Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Home Farm Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Dorchester > Home Farm Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Home Farm Camping & Caravan Park
Rectory Lane
Puncknowle
Dorchester
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT2 9BW
Tel: 01308 897258
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 42
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <10 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Winiary 1 review from this member

Very good and frendly site recommended

Stay 3 times and come more often

Friendly staff

Facilitates good condition but to small for this site camping place

Need more attraction for kids

Clean site and dog friendly
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tidburyboy 14 reviews from this member

Well what a lovely place this is. Set in beautiful Dorset and just a few miles from the Coast at West Bexington, just a short drive from Bridport.

The approach onto the site requires a little care, the gateway being a little snug, and the owners warn caravan rigs not to stop on the sloped gravel driveway.

We were pitched in the middle of three fields, on the far hedge. This meant we got decent views as people camped on the near hedge only had a view of the hedge itself.

Our pitch was level and just a short stroll from the WC block, itself only a short step away from the main WC and shower block, set immediately behind the reception area.

The showers and WC's are a bit rustic, but clean. Showers were pretty good but did require a token - 20p for 7 minutes. We found the owners to be extremely helpful, I had a bit of a problem with my charger, and he could not have been more attentive.

The bonus was a really lovely local pub, just a short walk away, good food; really friendly owners and staff.

All in all, a lovely, peaceful and beautifully set site, in a fantastic location for touring this stunning part of Dorset.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: John Janet 4 reviews from this member

Home Farm is quite a large site spread over several fields, but there are only two facilities blocks with very few showers and toilets. We were there when there were very few other campers, so not a problem. The facilities were not the cleanest I've seen, but quite acceptable.

Showers require a 40p token which gives you about 7 minutes access to an electric shower. Possibly because the water was so cold to start with, the shower was not particularly fast, but we still managed to get ourselves clean.

There is no dog walk on-site, but there is a quiet lane beside the site and several footpaths within easy reach.

We tend to leave our motorhome where it is once we have pitched, and explore the local area on foot. The obvious walk from Home Farm is to Chesil Beach, which we managed quite easily, passing 3 pubs on the way.

On the way back we called in to The Crown, just round the corner from Home Farm, and this has to be a highlight. We had a lovely meal and enjoyed a couple of glasses of scrumpy - lovely.

The site is a mixture of flat and sloping areas. We were placed at the top of the hill on a gentle slope which wasn't a problem at all.

Would I stay again? Definitely

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Roma07 22 reviews from this member

Spent one night here midweek in late September, and found previous reviews still valid. Somewhat sloping site, but we managed fine with chocks under front wheels in the caravan area, upper part of site. Facilities are basic but adequate, and I had a decent shower using the token, still 40p from manager. Very quiet at this time of year.

Surrounding countryside has great walking routes with fabulous views of Chesil Beach, Isle of Portland, etc. Several tea shops and Inn at Abbotsbury, which is pretty like many of the surrounding villages. Maybe not a lot on offer for children, as beach is pebbles and not safe for swimming, but seems to attract anglers.

Would stay here again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barbro 2 reviews from this member

This was a very nice, quiet and grassy site. Near to a nice pub in the picturesque village of Puncknowle, (pronounced 'Punnowle', situated in beautiful countryside.

Unfortunately, however, the shop there is about to close. It's only about 3 km from here to the coast at West Bexington, where there is also a very nice pub with extensive beer garden.

There´s also a rather up-market restaurant here by the beach.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Irishackett 3 reviews from this member

A lovely campsite with very helpful wardens. Well looked after with nice toilets and showers. The village is quaint, with a pub that had a shop you can use if you run out of milk etc.

We never went to the pub but used to drive our car and park it by the church, just near the main bus route, and travel into Weymouth one way or Bridport /Lyme Regis the other.

You could walk to the bus stop but my husband isn't a good walker. The bus is every hour. The area surrounding the campsite is beautiful and I would go there again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: LCarter 3 reviews from this member

We visited in our Campervan. Stayed for 6 nights. Left for 2. Then came back for another 4!

Home Farm is a lovely quiet site, over 3 fields. 1 large & 2 small. The owners are lovely friendly people and are on hand all day if needed. They also have good knowledge of the local area. The site is well maintained and recycling as much as possible is important.

Pitches are large & fairly level. Grass and hedges are kept tidy. Electric hookup was close by.

It has 2 toilet blocks. 3 ladies showers & 2 mens.

Showers are by token that gives you 7 minutes. If you get ready to shower before switching the electric on (as advised by the owners on arrival) this is plenty of time. The site was pretty much full. At no time did we have to wait for a shower.

Dishwashing facilities were also adequate.

Location is perfect, as the coast road is only 5 minutes away. It is also possible to cycle or walk to Chesil beach from the site.

There is not a shop on site, but there is one adjoining the pub that is open till 9pm daily. This a 5 minute walk. The pub is also pleasant, but you do need to book for food as it can be busy.

Dogs are allowed here, but must be kept on a lead and must be exercised off site.

There is one set of swings for the kids in the middle of the big field.

Will definitely be visiting here again!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trafalgary 1 review from this member

Home Farm c/s is clean and tidy and the manager/owner is friendly and accommodating. The price for 2 people in a medium sized (3-man) tent, with a car, was £16 in August 2015.

The toilets and showers were clean and in good order, but a little more attention needs to be given to unwanted odours. Showers cost £0. 40 with a token, and lst 7 minutes. The key negative aspect of the site is that nowhere is level, and in places the slope is really not good for tent users.

The nearby pub is just 'ok' - not really noteworthy and it is mid-priced: booking is essential. Take-away food can be ordered, and there is a community shop in the pub, open at odd times.

The site is in a reasonablr location for touring, and appears not to get overly packed.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adethetrade 2 reviews from this member

If you are after a fantastic basic site this is it, Situated between Lyme Regis and Weymouth easy access to both and not forgetting West Bay (Broadchurch filmed here).

Plenty of space between tents, showers hot and even though place was busy easy to get when wanted, also very clean. Pub up the road fantastic food average price for the area.

Our tent is 25ft long and was no problem on site size, hook up was nearby and water handy. We would recommend this site to anyone Price was very reasonable. Adrian

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campintent 18 reviews from this member

A very pleasant site just on the outskirts of Puncknowle (pronounced ‘Punnel’) with the smoothest camping field I have ever seen, sloping gently away from the washing facilities and with attractive views to the hills beyond.

This is a basic campsite, which is what we like, as it doesn’t appeal to families with loads of children seeking constant entertainment. There are two swings for small children. The surrounding area is set in a secluded and peaceful part of Dorset that doesn’t seem to have been discovered by tourists and is cross-crossed by many footpaths, making for endless walking opportunities in addition to the more obvious coastal path. If we’re ever in the area again, we will be back!

The attractive village pub is just a five-minute stroll away and serves good real ale and decent food, including hand-made pizzas. It houses the only shop serving the village and stocks everything you could need for a camping break. Breakfast is served for groups of four or more, if ordered the day before.

The campsite wash block is spotlessly clean and there is plentiful hot water, but with only two showers for men and another two or three for women, it could get very busy in high season, although there was another wash block in the caravan area. There are no electricity sockets for hair-dryers etc. And one shaver point in the gents. Showers are metered and cost 40p a time, but run for seven minutes, which is plenty.

There’s a separate area with hot water for dish-washing. The friendly and helpful staff will freeze ice blocks for you for 10p each. Camping is £15 per night, £18 if you want an electricity hook-up, but beware that for this you will either be crammed into the one corner of the field with an electricity supply, or you will be obliged to pitch amongst the touring caravans and motorhomes, which may not be what you want.

Be aware also that there is a row of houses along the eastern boundary of the site, one of which keeps chickens and a cockerel. The hens sound charming to begin with, but soon become intrusive and spoil the otherwise tranquil feel of the site. As they tend to do, the cockerel crows at dawn every day, which in July is 5-6. 00am. If you don’t find this to your liking, make sure that you pitch your tent away from that side of the field.

A final word of WARNING – approach the site from the village, heading north only. If you approach from the north, heading south, you will be confronted with a very tight hairpin bend and be forced to turn in the road. Trailers or caravans would get stuck if attempting this.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dorchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3365 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder