Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laleham Camping Club

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Surrey > Chertsey > Laleham Camping Club Reviews

Laleham Camping Club
Laleham
Thames Side
Chertsey
Surrey   (Browse area)
TW18 1SS
Tel: 01932 564149
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 60 Reviews
                7/10 from 60 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Kellyg148221xzp 1 review from this member

 We stayed from Friday to Sunday. On arrival we were greeted but two ladies

We were shown to our pitch and was told it’s 5mph and had it told to me that if I was unsure it was walking speed! Very condescending to say the least as I’m 43! We were told we could unload but cars had to be moved out to the car park.

Our friends arrived with a blown tyre so we asked if we could leave it until the morning as it was 3pm 37 degrees and still need to unload and pitch a 10 man xl tent, nope it had to be moved and we had strapping men that could do it.

Toilets and showers all fine and washing up room good. NO shop on site, it was a tent that sold ice cream and ice. Very loud at night, well 1-2 am with laughing and shouting.

Don’t get me wrong we had a nice time but were made to feel like children only by one of the ladies but was not a nice feeling. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kirsty986mb 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite in an ideal location for theme parks (Thorpe park 10 mins away, Lego land and chessington around 30 mins away. ) and a trip into London by train.

Although at times the shower block could have been cleaner there is a park my girls loved to play on and facilities are good wash room for dishes a washing machine and tumble dryer are available although very expensive to use. Chemical toilet cleaning and very large toilet facilities.

This is the second visit to the campsite and my children adore it there. There are a couple of corner shops within walking distance and pubs selling food but the closest town is just a short car journey away with an aldi sainsburys and restaurants in the town.

Personally we didn't have an issue with The customer service which I would say was average. All in all a fantastic holiday location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vampirebunny 1 review from this member

 We always go to the children's weekend, last weekend of June. Its a great way to have fun with your children. Or leave them to have their own fun. The adults get to have their own fun too.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

I used this campsite to introduce my wife to camping. She didn't like the idea before but now she is more willing to tolerate mine and my daughter's camping habit. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Msaunders 4 reviews from this member

 Great location next to the River Thames but overly expensive.

Silly rules like kids not allowed to cycle bikes. Hard to relax when we constantly feel we are being watched! Has a small childs play area in poorly maintained condition. Much better kids play area in the park next door.

Toilet facilities are ok. Warm showers and enough wc's but hand dryer not working in the gents (and only one hand dryer)

Plane noise is an issue but they stop between 11. 00 and 05. 00. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: CarrieF 11 reviews from this member

 We needed somewhere in the area for an overnight and this site fitted the bill (the nearby C&CC site had a 2 night minimum so no use).

The site was easy to find and, arriving around teatime, we had a friendly welcome from the lady in the reception office. We were shown to our pitch, a decent spot between some of the pre-erected tents, not far from the facilities block, and had everything pointed out.

As previously noted, other than for setting up and packing up, you have to move your car to a separate car park rather than keeping it on your pitch. Wasn’t too much of a bother, even though it meant we had to unload absolutely everything we might need just for one night.

The facilities block was well maintained, quite a number of loos and three showers in the ladies. The showers were excellent – in fact my husband thought it may have been the best campsite shower he’d had!

The road to the site runs along the side of the Thames which looked pretty and there were quite a number of people fishing on the banks. Going back along the same road we visited The Kingfisher pub restaurant where we had a lovely dinner.

From previous reviews we were prepared for the noise of planes given the proximity to Heathrow – they were coming over fairly low and very frequently until near midnight. It was fairly windy on the night we were there but when I got up at one point in the night to check our awning I was surprised to see nothing moving. My husband informed me that the sounds I was listening to were more likely to be from the motorway. Regulars and locals probably don’t notice it much but the evening wasn’t especially peaceful. Nothing the site owners can do anything about but just be aware if you're a light sleeper who goes to bed early!

The site has quite a regimented look and feel, the lines of pre-erected tents contribute to this, but we thought it was fine. It's well located for the attractions in the area – a family near us had chosen it for that reason and had spent the best part of a week visiting many places with their children including Thorpe Park and Windsor and having a great time.

All in all it served its purpose well for us. At £27 for 2 adults (with EHU) for one night it’s more than we would normally pay but we’re more used to French municipal site prices and this is London so I suppose to be expected. Would we go again? Probably if we needed to be in the area but not a ‘destination’ site for us. If, on he other hand, you're a Londoner looking to get out of the city and get some country air not too far away it could be ideal. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Karee5 5 reviews from this member

 Pretty site, surrounded by trees and just over the road from the Thames. We visited during half term to visit Thorpe park. Ladies loos were plenty and had three showers, very well thought out with the showers up a step so you were able to get dry, could have done with an extra hook though. Very clean.

There is a lovely play area in the middle for the kids and saw the wardens doing rounds so no troubles, no cars on site except for loading and unloading so pretty safe for little ones. The ground was good and our pegs went in and out easily. The sunniest pitches are reserved for the pre set up tents which you can rent but quite a sunny site anyway. Lots of planes going over but they did stop around 10-10. 30pm and generally didn't hear any until about 7. 30 in the morning so didn't keep us up.

Great base for the parks but we did find it a bit expensive as they charge per person rather than the pitch(we paid £10 per adult, £8 per child plus £6 for electric) so would be too expensive for us to stay more than a few days 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spook71 4 reviews from this member

 Great site used as a base to get into London on average it cost us from 30-40 pounds to get in to London trying the railway station from chertsey to London, and other days driving to hatton cross parking there then using underground. I never heard any motorway noise but there is a weir on the river so maybe people were getting mixed up they were no flights after around 11. 30pm but when they do go over some can be loud we were around 10ft from river. The toilets were clean with separate cubicles it toilet block with sinks mirrors shaving lights points, I don't think the playground wasn't that great but we never spent a lot of time on site. Great site a++ 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Myattmania 14 reviews from this member

 We were meant to be staying just overnight on our way back home from Dorset, but as we were having such a good time we stayed for a second night.

We spent 3 hours on the first day kayaking on the Thames and then did 5 and a half hours the second day.

We always find plenty of things to do when we stay here, it is a pretty good stop off for if you are wishing to do a day in town or the adventure parks

The last thing we tend to do before finally going home is a last walk along the banks watching the boats and fishermen

The warden and staff are all very friendly and will always go that extra mile to help out any way they can. This is top of our list of sites to stay on for a weekend away and is likely to be for many years to come.

Shower blocks etc we find are always clean and tidy - lovely little play park on site for small children and a slightly bigger one outside the grounds just the other side of the car park.

Once again a great big thank you to Sylvia, Gill and the rest of the crew for such a relaxing chill out Paul & Lou 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Myattmania 14 reviews from this member

 Yet another fun packed weekend break away with the caravan

We spent most of this weekend kayaking up and down the River Thames, going through the locks was a bit of a hair raising experience, but still great fun

As usual, I can't fault Sylvia and the rest of the gang who look after the running of this site.

Not long until we will be popping in on an overnight stay on our journey back from Wiltshire.

Every time we stay, no matter how long or short it is we have a great time

Starting to feel like our second home now, always great to see the usual friendly faces

Three showers in the ladies and loads of toilets and wash basins - there is an hour during the day when they are closed for cleaning (pretty much the norm with all sites)

Chemical waste area - washing up area - washing machines - all kept clean and tidy

There is a small playground area for the children, which seems to be very popular (our children are all grown up now so unable to let you know what the children think) always little ones playing there and making good use of the newly updated sand pit area

We have never had a bad experience here and have always been made to feel very welcome. Always someone about to give you a helping hand

Will be back very soon 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Myattmania 14 reviews from this member

 Have now lost count how many times we have stayed on this site - we love it

If you are after a relaxing chill out break we find this ideal for us

Perfect for walking or cycling along the Thames or just sitting by the caravan and watch the boats sail by.

Plenty of wildlife around by the side of the Thames or on the Park - on this stay we had the pleasure of feeding the swans, ducks, canadian geese and a pair of Egyptian Geese and their fluffy babies

There are lots of pubs within easy walking distance of the campsite and I believe we have tried most of them now

Cycling into Staines is about a 30 minute amble taking in the sites as you go - plenty of cycle parking areas when you get there to lock your bikes up

Doesn't matter which way you walk up or down the Thames both ways you come to a lock where you can watch the boats and the locks being operated

We find the shower and toilet blocks to be ample for our needs - plenty of toilets and hand basins and three showers of a good size. The showers are push buttons ones to help save water

We have always found it to be a friendly site and not experienced any problems on any of our visits

Sylvia is a true gem that always makes us feel welcome each time we stay - all of the wardens/staff on site are friendly and there to help and make your stay a good one

As with all sites there are rules, such as cars are to be parked in a separate car park to the caravans and tents and no cycling on the site - it is obvious that these rules are due to the size of the site and the amount of caravans and tents around they are Health and Safety Rules - neither or these have proved a problem for us

There is an inside washing up area that also includes washing machines and tumble dryers. We've never had the need to use them

There is also a toilet waste area and many large wheelie bins for your rubbish

If you are after a local butchers we found a good one in nearby Shepperton while on one of our cycling trips of the area

There is a supermarket close by which we tend to do a trip to once we have set the van up on site

We will be back again for sure, in fact, our next visit will be in May in a few weeks time

A massive great big thank you to Sylvia and the rest of the crew for another great time - totally chilled out and back to work now, but looking forward to our next outing already 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laleham Camping Club child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laleham Camping Club?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Laleham Camping Club dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chertsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Surrey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


903 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement