Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Higher Rew Touring Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Kingsbridge > Higher Rew Touring Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Higher Rew Touring Caravan & Camping Park
Higher Rew Farm
Malborough
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 3BW
Tel: 01548 842681
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dayl29 1 review from this member

 This site was ideal for the three generations of our family.

The facilities were very clean and staff very helpful.

Plenty of space on each pitch and extra dog walking fields.

Having clothes washing and drying facilities was particularly useful after a day at the beach with young children.

Salcombe is a great place to visit, although I would suggest the park and ride as parking and driving through the town can be a challenge. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Buffy8 1 review from this member

 Friendly and helpful staff and facilities that were simple but perfectly clean and regularly checked.

Great system for a deposit to borrow table tennis bats etc. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alijns 10 reviews from this member

 Spent a lovely 2 weeks at Higher Rew. The facilities were spotless.

Even though the site was busy there was no noise

Showers were 20p for 4 minutes and mostly lovely and warm

My only criticism is there was no provision to mop the shower out after use to leave it clean for the next person

Would definitely return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kateandjames 66 reviews from this member

 Good site for coastal walking around Salcombe and Hope Cove.

Toilet block fine, there's a wash up area and laundry. There's a games room, WiFi room (though I didn't try it), ping pong and skittles. Some pitches have stunning views to coast, but these are a bit on the tilt.

When I was there the shop / reception area wasn't open, and apart from checking in and being told to basically pitch wherever I wanted to, odd exceptions, I saw no site staff.

There are some long term seasonal pitches that need a bit of attention, all windbreaks, plastic flowers and solar lighting that's on even when owners aren't there.

I see from other reviews that there are concerns about access, I didn't have any problems, but I wasn't here full season, just first May bank holiday weekend, however roads are narrow in places but there are plenty of passing places.

Nearest beach, South Sands is not dog friendly, but you can catch a ferry into Salcombe. North Sands has a cafe, the Winking Prawn that does good food apparently, but everything has to be ordered online from your table, odd system that I gave up on! however the beach here is dog friendly, sadly the adjacent NT garden, Overbecks, is not.

Another place for food is the Walkers Hut at East Soar, help yourself honesty cafe in a barn. Sandwiches, Cakes, Crisps, Soft drinks and tea and coffee. Nice stop off after a cliff walk.

In the other direction, you can walk across the fields to Malborough, pretty village with interesting church, village shop, pub and co-op petrol station. Actually more interesting than the disappointing over rated Salcombe! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bailey39 4 reviews from this member

 Friendly reception, especially after the hair raising journey down the Hill to campsite. Totally my own fault as in the email confirmation in RED it advise's you, NOT to take that route. I had to reverse a 7. 50 metre motorhome up a blind Hill because the local Farmer wasn't going to reverse.

We had booked an electric pitch, however, we were taken to pitch 58, a non electric pitch, but were given an extension lead, so we could have electric. We were among tents and caravans with awnings and children, which we now realise isn't for us (first year out in motorhome)

Dogs are NOT allowed on the Sandy Beach between May-October, don't advise that on their site. Lots of lessons learned on this trip.

Wouldn't return due to the location, even using the road we were advised to, met a dust cart lorry at 7am in the morning and again, I had to reverse as he wasn't going to. Perhaps they don't like tourists.

I would suggest to make that area into a one way system as the locals drive like they are on a race track. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sheron 1 review from this member

 Fab site! Facilities clean. All very friendly.

We were in the overflow field which was a little way from the toilets (which we were warned about) but worth it for the views. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mart1st 2 reviews from this member

 A nice site with open aspects most pitches are terraced to provide large level grass pitches.

Good toilet facilities but you will pay 20p for a four minute shower, which is plenty long enough and at a nice temperature.

The site is well placed for walkers as the coastal paths can be accessed directly from site.

It takes approximately 30 minutes walking to reach the nearest part of the coastal path, but you can park your car nearer at a National Trust car park for only 3 for the day. The views are stunning.

Approximately an hours walking will get you into the heart of Salcombe and about twenty five will get you onto either north or south beaches. Directly from the site which is downhill all the way, which obviously means a climb on return. Both beaches have car parks.

If you are are towing or driving a motorhome beware as the roads around the area are mainly single track with pull-in places and definitely not for the faint hearted. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mikede 31 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant site with exceptionally helpful and friendly staff.

If you are lucky enough to get a terraced pitch there is no problem getting level- if you get any of the others it may be difficult.

Good clean facilities- 20p for a 4minute shower.

Good walking area- access to the coast path is about 0. 75 miles away.

Access for larger units can be "fun"- particularly through Malborough village- very narrow on the turn off the A381- as the scrapes along the side of my motorhome will testify!

Dog friendly exercise field adjacent. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paula Baker 1 review from this member

 Picturesque camp site, windly lanes, on a hill but managed flat pitches

Pay for showers, clean and tidy,

Not overly friendly stayed two nights but moved pitches 3 times, we took the Bongo out on the Sunday and came back to no pitch, said we should of asked for a flag (we were new to motorhoming) We set up again where they suggested and then people arrived as it had been booked, so we had to pack up again and move to a spot between 2 unused caravans - we were the easiest to move as it was a motor home, they did apologise but never offered us any compensation. Pretty poor customer care really. Wasn't so great after that. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vashka 17 reviews from this member

 Great campsite, friendly and welcoming owner who was more than happy to help with my array of daft questions! Easy walking down to South Sands where you can either get the ferry or walk to Salcombe - it's a bit of an up and down walk but as we did, you can reward yourself with a couple of G&Ts at the lovely South Sands hotel before walking back up the hill to the campsite!

Really good value at 19 per night over the Easter weekend for a motorhome and two adults. Views really good and campsite fairly peaceful.

Only downsides are the access road which is a bit hair-raising and having to have 20p for the showers which weren't brilliant (and were cold on one occasion).

Would definitely return to this site and recommend to others staying in this area. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Higher Rew Touring Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Higher Rew Touring Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Higher Rew Touring Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2147 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement