Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glan Y Gors Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Harlech > Glan Y Gors Certificated Site Reviews

Glan Y Gors Certificated Site
Llandanwg
Harlech
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL46 2SD
Tel: 01341 241410
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. We don't have showers. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Buck1 1 review from this member

 What a find! A wonderful little CL site. The site is immaculately kept, every morning without fail Mrs Evans cleaned and disinfected the alsan, she also scrubbed around the fresh water tap. The grass had been mown and nicely kept.

I canít comment on the toilet facilities because due to Covid it was closed. Mrs Evans had made us fully aware of this when booking, and we assured her this wasnít a problem as we had our own. She had spaced out all of the units so no one was on top of each other, this did mean unfortunately our hookup lead wasnít long enough, Mrs Evans disappeared and within 5 minutes came back with a longer lead for us to use.

If l am to have a little gripe, the day after we were all set up another family in a tent arrived and pitched up quite close, they were a very nice family and did move there gazebo when my husband made a comment which made him feel really bad 😔 but if we had been staying any longer than a few days it would have been a little intrusive.

At the top of the site there is a little grass alleyway that leads down to the beach with spectacular views. But unfortunately the steps down were a unsafe so it had been closed off ☹️.

Mrs Evans has to be one of the warmest most welcoming site owners we have had the pleasure to meet, and we will definitely be going back ! 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Derekcbr 74 reviews from this member

 Sometimes I read reviews with a little scepticism! This site had great reviews and I can only agree with everything that has been said. Itís a great site with wonderful views. A short walk to the beach and a train request stop about 200 yds from the site to get you into Barmouth or Harlech or further afield.

An excellent site for peace and quiet and a credit to Mrs. Evans 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sprite_guy 5 reviews from this member

 I must agree with previous reviews, this is a little gem of a campsite. Since the last review the chemical disposal is now beside the field entrance along with a water supply for rinsing.

We have now visited this site for the last three years, since it was recommended by an acquaintance. The sheer peace and quiet of the area is a big plus, as is being lulled to sleep by the sound of the sea.

A short walk takes you to the beach car park cafe selling tea, coffee, icecream or meals.

Through the summer the little church in the dunes has a series of musical concerts, all candle lit as ther is no electricity.

There is the railway nearby with it's occasional trains about every two hours. We use it to get to Porthmadog for the supermarkets (Lidl, Aldi and Tesco) and the local shops as it saves moving the car and paying car parking there also to Barmouth for the same reason.

The field has a slope to it but with levelling blocks and some juggling of position it is possible to obtain a level floor.

It's a credit to Mrs Evans and we love visiting. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mikede 21 reviews from this member

 Spent a couple of days here in early September.

The field is immaculate close mown grass but has quite a slope so don't forget the levelling ramps.

The owner- Mrs Evans- is very friendly and helpful. Can't comment on the facilities as we didn't use them but I guess the other review comments are valid in that it could get a bit congested with only one toilet.

CDP is a manhole in the front lawn- between the flower beds- no problem but the only tap is a few yards away and is the drinking water supply so you'll need a bucket to transfer some rinse water.

There is an 'unofficial' access to the beach directly out of the top of the site but this has very steep and awkward steps. Good spot for watching the sun go down though.

Nice site- a lot quieter at the weekend than Shell Island ! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nikki_johnson 12 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from two nights at Glan y gors. It is ideally situated and immaculate. Having checked out the area before we left we knew that this site did not have shower facilities and only one toilet so we were surprised to be charged £20 per night for a tent, two adults and a child. There were several families on the site so the toilet was well utilised - always clean, but sometimes a queue.

The site is adjacent to a beautiful beach, sand is only visible at low tide - plenty of rock pools. Stunning views of Snowdon, Harlech castle and the Lleyn peninsula from the beach.

There is a small cafe within a 100 metres of the site

There is plenty to do in the local area, Harlech castle is worth a visit - parking in Harlech is always a nightmare so using the train may be a good idea. Glan y gors is very close to a little stop on the railway line. Harlech beach is sandy and very long. Of course all the delights of Snowdonia are 'on the doorstep'.

From the site there are views of the mountains, beautiful.

Bring your supermarket staples with you unless you are prepared to drive miles. Harlech and Dyffryn are nearest and only have a Spar.

The owners are very friendly.

For us it was not good value for money so we will probably not return but there were people on the site who were regulars for several years. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Specimenhunters 1 review from this member

 If it is peace and quiet that you want then this is the place to go. Very friendly couple who own the site and run the B&B. You do need ramps for levelling as the field is on a slight incline. Very clean site and well maintained. If you like catching a bit of fresh fish for the barbecue then try using sand eel as bait and fish the low tide in. It worked for me as I caught a 4lb bass as well as others during our week long stay. You can also go down to the estuary opposite Shell Island and try there on the high tides.

I don't think this site would suit children though as there is only the beach and children get bored very quickly, but that's just my point of view.

We will without doubt be going back. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John Fuller 11 reviews from this member

 Now this is a real dilemma:

On the one hand, I don't want to be too complimentary because I really want to keep this place to myself!

On the other hand, I feel the lovely couple who own this site deserve to know just what a fabulous job they've done.

The headline is this: It is one of the most picturesque, beautiful, quiet and idyllic places I have ever been to.

Facilities are minimal (just a single toilet, no shower), electric hook-ups, fresh water etc, but sufficient for our needs. The access looks awfully tight through the entrance gate but we got our twin-axle van through so it can't be that bad and the field is sloping but we levelled our van with no real issues.

You should be prepared that the nearest supermarket is about 9 miles away, but that just ensures the serene quiet that pervades this site. As a previous reviewer said the views over the mountains are fab and then there's a private path leading to the beach with further wonderful views.

For anyone looking for a peaceful oasis with a warm welcome, this really is one of the best! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jill h 1 review from this member

 Just spent eight days at glan y gors and enjoyed every minute! the site is beautiful, well kept and very close to the beach with its own access down some steps on the site. The couple who run it are lovely people, nothing is too much trouble for them and he looks after the site really well.

There are no showers on site but there is a toilet/washroom, we found this no problem at all. Down by the beach is a cafť and public car park and toilets, and up the road is a restaurant. The train stop is just across the road from the site, ideal if you don't want to use your car or motorhome.

The views from our caravan window were spectacular, on one side we had the mountains and on the other we were looking over to shell island and the estuary, beautiful.

Altogether a highly recommended site and well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PamelaAlbert 3 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from this site

It is the nicest site we have ever been to, so quiet, right by the sea

We have been caravanning for 15 years and have never gone back to the same site. We had a lovely time, we are going back at the end of August

There is no shower, only 1 toilet but that was ok

The owner is very nice and helpful

There is a little path to some steps, not very good ones to the beach, which is rocky and stones. There is a lovely sandy beach a short walk away 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glan Y Gors Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glan Y Gors Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Glan Y Gors Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Harlech      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1244 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement