Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Alverstone Ponds Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Isle Of Wight > Sandown > Alverstone Ponds Certificated Location > Reviews

Alverstone Ponds Certificated Location
Corrie Bank
Main Road
Sandown
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO36 0HA
Tel: 01983 403934
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 16 Reviews
                10/10 from 16 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aletheajames 1 review from this member

 Oh just so lovely. Great view. Great facilities on the pitch and sweetest little bathrooms.

Slightly tricky to get to. The turning left off the road into the site was very sharp and the sign barely visible.

The site was shared with a couple of fibreglass sheep that were hilarious & kept finding ourselves surprised. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stamp3 1 review from this member

 This is an outstanding Certified Location that far exceeded expectations. A cheery welcome and a quick show round to the large fully serviced level pitches each with an individual picnic bench, and quirky thoughtfully decorated toilets (one each for M/F) that even had hand cream.

There are laundry facilities that we didnít need to use, and an information shed with a great book and DVD swap.

The views are stunning and there is an adequate dog walk (with poo bin) surrounded by goats, chickens, rabbits and a sheep, much to our dogís bewilderment.

My husband loved the picturesque and well maintained fishing lakes, which are for exclusive use of paying guests for £1 per hour, he was very happy with the 13lb Carp he caught and some really big Perch.

WiFi is available, free which is ok for emails etc or you can pay for premium for a token cost per week if you want to stream etc, we found the free was adequate for our needs.

The Red Squirrel Trail along the old railway was perfect for walking and just a couple of minutes from the site turning left. All for £16 per night and a discounted ferry which was organised for us by the lovely owners.

Any negatives - I truly canít think of any other than it will probably be hard to book this CL as itís so good, lots of repeat guests unsurprisingly, oh and the Dawn chorus is very enthusiastic! 


Date of Visit: February 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yates6 1 review from this member

 Owner very welcoming.

Peaceful and tidy site.

Loved the goats! 😁

We came for a change of scenery and it was fabulous

We ll be back and highly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lms0110 50 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to the Isle of Wight, so our first visit to this CL - what a gem, lovely serviced h/s pitch with an adjoining garden area with bench set, and free wifi, all for £15 per night.

There is a small toilet/washroom, laundry facilities and information hut which includes book/dvd loan. Small dog walk, which is sufficient for first / last night constitutional as just a 5 min walk from the site brings you to the Red Squirrel trail, a level tarmac walk on a former railway line.

Turn left at the former Railway cottage and a 2 mile walk brings you to either the pub or The Garlic Farm, turn right onto the trail and its 2 miles to Sandown, perfect for the dogs for off lead walking and cycling.

The down sides are - no pubs or shops closer than 2 miles so location maybe more suited to car & caravan unless you like taking the motorhome out (we don't) bearing in mind the approach road to the site is not wide, very undulating and not many passing places, or walk/cycle.

We found the pitches fine but our particular pitch (Dogwood, in the corner) may have been a bit tight to get a full size caravan awning up, and finally, it would be good to have a tensioner on the door exiting the site to the lane/lake as several times we were disturbed in the mornings by others going through it and just letting it slam behind them, our pitch was adjacent to this door 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuntlady 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site. Clean and tidy with great facilities.

Paul and Chris are lovely and Paul went out of his way to help us with a couple of issues.

Highly recommended. Thanks so much guys for a wonderful holiday. X 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Holidaysrok 3 reviews from this member

 Owners are lovely & very helpful. At time of booking offered to book the ferry for us which I must say was cheaper than doing it yourself. Communication was good at all times.

We have just returned from a week stay at this lovely site.

Made to feel very welcome. Good size pitches with your own picnic table & beautiful views of the countryside.

Yes there is no shower but that didn't bother us as used caravan.

There is a nice toilet & wash basin in log cabin, very clean.

Also information cabin with local pub info & loads of leaflets etc.

We were unfortunate & had car breakdown during our week but owners & other campers couldn't have been more helpful.

We were without a car for couple of days & had lots of offers to take us to Morrisons for food shopping etc.

Lovely walks near to site.

All in all a brilliant site & owners. And for £13 a night what more could you ask. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Parlourbarn 28 reviews from this member

 Amazing value for money! Fully serviced pitches and free Wifi on generally well looked after CL site for £13/night.

The photos on the web (various sites) all seem to be before the pitches were made hard standing and the bushes and trees were quite new. There are actually 8 pitches, five in one area and three others immediately next door, all using the one toilet, no shower. The road down to the side is narrow, but there are passing places and it is not too busy.

Had we have been on any other pitch other than pitch 3, we would have loved it. But pitch 3 has larger pointed stones as its hardstanding whilst the others have smaller rounder stones. The effect then is that you are at risk of ripping your awning carpet and itís very uncomfortable to walk on.

Secondly the bushes at the back are overgrown and therefore you cannot get your van all the way into the pitch. But the worst problems are the location of pitch 3, basically you are on what is in effect, a roundabout Ė to one side is the dog walk and fishing entrance, so everyone walks in front of your van to get there, and on the other side is the walk to the toilet.

Behind the pitch is the toilet/washing machine block in a wooden hut, so you can hear everything. Finally, this pitch is bounded by two levels of sleepers, and you would struggle to get a full awning on it Ė we only had a porch so were fine.

Otherwise would recommend the site, central for getting around, supermarket nearby and great food pub in the next village The Pointer Inn in Newchurch. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kevrowan 7 reviews from this member

 This is a nice well kept CL with friendly welcoming owners. The facilities are kept nice and clean but there is no shower.

It was an easy cycle ride into Sandown and there is a lovely nature hide within easy walking distance.

We had an enjoyable couple of hours watching the wildlife which included Red Squirrels and a Great Spotted Woodpecker.

The site charged 13 per night, with the only downside being the lack of a shower. I Would have no hesitation recommending this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Roger and Jackie 4 reviews from this member

 We came to Alverstone Ponds for the first time in July 2013. It is fantastic and must be one of the very best CL site in the country.

Suffice to say that three of the other 4 caravans that were there this year were there last year and we have booked again for next year already.

See our review for last year and the same applies. AND Paul and Chris are putting a washing machine on site for next year! Bonus 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SBarber-Ball 4 reviews from this member

 Spent a absolutely fabulous two weeks at Alverstone Ponds. The owners are one of the most friendliest and accommodating couple you would ever wish to meet. The directions given on the website are spot on, and we arrived without any trouble.

The site is a quiet 5 van site, with excellent views. The pitches are all fully serviced, and are well kept.

On site there is a log cabin with various bits of information to make you stay enjoyable. On arrival we were greeted and given some information regarding local places to eat, and local supermarket.

The fishing is very good, and my husband enjoyed every minute spent down on the ponds.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked for next year.

Once again, nothing was too much trouble for the owners, and it was nice that they took the time to come and have a chat, also spending to time to come and say goodbye and wishing us a safe journey. I would give this site 100% and carry on the excellent service they provide. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Alverstone Ponds Certificated Location child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alverstone Ponds Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Alverstone Ponds Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sandown      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3931 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement