating. The showers are poor, dingy and you have to pay extra for them as well (as you do even to wash up if you want hot water!), which considering the top charge rate, is a bit cheeky. The showers are on a timer as well and it takes most of the time just to warm up take lots of 1 euro coins and hope your money doesn't run out while you have shampoo on your hair and you can't see properly!

Overall, it s busy site which is pretty good, but could be a lot better and should be for the cost. It is convenient for Galway but that's a decent walk or a nice bike ride. Salhill has nice pubs and cafes etc and that's nearer, so there is plenty of good stuff nearby. Galway deserves more sites and better than this though. But its not all bad and its OK for a few days.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Drifter161 2 reviews from this member

We have recently returned from this site, and are well toured caravanners and although this site was ok it was very over priced, 30 Euros a night and we still had to pay 1 Euro for each shower. If you needed to wash your dishes you had to pay a Euro each time for hot water, lucky we didn't need to do this,

The showers/toilets were just ok but not nearly enough of them, had a lot queueing to do.

Nice walks into salthill and if you are lucky to get front pitch lovely views of Galway bay, but they seemed to cram you in anywhere. But nice location.

We have stayed in far nicer sites for a lot less money, don't think we will be rushing back. But we loved Galway city was excellent its a must to go and see.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Woodenfeet 20 reviews from this member

Good site for visiting Galway. Clean and well laid out with many pitches looking directly onto Galway Bay and across to The Burren.

The bus from across the road takes you right into the city and runs every 35 mins. A bracing walk along the front to Salthill takes about 30 mins.

The toilet blocks and showers were well cleaned but an electric insect zapper dropped its victims into the hand basins.

There is a ramp up to the toilet/laundry block but a high step into each toilet cubicle. I did not check whether there were alternative disabled facilities.

There were rather a lot of rules posted about and the owner was less than congenial, but we would still recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

This is a very professionally presented site on the shores of Galway Bay. Salthill is the seaside resort end of Galway City, and this site is a 2km walk from Salthill, along the very pleasant promenade. It's in a residential area, but feels a very safe site, placed out on a small headland.

The site is well laid out with good hard-standing pitches, many of which face directly out over Galway Bay. The site caters mostly for touring units and tents.

Good washroom facilities and showers : there are actually 2 separate toilet blocks, so you don't need to walk too far.

If you get a pitch overlooking the bay you can have some entertainment watching the many locals who come out for a stroll on the promenade and kick the wall at the end for good luck :-)

We had a very pleasant overnight stay here, and would certainly use this site again if we're heading Galway direction.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2593 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019