Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kings Green Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Port William > Kings Green Caravan Park Reviews

Kings Green Caravan Park
South Street
Port William
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 9SG
Tel: 01988 700489
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 32
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ronrho 1 review from this member

Great value. Lovely views. Very quiet. Could not fault this site. Very clean. Warden very helpful. Would recommend this site to any one who is looking for a quiet chill out hol. Will certainly be back. 10 out of 10

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Razamataz 6 reviews from this member

Brilliant location right on the shore.

Clean Toilets and showers

Friendly wardens

Grass pitches, almost hard standing, 3 inches down, rock solid!

Very, very good value at 15 per night!

Only one fly in ointment, that the hotel / pub is now closed!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaeson 10 reviews from this member

What a lovely little site. Clean showers and toilets. Lovely and hot, as was wash up point. 15 pn. Including our awning and dog. A real little gem. Warden was friendly informed and welcoming. Couldn't fault it, will definitely return. Excellent all round

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MAKEMBABE 12 reviews from this member

This is one of those sites that you don't want to tell everyone about, it is very quiet the warden couldn't be more helpful in fact the whole village are very welcoming, facilities are very clean and always plenty of hot water, loved the fact that the money goes into the community. Love it love it will be back

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Boxervan 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here for four nights. It's one of those sites that you are reluctant to review because you want to keep it a secret! Flat pitches, well spaced. Great views; quiet nights; good, clean facilities; the friendliest, most helpful warden I've ever known.

If I had to find a negative (and I struggle) the internet signal is weak other than when sitting in the chairs provided in the outer wardens office (dry and comfortable) so if you have to have internet, it's slightly limited. Everything else more than out weighs that minor problem!

A beautiful village with a great 'community' feel. Everything you need from day to day can be found locally (garage, hardware store selling gas, pub, shops). Plenty of interesting walks in the area. And all that with a view over Luce Bay!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amnoahbilly 3 reviews from this member

Kings Green is a lovely quiet site situated right on the Shore with excellent sea views from all pitches. The facilities are kept spotless and the showers are nice and warm. The site was always quiet and great for a chill out. There is a laundry room although it is rather expensive to use the drier but there is a whirlygig outside that you can use on dry days. The ground is mostly flat and drains very well. We had some torrential downpours during the Thunderstorms but the drainage was excellent so no muddy field. My advice to campers or anyone with an awning would be to make sure you invest in heavy duty pegs as it often gets very windy. Some campers next to us did not have them and their tent blew down during a thunderstorm! The two Wardens Gail and Hillary visit 3 times a day and are very friendly and helpful. Port William is a nice wee place and the people are so friendly. The wee takeaway shop Tasty Bites is excellent as is the Clansman Restraunt. Had a few beers in the hotel too and the locals banter was great! All in all we had a great stay at Kings Green Campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hexham 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weeks stay at this absolutely wonderful site, what a find !. We arrived on August bank Holiday Monday, expecting the site to be packed out and were surprised to find that it was sparsely populated. This is surprising for the place offers everything one would want, situated right on the beach, yet only 200yards from the village and all it's amenities, a lovely flat surface, no problem pitching here. The facilities, hot showers, immaculate toilets, laundry room with bags of hot water, absolutely pristine and scrupulously clean, lovingly looked after by the hard working and friendly wardens. This is a site that deserves a visit, Port William is a charming place, the well equipped children's play park is adjacent to the site, and the surrounding countryside is full of wonderful beaches and interesting places, bags to do every day and a wonderful site to return to. We visited Isle of Whitghorn, Whithorn, Wigtown, Garlieston and further afield, Portpatrick and Stranraer, we could have visited lots more places if time had allowed. For a change of pace it was lovely just to sit outside our caravan and enjoy the stunning views with the Mull of Galloway, the Isle of Man and, just, the Moune Mountains all visible. We ended the stay with a meal in the village's Monreith Arms Hotel, excellent meal and very sociable proprietor.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jannybill 1 review from this member

Spent four nights at this site, very helpful and friendly wardens, toilets and showers spotless, as there are only two of each in gents you may have to wait if the camp was busier. A playpark for kids at one end of site, short walk into Port William for all your shopping needs, also hotel with friendly locals. Being a farming area you have to expect some noise from tractors. Would make sure you have rock pegs for tents as this site is on the shoreline and can be rocky under the grass, as it was really warm on my visit a freezer would be handy for coolbags but one of the wardens came to my rescue and took my pack home and froze it for me. All in all a basic site but filled all my needs. Would I visit again ! definitely. Bill.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feeblecat 40 reviews from this member

Visited this site over the first May weekend. Well kept site with basic but very clean facilities. Friendly warden. All pitches had nice views of the sea.

Port William itself is a friendly wee village with a shop, pub (permits dogs) and restaurant. Had a decent meal at the restaurant - nothing fancy but well-cooked, huge portions and reasonably priced. Best to book as it gets busy.

Beach very pebbly so not a swimming beach. We walked round to the next beach (about an hour stroll) and had a picnic there. Loads to see and do in the area. Saint Ninian's Cave and Isle of Whitorn within a short drive. Had a lovely weekend, despite poor Bank Holiday weather.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Melindawillan 2 reviews from this member

This is one of the nicest sites I have had the pleasure of staying on. It has fantastic views of the sea from just about every pitch. The site is very well maintained and kept clean and tidy, the loo's, showers and washing up areas were cleaned and checked regularly by two friendly and helpful wardens. We stayed at the site for two weeks and really wanted to stay longer.

The village, local shops and harbour are only a 2 minute walk away. The village is a friendly place and the locals don't hesitate to stop and have a chat and tell of places to visit in the area. There is a real community spirit around the place. We were there at the time of their carnival which was fun and we even got a ride in the life boat. We had brilliant meal in the 'Clansman' restaurant, massive portions cooked beautifully. Further away we went to Lagan Outdoor Centre where we went on the half mile Zip Wire. Its well worth a trip, but you have to book first.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday and will be going back there again. Just one little tip. Take the strong rock pegs as the ground is very hard and nearly impossible to put ordinary ones in and you do need to be well pegged down as it can get a bit windy being just off the beach.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Port William      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5320 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019