Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Brantome Peyrelevade

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Brantome En Perigord > Camping Brantome Peyrelevade > Reviews

Camping Brantome Peyrelevade
Avenue Andre Maurois
Brantome En Perigord
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24310
Tel: 0033 05 53 05 75 24
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/05/2024 to 22/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 26 Reviews
                10/10 from 26 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Booketta 55 reviews from this member

 A large campsite with two pools, heated indoor and outdoor. Large pitches most had shade and had hedges for separation and some riverside.

There was a little sandy beach with deck chairs, a nice little touch. The campsite had water issues during our week’s stay with the older, larger shower block being closed at times and pitchside taps turned off.

Two washing machines. Great hot showers but the hot water for washing up took a good ten minutes unless you ran three taps at once. The maintenance team were working most of the time on plumbing issues or general ground maintenance.

The smaller third shower block was closed except for one toilet, this part of the site was in a more secluded area although closer to the road.

Site is next to tennis courts and stadium.

Great location for visiting Brantome, Friday market is good. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 98 reviews from this member

 This is a fairly big site but divided into various areas, some very wooded (nearest the river) and some more open. We chose a standard ACSI pitch in a more open area, near the modern facilities block.

Access to some of the pitches was a little confusing so we found it much easier to park up and walk round the site to select our pitch.

Even the standard pitches were a good size, with a 10 amp electricity supply, and in our area the pitches were still quite grassy rather than bare earth or covered in fallen leaves as in some of the other areas.

The pool, children's playground and beach area looked very good (though we did not use them), and the bar area attractively laid out - no snacks available when we were there but there was still a bread service, with tasty baguettes traditionelles at a reasonable price. Free wi-fi was available on our pitch.

In mid-September the site was still fairly busy, though became a lot quieter towards the end of our week there and had more of an end-of-season feel about it, with the small facilities block and some of the pitches closed off and things being readied for closure (not that we minded).

There are a fair number of mobile homes and safari tents on site, mostly separate from the tourer pitches, but very few of these were actually occupied during our stay. During our stay the site was quiet and peaceful day and night.

We very much enjoyed our stay at this site and our visits to the town (along the traffic-free path from the site). We also discovered some good walks in the surrounding countryside and woods, direct from the site, which the dogs loved.

Another site and area we would happily return to.  


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davfromwigan 4 reviews from this member

 Great site with excellent facilities.

Paid a little extra for riverside pitch. 20 min. Walk into town.

Thought town was a bit over rated by previous reviewers 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MRSAJ 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site within walking distance to beautiful Brantome.

Can’t recommend highly enough.

Pitches are huge and so well kept. Sanitary facilities amazing and pool wonderful.

Best site in France. Well done! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 664DaveS 54 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, we chose it having seen positive reviews here. It was the start of low, season when we arrived so we were able to use ACSI at €17 a night. You cannot use ACSI on the riverside or serviced pitches.

We had a huge pitch ith some trees for shade, as we had fabulous weather.

Some pitches are very shady all are flat.

The restaurant and bar closed at 7. 30 pm but you could order pizzas until then, they are good.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, facilities aways clean.

We used the pool several times due to glorious weather, it was not busy.

The nearby town is a short walk, with a good range of bars and restaurants. The Friday market is excellent.

The one hour river boat trip is worth doing.

There is Carrefour supemarket on the outskirts with fuel.

We used the site as a base to visit the surrounding area, lots to see and do. We would come again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Emjaytoo 11 reviews from this member

 This has got to be the best campsite we have visited in France. It is easily accessible and the 'grand confort' pitches are enormous and excellent value at +/- 200 square metres for EUR 25 in high season, 20 from 1 September. There are lots of beautiful mature trees, perhaps too many over some pitches, but again the extra-large pitches offered a good balance of sunshine and shade.

Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The heated pool is lovely for a swim or to lounge in the sun and the beach area provided access to the river. The staff are friendly and all speak good English if required and there is a small bar/café which operates in high season.

To top it all, Brantome is a beautiful village with lots of restaurants and things to see and only a short walk from the campsite.

We were there for the last week of August and first week of September and, as you would expect, the average age of the clientele rose significantly in the second week once the children were back at school, but it was never a noisy site.

The only word of caution would be about the weather. Based on previous experience, we expected it to be a bit fresher in the morning and then to heat up. What we did not expect, however, was to have several mornings where the temperature was around 8 degrees in the morning, reaching 28-32 degrees by late morning! Had we known that, we might have brought our caravan rather than our trailer tent!

In spite of that, we cannot recommend this site highly enough and were very sad to leave. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kelper 93 reviews from this member

 Returned here this year after a good experience last year.

I won't repeat what I said in my earlier review.

New things to observe:

The newer, riverside, section of the site has been further expanded by some 8/9 pitches, and is now served by a small 'State of the Art' ablutions unit. Superlative loo, showers, hand basin, washing up area. Loads of hot water. And very modern design. A real bonus, as this part of the site was a bit of a trek to the main ablutions block.

The large inflated kids play unit is still a great experience for children. Two of the best table tennis tables I've seen on a campsite, plus a mini-outdoor set of exercise mechanisms.

The bar restaurant area continues to improve. The little library/chess area is a great facility.

We continue to really like this site and are upgrading it to a 10 due to the new facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Lohtsg06 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week on this lovely site with kids aged 15, 13, and 8. We were there the last week of August so it was getting quieter as the French school hols ended.

The site is fantastic and the reviews weren't wrong. After such a long drive from Calais, we didn't fancy doing much driving around, and there really was no need.

The pool is properly heated, the little man-made beach is great and the kids loved a dip down there at the river.

The walk into town is 10 mins (although parking is free if you have to take the car which we did a couple of times).

The local kayak-rental is just down the road (discount if you get your leaflet stamped in reception!), has reasonable rates, and offers varying distances depending how adventurous you feel - great experience.

Brantome itself is beautiful and great to mooch about. The market was nice (quite small). Didn't use the washing/wash-up/shower facilities, but all looked in good clean shape. Didn't use the shop but they had a few essentials - although note Aldi and Carrefour are 5 mins away by car.

The pitches looked great from my limited experience (we tend to rent statics these days), lots of shade and reasonable size and variety. Lots near the river. I was amazed at the lack of midges/insects which was a big bonus. All the people (staff and guests) on site were really nice, lots of French, few Brits and Dutch etc.

Overall, Just had exactly what we needed, a great site for a relaxing holiday with plenty to do around. Can't fault it. Don't normally go back to the same place, but might have to make an exception here. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 5joga 8 reviews from this member

 This is our second year staying on a riverside pitch at this site. As the other review says, there is so much potential to this site and many things which are wonderful but there is just a little missing.

We always pay a little more for a riverside pitch which meant that we were able to use our kayak and swim as often as we wanted.

The site was far fuller with dutch visitors than last year and it felt a little less French.

There are so many positives - they are now doing more food for takeaway, there is a lovely little bar, the play area is excellent with different activities put on.

There was a storm and a tree was split by the wind overhanging a unit. A rather entertaining lumberjack arrived in cut off jeans and loafers to manage the tree whilst largely balancing on one leg hanging off the ladder! It was a cleared up within hours.

Our issue with the site was the fact that there was just wasn't enough hot water for a site which has grown. People were filling their washing up bowls in the showers and I ended up shaving back at the pitch.

There was also a little issue in that they have invested heavily in a quayside and beach for people to sit by the river. They have put lovely chairs out for people to use but all of this could be undone on a day when a couple of families decided that they were going to fish off there rather than the two or three spots either side of the beach. This meant that people were either forced to enter into a standoff or wait until they have finished.

Don't let this put you off the site and if you go, pay extra for the pitches by the river. A lovely site but just needs someone to look at the final bits to get that fourth star

We were there in late July and early August and so it was busy. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Kelper 93 reviews from this member

 Two excellent weeks here.

The owners are relatively new (a couple of years), and pursuing a relentless improvement programme. They are intent on raising the three star status to four within the next couple of years. They were very attentive and sorted all problems with charm and positive attitude.

So, if you want value for money. Get in there before 4 star rates bite!

The whole site is very well maintained with hedged privacy for many, though some pitches are less well 'separated'. Not that this matters much as the average pitch size is very generous indeed.

Some pitches are very shaded, others give a mix of sun and shade, and others are very unprotected.

The riverside pitches are the most interesting, and provide relaxing views and atmosphere. We used three pitches altogether. First night on a well hedged site, then a week on a riverside pitch, followed by another week on a different riverside pitch (the newer part of the campsite. We found this to be the best one. )

The bar/restaurant area is nicely set up, though not much used when we were there. Probably the various alternatives offered by Brantome (an easy walk) provided too much competition.

The area is full of things to do and places to visit. As well as Brantome there are masses of possibly drives in the very picturesque area.

Biking is good, with flat roads available, though no voie vert. Boats can be launched from the campsite. Indeed I tied our kayak to a tree on the riverside pitch. The paddle round town (the river circumnavigates the main town, which is referred to as the Venice of the Perigord. Slight exaggeration!. But, shooting the weirs is fun. And watching those who get stuck is, too) is well worth while. Long runs are available if you start from further upstream. At least 20km runs are possible back to the campsite. If you don't have your own boat, canoe/kayak hire is available in town. If you get a kayak do insist on double kayak paddles. We saw many struggling with single canoe paddles, which, without considerable experience, tend to result in a zig-zag course down the river, and unnecessary expenditure of energy.

We really enjoyed this site and would recommend it. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Brantome Peyrelevade child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Brantome Peyrelevade have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Brantome Peyrelevade?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Brantome Peyrelevade dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brantome En Perigord      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


48315 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement