Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Four Ponds Fishery Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Bampton > Four Ponds Fishery Certificated Site Reviews

Four Ponds Fishery Certificated Site
Bowdens Lane
Shillingford
Tiverton
Bampton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX16 9BU
Tel: 07483110811
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5+
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 5 Reviews
                10/10 from 5 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 89Mustang 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 7 nights as we were in the area to meet up with friends as well as some sight seeing.

We both really enjoyed our stay at Four Ponds and if every site warden was as friendly and as helpful as Darren what an even better hobby we would all enjoy!

Darren is working really hard on the site to make further improvements yet still goes the extra mile to make everyone feel welcome.

As they ask on 4-in-a-bed, , would we return? The answers is. Definitely. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gazzat101 1 review from this member

 Excellent, quiet and very reasonably priced site, very well run and Daren is a pleasure to deal with.

Excellent facilities for both male and female guests. Dog friendly our two loved it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Warriorwoman 1 review from this member

 I was looking for peace and quiet and Four Ponds was perfect.

Excellent touring base for Exmoor, Devon and beyond.

Toilet block with welcoming shower is well maintained and pristinely clean. Perfect for fisherman and campers seeking a relaxing break. There are no facilities for children as this site is predominantly geared for fishing.

As a novice lone camper with a dog, I was worried that I might feel vulnerable in such a fabulously remote location. I needn't have worried as Sue and Alan were on hand to help if needed, even helping me guy the tent down in a torrential downpour.

The stargazing opportunities are superb with almost no light pollution. I plan to return next year and wholeheartedly recommend this site to those seeking relaxation and great fishing. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marcimastiff 2 reviews from this member

 We visited four ponds as we were looking for somewhere with fishing as well as a caravan site.

Well all I can say is what a great place to stay and fish.

Four ponds is run by two of the kindest and hard working people it has been my pleasure to meet.

Nothing is to much trouble.

The facilities are great the fishing is excellent with top quality fish well laid out swims and a beautiful view

We will be returning on a regular basis as we have found the perfect balance of relaxation, fishing and excellent hospitality.

Four ponds is a credit to the hard work put into it 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joanne 42 12 reviews from this member

 We found this site on the camping and caravan club site as we wanted a quiet CS with fishing.

On arrival we realised the site is quite small but the EHU are overlooking the main lake and near the small reception/shop/facilities, so the views and ease of access is excellent. The shop is mainly a bait shop but does sell some basic provisions.

The owners Phil and Geraldine are a lovely couple, who will do the utmost to make your stay enjoyable without coming round all the time. They are very knowledgeable on the local area and can point all visitors in the right direction to towns, places of interest etc. Phil is an excellent fisherman and happy to give advice if needed.

The site is 3 miles outside Banford, a delightful little village with butchers, bakers, 2 convenience shops and pubs, but is not walk able from the site. Tiverton is approx 15 minutes drive and Exmoor national park is easily accessible.

Facilities on site are good, with separate mens, ladies and disabled loos. The ladies is well appointed with dressing table and hair drier.

Showers are a 1, but for this a good supply of hot water is available and 2-3 showers can be had for a 1, so not overly expensive. Chemical and waste disposal available and there is also a small camping field (no EHU).

The water on the site is on a boor so the quality is wonderful. Word of warning: the boor needs to be turned off before a shower: full instructions available! We felt this added to the charm of this site.

Fishing is very good. There are 3 ponds for fishing and a stock pond. The large pond only stocks large carp - 20LB and over and anglers must book as only 6-8 anglers at any one time. Strict rules for fishers but my husband remarked that the fish are in excellent condition and give a good sport. All night fishing is available.

Dogs are very welcome and Phil is happy for well behaved dogs to be freely exercised in the top field as long as they do not go in the lakes: this is a bonus for dog owners and unusual but very welcome!

Kingfishers, kestrels and abundance of wildlife seen and full recycling points available. This is a site where peace and tranquillity reign.

Rates are reasonable and it is a good base for exploring this beautiful area, but for families with small children this may not be the ideal site as there is not masses to keep them entertained.

We would definitely stay on this site again. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Four Ponds Fishery Certificated Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Four Ponds Fishery Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Four Ponds Fishery Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3009 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement