Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakewell Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Goonhavern > Lakewell Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Lakewell Touring & Camping Park
Perranwell Road
Goonhavern
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR4 9NX
Tel: 01872 571500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: 24/05/2021 to 03/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Laurie118 26 reviews from this member

 This site is tucked away in the cornish countryside, Very peaceful. Good size pitches.

Very close to Perranporth and its lovely beach. Term time so no children only toddlers.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. For cornwall the price per night is very good, will stay here again when we next visit cornwall.

The toilets and showers were very clean 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sensebroker 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 2 weeks at this site. It was the first time we have stayed at this site although we visited to look around it and nearly stayed at it a couple of years ago but had to cancel due to illness.

The site has been taken over by new owners this year and they have started improvements to the facilities and site.

The showering and toilet block have benefited from a makeover with new wash basins and improved and extended shower cubicles that are more than adequate for purpose. At the time of our visit the site was very busy with all 28 pitches occupied and although there were 3 male showers and 3 female showers we never had to wait to use a shower or a toilet so it would seem that the facilities were adequate for the size of the site.

The pitches are generous proportions and We didn't feel too close to neighbouring units. The electric hookup was excellent and didn't trip every time a kettle or toaster was switched on.

The site could be described as sloping but many of the pitches are reasonably level.

There was a nice vibe about this site, it is a real campers site, the people who we met were friendly and chatty, a nice change from some of the more upmarket 5 star sites we have stayed on in the past that are sometimes a bit soulless. There are no children's play facilities but our 4 children (age range 8 - 14) were also happy with this site and made friends with other children from other parts of the country and played games in the centre of the field.

We arrived a day or so after some very wet weather and the pitches we were booked onto were quite wet and boggy, as everyone knows when it rains in Cornwall it rains 'proper' and also the track from the entrance to the pitches was very muddy and had cut up badly due to the vehicles struggling for traction. The new owners had tried to firm up the pitches with sand and had done their best to improve the soggy ground, but that's camping isn't it.

All in all we had a great 2 weeks with more sunshine than rain and more positives than negatives, the real bonus was the site went very quiet around 10pm, although I have to admit we did not encounter excessive noise at any time of the day. This site may not be to everyones liking, it has no shop, no club or bar, no children's play area but all of the former can be found nearby in Goonhavern just minutes up the road. The beach at Perranporth is a short drive away as is Holywell Bay and Newquay.

The new owners are trying to make more improvements to the site and they had started to improve the track to the pitches just before we left. We enjoyed our stay at Lakewell and will return in the near future 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Naythan 6 reviews from this member

 Just back from 2. 5 weeks at Lakewell and what a great holiday it was, we've previously been to other local sites but tried here this year & have already booked to go back for longer next summer.

The site is spacious with just 30 pitches around the edge of 2 fields, both with open space in the centre which the kids enjoyed playing games in, both with water points too, the lower field has a lovely small fishing lake which attracts local wildlife, we saw buzzards, gulls, robin's, rabbits & many small birds. See pictures for my daughters drawing of the pitch layouts, not to scale!

The site is on a SW facing slope so gets great sun from morning through to sunset, of all the Cornish sites we've camped at it's the least exposed we've found, great with the changeable nature of Cornish weather. The field suffered for a couple of days with mud at the entrance but the owners worked tirelessly to keep the access clear, they plan a new surfaced road later this year. We used a single chock on the caravan which was sufficient to get perfectly level.

The facilities are great, toilets, washing up sinks, showers and laundry facilities are all available, regularly cleaned and re-supplied, As usual a few campers could do with showing how a mop works after their shower!

Free wifi is available at the reception, seating is available for those needing an online fix! Mobile reception we found is best on O2. 3 & EE were just about ok, Vodafone non existent!

The location is excellent, close to Perranporth & not far from all the popular Cornwall attractions, there's an excellent Londis in Goonhavern (a 1 mile trail walk away or 2 minute drive), a Co-op in Perranporth (2. 5 mile walk/cycle/drive), or a Morrisons & Sainsbury in Newquay.

Walking directions to Goonhavern Londis!

1. 1 miles, mostly trail, 20-30 minutes, see pictures for route, or Garmin activity 1893969636 for a gpx file.

Exit the site and cross the road, just to the right is the access to a different campsite, this is a public footpath marked on OS maps (I've reported the missing sign!) walk up the tarmac drive and turn right after the tennis courts, this section is a little overgrown but passable, follow this across another tarmac track until you exit at the corner of a byway, turn left and follow the byway, take the left fork after a few minutes, at the T-junction turn right and follow the track around a left hand bend, turn left at the crossroads, right at the next junction & you are now on the track that comes out at Goonhavern village hall, turn left at the end and walk the couple of minutes along Bridge Road to the store.

It's also possible to cycle/walk into Perranporth, I found 3 different quiet routes, all require a very short distance on the road outside the site then turning onto quiet roads and footpaths. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaap_koning 1 review from this member

 The campsite has just opened. We could leave suggestions because it was still being improved. All necessary facilities were working and were clean. The surrounding bushes stopped most wind. We liked the quietness, spaciousness and friendly service. Perranporth is close for all touristic necessities. The A30 is only a few miles away, so from Bude to Land's End to St Austel is in reach within the hour by car.

The campsite offers limited facilities, eg. No entertainment or playground for children, wifi did not reach the end of the field. We were quite content with the facilities as they were, we are self supporting, so for us it was a 10 star site. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Marsha56 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely week at Lakewell, we only went for four nights and ended up staying for seven. We received a warm welcome from Peter and Jane the new owners, and you can see from the minute you drive down to the site the improvements they have made. The toilets have been revamped and the showers made bigger with plenty of hooks for cloths and towels. The laundry and dish wash area's have everything you need including a freezer for freezer packs and a fridge which we found very useful. The toilet block was always clean and tidy, as was the rest of the site with the field being mowed twice during our stay.

This is a great small and friendly site which we will use again when we go back to Cornwall. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Owlarts 1 review from this member

 Very impressed with new owners updating of the site. Showers toilets and washing facilities very good. Site well mowed. And in a beautiful setting witha a lovely lake good electrical hook ups. Will be returning in the near future.

Peter and jane were most welcoming. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bessiecamper 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here a good few years ago when we hired a chalet. It was a new venture for the owners and what a nice family they were too! We visited once again a few years later whilst staying in Perranporth and spoke to Karen and her son. It was our intention to visit last year, but circumstances made it impossible, so in June this year, we saddled up our trusty Talbot and made our way down to Lakewell. It was a pre-season visit and there was only one caravan and a tent on site. It was wonderfully quiet and peaceful, making for an ideal rest break. Although we have a self-contained unit, we used the facilities that were available most of the time and found them to be very good. The wash basins were very modern and it took a while to sort out how the plug worked! The showers were just right and very clean as was the rest of the site. The pub up the road has been taken over by Park Holidays, who also have a site a few hundred yards away, and has been re-modernised. I preferred the original set up, but progress? The food was as good as ever and priced reasonably well. It now has Sky tele dotted around that enabled us to watch the World Cup!

All in all, this site is well situated for going to the North or South coasts of Cornwall, with the spectacular Perranporth beach but a few minutes away. If you are of a certain age and have a bus pass, there are bus stops up by the pub, allow you to travel wherever on a scenic route of your choice. I thoroughly recommend this site to anyone that seeks peace and quiet or even a spot of fishing, as it has its own lake! Get there! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cko4 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived Friday morning. The first pitch was unstable for tent caravan or motor home due to slope and ditch. Elsan disposal point disgusting. Paid 198 for 11nights, 5th night family bereavement meant we had to leave. Asked about refund, said he had been caught out on that one before and refused. We shall return. Watch caravan with football 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hangman76 3 reviews from this member

 Lakewell is a lovely little site, 25 pitches spread across 3 small and intimate camping fields.

There is one field for camping with no electric hook ups and two other fields with electric.

The main camping field is very spacious and situated next to the small fishing lake with loads of room for the kids to play safely.

Our pitch was in the smaller upper field directly opposite the toilet and shower block.

The main appeal of this campsite is the intimate friendly feel, it is basic in it's design but that is also the charm of the place. Havnig spoken with the two ladies Abbie and Martha who groundskeep the place the idea they want to create is a small intimate campsite with the feel of being in the real countryside and we have to admit its a great idea and wonderful little spot.

Our main decision to choose Lakewell was the cost, family of four in a trailer tent, 18 a night with Electric hook up! AMAZING value and meant we could be right in the heart of our favourite county near to our favourite beach at Perranporth on budget prices, but with the luxury of electric hook up thrown in.

The shower block is still a work in progress, but having said that it was perfect for what you need it for. It's kept very clean, well stocked and has ample amount of hot water. 3 toilets and 3 showers in each of the Men's and Ladies sides but be warned, the hot water out of the sink taps and washing up taps could take your skin off if you're not careful, it's VERY hot!

We would certainly recommend this site if you like a quiet night, enjoy watching your kids playing outside with others from around the site and are on a budget but still want a little bit of luxury when you're camping. Well done to Lakewell, you're doing a grand job! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alvyn 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for 11 days and were very happy. It is situated just outside Perranporth (best beach ever) and is a fantastic base for travelling around Cornwall. The owners, Karen and John, are lovely friendly people who made us feel very welcome. The amenities are very basic but adequate. The pitches are a decent size with lovely views of surrounding countryside. Looking forward to returning next year. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lakewell Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakewell Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lakewell Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Goonhavern      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


11619 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement