Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Lynton > Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays) Reviews

Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays)
Caffyns Farm
Exmoor
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6JW
Tel: 01598 753967
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 1st March-31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Neil camper piper 21 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a fantastic holiday. The site was easy to find and the private road leading to the site was easy to navigate.

Upon arrival we walked into the well stocked shop to book ourselves in. You can't pre book at this site and you just let them know on arrival how many of you there are and how many tents etc. You can pitch up where you like and there are no set pitches. There's also no electric hook ups. The owner was welcoming and helpful, giving us a map of the site as well as talking me through where things were and of the surrounding area with trails leading down to the valley of the rocks.

The site itself is spilt over two large fields which again is divided up with grass covered verges which also provide you with shelter from the weather. Most of the site is on a gentle slope with some parts more level than others. Some parts are very exposed to the weather while others are very sheltered. It all depends on what's available when you get there and if you want the terrific sea views. There's a tarmaced road that leads round the site with the toilet block at the entrance to the camping fields.

The toilet block is a converted barn with toilets, washing machine/dryer, unisex and family showers which are all well looked after plus the showers are fantastic. To the side of the building is a row of sinks for washing up a very large chest freezer, fridge and microwaves.

The shop has a lot to offer with everyday food items as well as camping equipment, tents, bottled gas etc. Across from the shop there is a cafe and bar, bottles of alcohol for off sales can be bought there as well as draft. Really nice to have a little private pub on site selling there own lovely cider. There's benches outside with views across the channel. The cafe food is excellent with a really good menu. The shop and bar are usually open till around eight.

You can also hire bikes of all sizes as well as book horse treks. There really is something for everyone here.

The great thing for me about this site is being able to have a fire, you can have it on the ground as long as you use the stones they provide which are dotted about in wooden creates around the site.

All in all a great place to stay with friendly staff and a lot to offer. It has a really chilled vibe. I'll be definitely recommend this place.

The only thing worth noting which for some people might be a problem is the sites dog. He's a lovely fella who has free roam of the site. For us he wasn't a problem as we loved his visits to our camp. He's a real gentle soul who was great with the kids (a 2 year old and 7 year old) never barked or caused problems for us or anyone else camped near us including people with dogs. For people who are afraid of dogs he might put you off. But he's only saying hello and we saw him as the sites warden, making sure everyone was OK. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stocky1970 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely camp site with good facilities including bar and cafe. Hot showers at any time of day and was kept clean throughout our visit. Fires were allowed on the fields and there are no marked pitches - just pitch your tent wherever.

The site is open to the wind however there are some banks and hedges to shelter behind, but some of the more sheltered bits are on sloping ground.

Even though we were there over the bank holiday it was not busy - so a nice quiet site.

Easy access to the coastal path and to a few coves in the area, also Valley of the Rocks is in easy reach as well.

Lots of towns to visit within 30 minutes drive from the site

The only negative thing about the site is that one of their rules is that dogs are to be kept on leads at all times, however the farm dog is allowed to roam the pitches at will - so if you are thinking of going and you have kids that are not keen on dogs be aware. We did speak with the staff there and was told just to tell the dog to go away!

Value for money was fine for a couple as the price is per person, but if you have a large family it could get expensive. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: FamilyHolidays 4 reviews from this member

 I wanted to leave a more recent review of Caffyn's Farm as we have just spent 9 nights there, our first longer stay in our new campervan, and we had a fantastic time.

The campsite offers the best of both worlds, peace and quiet if you like a quiet corner of a field as we do, combined with good facilities including hot, powerful showers, two washing machines and two tumble dryers, a covered washing up area with fridge, freezer and microwave, a well stocked shop, a cafe, bike hire and many many activities in the local and surrounding areas.

We only ate in the cafe on our last day and wish we had tried it sooner, delicious freshly cooked meals, and a range of cakes, all of which came in generous portions! There is free wifi in the cafe too. No hook up on site but we managed with a solar power charger and spare leisure battery for our van, which kept us going for the duration of our stay.

You are allowed campfires, stones are provided, and plenty of firewood for sale in the shop along with the obligatory marshmallows!

They also offer horse riding although we didn't try it!

The owners were very friendly and helpful, and keen to make our stay as good as possible.

We visited Exmoor Zoo, well worth a visit, the towns of Lynton and Lynmouth, Watersmeet, Woolacombe beach for body boarding, and we also walked down through the steep wooded paths to Lea Bay where we enjoyed a delicious cream tea in the Lea Abbey tearoom before trudging back up again. We also visited Rockham Bay beach, well known to us as we have been visiting the area for many years, accessed by a coast path from Mortehoe village, and down recently restored steep steps. A beautiful bay with plenty of sand when the tide is out, and many rocks and rock pools to explore. Woolacombe and Mortehoe are about half an hours drive from the campsite.

All in all a memorable holiday and we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RAS_Chris 4 reviews from this member

 I've just spent two very pleasant days camping at Caffyns Farm, for a short, solo, walking break. The location is great, and really very quiet when I visited.

The pitches are flat and the grass well mown. Toilets & showers are good, fridge/microwave/washing machines etc (I didn't use them). The food and camping shops are well-stocked, and the breakfasts are great value. I didn't have a camp-fire, but the facilities are all there.

Horse-riding and cycle-hire available, and lots of cute animals to entertain the kids ;-)

The site is not far from the South West Coast Path, the Valley of the Rocks, Lynton, Lynmouth, Watersmeet - to name the obvious spots - and miles of wonderful coastline or inland walking.

And great sunsets from the top field! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: FamilyHolidays 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with fantastic views over the sea. Plenty of sheltered spots by hedges - the wind can be quite strong!

We enjoyed the walks down through the woods to the sea. We are familiar with this area and so found plenty to do during our stay.

Great facilities, clean private showers, separate washing up area, kids loved the chickens wandering around. Plan to return this year. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justinwilliams2 5 reviews from this member

 Amazing.

Just returned from a 4 night break at the campsite and it was fantastic. We were met with a smile and booked in no problem, we were given a map of walks from the site which we did and they were brilliant.

There were chickens roaming around the farmyard and sun was shining, we stayed in the field overlooking the channel and the views were superb. Toilets lovely and clean, well stocked shop for food and camping equipment.

Loads of space to camp and make fires which ended our days on a high with s'mores a plenty. Despite the size of the site and it being half term it was not cramped and was quiet I. The evenings. We went horse riding which was a lot of fun.

The washing up facilities were great and had a communal fridge and freezer to freeze blocks etc. Most welcomed.

Brilliant site, excellent views, lovely area and can't wait to return. And there is a newly planted orchard with the owners advising they are hoping to make their own cider from. Cheers to that.

Thank you caffyns for some lovely memories. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Greenp 19 reviews from this member

 Beautiful landscapes. Well laid out campsite, very thoughtfully shaped into separate little areas named after wildlife. This means that the site will never feel over-crowded as each section will hold a maximum number of units.

There are no EHU. Though this place is very special in terms of its natural feel in harmony with its farming landscapes. Sea views slightly obscured by embankments and trees. Lovely (though steep) walks through woods to Lee Abbey and Lee Bay and across back lane to Lynton.

Cost of camping here is not cheap, though facilities of showers, washrooms, loos, and washing up are very good with excellent camping and farm shop all great. Milk pricey at 89p/ pint.

Our children 8-12 all loved it and wish to return again with friends.

All very high quality from people who know what they are doing. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Serenab33 1 review from this member

 Fantastic campsite in a most beautiful setting. It has a rustic feel but with everything thing you need for modern camping, great little shop and café hot showers. Lovely walks right from the site. This was my second visit to the site and loved it just as much this time as before, my kids love being able to have a fire at night time a real bonus. Already planning to come back again before the summer is over 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greenback 3 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous location! Just outside Lynton/Lynmouth and a short distance from the A39, this campsite was really easy to find. We had a very friendly welcome at the shop (sells the usual food and camping accessories albeit with a bit of a markup compared to supermarkets/camping shops).

The site is laid out into a number of smaller fields close to the toilets/showers that are divided by hedges and low earth banks and there is a much larger field towards the back of the site that is more exposed but has sea views. Having two young children, we opted for more shelter and we were glad of this with the remains of the Bertha storm hitting us on our first night. There are no marked pitches so groups can easily camp together. An unexpected bonus was wooden picnic tables dotted around the site. There are only a few though and bigger groups are quick to move them closer to their pitches. Campfires are also allowed with stones being provided to put around your fire. A bag of logs will cost you £4. 99 from the shop although there is a garden centre just down the road towards Lynton that sells bigger and better value bags.

Facilities are new and very clean. The showers and toilets are housed in an old barn. Showers are unisex although toilets are separate male and female facilities. There is a separate family shower for people with younger children. The block also houses washers (£4) and dryers (£1) as well as washing up facilities, a fridge and an enormous freezer.

Cost for us was £20. 40 a night (2 adults, one child and one under 5 that was free) per night, which seemed very reasonable.

Note that there is no electrical hookup (and caravans were not allowed this season) so this is definitely camping more suited to those who can make do without gadgets and heaters. Mobile reception was pretty poor but as far as I'm concerned, that's a good thing! ;)

Only slight negative was that there are not enough wheely bins in the bin area so bags were piled high and we struggled to get our rubbish bags in. Only bottles were able to be recycled so this compounded the problem.

We liked the site and the area so much that we're seriously considering coming back again for our summer holiday next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Graham Custance 1 review from this member

 Camping at Caffyns Farm has been an absolute joy. We have camped elsewhere and nowhere comes close to providing campers with an atmosphere quite like Caffyns Farm does. The site itself is set up on the cliff tops and has large fields where you can choose where to pitch. No laid out pitches - you can have as much or as little room as you like. Most of the sites have sea views. The shower and toilet facilities are clean, modern and well maintained and there is always plenty of hot water, no matter what time of day it is. The fact that this modern shower and toilet block is housed in an old barn shows how the owners are sympathetic to the beauty that is Exmoor. This also applies to the covered washing up area where there are plenty of sinks and drainers. Also in this area are freezers for your cool bag/box blocks. The reception come shop area is also housed in an old farm building further demonstrating the owners love and care for the area. This is a well equipped small shop which is reasonably priced and stocks all sorts of items a camper needs! They also sell gas and sacks of logs for the campfires which are allowed on site. In all Caffyns Farm is an excellent camp site for those looking to get away from the swimming pools, club houses and bars that other sites offer. Its a must to visit and a guarantee return! 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Exmoor Coast Holidays (formerly Doone Valley Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lynton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3346 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020