Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Caffyns Farm Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Lynton > Caffyns Farm Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays) Reviews

Caffyns Farm Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays)
Caffyns Farm
Exmoor
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6JW
Tel: 01598 753967
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jessic 1 review from this member

 Campsite was in a beautiful location with great views to the coast.

All the facilities were very clean at all times, and social distancing measures were in place.

The owners were friendly and helpful, we ate/ drank in the cafe several times, good hearty food! 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nigelb 1 review from this member

 Really relaxed and friendly setup. Plenty of space. No unnecessary restrictions.

Easy access to walks and coast path.

Washing facilities very clean and well organised.

Well stocked shop and cafe with long opening hours. Allowed to have campfire. Near perfection! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Normie 1 review from this member

 We've stayed here many times over the last 8 years. Great site, close to so many beaches.

Good toilet/shower facilities and a well stocked shop.

All love the freedom of the site - especially being able to build your own 🔥 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Moorecaa 1 review from this member

 This campsite is the best campsite I have stayed at, and I have been to a few!

The landscape is memorising, stunning, it was lovely to be in such a peaceful place surrounded by animals.

The camping facilities are also great.

Excellent value for money.

We will be returning soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Neil camper piper 21 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a fantastic holiday. The site was easy to find and the private road leading to the site was easy to navigate.

Upon arrival we walked into the well stocked shop to book ourselves in. You can't pre book at this site and you just let them know on arrival how many of you there are and how many tents etc. You can pitch up where you like and there are no set pitches. There's also no electric hook ups. The owner was welcoming and helpful, giving us a map of the site as well as talking me through where things were and of the surrounding area with trails leading down to the valley of the rocks.

The site itself is spilt over two large fields which again is divided up with grass covered verges which also provide you with shelter from the weather. Most of the site is on a gentle slope with some parts more level than others. Some parts are very exposed to the weather while others are very sheltered. It all depends on what's available when you get there and if you want the terrific sea views. There's a tarmaced road that leads round the site with the toilet block at the entrance to the camping fields.

The toilet block is a converted barn with toilets, washing machine/dryer, unisex and family showers which are all well looked after plus the showers are fantastic. To the side of the building is a row of sinks for washing up a very large chest freezer, fridge and microwaves.

The shop has a lot to offer with everyday food items as well as camping equipment, tents, bottled gas etc. Across from the shop there is a cafe and bar, bottles of alcohol for off sales can be bought there as well as draft. Really nice to have a little private pub on site selling there own lovely cider. There's benches outside with views across the channel. The cafe food is excellent with a really good menu. The shop and bar are usually open till around eight.

You can also hire bikes of all sizes as well as book horse treks. There really is something for everyone here.

The great thing for me about this site is being able to have a fire, you can have it on the ground as long as you use the stones they provide which are dotted about in wooden creates around the site.

All in all a great place to stay with friendly staff and a lot to offer. It has a really chilled vibe. I'll be definitely recommend this place.

The only thing worth noting which for some people might be a problem is the sites dog. He's a lovely fella who has free roam of the site. For us he wasn't a problem as we loved his visits to our camp. He's a real gentle soul who was great with the kids (a 2 year old and 7 year old) never barked or caused problems for us or anyone else camped near us including people with dogs. For people who are afraid of dogs he might put you off. But he's only saying hello and we saw him as the sites warden, making sure everyone was OK. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stocky1970 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely camp site with good facilities including bar and cafe. Hot showers at any time of day and was kept clean throughout our visit. Fires were allowed on the fields and there are no marked pitches - just pitch your tent wherever.

The site is open to the wind however there are some banks and hedges to shelter behind, but some of the more sheltered bits are on sloping ground.

Even though we were there over the bank holiday it was not busy - so a nice quiet site.

Easy access to the coastal path and to a few coves in the area, also Valley of the Rocks is in easy reach as well.

Lots of towns to visit within 30 minutes drive from the site

The only negative thing about the site is that one of their rules is that dogs are to be kept on leads at all times, however the farm dog is allowed to roam the pitches at will - so if you are thinking of going and you have kids that are not keen on dogs be aware. We did speak with the staff there and was told just to tell the dog to go away!

Value for money was fine for a couple as the price is per person, but if you have a large family it could get expensive. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: FamilyHolidays 4 reviews from this member

 I wanted to leave a more recent review of Caffyn's Farm as we have just spent 9 nights there, our first longer stay in our new campervan, and we had a fantastic time.

The campsite offers the best of both worlds, peace and quiet if you like a quiet corner of a field as we do, combined with good facilities including hot, powerful showers, two washing machines and two tumble dryers, a covered washing up area with fridge, freezer and microwave, a well stocked shop, a cafe, bike hire and many many activities in the local and surrounding areas.

We only ate in the cafe on our last day and wish we had tried it sooner, delicious freshly cooked meals, and a range of cakes, all of which came in generous portions! There is free wifi in the cafe too. No hook up on site but we managed with a solar power charger and spare leisure battery for our van, which kept us going for the duration of our stay.

You are allowed campfires, stones are provided, and plenty of firewood for sale in the shop along with the obligatory marshmallows!

They also offer horse riding although we didn't try it!

The owners were very friendly and helpful, and keen to make our stay as good as possible.

We visited Exmoor Zoo, well worth a visit, the towns of Lynton and Lynmouth, Watersmeet, Woolacombe beach for body boarding, and we also walked down through the steep wooded paths to Lea Bay where we enjoyed a delicious cream tea in the Lea Abbey tearoom before trudging back up again. We also visited Rockham Bay beach, well known to us as we have been visiting the area for many years, accessed by a coast path from Mortehoe village, and down recently restored steep steps. A beautiful bay with plenty of sand when the tide is out, and many rocks and rock pools to explore. Woolacombe and Mortehoe are about half an hours drive from the campsite.

All in all a memorable holiday and we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RAS_Chris 4 reviews from this member

 I've just spent two very pleasant days camping at Caffyns Farm, for a short, solo, walking break. The location is great, and really very quiet when I visited.

The pitches are flat and the grass well mown. Toilets & showers are good, fridge/microwave/washing machines etc (I didn't use them). The food and camping shops are well-stocked, and the breakfasts are great value. I didn't have a camp-fire, but the facilities are all there.

Horse-riding and cycle-hire available, and lots of cute animals to entertain the kids ;-)

The site is not far from the South West Coast Path, the Valley of the Rocks, Lynton, Lynmouth, Watersmeet - to name the obvious spots - and miles of wonderful coastline or inland walking.

And great sunsets from the top field! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: FamilyHolidays 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with fantastic views over the sea. Plenty of sheltered spots by hedges - the wind can be quite strong!

We enjoyed the walks down through the woods to the sea. We are familiar with this area and so found plenty to do during our stay.

Great facilities, clean private showers, separate washing up area, kids loved the chickens wandering around. Plan to return this year. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justinwilliams2 5 reviews from this member

 Amazing.

Just returned from a 4 night break at the campsite and it was fantastic. We were met with a smile and booked in no problem, we were given a map of walks from the site which we did and they were brilliant.

There were chickens roaming around the farmyard and sun was shining, we stayed in the field overlooking the channel and the views were superb. Toilets lovely and clean, well stocked shop for food and camping equipment.

Loads of space to camp and make fires which ended our days on a high with s'mores a plenty. Despite the size of the site and it being half term it was not cramped and was quiet I. The evenings. We went horse riding which was a lot of fun.

The washing up facilities were great and had a communal fridge and freezer to freeze blocks etc. Most welcomed.

Brilliant site, excellent views, lovely area and can't wait to return. And there is a newly planted orchard with the owners advising they are hoping to make their own cider from. Cheers to that.

Thank you caffyns for some lovely memories. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Caffyns Farm Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Caffyns Farm Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Caffyns Farm Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lynton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4998 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement