Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Poole Farm Certified Location

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Launceston > Poole Farm Certified Location > Reviews

Poole Farm Certified Location
Druxton
Near St Giles On The Heath
Launceston
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL15 9SX
Tel: 01566777924
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 16 Reviews
                10/10 from 16 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Di+Glyn_W 20 reviews from this member

 Being fairly new to CLs, we looked far and wide to find somewhere that ticked as many boxes as possible.

Poole Farm ticked them all, and more.

Louise and Greg, and their son Harvey, are a brilliant management team. I deliberately include Harvey because, despite being 'only' 15yrs, he not only works at the local garden centre and volunteers at a nearby museum, he is also continually on the go helping Louise & Greg.

As Louise was out shopping when we arrived, Harvey met us with a cup of tea and a biscuit, and dog biscuits for our two hounds (we found out later that Louise had passed us as we approached the turn for the site and had rung Harvey to let him know we'd be there shortly!).

The site itself is approached by way of a (mostly) single track lane; follow the instructions for arrival time and directions and it's no problem.

First (and last) impressions of the site? Caravan heaven. It's immaculate. It sits in grounds next to the River Tamar, where the river is shallow enough for dogs (and owners!) to paddle when the weather's good. The view all round is breath-taking, and the pitches are perfect. And it's soooooo quiet!

Five pitches, separated by waist high post and rail fencing that give you your space but are completely unobtrusive. Each pitch has its own water and electric supply, as well as recycling and rubbish bins.

The Hut has a toilet and shower that is spotless. The porch area of The Hut has home made chutneys and jams for sale, made by Louise. We tried several, and they were fantastic. They also have local tea, coffee and biscuits for sale.

With two dogs we needed somewhere to walk them; the on-site dog run is brilliant. It's a secure field with paths mown round it so you can walk and your pooch can run where they choose. With a swing seat at the top of the field to sit and enjoy the evening sun, it's perfect.

Our friends were staying for a couple of nights in the B&B, so we ordered Cornish pasties and a cream tea for the afternoon of their arrival. They were just scrummy! Pasties & scones home-made by Louise; haven't tasted better.

When we had a particularly warm day we were treated to ice lollies or Pimms & lemonade.

Anyone wanting tips or advice about the hospitality business should start with a week working with Greg & Louise (and Harvey!).

There are plenty of places to visit nearby, but the one stand-out for us was the village of Minions (yes, that's really the name of the village). With The Cheesewring Hotel one side of the road, and the ice cream shop on the other, we had a great afternoon :-) If you're lucky enough to get an outside table at the pub, you'll be joined by cows, sheep or horses that graze in the field. These just wander freely about the village, grazing on whatever common land takes their fancy. It slows the pace of life right down, and it's great.

There's free parking just outside the village, with several old tin mines nearby that can be visited. As The Cheesewring is the highest hotel in Cornwall, you can imagine the views around.

If you fancy a beach visit, speak to Greg & Louise for suggestions; we ended up at Sandymouth Beach. Plenty of parking either near the beach, or, if you're a later visitor, at the top of the hill (750m walk). Dog friendly, with plenty of sand (surprisingly), you can walk for miles. Just check the tide times, as it's easy to get cut off by the tide apparently. There's a cafe at the lower car park, serving a good variety of food and drink.

Would we go back? We booked for next year before we left. Several other visitors were on repeat visits.

The only worry for us is finding a site, or owners, that will match this one when we are looking to visit other parts of the UK. I've really only skated the surface with this; I could go on for ages. I can safely say we've rarely been made to feel so welcome, and never enjoyed a week away in the UK as much.

Thank you Louise, Greg & Harvey. It was brilliant! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Parlourbarn 28 reviews from this member

 Wow! We have just had son Harvey deliver a little lemon cake to our van, a few days ago we had a cream tea delivered. Greg and Louise certainly know how to look after their guests! As others have said, a wonderful CL, five hardstanding pitches all with water and electricity. Yes it is down. 75 mile single track road, but there are passing places and very little traffic and itís well worth going down to get to Poole Farm. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bagpuss40 5 reviews from this member

 We are currently in the middle of an 8 day stay at adults only Poole farm CL and what a fantastic site it is, peaceful, quiet and beautifully maintained by Greg and Louise the owners, who are fantastically obliging hosts. On arrival we received complimentary tea and biscuits, Ice creams as we set up in the heat and a cream tea as a welcome gift. The shower and WC hut is modern, kept spotless and is perfect for a site this size. The grass areas are immaculate and pitches are huge gravel laid.

It has a dog walk which is adequate and has lovely views over the river and surrounding countryside from the swing chair.

We will definitely be back when we are next down Devon way. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CK+B 39 reviews from this member

 This is definitely the best CL we have stayed on, and the bonus is it is less than an hours drive from home.

Peaceful location, somewhere to just relax and enjoy. Saw the Kingfisher on site, but unfortunately the Otter was a no show!

The Hut is perfect with a domestic size shower room, fridge, lots of information and home made jams for sale.

Lovely welcome from Greg & Louise, will be booking again very soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cyndi 2 reviews from this member

 This will be our second visit. We couldn't visit Cornwall without saying hello to old friends (that's how it feels) Louise, Greg & Harvey are a lovely family & so friendly, caring and can't do enough for you to enjoy your stay. They are very busy with improvements but still make you feel special. The site is very tidy and clean, even with building works going on it doesn't encroach on to the camp site or the personal touch by Louise & Greg. Well done both of you keep it up and don't ever change. Thank you Cyndi & Terry 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jancal 2 reviews from this member

 Lost for words, the biggest endorsement that I can give is that we immediately booked again for two weeks the following year as our main holiday break. Excellent hard standing pitches, flanked by manicured grass areas and small wooden fencing.

Amenities i. E. Namely the `Hut` hosts extremely well laid out facilities all fitted to the highest standard. The new lovely owners are dedicated to enhancing all aspects of the site to even higher levels - if that's possible. Willow - our little puppy, thoroughly enjoyed her time in the secure dog area, plenty of space to run and do their bits. There are plenty of varied places to visit nearby and a little further to meet all needs; only a short leisurely drive through beautiful country lanes taking in the countryside as its best in most cases. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevemarv 3 reviews from this member

 Poole Farm is possibly the most perfect CL on the entire caravan club network. Cancel that. It's possibly the best caravan site on the network. All the previous reviews are spot-on. Spent 10 days there and toured most of Cornwall and Devon from its central location. But the best bits where coming back to the site at the end of the day. It's location is to die for, pitches are great, facilities are brilliant and the new owners (Louise and Greg) cannot do enough for you. Truly a memorable stay on this beautiful site. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Missduck 4 reviews from this member

 We spent an amazing week here for our honeymoon. When we booked it was still owned by the previous owners so I was worried that the new owners would not be as good. I definitely worried needlessly. From the moment we arrived Louise and Greg couldn't do enough to make our special stay perfect. We arrived to a cream tea and wedding gifts. I mistakenly thought this was a fully serviced pitch and we had left out waste master at home, Greg happily lent us his. The site itself is well located with easy access to Launceston and the many delights that Devon and Cornwall have to offer and the surrounding countryside is very beautiful. We spent eight amazing nights at this little jewel of a site and have recommended it to friends since. We would love to visit again sometime. If you are looking for somewhere quiet with amazing personal touches this is for you. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Follyview 13 reviews from this member

 This is a fabulous little CL site. Adults only and surrounded by countryside, this provides the perfect, peaceful getaway. We had a huge pitch overlooking the River Tamar with a personal tap and hook up. There is a good sized dog walk/leisure area with a swing seat and lovely views and the prettiest shower room I have ever seen. The friendly, new owners couldn't do enough for us and the whole site was spotless and well looked after. Although a bit of a distance away, we travelled to Bude, Tintagel, Wadebridge, Padstow, Rock and Lostwithiel while we were there and did a walking trail at Cardingham Woods, Bodmin. However, you could spend a week doing nothing at all since the views from the van are outstanding. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Viggo 15 reviews from this member

 Other reviewers have summed up the facilities and ambiance of this superb CL, and I cannot recommend it highly enough to campers who enjoy peace and quiet within easy reach of many of the main attractions of west Devon and east Cornwall, as Poole Farm is literally a stone's throw from the border between the two counties.

Any CL is only as good as the owners, and the owners of Poole Farm are brilliant hosts who have created a site which should be a model for any aspiring CL proprietors. But more than that, they are always willing to go above and beyond to help their guests with any problems they may encounter.

After I fell ill towards the end of our stay, being unable to travel on our day of departure, nothing was too much trouble for them and they helped us to stay an extra night as guests on their driveway as the campsite was fully booked. Fellow campers helped us to move the caravan and various bits of kit, and it all helped turn what could have been a nightmare into something far less dramatic, and we were able to continue our journey the next day with no further complications.

This site is a gem, folks! 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Poole Farm Certified Location child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Poole Farm Certified Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Poole Farm Certified Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Launceston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement