Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Anglesey Outdoors

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Holyhead > Anglesey Outdoors Reviews

Anglesey Outdoors
Porthdafarch Road
Holyhead
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL65 2LP
Tel: 01407 769351
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Philreckless 5 reviews from this member

 Great site. Just after Bank Holiday and was quiet.

Booking and communication excellent and very easy.

No personal contact needed on arrival as we’d paid on-line and given directions to our pitch.

Very good showers, toilets and dish-washing. Good distancing.

Staff very helpful.

Tents are all on a field over a little hill/round the corner from the centre.

Our pitch was in a potentially very boggy bit - a vehicle had recently got stuck in the next door pitch.

We were ok but ground was very soft. I would have worried if there had been heavy rain.

Could do with a tap on the field but the centre not too far - I’m lazy!

Overall, a lovely time was had, with classic Holy Island locations minutes away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fizzio 1 review from this member

 Campsite clean and tidy shower /toilet facilities rather basic but adequate. I personally would have liked a PowerPoint with a mirror where I could have dried my hair but as I wasn't going out in the evenings I got by.

The place is set up for watersports activities and outdoor adventure and has an excellent drying room for water sports wet clothing.

The reception were helpful and polite. There is an on site bar/bistro and the food was very wholesome tasty and good sized portions.

Overall as intermediate Kayakers and lovers of camping and outdoor activity we have now stayed here twice and would highly recommend if you are of the same mindset. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sheffield hatter 4 reviews from this member

 We pre-booked here because their website states that the whole centre is sometimes booked out to large parties, so just turning up might be a bit risky.

The pitches are on a rolling hill-top among banks of bracken, bushes and silver birch. We were able to find a spot that was fairly close to the facilities, and there was also a picnic bench nearby. Some other campers on a nearby hillock lit a fire and had a fairly noisy party, but this didn't disturb us.

There's a bar, the Paddlers Return, adjacent to the site, but we didn't use this. There's an Asda about a mile away on the edge of town, and numerous pubs in the town centre.

The toilet and shower facilities are in the building that also houses a hostel (it is affiliated to YHA) and they are fairly basic though clean. There's a pretty decent radiator in each.

The showers are press-button communal showers with simply a curtain between each user and nothing to use to clear up water on the floor, of which there always seemed to be a lot.

The main downside here was that the water was never hot - it was only just lukewarm when I had a post-cycle ride shower in the evening, and it was still lukewarm in the wash basins the next morning.

There are separate 'shower pods' that can be hired with 15 minutes of 'hot' water for shower and basin in privacy, but we didn't try these, and surely the water supply would be the same anyway?

The receptionist didn't explain about this even though we said that it was our first visit to the site - we had to go back and ask.

At just £5 per person, this site was very cheap. But when you've been cycling all day you need a hot shower to relax and unwind, so having only lukewarm water is a serious deficiency. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AllyHoll 3 reviews from this member

 I love a rough and ready campsite and this was one of 'em. It had good amenities and everything we needed, it had a seaside edge, especially the bar which was a really nice spot for a few local beers and served good food.

Menu seemed different every day. The walks and the beach were spot on and the staff were really helpful.

We even went on a fishing expedition with the activity guy Grant and his little dog. Very relaxed and a perfect getaway.

Only downside is it was near Holyhead (sorry) not my cup of tea for a town. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elfy66 1 review from this member

 My partner and I visited this site in July 2011. It's lovely, very peaceful - apart from the occasional jet! The site runs outdoor activities and has a bunkhouse and youth hostel on site.

It's about 1/3 mile from a pretty beach set in a cove, lots of opportunities for rock-pooling and climbing, also very popular for kayaking and canoeing. The roads are well suited for cycling and we enjoyed rides to South Stack, Holyhead and Trearddur Bay (as well as the local Asda - about a mile away!).

The toilet block is basic but clean, 2 loos and 4 showers which were always hot (and free). Indoor washing up area with plenty of hot water. There is a small bar on site which offers food, although we didn't use it, it looked friendly and very popular with returning canoeists.

Although there is no playground there is loads of room for children to play and explore and we did see a volleyball net, which was well used and enjoyed.

There are chickens roaming around and apparently a goat! Although we didn't see him.

We loved the site and are already planning a return :) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JACANWYL 3 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as a venue for our wedding!

It was fantastic. We hired the yurt and tipi for the weekend. The yurt was beautifully decorated with all the essentials you would need.

Our reception was held at the Paddlers and the evening reception in a 24 foot yurt. The staff were fantastic! As was the food.

A great site with superb staff and excellent facilities.  



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Anglesey Outdoors child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Anglesey Outdoors?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Anglesey Outdoors dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holyhead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3492 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder