Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - High Lane Farm Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

High Lane Farm Certificated Site
Newbiggin On Lune
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4NY
Tel: 01539 623416
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jondy376 56 reviews from this member

We stayed 2 nights before moving to Shap. This was our second visit to this site and still loved it, Had a really friendly welcome, views are great. Plenty of walks from the farm. Toilets were clean and the grass is well kept. The fence along the lane has gone making access even better. We will return sometime soon

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jondy376 56 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for 3 night in September 2014. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and found all the family very friendly. Both me and my wife loved the area with some excellent walks, Kirkby Stephen via the Smardale Railway and back over the fields using the footpaths was just over 13 mile. The site had fantastic views. The showers were clean and hot and very spacious. We both feel we will go back in the near future.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Walker Dan 9 reviews from this member

Enjoyable stay at High Lane. Plenty of activity in the hay and silage fields while we were there. Good area for cycling and walking. Hard standings close together but only one other unit occupied when we were there. Good pubs in Ravenstonedale a couple of miles away and accessible by a cycle track although this was starting to be overgrown by grass when we were there. Shower could do with a lock on it.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SugarJelly 1 review from this member

An excellent site.

Quiet.

Beautiful views and friendly farming family.

Good and clean facilities - toilet and shower.

Would come back again.

Good access from M6 and near the famous organic farm shop at Tebay.

Good hook-up and gravel parking space.

A lovely working farm and a cute little playground for kids.

Might be a bit muddy if very wet or not in summer.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 76 reviews from this member

You do need to closely follow the site directions from the C & CC book/website as you could end up in the wrong place!

The site is all grassed with 5 individual hardstandings sheltered by a line of trees adjacent to the road. Thus you need to track across the grass to get to the hardstanding which is a bug bear of mine – esp. As we have a 3.5T motorhome! As the site is open all year, if getting stuck were to be an issue, the fact that the site is a farm, would mean that there was a tractor to assist.

Having said all that we had a quiet four days here in mid September 2013. The owner came & saw us on the first evening but left us alone for the rest of our stay, which was fine. The CDP, fresh water, waste water disposal & rubbish bins were all located close to the farm at the bottom of the site. Thankfully there was a water supply point adjacent to the toilet/shower cabin which was motorhome friendly [i. E. We kept on the farm roadway & didn’t have to track across the grass!]. The toilet/shower block wasn’t the most salubrious that we have ever seen and it was difficult to get a constant temperature from the electric shower [but that may have been me!]. It was also “Uni-sex”, so that might be an issue when it is busy [we were the only ones on site for most of our stay!]

The location of the site is ideal for access into the northern Howgill Fells [Randygill Top & Green Bell] but there are also some nice low level walk using a nearby disused railway line to Smardalegill Viaduct & Fell. One of the circular walks that we did ended up in The Kings Head in Ravonstonedale which we would highly recommend. Dog friendly, open all day, good range of beers & an extensive menu.

Overall a nice site but could just do with a little bit of TLC

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cram 1 review from this member

Went with a small group of friends and camped in the field. It was small but a nice area with good facilities provided, the shower was much nicer than your average campsite shower. The owners were extremely laid back and friendly, they left us to our own devices for retry much the whole weekend. Extremely good value for money at just 5 pound per night, much better than any nearby sites. The area is quiet and extremely rural but there are a number of small villages nearby to accommodate for food and other things.

Thanks for a lovely weekend!


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3545 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!