Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Ponsandane Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Penzance > Ponsandane Campsite Reviews

Ponsandane Campsite
Gew House
Ponsandane Farm
Gulval
Penzance
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR18 3DN
Tel: 01736 351777  or  07966815463
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: July To August

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 37 Reviews
                10/10 from 37 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: LarimarJoy 1 review from this member

Many thanks to the friendly, helpful staff at Ponsandane. Despite the awful weather I had a great stay. The atmosphere is very relaxed and laid back.

Location is central for all the attractions in South Cornwall. I totally recommend Ponsandane's 'Yummy Tummy' breakfasts. The Full English is incredible. And Tesco is right next door which is very useful.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ged49 2 reviews from this member

A very good site, basic, clean facilities, friendly staff.

Ideal base site for exploring the area.

We have already booked again for next year and we are looking forward to returning
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Flowerfairy68608 1 review from this member

Itís a fabulous site, the owner is fabulous, he saved our bacon Tuesday night as we had nowhere to stay. Let down we were. But we were saved, and so glad we were on this lovely secure campsite

With the most friendly owner. We definitely will be back next year. 💖
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Maq13 1 review from this member

This campsite is just lovely! I had a perfect, chilled out stay.

It's a nice field, with good facilities (the toilets and showers were very clean, as was the kitchen area; and the shower water is nice and warm).

Roger, the campsite owner, is very friendly and approachable, and checks in with his guests every so often to have a chat and ensure all is well.

The campsite felt very safe. This was important to me as a solo female traveller.

The town is 10 minutes walk away, as is the access to the beach. There is a supermarket very close by as well.

I would recommend this campsite to everyone, whether solo, groups of friends, or families. I intend to come back and camp again next summer, but for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Motorhome novices 1 review from this member

We visited a few campsites in West Cornwall this month and this was our favourite. It has a refreshingly informal feel, is not stifled by too many regulations and signs.

It has free, hot showers, electric hook-ups, a big, clean toilet block, plenty of space and the added bonus of a humorous, deadpan site-manager who helped us out when we needed help (quite often) while throwing in dry one-liners.

Came here twice this month and felt completely relaxed and welcome here. Will be back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geoffk 2 reviews from this member

Stayed 3 nights. 24hr Tesco just next to the campsite. Nice owners and all the basics you need. Parts of the field were a bit water logged when we arrived but this wasn't a problem. Shame the weather wasn't better as it put a couple of people off pitching next to our tent and the extra company would of been nice. It was bouncing down with rain at the time and no signs of it stopping. They gave up after waiting for about an hour. Can't fault the site for that.

We wanted a base to visit places around Cornwall and it was just what we needed. Only downside is parts of the site are near a main road but at the other end of the site where we were wasn't really an issue and the site was generally quiet. Being so close to the supermarket was worth it plus there is a small trailer selling takeaway food in the car park.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wild Girl 1 review from this member

We have just returned home after a 10 night stay at this campsite. The owner greeted us on arival and gave us an option to choose our own pitch which are electric or non electric. We had family coming and were able to reserve a pitch next to ours. During our stay the owner Roger checked at regular times to make sure that we were Ok and to supply us with logs for his fire pit.

The toilets were cleaned every day. There was hot water to wash up with and the showers were the best that I have ever been to.

All this helped to give us a very enjoyble holiday and the weather was great too. We will definitely be going there again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RJEPhoto 9 reviews from this member

This is the second time that I've visited Ponsandane & again we had a wonderful time. It had been raining heavily in the days before we arrived & the owner was very helpful finding a pitch & also to suggest people leaving the next day so we could move to an even better one; couldn't be more helpful.

Wood is available to buy on site, using raised firepits. The showers are hot and cleaned regularly. The washing facilities are good although not covered.

The best part about this campsite for us is the location, 10 mins or so from Penzance, just a short walk to the road/rail crossing and you're right on the beach. Marazion is within walking distance & we frequently did (for able walkers/cyclists, it is a flat route, probably wheelchair friendly of about 2. 5m); easy to drive to Porthcurno & other beaches on the Lizard.

Try a coastal footpath walk to Porthleven, it's about 16 miles I think, with some lovely scenery & the original Poldark filming location with the old mine building still there, then have a beer in one of the pubs and catch the bus back-it drops you off right by the Tesco (to the side of the campsite).

It's not a strict 'no noise after 10' kind of site and I much prefer that style of laidback camping experience, after doing re-enactment for many years, you get to like a vibrant site with people enjoying themselves, however it certainly is not a 'lads holiday' site either.

All in, a brilliant camping experience, highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Birder55 1 review from this member

We loved this campsite. We stayed only for two days but I'm sure we will be back. There were four of us in a campervan and a tent. The facilities are great without being pretentious. There is plenty of free hot water, a washing up area, showers/loos and even a fridge and freezer to use if needed.

There are no fixed pitches, which made for a lovely relaxing atmosphere and the field is simply lovely and very convenient both for Penzance and for the beach. Supermarkets are close too, which was very useful when we needed a few bits and pieces.

The owners are so nice and helpful and we were even allowed a fire. This is exactly the type of camp site I love.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aj77 1 review from this member

My research into this site was exactly as required.

-Hot showers,

-clean toilets,

-a washing up facility,

-water

-bins that you could put your rubbish in.

Easily approched via public transport we arrived via coach, a choice of supermarkets were within easy walking distance for those of us who backpack, although an on site fridge is provided at your own risk !

The grass was green and the ground easy to pitch on.

Campfires were allowed and equipment dropped off ready for an evening fire, I forget to make my order on time however Roger managed to sort something out and the logs and kindling were great value for money compared to other sites I have pitched on. One bag lasting us 3 nights,

The campsite owner dealt with any inappropriate or rowdy behaviour expediently, and apologised to guests following this, very friendly chap, accommodating and happy to please. Plugs are available for mobiles without security, however I found my power bank did the trick.

As a coeliac I found Penzance in particular very accommodating particularly the longboat inn, who seem able to offer most of Their menu with gluten free alternatives.

I travelled wth my 17 year old son and we enjoyed the coastal walks, skimming stones, walking along the beaches plus a swim at st Michaels mount.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Penzance      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3828 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019