Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of High Lane Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > High Lane Farm Campsite Reviews

High Lane Farm Campsite
Newbiggin On Lune
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4NY
Tel: 01539 623416
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Carrie 1 review from this member

 Absolutely love this site! We have been a few times now and we will continue going. So safe for the children to play out as you can see them anywhere they go.

The farm owners are so friendly and helpful any problems you just ring and they will have it sorted in seconds (but you shouldn't have any problems) it's a working farm so there are animals around for the children to look at. My boys love the horses.

When the facilities are allowed to be open they are clean and big enough for what you need. If you like to walk/bike there are places you can do that.

Also only half an hour journey into Kendal for anything you need there is a Sainsbury's, Argos, BnM etc. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tbell5 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night stay at high lane farm. The site is in a beautiful location. My children loved the animals ( horses, a pig, sheep/lambs and cows.

The owners were very welcoming.

I have never seen so many stars at night.

A magical place

We will definitely be returning soon

Thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kellyk 1 review from this member

 Made very welcome at this campsite and social distancing was well observed. usually 5 hardstanding pitches but only every other one was used so only three there at a time

Excellent site basic but clean £13 a night with electric

Recommended for walkers and cyclists alike

Nice views and can watch the farm animals, very entertaining

Also nice walk to the Black Swan in Ravenstonedale

But a very relaxing quiet site to get away to

Really enjoyed our stay here and we will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulaw 1 review from this member

 Peaceful spot, clean and basic. Lovely owners and very helpful. This will become a regular spot for us.

Wonderful for walking right from the site.

It would be more user friendly for motorhomes if the hardstanding stretched fully to the track. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julesandh 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet campsite with lovely views.

Great walks straight from the site and will be back with our bikes to try out the many bridleways.

Friendly owners and lots of animals to see. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jondy376 58 reviews from this member

 We stayed 2 nights before moving to Shap. This was our second visit to this site and still loved it,

Had a really friendly welcome, views are great. Plenty of walks from the farm.

Toilets were clean and the grass is well kept. The fence along the lane has gone making access even better. We will return sometime soon 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jondy376 58 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for 3 night in September 2014. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and found all the family very friendly.

Both me and my wife loved the area with some excellent walks, Kirkby Stephen via the Smardale Railway and back over the fields using the footpaths was just over 13 mile.

The site had fantastic views. The showers were clean and hot and very spacious.

We both feel we will go back in the near future. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Walker Dan 9 reviews from this member

 Enjoyable stay at High Lane. Plenty of activity in the hay and silage fields while we were there.

Good area for cycling and walking. Hard standings close together but only one other unit occupied when we were there. Good pubs in Ravenstonedale a couple of miles away and accessible by a cycle track although this was starting to be overgrown by grass when we were there.

Shower could do with a lock on it. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SugarJelly 1 review from this member

 An excellent site.

Quiet.

Beautiful views and friendly farming family.

Good and clean facilities - toilet and shower.

Would come back again.

Good access from M6 and near the famous organic farm shop at Tebay.

Good hook-up and gravel parking space.

A lovely working farm and a cute little playground for kids.

Might be a bit muddy if very wet or not in summer. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 82 reviews from this member

 You do need to closely follow the site directions from the C & CC book/website as you could end up in the wrong place!

The site is all grassed with 5 individual hardstandings sheltered by a line of trees adjacent to the road. Thus you need to track across the grass to get to the hardstanding which is a bug bear of mine – esp. As we have a 3. 5T motorhome! As the site is open all year, if getting stuck were to be an issue, the fact that the site is a farm, would mean that there was a tractor to assist.

Having said all that we had a quiet four days here in mid September 2013. The owner came & saw us on the first evening but left us alone for the rest of our stay, which was fine. The CDP, fresh water, waste water disposal & rubbish bins were all located close to the farm at the bottom of the site.

Thankfully there was a water supply point adjacent to the toilet/shower cabin which was motorhome friendly [i. E. We kept on the farm roadway & didn’t have to track across the grass!]. The toilet/shower block wasn’t the most salubrious that we have ever seen and it was difficult to get a constant temperature from the electric shower [but that may have been me!]. It was also “Uni-sex”, so that might be an issue when it is busy [we were the only ones on site for most of our stay!]

The location of the site is ideal for access into the northern Howgill Fells [Randygill Top & Green Bell] but there are also some nice low level walk using a nearby disused railway line to Smardalegill Viaduct & Fell. One of the circular walks that we did ended up in The Kings Head in Ravonstonedale which we would highly recommend. Dog friendly, open all day, good range of beers & an extensive menu.

Overall a nice site but could just do with a little bit of TLC 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is High Lane Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to High Lane Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is High Lane Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkby Stephen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5040 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement