Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dennis Cove Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Dennis Cove Campsite
Dennis Lane
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8DR
Tel: 01841 532349
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: Easter To End September (weather Permitting)

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 91 Reviews
                8/10 from 91 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Potherb123 5 reviews from this member

Lovely location close to padstow, 10 minute walk, own access to camel trail for cycling or walking to wadebridge, lovely views. Very friendly welcoming staff, found it quite expensive, didn't expect to have to pay for showers on top, a token needed at 50p a time but ample hot water provided. Having said that the facilities are great, laundry, washing up facilities, showers and toilets kept very clean. Added bonus is the visiting coffee vendor, bar and pizza man. Access is a bit tricky but location is great. A well maintained clean and tidy site, nothing too much trouble for staff, very helpful.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hursty1960 1 review from this member

Excellent site very close to Padstow, a tad expensive. Staff very friendly toilet and shower very clean. Found us a pitch after being let down on another site. Pitch size very good. Would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cerisjones 10 reviews from this member

We enjoyed a week's stay at this campsite. It's location is perfect for wandering into Padstow, walking the coastal path and for cycling the Camel Trail. Because of the site's location it is a bit pricier than average however as in life you get what you pay for.

There were plenty of toilets and showers which were always clean. You do need tokens for the showers however the water temperature and pressure was fine and you get lots of time.

The only downside to the site was that the overflow tent field which we were in had a slight incline. Other than that I thought it was great and would go back again anyway.

Make sure that you check out Embers Woodfired Pizza in Padstow as I ate there twice and it is great.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cclcfc 10 reviews from this member

Stayed at Dennis Cove as part of a holiday in a rented Motorhome. Location of this site is perfect as only a 10 minute walk in to Padstow.

Staff incredibly friendly – I was greeted by a lovely lady who explained all of the aspects of the site, facilities, upcoming events and how to get to Padstow.

The site is well maintained and ample facilities available including covered washing up area and laundry. The pitches were of a good size and nice and flat in the field we were in. We stayed in the first field with EHU near to reception and didn’t venture across the rest of the site so can’t comment on that.

Showers were fantastic and it wasn’t a hassle to us to have to use tokens. They were actually the best showers we’d used on our entire trip so no complaints.

On the Thursday night a Wood Fire Pizza van was on site – we didn’t have one however they looked lovely. There was also a pop-up bar from Padstow Brewery and my husband did have a pint which he really enjoyed. A great idea to have these and it was lovely to see lots of holiday makers mixing and relaxing. On the Friday morning a mobile Coffee van was on site for fresh coffee and croissants.

The walk in to Padstow was easy although a bit precarious first thing in the morning with lots of families venturing out along the Camel Trail on rented bikes. We walked with our dog through Padstow and all the way along the beach to the end of the estuary. As you walk away from Padstow along the beach you see some small houses in front of you perched on the hillside. One of those terraced houses has a small café in it (the Rest A While Tea Garden). It’s a lovely spot with great views. We stopped for some lunch and our dog was even treated to her own small plate of biscuits – a really lovely touch.

Another recommendation for dog walkers is the beach at Harlyn Bay. We stopped there for the day before going to Dennis Cove. It’s £4 to park all day (with a big open car park so really easy to park the Motorhome !) and the beach is dog friendly all year round. We had a lovely walk early in the day along the beach and then walked along the coastal path to the café at Trevone Beach.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stealthmackem 5 reviews from this member

We stayed up on the top field, no bookings taken for this field but we still managed to get pitched next to our friends despite showing up fairly late on a Saturday in peak season. Pitches do have a slight, erm, pitch to them up there but nothing unmanageable and the trade off is the best view I've ever known on a campsite. Booking in is easy and relaxed, the staff are attentive and polite. Showers are operated by a 40p token available solely from reception and are excellent in every regard. Wash and toilet facilities are smart and very clean, as are the washing up sinks. You can re-freeze ice packs in reception for 40p a go, or use the site's packs for the same price with a small deposit. The Camel Trail is only a few minutes walk away with Padstow a few minutes further. Padstow is a lovely town and being so close is a real boon, especially given the parking charges on the quay. Bike hire is available on the quay for around £15 a day and Wadebridge is about 5 miles on the Camel Trail, a flat and pleasant ride. This is a great place to stay if you want to be central to all the charms North Cornwall has to offer while avoiding Newquay's stag night plague.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Anniewhippet 7 reviews from this member

Great site stayed 3 nights in July 2 adults & a dog. Great location 5-10 minutes walk on Camel cycle trail to Padstow from side of site, you can also cycle to Wadebridge the other way or walk. Stayed on bottom part of site with electric, a flat fenced small field/ grassed area for about 12 vans. Reception a staff very friendly, shower facilities new and great, takes tokens you buy from reception. Plenty to do from here and lots of dog friendly pubs and places to eat. Would visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tents are us 29 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights here and it is a lovely setting, BUT very expensive for what is there, showers are good but if paying £28 per night NOT in high season then 40p for a shower token is bad!? Charging £3. 50 for dogs is uncalled for to as they don't use any more of anything than if we had been without her!

10 minutes walk to the wonderful town of padstow & we had lovely fish & chips at Rick Steins was a highlight!

Great town but we'll over priced site!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PatriciaM 19 reviews from this member

Chose this campsite because of its proximity to Padstow centre (about a 10 minute walk). The road to the site is very narrow. Single file only. Check in was easy and everything on site explained. Toilets and showers were plentiful and there was loads of hot water. Tokens for the showers were 40p and lasted ages. We cycle, so the site is ideal for the Camel Trail. We cycled as far as Bodmin (not a lot to see there), but we also went to Wadebridge a couple of times. Not too hilly which was good. We will definitely come back to this site. Although its not the cheapest we've been too, it is certainly to be recommended. We are already planning next years holiday to include this campsite. Give it a go. Padstow is beautiful

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blessed 2 reviews from this member

Wow, wow, wow! Just returned from a weeks stay at this Campsite with Hubby and our two teenagers, would definitely come again. The owner was very warm and friendly and does not stipulate lots of silly rules, a lot of it is common sense such as respecting your neighbours and surroundings, that respect was carried through even at night because it was quiet from about 10pm.

We stayed in the top field (tent field) right at the top where it was flattish. The rest of the field is on a slope and a bit of a hike to the toilets and washing up sinks - but hey the view at the top more than makes up for it overlooking the Estuary, even Hubby was impressed!

Located right next to pretty Padstow which you can walk to via the camel trail. We also used this site as a great base for getting to see Cornwall we visited St Ives, Newquay, Eden project and Falmouth.

A superb stay at this lovely site in a wonderful location.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brown2368 6 reviews from this member

We found that the site is basic Toilet block old but clean. Had to pay 40p for showers. Seemed ok for camping only would not recommend for caravans or lsrge motorhomes. Good site to get to Padstow just 10 minutes walk. The cost of £27. 00 per night we felt was a bit steep would recommend stopping at Padstow touring park

Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3096 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019