Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highfield Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Highfield Farm Touring Park Reviews

Highfield Farm Touring Park
Long Road
Comberton
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB23 7DG
Tel: 01223 262308
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 120 Reviews
                9/10 from 120 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  120 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bayleaf01 2 reviews from this member

 Another very pleasant weekend visit to Highfield Farm,

They are friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble for them.

Situated close to Cambridge by either car or public transport 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Daisydaisy 24 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice clean site with lovely showers near at hand with friendly helpful staff.

My only gripe (well 2 actually although the second less so) is they expect you to remove your ground sheet during the day. Huh! I generally find site owners are not campers and don't always appreciate what campers need.

We came home one day and someone had been in our awning, moved our stuff about and took up our awning carpet half way, not on really. Our awning carpet is designed for going on grass and breathable so it will not kill the grass. We kept it down nevertheless.

The second thing is every time you go out and come back you have to shut the gate. This is an inconvenience as most sites with gates or barrier use cards so would benefit from that.

Nevertheless it wouldn't stop us going back as it is a lovely site and very well kept. Just forget about the groundsheets, it's a camping site not a bowling green. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: MAGGIEANN65 3 reviews from this member

 This caravan site is one of the best we have been to. Very friendly owners always ready for a chat. Absolutely pristine shower block. Plenty of space between vans

A good area if you like country 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 70 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for the first half of the Easter holidays.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly lady who showed us to our pitch. The pitch was hard standing with the EHU at the back, the hardstanding was level side to side with a slight slop back to front.

The site itself is very well maintained, with large hedges and several trees. Toilet blocks are never far away and were always clean during our stay. The showers are fantastic, plenty of hot water with decent pressure.

The site has a small shop which sells the essentials. Thereís a fantastic dog walk which offers great views of Cambridge. Although the site is close to the M11, you can hardly hear any traffic. The only noise that was a bother was from the nearby rifle range, as this scared one of our dogs.

The location of the site is an easy drive from the A14 and M11 and is just a short drive from Cambridge city centre. There are many supermarkets close by and the nearby village of Comberton has a few shops too.

My only little complaint about this site is the electric supply, itís only 10amp, which the site owner warned us about when we arrived. We found that we werenít able to have the caravan heating (even on low power) and kettle on at the same time, which wasnít a big problem, but for £28 per night I would expect a better electric supply.

On the whole I would thoroughly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Winstonsax 7 reviews from this member

 Just had a lovely weekend on this site together with 40+ more Eriba owners. The owners of the site are very accommodating and approachable, the toilet/shower blocks are all kept are clean and tidy with hot water, showers are clean and the cubicles are in two parts, a chair together with hooks and a good sized mirror are in the first part separated by half a panel, there is a big gap at the bottom so don't leave bags or anything on the floor under the chair. A soap dish is also provided close to the shower that has nice hot water and are also FREE, another big plus is that there are no push buttons to keep the water running, just a mixer tap - perfect.

We had two dogs with us and there is a fantastic 'private dog walk' on site nicely mown tracks which are a good width. We saw some swings for children, an old idea (I loved when I was a child!) a multiple seated rocking/seesaw horse but unfortunately it had cones around it stopping it's use - hope they get it 'fixed' soon so more children can have wonderful memories of their caravan/camping holidays.

Close by we went to Burwash Manor Barns, New Rd, Barton, which have a selection of specialist shops and a Tea Rooms a Stone Pizza oven all with outside seating (the pizza was lovely, although, a lot of wasps thought so too!), nice weather so ideal with our two dogs and all with Free parking, quite an enjoyable afternoon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Niknrich 17 reviews from this member

 Our third stay at Highfield Farm, this time with friends in their caravan and another in a tent.

As a child-free group we were pleased to be pitched in the top field away from the children's play area, but there seemed to be a few noisy teenagers in the rally field on the other side of the hedge! They didn't disturb us too much though.

The facilities are clean and well-kept, with good showers. The pitches are well-drained and level, and as they're arranged in a square with the facilities block in the centre, it's not too far to walk wherever you're pitched.

There are tall leylandii hedges between the separate fields but how much shade you get depends on which side you're on! It was a scorching weekend when we stayed so our campervan was like an oven by midday. If shade is important they you may want to request a shady pitch.

The owners are friendly but strict on the site rules - even hurrying-up our septuagenarian friend who was struggling to get her tent packed up in 30 degree heat by the departure deadline.

The 3 Horseshoes pub was about a 20 minute walk away and is very friendly, with good food and beer. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrscairnnut 56 reviews from this member

 Having not left a review on this site since 2015, I thought I'd just say again how good this site truly is. The site remains as good as it was back then.

The owners have been increasing the size of some of the hard standing pitches and as always the site is very well maintained. A comment was made about the toilet/showers on the field nearest the site entrance (this is the adult only area), but the upper field has a toilet block with toilets and showers within the same building; gents and ladies being separate. The middle area has individual cubicles with toilet/wash hand basins allowing for a private wash if you don't want a shower.

The owners work exceptionally hard to accommodate everyone with their requirements. There are swings on the main family field with plenty of room for children to play.

We have spent 7 weekends there so far this year; it comes top of our favourite list for weekend breaks.

There is a cycle route along the main road (shared with the footpath). This takes you into Cambridge without having to go on the road.

Pub, butchers, Budgen mini market in the village all within walking distance. Duxford Imperial War Museum not far away.

Campers are able to order bread, milk, newspapers daily and the reception shop sells a variety of other basic requirements and ice creams. We will be back before the year is out. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Drlizjones 8 reviews from this member

 Really excellent site with cracking staff. Very friendly, clean and well laid out - loads of private hedged areas that would be great for several groups wanting to camp together.

Only real beef is that the toilets and showers are in separate blocks, with unisex showers. I don't mind the unisex cubicles, but having to troop from one block to the other was a bit odd. No wash-hand basin in the shower either, so it was back to the WC to clean teeth.

Could also do with more hooks in showers - just a single hook on the door and a double hook low down on the wall to hang the seat on. This is common on so many sites - surely I'm not the only person who takes clothes, a towel and a spongebag into the shower?

Didn't seem to be much for kids - a seesaw/rockinghorse was coned off - but loads of space to run around and generally have fun.

Sounds like I'm complaining but I'm not - these are tiny things and overall I thought it was excellent. Thank you for having us!

PS - arrival up to 9pm is possible - extra marks for this, even though we didn't need to take advantage of it. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Happytravels 1 review from this member

 Well this site was all the good things mentioned in previous reviews and more. All the showers and toilet blocks were immaculate and there was plenty of them. The owners were friendly and helpful.

We didn't have any children but were a lot of families who seemed very happy and welcomed. What wasn't mentioned so much in previous reviews was how convenient it was for safe biking and walking. You only had to go a little way down the road to get to the network of off road bike tracks there was also loads of places you could walk to for a drink or a meal.

We avoided the main Long Road which was a little busy sometimes by walking through back alleys and quiet roads to get to the supermarket very well stocked and the bus stop. We went to Cambridge on the bus and to Addenbrookes Hospital.

Surrounding the camp are meadows and some crop fields all of which had a wide a path mowed so even without a dog was a pleasant walk around for over a mile.

There was also lovely footpaths even one to Cambridge. We will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dekelsh 1 review from this member

 We came for a short weekend with out 2 daughters,

The owner was very helpful,

The camp is very clean and well organised, there is a separate camping area for families with some swings and all the kids from all the tents gathered there to play in the evening and morning.

It is a very short distance from Cambridge and a lot to do around the area.

We had a wonderful weekend, thank you. 


Previous     120 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highfield Farm Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highfield Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highfield Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cambridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10138 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement