Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Brantome Peyrelevade

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Brantome En Perigord > Camping Brantome Peyrelevade Reviews

Camping Brantome Peyrelevade
Avenue Andre Maurois
Brantome En Perigord
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24310
Tel: 0033 05 53 05 75 24
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 21 Reviews
                10/10 from 21 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emjaytoo 6 reviews from this member

This has got to be the best campsite we have visited in France. It is easily accessible and the 'grand confort' pitches are enormous and excellent value at +/- 200 square metres for EUR 25 in high season, 20 from 1 September. There are lots of beautiful mature trees, perhaps too many over some pitches, but again the extra-large pitches offered a good balance of sunshine and shade. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The heated pool is lovely for a swim or to lounge in the sun and the beach area provided access to the river. The staff are friendly and all speak good English if required and there is a small bar/café which operates in high season. To top it all, Brantome is a beautiful village with lots of restaurants and things to see and only a short walk from the campsite.

We were there for the last week of August and first week of September and, as you would expect, the average age of the clientele rose significantly in the second week once the children were back at school, but it was never a noisy site.

The only word of caution would be about the weather. Based on previous experience, we expected it to be a bit fresher in the morning and then to heat up. What we did not expect, however, was to have several mornings where the temperature was around 8 degrees in the morning, reaching 28-32 degrees by late morning! Had we known that, we might have brought our caravan rather than our trailer tent!

In spite of that, we cannot recommend this site highly enough and were very sad to leave.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kelper 69 reviews from this member

Returned here this year after a good experience last year.

I won't repeat what I said in my earlier review.

New things to observe:

The newer, riverside, section of the site has been further expanded by some 8/9 pitches, and is now served by a small 'State of the Art' ablutions unit. Superlative loo, showers, hand basin, washing up area. Loads of hot water. And very modern design. A real bonus, as this part of the site was a bit of a trek to the main ablutions block.

The large inflated kids play unit is still a great experience for children. Two of the best table tennis tables I've seen on a campsite, plus a mini-outdoor set of exercise mechanisms.

The bar restaurant area continues to improve. The little library/chess area is a great facility.

We continue to really like this site and are upgrading it to a 10 due to the new facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lohtsg06 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week on this lovely site with kids aged 15, 13, and 8. We were there the last week of August so it was getting quieter as the French school hols ended. The site is fantastic and the reviews weren't wrong. After such a long drive from Calais, we didn't fancy doing much driving around, and there really was no need. The pool is properly heated, the little man-made beach is great and the kids loved a dip down there at the river. The walk into town is 10 mins (although parking is free if you have to take the car which we did a couple of times). The local kayak-rental is just down the road (discount if you get your leaflet stamped in reception!), has reasonable rates, and offers varying distances depending how adventurous you feel - great experience. Brantome itself is beautiful and great to mooch about. The market was nice (quite small). Didn't use the washing/wash-up/shower facilities, but all looked in good clean shape. Didn't use the shop but they had a few essentials - although note Aldi and Carrefour are 5 mins away by car. The pitches looked great from my limited experience (we tend to rent statics these days), lots of shade and reasonable size and variety. Lots near the river. I was amazed at the lack of midges/insects which was a big bonus. All the people (staff and guests) on site were really nice, lots of French, few Brits and Dutch etc. Overall, Just had exactly what we needed, a great site for a relaxing holiday with plenty to do around. Can't fault it. Don't normally go back to the same place, but might have to make an exception here.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 5joga 8 reviews from this member

This is our second year staying on a riverside pitch at this site. As the other review says, there is so much potential to this site and many things which are wonderful but there is just a little missing.

We always pay a little more for a riverside pitch which meant that we were able to use our kayak and swim as often as we wanted.

The site was far fuller with dutch visitors than last year and it felt a little less French.

There are so many positives - they are now doing more food for takeaway, there is a lovely little bar, the play area is excellent with different activities put on.

There was a storm and a tree was split by the wind overhanging a unit. A rather entertaining lumberjack arrived in cut off jeans and loafers to manage the tree whilst largely balancing on one leg hanging off the ladder! It was a cleared up within hours.

Our issue with the site was the fact that there was just wasn't enough hot water for a site which has grown. People were filling their washing up bowls in the showers and I ended up shaving back at the pitch.

There was also a little issue in that they have invested heavily in a quayside and beach for people to sit by the river. They have put lovely chairs out for people to use but all of this could be undone on a day when a couple of families decided that they were going to fish off there rather than the two or three spots either side of the beach. This meant that people were either forced to enter into a standoff or wait until they have finished.

Don't let this put you off the site and if you go, pay extra for the pitches by the river. A lovely site but just needs someone to look at the final bits to get that fourth star

We were there in late July and early August and so it was busy.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Kelper 69 reviews from this member

Two excellent weeks here.

The owners are relatively new (a couple of years), and pursuing a relentless improvement programme. They are intent on raising the three star status to four within the next couple of years. They were very attentive and sorted all problems with charm and positive attitude.

So, if you want value for money. Get in there before 4 star rates bite!

The whole site is very well maintained with hedged privacy for many, though some pitches are less well 'separated'. Not that this matters much as the average pitch size is very generous indeed.

Some pitches are very shaded, others give a mix of sun and shade, and others are very unprotected.

The riverside pitches are the most interesting, and provide relaxing views and atmosphere. We used three pitches altogether. First night on a well hedged site, then a week on a riverside pitch, followed by another week on a different riverside pitch (the newer part of the campsite. We found this to be the best one. )

The bar/restaurant area is nicely set up, though not much used when we were there. Probably the various alternatives offered by Brantome (an easy walk) provided too much competition.

The area is full of things to do and places to visit. As well as Brantome there are masses of possibly drives in the very picturesque area.

Biking is good, with flat roads available, though no voie vert. Boats can be launched from the campsite. Indeed I tied our kayak to a tree on the riverside pitch. The paddle round town (the river circumnavigates the main town, which is referred to as the Venice of the Perigord. Slight exaggeration!. But, shooting the weirs is fun. And watching those who get stuck is, too) is well worth while. Long runs are available if you start from further upstream. At least 20km runs are possible back to the campsite. If you don't have your own boat, canoe/kayak hire is available in town. If you get a kayak do insist on double kayak paddles. We saw many struggling with single canoe paddles, which, without considerable experience, tend to result in a zig-zag course down the river, and unnecessary expenditure of energy.

We really enjoyed this site and would recommend it.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor57 45 reviews from this member

This is a very nice site situated on the edge of the beautiful town of Brantôme (about a 10/15 mins walk) and is ideal for touring motorhomers. We accessed the site from the D939 (Angoulême) turning onto the D78 in Brantôme and the site was on the right just outside the town past the tennis courts.

We used our ACSI Card and were allowed to choose our own pitch as long as it was not riverside or a service pitch. The girl on reception was very pleasant and was pleased to be practising her English. They use a number plate recognition system at the entry barrier which is becoming quite common place.

There are two facilities blocks with everything you need and they were kept clean at all times. Another aspect of the site we liked was the way it was laid out in cul-de-sacs around the central block. There is also a swimming pool and a small man-made beach on the riverside.

We spent two days here spending our time walking to and from Brantôme visiting the lovely local shops and eating in one of the restaurants and walking along the riverside. This is a very relaxing place even at the time of our visit in early September although we can imagine it being a bit busy in July/August.

We would definitely visit Camping Brantôme Peyrelevade again as Brantôme is one of our favourite towns in France and this campsite make the visit all that more enjoyable.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lockie 8 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a superb two weeks here. We chose a river pitch and what a pitch it was. The size of the pitch was huge and being able to fish, eat or just chill by the river was pure bliss. If you spent time watching the river you would see kingfishers going about their business right under most people's noses.

The facilities on site were always clean and the showers were always hot when I used them. The toilets, showers and washing up faculties we all housed in this central building. There is also a smaller facility behind the swimming pool area. We particularly liked how the site was laid out around little cul de sacs of pitches.

The site seems to attract a certain type of camper as we found it very friendly regardless of nationality. Overall it was an even mix of Dutch, British and French campers.

The play park was enough for our two kids and the site was very safe for them to cycle around on their own.

The site is perfectly located for the beautiful town of Brantome. It only takes about 15 minutes walk to get there on a flat path which is mostly away from the road.

The town isn't full of shops but has enough going on with its markets. A small local produce one is on Tuesday morning and the bigger main market on a Friday. We also were lucky enough to enjoy a firemans fete with music stage and beer and wine etc. That night was brilliant as all ages enjoyed it and it was a bit surreal seeing people my retired parents age dancing to house music in the light of lasers while a foam machine covered the crowd. The atmosphere really was superb.

We had some good days out on the river in various guises. The beach on the site allows you to swim or mess about in a dingy or canoe. The kids loved pottering on the river in the dingy.

The on site pool is small but because of the ability to use the river didn't get as busy as we would have expected.

We also went out of town to a weir 5 minutes away and spent a hot afternoon there. Brantome canoes are worth a visit and after going around the town on a one hour 'trial' we then went for the big 20km trip too. Sure our arms were a bit sore but it was a great day out.

The site had some entertainment but not much and to be honest we don't really go for the all singing and dancing entertainment type sites. Our son particularly enjoyed the football match

Things to do around the site include visits to the grottos, the abbey, canoeing and if you feel energetic the velorail. The velorail is a pedal powered 5 person vehicle that runs on a disused railway line. Only two people pedal and it is heavy but also its all uphill on the way out. When you get to the end there is a snackbar and about 30 minutes before you go back again all downhill.

Also in Brantome there is a river jousting show I think on Saturday Night.

I would definitely recommend this site and it certainly seemed popular with people doing short stays and touring.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kemu19 16 reviews from this member

This site is in a perfect position just outside a very picturesque small town - 15 minute walk or 5 minute cycle. The riverside pitches weren't in use as there had been a lot of rain in the preceding weeks but looked lovely however our pitch was fine and big enough. The pool was very warm and pleasant but think it would probably get a bit crowded in high season but doesn't everywhere. Went on a lovely flatish cycle ride to Bourdeilles which is a very pretty village. Watched the euros in a great bar in the middle of Brantome. Great showers and toilets - new, very clean and good water pressure. We only stayed for a couple of nights as on a touring holiday but maybe could have stayed on longer.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 99 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights as we wanted to go to the Friday market in Brantome. The reception staff were polite and let us choose our own pitch but the riverside pitches were closed due to the very wet weather we were experiencing. The sanitaires were very attractive, built around a big tree in the middle, though as it was unseasonably cold it was rather chilly ! There is a good playground for children and also exercise equipment for adults which we used in the rain! The pool looked very pleasant but wasn't being used because of the weather! There is an easy walk into Brantome which we took for the market which on a sunny summers day would have been lovely but we were there in a storm!

You can order bread the day before at reception. In good weather it would be an attractive site but we only saw it in heavy cloud and rain!

The site takes ACSI.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lanautique 3 reviews from this member

Really impressed with this site, the toilets and washing up area were regularly checked and cleaned. The swimming pool was fairly small but clean with sun beds and parasols. We have teenage children who wished they were younger as the play area was amazing big bouncy castles and a good swing area although at times it did get busy, along side this was a children's entertainer who made sure you knew what was going on with the different children's/family entertainment. The beach area with the river was a lovely escape, it was cold to get into but very worthwhile and refreshing. The walk to the beautiful town is short and not worth driving to with some lovely shops / cafes you can easily watch the world go by ! The canoe centre was great and well worth a go and yes we had many laughs from the bridge whilst watching the weir ! This site also has a very small shop and you can order fresh bread/croissants the night before, however you can walk to the bakers in the town and get an amazing selection of Danish pastries that a well worth a try. We will definitely return to this site maybe next year, thank you camping Brantome Peyrelevade for a great holiday.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Brantome En Perigord      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4427 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019