Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Ynys Faig Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Fairbourne > Ynys Faig Farm Reviews

Ynys Faig Farm
Beach Road
Fairbourne
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL38 2HQ
Tel: 07398 350669
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/09/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Belinda Christie 2 reviews from this member

 Stuart welcomed us, and what a breath of fresh air he is, pleasant, friendly and informative.

The site is well spaced out and although a little basic it had everything that you needed.

Thank you Stuart and his lovely little dog Lucy ( I hope I have remembered her name correctly) for a very welcome short break.

Belinda, Nigel and fellow motorhome friends Jac and Pete 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Johnboy50 1 review from this member

 We arrived on site the owner introduced himself and gave us the choice of pitches. Both the owner and his son were really friendly offering advice on local amenities etc.

The site has showers which were kept spotless as was the pot wash areas and the site was kept in good order.

This is a quiet relaxed no frills site which is great for adults and kids 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Avruth 1 review from this member

 Scruffy site on entry

No Covid restrictions No sanitiser on entry to toilets

Suggested sanitiser, but did not happen Did not feel able to use any facilities

No grey water point Told to let grey water go along road when travelling

Very disappointed 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: RoaminChris 4 reviews from this member

 A quiet site with helpful friendly staff.

Though small Fairbourne has good local shops for essentials, a couple of pubs, cafe and fish and chips shop.

My only whinges were a lack of hooks by the wash basins in the new toilet block and more washing up sinks needed, separate from the present area. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Clappersgirl 6 reviews from this member

 We were rather disconcerted to arrive at this site and find that it looked rather like a deserted gypsy encampment.

As you drive in there are caravans parked everywhere on a large area of gravel with tatty windbreaks flapping about. We had to ring to announce our arrival and someone turned up shortly to show us to our pitch.

This turned out to be quite pleasant, just near the shower block and out of immediate view of most of the seasonal caravans because of the tall hedges dividing the site up.

Everything else was fine, good showers with plenty of hooks and a light that comes on when you shut the door, and quite clean.

The quarry-tiled floors are not the best for keeping clean and it would have been nice to have a squeegee or mop to dry up after your shower. It is rather dim round by the toilets in the daytime and there were several large spiders prowling around, but it's spider time of year.

The heating was not on but luckily it was not too cold. It did rain a lot while we were there and there were some puddles on the paths but not too bad. As it was so late in the season we hardly saw another soul so no problem with queuing. We only managed to get BBC channels on our television so I'm not sure if it is possible to get them all.

As mentioned by several other reviewers the site is very close to the shops, station and bus stop. We walked into Barmouth over the railway bridge, which is a lovely walk of about 3 miles and flat, and we caught the train back.

We also got the bus to Dolgeddlau one day and the train to Porthmadog on another. We didn't try the chippy but the Indian restaurant is highly recommended. We had a lovely meal there.

If we had been feeling a bit more strenuous we might have climbed Cadair Idris which is quite close. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Paulph 1 review from this member

 Nicely laid out site, lovely views of the mountains, very handy for amenities and the railway.

Price a little high, but the site was ideally situated for what I wanted to do. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Claire Walker 3339 2 reviews from this member

 Ynys Faig Farm is a lovely compact campsite, itís well laid out with easy access for motor homes/caravans. Everywhere is clean and tidy and no sense of being cramped. The toilets were spotlessly clean, spacious, and the showers were free, clean and easy to use. Within 5 mins walk is a spa, an Indian and the mini railway.

Nice big pebble beach to explore. Also the owner and groundsman were really nice and friendly and very helpful. He even fetched us a slab so that we could put our little fire pit on it. Thereís only one thing that I didnít like and thatís only a small matter which is that there is a train line about 25 mates away from the bottom field.

Itís well hidden behind a row of trees and there was hardly any trains on the weekend. They did start a little earlier on the weekdays, however I have to say that the noise was barely noticeable and did not bother us at all.

All in all a really lovely site and perfect for young families to have a walk into Barmouth. 9/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tankman 2 reviews from this member

 This site is going to get more popular than it already is with the improvements being made. The owners are great, even took me fishing on the beach, and good to talk to.

The mainline and narrow guage stations are very close for travelling up & down the coast or just to Penrhyn point. The facilities are clean and enough for the size of site.

Fairbourne village has a range of shops from grocery, greengrocery, cafe, bucher, deli, chippy & cafe.

We have every intention of returning. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davenic 8 reviews from this member

 Liked:

The laid back attitude on the site, staff were friendly and offered advice/help when pitching. Plenty of space between well maintained flat pitches and nicely sectioned off with tree/bush hedging this gives protection from the weather and a privacy which is welcome. Even though a lot of rain fell there was no flooded/boggy parts of the grass.

Showers in the men's where powerful and the area was always very clean (cleaning seemed to be done during the day which is a good idea as probably not a busy time for usage).

Great location close to the beach and facilities in the village, great for exploring the countryside and the hills nearby, normal trains (mainline) and miniature trains (to Fairbourne point where you can get a boat to Barmouth) run from the stations located less than 3-5 minute walk.

Disliked:

An extra light in the toilets/shower cubicles as when raining and overcast it was gloomy, an extra mirror in the gents for shaving but these are minor issues. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 29 reviews from this member

 Basic site 28. 50 per night including ehu so quite expensive.

Near to station good to catch the two trains a day but level crossing noise can be heard from 7am.

Local amenities basic two small shops no petrol station only a couple of places to eat.

Nice steam train across the road. 
via mobile


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ynys Faig Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ynys Faig Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ynys Faig Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fairbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1635 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December