Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Milin Kerhe

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Guingamp > Camping Milin Kerhe Reviews

Camping Milin Kerhe
Rue Du Moulin
Pabu
Guingamp
Brittany   (Browse area)
22200
Tel: 0033 02 96 44 05 79
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 14/05/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 18 Reviews
                10/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Winediamond 6 reviews from this member

 Milin Kerhe never fails to exercise the mind and the body! A truly beautiful site by the old mill on the River Trieux. Surrounded by lush woodland you can almost feel your oxygen levels rising. The main part of the site is level access bordering the river, thereafter a series of terraced layers provide elevated pitches with views down to the river and the stunning tree line.

The amenities block is newly refurbished with modern showers and hand basins, copious lighting and mirrors. Also new are the washing-up bases which make this chore a surprising pleasure. Many walking routes are available at the Accueil reception together with all the local information you could need.

Swimming in the Mill Pond is safe but children must be supervised, and remember fresh river water can be a touch chilly. However when the scorching Summer sun arises, a plunge is tremendously reviving. A boat is available FOC, but again must be supervised.

The beautiful beaches of the Rose Granite Coast are easily accessed, where delicious seafood fights for your attention with the tasty local Broton treats.

Food is available on the site in the high season where you eat al-fresco and meet your fellow campers in convivial harmony.

Give Milin Kerhe a try! you will not regret it! Suitable for tinies and oldies alike. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nehpets 2 reviews from this member

 What an amazing site. Beautiful location next to the river Trieux. The toilet block in in an open barn, so although it was warm weather when we went, in cold and windy weather, the showers might be drafty. The water temperature in the showers was a little variable. The only other point of caution was that the washing-up facilities were very low for me (5'11') and there was no cold water at the sinks, so veg prep had to be done at the taps on the site. Everything else about the site was perfect. The owners were very friendly and helpful. They will go out of their way to see how you are doing an take a genuine interest in their guests. They have a variety of pet animals including a pair of baby goats which were adorable! The river walk north was the most beautiful woodland river walk I know. For most of its length it is well away from roads. There are many beautiful and interesting towns nearby. Because it was so close we almost forgot to visit Guingamp, but we are glad we did. It is well worth it. Sort-out the facilities and this would be the best site in France for me! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wishihadapurpletent 9 reviews from this member

 Myself and my 10 year old son have just returned from a french trip including a couple nights stay at Milin Kehre. We actually spent a week here last year (Whitsun 2013) and enjoyed it so much that we wanted to include it in this years holiday.

It is unbelievably idyllic and I'm always recommending it to friends. Set in a fantastic location of river, forest and green lushness. Owners are very helpful and there is a host of tourist leaflets in the office. Clean facilities, hot showers and undercover washing up facilities. You do need to provide your own toilet roll which isn't a major problem, you just need to remember to take it with you!There are kayaks and a rowing boat you can take out free of charge plus a children's park and volleyball area. My son very quickly made friends with other lads his age and was off on his bike or playing football. At the time we went, there was mainly british families on the site so a lot of english spoken.

A camp BBQ is held on a tuesday night and definitely worth attending. If I recall correctly 9Euros/adult and 4Euros/child. This included meat, salad, cider/beer, and crepes for dessert provided courtesy of a local couple. On request I had some fish BBQed. A marquee has been erected over picnic tables so the evening could progress despite weather. It was lovely to sit down with fellow campers and enjoy good food and company.

As to the area - we visited a 'Go Ape' like place which we had visited the previous year. Great for kids who love climbing. They do instruction and can speak good english and provide harnesses, etc. This was to the north west of the site and about a 40 min drive. We managed to spend the entire day there for 33 Euros for us both to do all the courses. Very achy the next day. On our second day we went south for half an hour and went cycling in a forest with lots of different cycle routes, mainly off road and you probably need good mountain bikes and good legs to succeed at these. Unfortunately it rained half way round so we got very muddy.

There is still so much to see and do in this area that we are already planning to return for much longer.

10 out of 10 on all fronts. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Adriancollins 6 reviews from this member

 Loved this site. My 6 year old cried for ages when we had to leave! Beautiful riverside location, we could watch the otters from our tent! Running ducks, goats, chickens etc all loved by the kids. Took the rowing boat along the river, this was the most peaceful thing and a highlight for me! Firepits were good. Owners were most welcoming and very laid back! The weekly BBQ is not too be missed! It's amazing, would love to go back there now. Toilets and showers were fine, nice and hot and plenty of them (Never had to wait for one) 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Winediamond 6 reviews from this member

 We based ourselves at this camping site for almost two weeks and explored throughout Brittany. This is an excellent location. The owners are very friendly and English / French so you get the best

Of both worlds, if you want to practice your French or stick with the

English. There is a daily bulletin of local markets and a very good weekly barbeque. Also guided walks are available at certain times.

The location is by the side of a vibrant and healthy river and walks along the footpaths at the waters edge are a joy. The local baker will deliver your pain, croissants, pain chocolate etc to the Reception each morning in time for your breakfast.

There are free running ducks and chickens around the site (The chickens are often carried around by small children) Also miniature goats in an enclosure and sheep at the river bank. Many towns and

Villages are in easy striking distance. The coast has many delightful spots, very beautiful. We particularly enjoyed Paimpol Harbour and coast (also has a Train Vapeur service)

There are plentiful brochures at Reception and the owners have lots of suggestions for trips. Showers, Toilets, Washing up facilities all plentiful and clean. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Tim Jones 1 review from this member

 What a lovely campsite!

We stayed for a week In Their larger-sized teepee which felt just large enough for our family of 4 plus bags, etc, although it does sleep 5. We made great use of the the adjacent fire-pit (logs for sale on-site) and picnic table. We're not sure if each of their three teepees has their own table.

Good sturdy fence that runs between the site and the beautiful river that meanders alongside. Lovely walks to be had and large river-rocks to climb which the kids loved.

The play area was thorough enjoyed by the children and was social hub for them. We took our own bats and balls for the table-tennis table and we used the kayaks/boat available to explore the river that leads to the millpond. Plenty of life jackets, though slightly big for little ones. You can swim in the mill-pond which is very refreshing although a little slimy and rocky underfoot: beach shoes made it much more enjoyable!

Shower-blocks: always hot for us, we avoided the peak-times, but never really had to queue much and they were thoroughly cleaned, as were the loos and washing up areas, the staff working hard to keep it all in good shape.

Site shop allows you to pre-order pastries and bread for breakfast and had a limited but useful stock. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and we thoroughly enjoyed all the recommendations of places to visit and events to enjoy I the local area.

We got to some lovely beaches within about 45 minutes, and local town and/or retail park/supermarche within approx 10 minutes drive. There is a weekly Saturday BBQ for the site, but we were slightly disappointed to find on our arrival that we had missed the opportunity to book into it!

Being tree-lined valley, there was plenty of shade, in fact, sunshine (and we were very lucky with our weather) reached our teepee by about 11:30, so a bit of a cool start to the day. There was a domestic washing machine to hire on site, and a freezer you could refresh ice-blocks in.

Overall, we'd highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Topmole 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a wonderful 2 week stay with our three boys aged 7-11, all loved it, sad to leave and definitely want to return.

The owners (and Jonathan's parents) are so friendly, helpful and passionate about their site. We almost had a disaster when we arrived as one of our tent poles was about to snap - but thankfully Jonathan took the pole to his workshop and helped fix it up with a bracket.

The weekly BBQ by the river is a must, great chance to make new friends and try out the boats. And those up for it enjoy a swim in the river and water volleyball afterwards. Great value at only 8 euros for adults and 4 euros for children as not only do you get choice of meats and salads but they bring wine, cider, beer round and apple juice for the kids, plus marshmallow toasting too!

Toilet blocks are kept clean but you need your own toilet roll. You can order bread and croissants daily from the site or just up the hill is a Boulangerie (that our boys loved cycling too) and just a 5 min drive to a superstore. In fact in Guingamp you have at least 6 Superstores so everything is nearby.

We loved going out on the boats at the site, or just sitting by the river relaxing whilst the boys tried their hand at fishing. Lovely walks along the river and through the woods. We often cycled into Guingamp too.

Found some beautiful quiet beaches off the main tourist routes. The water is so clear that snorkelling was fantastic with lots of fish to see. Tregastel beach on the Côte de Granit Rose is a good one. We found a little beach further round on the left that was away from any crowds. Stunning when the tide is in and amazing snorkelling when tide is out around the island.

We also enjoyed many visits to surrounding towns and the Chateau de la Roche-Jagu and Beaufort Abbey are worth a visit.

Probably a favourite thing from the holiday was the fact that all the kids played together. My husband and I could relax as the boys went off to play with all their new pals, with sometimes 20 plus children playing hide and seek and other games.

A wonderfully relaxing holiday made so enjoyable by this great site. We all loved the animals and feeding the goats and ducks and chickens.  


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David and Dot 1 review from this member

 If you like the bright lights and city life this is not the site for you. We had an enjoyable, quiet 2 weeks with lovely walks by the river which runs alongside the campsite. The campsite is set in rural Brittany, has few rules and regulations and is essentially for the country lover. Thoroughly recommended. This is a beautiful area of Brittany with lots to do and see including a steam train and boat trips. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cassieone10 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely picturesque rural site on the banks of the river Trieux. Abundant wildlife can be seen on site & nearby along the riverbanks. Owners Johnathan & Margareth were most helpful with local information etc & helped to make our stay even more enjoyable.

We stayed for 10 days & were never short of places to visit, including Paimpol with it`s Marina & tourist Train which travels to Pontrieux.

The 'Cote De Granite Rose' is also worth seeing with boat trips visiting 'Les Sept Isles' from Tregastel. St Brieuc is the largest nearby town with an extensive Saturday market.

All told a memorable stay & we would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bramble08 3 reviews from this member

 Having previously used commercial packages for camping abroad, we decided to take a risk this year and do our own booking, using the recommendations on this site. The risk paid off handsomely. We stayed for 11 nights, and could have stayed longer.

The location is stunning - we saw a kingfisher on our first day, and our teenage tribe enjoyed bat-watching and frog chasing.

The customer service from Jon & Margareth (and Jon's parents) was brilliant, and they gave a very warm personal atmosphere to the site.

No, there is no shop, but the nearest patisserie is at the top of the lane, and the supermarket is 5 minutes by car.

The toilet block dates from the time it was a municipal campsite, and there is the odd cobweb which adds to the authenticity (!) but the toilet seats are proper sit-on ones.

There are no organised activities, apart from a Friday evening BBQ followed by a madcap game of volleyball - good for making friends with the many Dutch + French on the site.

We would definitely hope to return in the future, even if just to see if their plans to build a proper slipway into the river, convert the disused mill into a tea-room and renovate the water-wheel, come to fruition. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Milin Kerhe child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Milin Kerhe?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Milin Kerhe dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Guingamp      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3379 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement