Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Ynys Faig Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Fairbourne > Ynys Faig Farm Reviews

Ynys Faig Farm
Beach Road
Fairbourne
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL38 2HQ
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Paulph6023gvt 1 review from this member

Nicely laid out site, lovely views of the mountains, very handy for amenities and the railway.

Price a little high, but the site was ideally situated for what I wanted to do.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Claire Walker 3339 2 reviews from this member

Ynys Faig Farm is a lovely compact campsite, itís well laid out with easy access for motor homes/caravans. Everywhere is clean and tidy and no sense of being cramped. The toilets were spotlessly clean, spacious, and the showers were free, clean and easy to use. Within 5 mins walk is a spa, an Indian and the mini railway.

Nice big pebble beach to explore. Also the owner and groundsman were really nice and friendly and very helpful. He even fetched us a slab so that we could put our little fire pit on it. Thereís only one thing that I didnít like and thatís only a small matter which is that there is a train line about 25 mates away from the bottom field.

Itís well hidden behind a row of trees and there was hardly any trains on the weekend. They did start a little earlier on the weekdays, however I have to say that the noise was barely noticeable and did not bother us at all.

All in all a really lovely site and perfect for young families to have a walk into Barmouth. 9/10
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tankman 1 review from this member

This site is going to get more popular than it already is with the improvements being made. The owners are great, even took me fishing on the beach, and good to talk to.

The mainline and narrow guage stations are very close for travelling up & down the coast or just to Penrhyn point. The facilities are clean and enough for the size of site.

Fairbourne village has a range of shops from grocery, greengrocery, cafe, bucher, deli, chippy & cafe.

We have every intention of returning. Thank you.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davenic 8 reviews from this member

Liked:

The laid back attitude on the site, staff were friendly and offered advice/help when pitching. Plenty of space between well maintained flat pitches and nicely sectioned off with tree/bush hedging this gives protection from the weather and a privacy which is welcome. Even though a lot of rain fell there was no flooded/boggy parts of the grass.

Showers in the men's where powerful and the area was always very clean (cleaning seemed to be done during the day which is a good idea as probably not a busy time for usage).

Great location close to the beach and facilities in the village, great for exploring the countryside and the hills nearby, normal trains (mainline) and miniature trains (to Fairbourne point where you can get a boat to Barmouth) run from the stations located less than 3-5 minute walk.

Disliked:

An extra light in the toilets/shower cubicles as when raining and overcast it was gloomy, an extra mirror in the gents for shaving but these are minor issues.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 21 reviews from this member

Basic site 28. 50 per night including ehu so quite expensive.

Near to station good to catch the two trains a day but level crossing noise can be heard from 7am.

Local amenities basic two small shops no petrol station only a couple of places to eat.

Nice steam train across the road.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yvonnetomlin 8 reviews from this member

Weíve just spent 4 weeks at Ynys Faig Farm and itís been a lovely holiday. First the owners, Stewart and Theresa: they gave us a great welcome and throughout our stay were friendly and helpful.

The site itself is set out in Ďroomsí with hedges dividing the spaces with 6/7 vans in each. All pitches are hard standing and can be a bit dusty when thereís a dry spell. Itís not a pretty site but the backdrop for the site is beautiful green hills and so very convenient for everything needed to make a great holiday.

The beach is huge and very clean with dog friendly areas.

On the doorstop there are grocery shops, a butcher, a fish and chip shop, laundrette, Indian Restaurant, and a deli that does takeaway breakfasts and hot drinks.

Thereís a station with trains to many interesting places (10 mins to Barmouth) and a bus service. So leave the car on site!

The site is dog friendly and there are some fabulous walks round and about. Would I recommend this site, a resounding yes. We will be back.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Burglar bill 2 reviews from this member

This is the site for you if you like pristeen beeches low levels of people, ( not school holidays), clear blue sea. When the tide is out the sand seems to go on for ever.

The main line rail stop is next to the site, its quicker and easier than driving in to Barmouth.

The Snowdonia national park starts literally just up the road.

The locals are really nice. This is a relaxed environment.

The site is quite small with limited availability, so do not just turn up in the holidays and expect to find a pitch.

The on site facilities are clean and quite modern. This is definitely a hands off managed site, in a good way. No wi-fi, rubbish freeview reception, but good freesat.

If you want access to this part of Wales this is perfect. The only issue during my stay was the hard standing and roads on site are crushed granite and look a bit rough, the upside was that my hook up cable was to short so they provided a longer one. I didn't ask it just appeared.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clairejbaker 2 reviews from this member

We just got back from spending 3 nights on this campsite in Fairbourne. We stayed on a large pitch for a 6 man tent with an electric hook up. The pitch was great as it was in a corner so sheltered and close to the toilets and showers.

I found this site really great to stay on. The shower and toilet facilities were great, plenty of them, always clean and lost of hot water. Also had washing up facilities inside.

The location of the site was also great, easy walking distance to the town centre where there is 2 pubs, a butchers, and some other shops.

The train station is very close also. The Blue Lake is about 1 mile away which you can walk to from the campsite.

The owners of the site were helpful and friendly. Overall I would recommend this site and I would stay here again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Carole934 7 reviews from this member

What a lovely, simple site in a beautiful location. Surrounding scenery is incredible - the hills look as though they have come from a model railway layout.

Site is next to the railway with easy train access to much of the Welsh coast - and Birmingham! There are only a couple of 2-unit trains every hour, and they're not obtrusive. And the little steam train starts nearby and can take you to the passenger ferry to Barmouth.

Good range of shops just over the level crossing by the site - they seem to have everything. Butcher, general stores, post office, chippy (closes at 7. 30) and others. The village is miles from everywhere, but it's pretty self-sufficient with its range of shops.

The beach is fabulous, (about a 10-minute walk to the middle) with dogs welcome at the far left and far right ends April to October (they can use all of it out of season). There's easy parking where you need it. Spent a couple of days working in the motorhome next to beach at far left (south) end. Great office. Deserted most of the time.

Owners are great hosts. Very welcoming, hard-working, helpful and relaxed.

The site is level and the hard standing was ok. Grass can get a bit wet, but they continue to work on the drainage. Nice hedges and trees separate the site into gardens with a few units in each. Plenty of hook-ups. No long views, as such, apart from the background views of hills on 3 sides. But stunning views are only a few minutes' walk or drive from site.

No wifi but O2 mobile coverage was ok.

Showers and loos clean and very usable. Not very modern, but they do the job and there's plenty of hot water.

About 30 full-time caravans with awnings on site. People have had the plots for years and they all rave about the location and relaxed atmosphere. Very friendly and helpful with loads of advice about where to visit and find things. I stayed Monday to Friday and had the place to myself most of the week.

Dogs loved it. No specific field where you can let them off, but it's not difficult to find places for them to go. And they adored the beach and Welsh Coast Trail. Must do the Mawddach trail next time.

Highly recommend taking the A470 north from Dolgellau. Only went a short way (I turned right for Bala for my next location) but it was the most wonderful road. From the little I saw, Snowdonia National Park seems extremely relaxed, well-run and stunning, and the quality of roads in west Wales is amazing.

Back home to potholes in England now, but we'll be back and will happily stay at Ynys Faig Farm again.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dawnyowl2905 27 reviews from this member

I have to agree with what has already been put about this site. First the plus points: it's location is perfect for a stay in Fairbourne with a short walk into the village- which is what us motorhomers desire. Fairbourne itself is a lovely little seaside spot.

When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady who couldn't have been more helpful - especially as it had rained all night and all day and she was careful to select a hard standing pitch for our motorhome so that we wouldn't get stuck in the mud.

Now for the bad points - whilst I appreciate that this site is a farm I just felt that it was in need of a tidy-up. The shower block was adequate with hot free showers however, as has previously been said the shower has two hooks on the back of the door and the shower head is directed this way - thus wetting your clothes. I attempted to get dressed in the communal area in front of the hand basins to avoid wetting my clothes on the wet shower floor however this area had clear glass that was available for all to see.

The water tap wasn't ideally situated for a motorhome but this is a minor point that could be lived with.

As said in the beginning this is a farm. I wouldn't have minded if the price reflected this but I felt that at £22. 00 per night we could have have nicer facilities elsewhere.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Fairbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5420 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019