Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dale Farm Rural Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Dale Farm Rural Campsite Reviews

Dale Farm Rural Campsite
Moor Road
Great Longstone
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1UA
Tel: 0333 050 3440
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nrjones 23 reviews from this member

 Positives:

Great location in the middle of National Park close to Monsal Trail and Bakewell.

Sheep Dip offers good washing and toilet facilities.

Close to three local pubs - we particularly liked Little Packhorse. Breakfast at the Hollow also recommended.

Being able to have a campfire is a bonus - plenty of wood for sale.

We were welcomed nicely on arrival.

Site was generally very quiet, apparent from early morning wake-up from young children on several mornings

Negatives:

Our hardstanding pitch, No 3, was quite narrow and wasn't the easiest to access.

It was also immediately next to the toilet block, which meant we had little privacy although we were obviously close to the facilities.

There are no specific areas for children, so inevitably they tended to wander with balls around adjacent pitches - I would suggest this isn't the ideal site for families.

Overall, we would probably return, mainly because of the excellent location. It wasn't the the most spacious site we've visited, but I guess if you're out walking all day it's not an issue. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mlwj 1 review from this member

 Liked everything! Joanna and Nick run a lovely friendly and quiet campsite with excellent spotless modern facilities.

We booked hardstanding in case of weather, but they happily allowed us to choose a grass pitch higher up, with wonderful views including sunrises.

Several great walks direct from site (including to excellent Hassop Station cafe on Monsal Trail) and 3 pubs in village. Short drive from Chatsworth, Haddon Hall and buses to Bakewell.

We have no children with us so rated it 5 on basis of being able to look at farm animals but not much room to run around (swings etc at nearby pub I think).

Loved it 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mrsalfresco 1 review from this member

 We spent 6 nights at this site in our folding camper in early August.

Overall, we really liked it. The owners were friendly and helpful. The location is excellent for exploring the Peak District and it is just a short walk into the local village for two pubs.

There was also information available for take-aways in the area, including wood fired pizza from a van which we tried and loved (available Wed - Sun). The view from our pitch (about half way up the hillside pitches) was stunning.

Also, the new unisex facilities block was spotless, with plenty of showers and toilets (it was never full, despite the site being full while we were there). There are several water taps along the central track so you were never further than a couple of pitches away from one.

We were on a hillside pitch with EHU. These pitches are terraced into a hillside and ours was almost flat, although we did have to drive one wheel of our folding camper onto a block to fully level it. There was an all weather mat under the grass which would have been useful if the weather had been wet. The pitches are very long (maybe 12m?) and around 8m wide (we didn't measure - this is just an estimate), with low wooden railings and some plants between pitches.

Our first impression of the site was utter tranquility and there were tranquil moments throughout our stay. The 'quiet policy' is clearly stated on the website and was reinforced on arrival. However, we were slightly unlucky in having noisy neighbours for much of our stay, with two families (10 people) congregating on the pitch next to us. The owners did speak to them about keeping the noise down, which helped.

My only criticism is that I think the owners could have done more to be Covid secure in these times. There was a verbal and written reminder to keep a 2m distance and a hand sanitiser dispenser outside the facilities. New arrivals were told that they hadn't put stickers down as 'everyone knows what 2m is by now'.

However, our experience was that people tend to forget when they are away on holiday. We would have preferred it if 2m spaces were marked out in the facilities and we felt that the central basin in each bank of three should have been blocked off, similarly alternate washing up sinks.

Having said that, the facilities were never crowded, so we were able to take our own precautions. It would also have been useful to have hand sanitiser at the communal water taps.

We would definitely recommend this site in more 'normal' times and would return. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dad1uk 36 reviews from this member

 Had a fantastic break here in our Folding Camper.

A relaxed and easy going sight with strong quietness rules.

Fantastic toilet shower block and a great farm shop nearby. Even though the site is on a slope the pitches are generally flat. All the staff I have met have been extremely helpful.

Dog friendly and loads of walks nearby.

About 15 minutes from the Monsal Trail which is excellent for cycling.

A couple of local pubs within about 5 minutes walk, we used the Crispin which was very dog friendly, great food and beer served by great staff.

There are a couple of shops in the village and only about 10 minutes drive to Bakewell.

The only downside is there is nothing for children, but we were told there was a play area at the rear of the White Lion Pub.

There is a third pub, The Packhorse Inn, about 10 minutes walk across the fields but this is closed at the moment. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Pass 3 reviews from this member

 Small friendly campsite. Plenty of circular walks too. Will take the dog next time and bikes.

Plenty to see for a few days especially caves. We'll see Chatsworth next time.

Can't see what the big deal about Bakewell is though, not much there 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lineyj77 1 review from this member

 A very strange set up. Iíve camped all my life and nowhere else Iíve stayed have I been made to feel so unwelcome. Youíd expect a small family run campsite attached to a working farm to be run by friendly, easy-going folk.

Instead, the owners seem to view their campsite and its guests as nothing more than an irksome inconvenience. Posters around the farm asked to respect their privacy after 7pm. With this in mind, we helped ourselves to a picnic bench and firepit - at around 7:30 (several of which we could see on other pitches) - with a view to settling up in the morning.

Well, big mistake. We were made to feel truly demonised and were accused of stealing! On two separate tellings off! We are two couples in our 40s! Perhaps it wasnít the right thing to do, but our intentions were good and we apologised profusely on the first ticking off. It just seemed so unnecessary a response. What a shame, as the setting and surrounding walks are stunning.

Plenty of other options available for next yearís middle class pilgrimage to Chatsworth Country Fair! (Which is amazing btw!). And on the plus side they probably have more than one tiny shower, charged at £1 a pop. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rave154 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent a very pleasant bank holiday w/e cycling to Dale Farm. Nick & Joanna are very friendly and arranged a nice little secluded spot for me and my 1-man tent with a fire pit and wood & kindling etc.

The Site is Very quiet with no music or loud voices etc. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tvrjon 1 review from this member

 Set in beautiful scenery and not far from the village of Great Longstone this is a gem of a campsite offering a great location for walking in the Derbyshire countryside.

Being a working farm adds a certain character and charm to the place and the facilities are clean and adequate for this type of campsite. Electricity is available on some pitches.

A small shop sells a varity of meats, cakes and jams and the village pubs are only a short 5 to 10 minutes walk away. We will return later in the year 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kirstsw 39 reviews from this member

 It's been a while since we've been to Dale Farm and since our last visit the site has been expanded. The pitches are big and have EHU. There are 3 toilets and a shower as well as a sink for pot washing. Fires are also allowed.

The location is fantastic for walking straight from the site. In the village there are 2 pubs. We ate in The Crispinn which is dog friendly, food excellent and staff friendly and accommodating.

A great rural site very peaceful. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandraric 1 review from this member

 We stayed for our 2nd visit to Dale Farm for 2 days over the Easter period - we had previously had an overnight stay just to see what the site was like.

We loved it! As it was the Easter weekend, we booked in on the Thursday for 2 nights - and could chose our spot on the tent field as no one else was there. The hill up to the camping field is steep ish but worth it. We had a fire pit burner, but other people have had camp fires.

We have met such lovely and warm people there during our stays. Firstly, as we had brought everything except the kitchen sink and more importantly our fold up chairs, I asked a chap who was on site doing some work on the electric hook ups if there were any left over chairs knocking about. He kindly said he had 2 at home, and we followed him to his house to pick up the 2 chairs - saved us going into Bakewell and paying high prices.

The following day, we were asking the farmer about local walks and this lovely lady who has horses there, kindly offered to drop us at the Hassop station, and then told us the best walks bearing in mind our footwear etc. Following her directions, we had a great walk there and back, getting off the Monsal trail at the right place to save us having to walk on the roadway.

We have also chatted to a couple of the people who have caravans here - they were nice too.

The site is basic - it is a working farm - but there are toilets, taps, a pot washing sink and a toilet emptying place, a little shop with an honesty box, and everyone we have met so far is nice bearing in mind we are out of town people, and we can't fault the site itself. I think you can order breakfasts, but as veggies, we didn't bother.

In the village, we have been to both the Crispin which has really nice cider, and a very pleasant landlord, and also the White Lion is nice too. We didn't order any meals, but locals have told us that the food in both is good.

We have previously encountered unfriendly and unpleasant locals before whilst camping in other Derbyshire villages, but have fallen in love with Dale Farm and Great Longstone village in general, and can't wait to go back.

We have now bought a caravan, so hope to go and try the bottom field with the hook ups soon - save walking up the hill lol! 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dale Farm Rural Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dale Farm Rural Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Dale Farm Rural Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2775 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement