Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dennis Cove Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Padstow > Dennis Cove Campsite Reviews

Dennis Cove Campsite
Dennis Lane
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8DR
Tel: 01841 532349
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: 08/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
                8/10 from 95 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: WHeaps 15 reviews from this member

 A superbly located site with excellent facilities, and extremely helpful and friendly staff.

We liked the ability to chose exact pitch on booking and went for one at the top in hope of a view - and were certainly not disappointed.

This meant we were quite a hike from the facilities, but that was our choice! However, facilities were excellent, and we could have chosen to have been much nearer.

Like all of Cornwall, suspect it would be heaving in season, but pitches were well spaced, and facilities would probably cope well.

Only downsides were lack of shelving in shower / wash areas (but were told this is on to do list), and we thought chemical disposal was a bit close to washing up (not unhygenic, just a bit unpleasant watching people empty loos as you wash up!)

Also very expensive even without hook up - but that is Padstow. We also had the most expensive fish and chips ever during our stay, but like the campsite, they were also very good, and probably worth it! 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Webadore 1 review from this member

 Lovely well kept campsite. Good sized pitch. The facilities were very clean.

Located by the Camel way, so great for walking and cycling. 10 minute walk along the Camel into Padstow.

WiFi could have been better, but this was the only issue.

Highly recommended campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pairofbristols 1 review from this member

 Having stayed on this site many times every time gets better, Great for coast walks and cycling the camel trail, always made welcome and nothing is to much trouble for the owners and co.

We missed last year due to lockdown but had a last minute stay this week as we were let down on another site in Devon due to waterlogged pitches, A quick call to Dennis cove and we were in for one night.

Well they have been busy all the toilet and showers have been modernised. Showers by token still but get these free from the reception

The price I Don't look at if you try to park in Padstow all day your thinking £10 so just take that away and its cheap cant wait to return in September 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mrsmpotter 1 review from this member

 We absolutely loved this site! I almost don't want to tell anyone about it for fear of it becoming too popular! It was very easy to find. It's in a great location just 10 minute walk into Padstow using the Camel Trail path. The Camel Trail is right on the doorstep. You can cycle or walk all the way to Bodmin in complete safety.

The estuary is great for paddle boarding or kayaking (and very easy to carry your boards down from the campsite!).

The campsite has a request that all electronic devices are switched to silent at night (or used with headphones) which means that the it is lovely and quiet at night. Our only sticking point was the 4g reception from our van (my husband had to work while we were away) but it was ok if you walked up to the top field.

The site was spacious and very well organised with a great emphasis on recycling, keeping beaches clean etc. The toilets, showers and facilities are modern and very clean. The staff were engaging, helpful and friendly.

All in all, a really lovely vibe to the place. We will definitely be back ASAP 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Potherb123 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely location close to padstow, 10 minute walk, own access to camel trail for cycling or walking to wadebridge, lovely views.

Very friendly welcoming staff, found it quite expensive, didn't expect to have to pay for showers on top, a token needed at 50p a time but ample hot water provided.

Having said that the facilities are great, laundry, washing up facilities, showers and toilets kept very clean. Added bonus is the visiting coffee vendor, bar and pizza man.

Access is a bit tricky but location is great. A well maintained clean and tidy site, nothing too much trouble for staff, very helpful. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hursty1960 1 review from this member

 Excellent site very close to Padstow, a tad expensive.

Staff very friendly toilet and shower very clean. Found us a pitch after being let down on another site.

Pitch size very good. Would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cerisjones 11 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed a week's stay at this campsite. It's location is perfect for wandering into Padstow, walking the coastal path and for cycling the Camel Trail. Because of the site's location it is a bit pricier than average however as in life you get what you pay for.

There were plenty of toilets and showers which were always clean. You do need tokens for the showers however the water temperature and pressure was fine and you get lots of time.

The only downside to the site was that the overflow tent field which we were in had a slight incline. Other than that I thought it was great and would go back again anyway.

Make sure that you check out Embers Woodfired Pizza in Padstow as I ate there twice and it is great. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cclcfc 18 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Dennis Cove as part of a holiday in a rented Motorhome. Location of this site is perfect as only a 10 minute walk in to Padstow.

Staff incredibly friendly – I was greeted by a lovely lady who explained all of the aspects of the site, facilities, upcoming events and how to get to Padstow.

The site is well maintained and ample facilities available including covered washing up area and laundry. The pitches were of a good size and nice and flat in the field we were in. We stayed in the first field with EHU near to reception and didn’t venture across the rest of the site so can’t comment on that.

Showers were fantastic and it wasn’t a hassle to us to have to use tokens. They were actually the best showers we’d used on our entire trip so no complaints.

On the Thursday night a Wood Fire Pizza van was on site – we didn’t have one however they looked lovely. There was also a pop-up bar from Padstow Brewery and my husband did have a pint which he really enjoyed. A great idea to have these and it was lovely to see lots of holiday makers mixing and relaxing. On the Friday morning a mobile Coffee van was on site for fresh coffee and croissants.

The walk in to Padstow was easy although a bit precarious first thing in the morning with lots of families venturing out along the Camel Trail on rented bikes. We walked with our dog through Padstow and all the way along the beach to the end of the estuary. As you walk away from Padstow along the beach you see some small houses in front of you perched on the hillside. One of those terraced houses has a small café in it (the Rest A While Tea Garden). It’s a lovely spot with great views. We stopped for some lunch and our dog was even treated to her own small plate of biscuits – a really lovely touch.

Another recommendation for dog walkers is the beach at Harlyn Bay. We stopped there for the day before going to Dennis Cove. It’s £4 to park all day (with a big open car park so really easy to park the Motorhome !) and the beach is dog friendly all year round. We had a lovely walk early in the day along the beach and then walked along the coastal path to the café at Trevone Beach. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stealthmackem 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed up on the top field, no bookings taken for this field but we still managed to get pitched next to our friends despite showing up fairly late on a Saturday in peak season.

Pitches do have a slight, erm, pitch to them up there but nothing unmanageable and the trade off is the best view I've ever known on a campsite.

Booking in is easy and relaxed, the staff are attentive and polite.

Showers are operated by a 40p token available solely from reception and are excellent in every regard. Wash and toilet facilities are smart and very clean, as are the washing up sinks.

You can re-freeze ice packs in reception for 40p a go, or use the site's packs for the same price with a small deposit. The Camel Trail is only a few minutes walk away with Padstow a few minutes further.

Padstow is a lovely town and being so close is a real boon, especially given the parking charges on the quay. Bike hire is available on the quay for around £15 a day and Wadebridge is about 5 miles on the Camel Trail, a flat and pleasant ride.

This is a great place to stay if you want to be central to all the charms North Cornwall has to offer while avoiding Newquay's stag night plague. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Anniewhippet 7 reviews from this member

 Great site stayed 3 nights in July 2 adults & a dog. Great location 5-10 minutes walk on Camel cycle trail to Padstow from side of site, you can also cycle to Wadebridge the other way or walk.

Stayed on bottom part of site with electric, a flat fenced small field/ grassed area for about 12 vans. Reception a staff very friendly, shower facilities new and great, takes tokens you buy from reception.

Plenty to do from here and lots of dog friendly pubs and places to eat. Would visit again. 


Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dennis Cove Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dennis Cove Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dennis Cove Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Padstow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3653 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement