Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Broom Fisheries Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Annan > Broom Fisheries Certificated Site Reviews

Broom Fisheries Certificated Site
The Lodge
Broom Farm Estate
Newbie
Annan
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG12 5PF
Tel: 01461 700386
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 35 Reviews
                9/10 from 35 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 247 reviews from this member

Very nice, not so much the site itself, which is a functional area of hardstanding with no real views, but the whole area, the many fishing lakes and the WW2 edifices which are fascinating. Just as well, as there is not much of scenic interest in the local area.

It has a great little cafe, £5 for a lovely breakfast, quickly prepared.

Finding the site is easy enough, from the east, drive past the first turn to Annan, take the B721, then B724 signed Lockerbie, a mile along this road, turn left signed Newbie, over the railway bridge and right, signed Broom Leisure. From the west, be sure not to take either of the unsigned farm roads, the B721 is the 3rd turn and the only one which is signed.

There is a Tesco with fuel in Annan, through the town, up a hill on the right.

£17 per night is fine for what is on offer; we stayed twice, on route to Ireland and again on the way back. Customer service is excellent.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DHanson 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site, some great walks for the none fishers, excellent lakes for for fishers. Short journey to Annan if you like shopping.

Take your bike and enjoy the views. Pitches are good hard standing or grass. If you are looking for somewhere to relax you can't go wrong. We have been about 10 times in the last two years one of my favourites.

Cafe on-site means you can forget making breakfast too.
via mobile

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Tribalmick 1 review from this member

Quiet site, owners and staff friendly and helpful.

Even though me and my brother were there in February, we had good weather, and caught fish each time we fished.

Will definitely come again.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thebroons30 8 reviews from this member

We have just returned from an overnight at this lovely site and can highly recommend. We had a choice of pitching at the 5 van location or beside the cafe with a view of one of the ponds and the cafe is open.

The site is nice, quiet and peaceful and has plenty of areas to walk and is pitch black at night so handy for star gazing. Make sure you have a torch if planning to visit toilet / shower at night.

Will definitely be back now that we have found this superb site.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cortez The Camper 3 reviews from this member

This is a great little CL campsite. We received a very warm welcome from Carole, who changed our holiday plans completely when we borrowed a copy of the Dumfries & Galloway Tourist Guide.

It's certainly different from your run-of-the-mill campsite, & nicely off the beaten track. Brilliant for birds in May: we clocked 45 species in 24 hours. Although there are numerous anglers, they don't interfere & they don't bite!

The resultant traffic is unobtrusive. At the time of our visit there was work afoot improving the site, with plans for more in the future, I think. Maybe by the time you read this there could be a café up & running.

Food & shops are readily available otherwise in nearby Annan, an easy cycle-ride away, crossing a lovely bridge over the river. I should have written this review last year, but better late than never.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Danabhadri 9 reviews from this member

If you want glossy and sophisticated you are in the wrong place! If you want a peaceful hideaway with easy access to the main roads through Dumfries and Galloway this is it. This wee site has everything you need;- loo, shower, dish washing sink, chemical disposal. It is easy to find because the fishery and pro paintball are well sign posted but a word of warning;- if approaching from the west (or leaving for a destination to the west) your sat nav may try to put you down a road that is impassable due to flooding. Take the road signposted Newbie and you cant go wrong.

I think this area was used as part of an ordinance factory producing propellant for shells during WWII There is an interesting local museum with information about 'The Devils Porridge' as it is called. The area around the campsite has a number of very overgrown semi subterranean buildings which are a fascinating relic of this and a network of rough tracks which the dog appreciated as dog walks.

It is a working farm and fishery so there are the usual bits and bobs of these businesses around, some count them as untidy;-I reckon they add to the charm!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We stopped off for one night on the way home, no booking but they had 1 spare pitch (5 C&CC CS). Although its on grass it very firm with some hardcore. All pitches had ehu, there is a drinking water tap a the far end of the pitches. Not sure where grey water dump was as we didn't use.

There is one shower, one loo and a chem disp nearer the house. No wifi on site. The cafe mentioned by previous reviews was closed and doesn't appear to have been open for some time.

The owners were welcoming and friendly, told us about the site, and said we were welcome to walk around the fishing lakes once the fisherman had left around 4. 30 pm. We walked along the beach to Powfoot, about 20 minutes. The hotel in the village does great coffee and cake - many people were eating what looked like very good Sunday lunches, its worth a visit.

We paid £15 for 1 night, 2 adults and ehu on this site. A really good CS that is very quiet and peaceful yet 10 minutes drive to Annan where there is a big Tesco and plenty of shops.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tina p 1 review from this member

Found this gem of a campsite by chance as never fancied the fishing side but wanted to camp. Have been twice now and it's a lovely tranquil place, feels like wild camping as campsite is huge so you really do feel like your getting away from it all here and have your own space not crammed in.

Owners carol and John absolutely lovely and can't do enough for you. Toilets and shower spotless. Gorgeous walk down to beach. Little cafe on site that does the job for wee rolls and cuppa etc.

Just a cracking all round bit of peace and quiet.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Micky boulton 2 reviews from this member

A site we have visited a few times. Great for bird watching, animal(deer)watching. If you like course fishing, this is the place to be.

On the downside, when it rains the pitches flood, little or no drainage. On our last visit, we had an inch of water in the awning.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hardyjos 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here two separate nights, on the way to Stranraer, and again on our way back, - What a fabulous site. - Wildlife galore, plenty of runs for the dog. -

Extremely friendly and helpful owners. - Simple but clean facilities. - Everything we could wish for!

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4387 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019