Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caffyns Farm Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Lynton > Caffyns Farm Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays) > Reviews

Caffyns Farm Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays)
Caffyns Farm
Exmoor
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6JW
Tel: 01598 753967
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 41 Reviews
                9/10 from 41 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: AnyaTer 1 review from this member

 Although it was very wet and windy I had an amazing time. Everyone at the site was so friendly and helpful.

The cafe/bar was brilliant lovely coffee and homemade cake and excellent cooked food and wide choice. The shop had everything you need from food to camping equipment.

It was muddy but the walks in and around the site was very clearly marked.

The bus service from the site was a walk to the bus stop but excellent and only 2 one way to Barnstaple. I was going to get a taxi back but 50 so caught the bus back.

I would highly recommend this site as the views are excellent.

Showers and toilets are plenty and lovely hot water.

I will definitely be back with Ripple as she fell in love with Bodus the very friendly campsite dog.

Summer is probably very busy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Robohogg 3 reviews from this member

 I thoroughly enjoyed my all too brief stay here. It's not a glamping sire but it has a really good selection of services and supplies so, it's definitely not just a field with a drinking water pipe and a toilet. (Which I'm also totally ok with, it depends on what you want from your camping. )

Caffyns Farm are nice and relaxed about you turning up and leaving, they're in a great location and are pretty close to some beautiful parts of the country.

The camp shop on site is excellent, with a wide variety of camping essentials.

There is a small bar with a restaurant/dining area too, and the kitchen serves hot food during their opening hours, some of which is available for takeaway, which is pretty useful when you're heading out exploring. They also stock a very tasty cider which they make themselves. (I preferred the medium sweet to the dry and would highly recommend giving it a try if your tastes lean that way. )

There's a fair amount of space on the site itself, and there are quite a few toilets/showers, as well as a decent dishwashing room with a fridge and freezer, microwave, and a laundry room.

I arrived late afternoon Monday 3 July, and left on the Tuesday just after midday and the site was pretty empty from what I could see, maybe 4/5 other small groups on site.

I chose the more exposed field (Herons, according to the labelling info on their site map) for the views of the Bristol Channel and while it was certainly less sheltered from the wind than some of the other camping fields were, its a price I'd happily pay to be able to look out over the water as the nights draw in.

I'd highly and happily recommend Caffyns Farm campsite, and I fully intend to go back again when I'm next in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Partyd 1 review from this member

 Not having to pre-book for our group is what pulled us to this site originally (you know what its like trying to make a group booking when someone's got the kids, someone can't get the weekend off work. ) When I enquired, they said just turn up as there's plenty of space.

So, to get there and find it has amazing facilities was a fantastic bonus. Fridge /freezer /microwave /washing machine /tumble dryers /hot private showers and proper toilets.

The shop on site had everything we could have needed, it also had fresh produce from the farm.

The bar was serving cider made from their orchard the food was lovely and the view was beautiful, we could even see the sea (when it wasn't so misty lol)

There were rocks available for the purpose of making your campfires. All the staff were very friendly, we really couldn't have asked for anything more.

I would advise you to download the local area on your Google maps though, as the signal wasn't always great.

There's WiFi at the bar though. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: MSR18 10 reviews from this member

 I recommend this site!

Camping areas are very good and toilet block is very well fitted out and clean.

There is an extremely well stocked shop and bar/cafe.

The washing up area is excellent, with fridge, freezer and microwave.

I can also recommend the cider! I would go back. 


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Sambelly 4 reviews from this member

 A genuine campsite open all year round on a working farm with no booking and pitch where it suits you.

All the facilities you will ever need are housed in the barns around the farmyard toilets, showers, washing machines, washing up area and a well stocked shop.

There is a cafe and bar with the added bonus of cider that is made on site from there own orchards. The walks and coastal views are plentiful but be prepared for the Somerset hills.

Plenty of lanes for cycling and a map/sketch was provided.

The owners live and work on the farm and made me feel most welcome so a big thank you.

Cheers Rob. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Terrya 1 review from this member

 Nice quiet camp site situated right on the Tarka Trail- great for a morning run or a cycle ride to either Bideford or Barnstable with an option to go further in either direction.

The estuary offers great bird watching opportunities and there are other wildlife habitats to explore within easy reach either cycling or by car.

Body boarding and surfing centres are a short drive away with Croyde being our favourite.

On site the toilets and showers are cleaned twice daily.

The micro brewery nearby is a little desolate but the owner was very friendly and welcoming.

Shops are just a mile up the road with a nice chippy next door to the Co-op. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: GrahamSy 1 review from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay at the site.

A nice atmosphere, plenty of space, mostly level, good 'facilities' - and the shop and cafe were both very welcome.

Well located close to Woody Bay, Lee Bay and the Valley of the Rocks.

We intend to return! 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Christ 1 review from this member

 Lovey campsite, toilets and showers are cleaned regularly.

Slight hills to pitch on but lovey views.

1 night was a wee bit noisy but not too bad.

Would definitely come again.

Horses, goats, turkey and chickens all on site great for kids x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Jrtonks 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here a few times now (and aiming to stay again in a couple of weekends' time). It's a good value site.

Plenty of space, although it can, like most sites, get a bit crowded during peak holiday times, and these attributes can also attract individuals who engage in anti social behaviour on occasions - but that is criticism of those people, not the campsite.

The cafe is excellent and the shop prob the best I've found on a campsite in the UK.

Lynton and Lynmouth are both within an hour's walking distance for decent pubs and evening meals and the coastal path can be accessed from the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jessic 1 review from this member

 Campsite was in a beautiful location with great views to the coast.

All the facilities were very clean at all times, and social distancing measures were in place.

The owners were friendly and helpful, we ate/ drank in the cafe several times, good hearty food! 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Caffyns Farm Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caffyns Farm Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Caffyns Farm Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lynton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53487 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement