Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Doward Park Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Ross On Wye > Doward Park Campsite Reviews

Doward Park Campsite
Great Doward
Symonds Yat West
Ross On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR9 6BP
Tel: 01600 890438
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 36
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Repsoldeb 2 reviews from this member

 Very small compact, tidy site. Approach road horrendous for our motorhome and trailer. Met a few local cars and tractors who are not keen on reversing back Site was empty for the few days we were there.

Pitches very tight and small, site would be very cramped if all pitches were taken. Trees and logs laid in front of pitches makes it hard to manoeuvre our unit onto pitch.

Not really motorhome friendly, more suited for tents. No dog walk on site but access road not safe to walk along. Not much interaction with owners all correspondence done by email.

You cannot arrive until after 2. 30 and have to vacate by 10. 30 so cuts the holiday short.

Owner wasn't very friendly when we arrived didn't even talk about the site for bins, water etc. Not very welcoming. For that reason we will not be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shrubby 8 reviews from this member

 We had visited this area before but not this site. I choose the site because it was a smaller site and was less expensive than many although I thought £4 extra for electricity was a bit steep, not helped by the fact our charger packed up so we couldn't use the heating at all (no fault of the site).

The facilities were fine with lovely hot water. There were a good variety of walks straight from the site that we really enjoyed and staff were really helpful with showing you on the map as well as giving you a copy of the walk to King Arthur's cave.

However, I wish the map was visible from outside the shop/office/café the hours of which didn't coincide with our plans often. There was a quick e mail response to query about directions to site.

Because they suggest not following Sat Nav, I checked thoroughly and our Sat Nav wanted to take us down a road with a 2m width limit despite having put MH dimensions in.

The last leg of the journey is along a single track road with passing places so good that we didn't need to use it apart from arriving and departing.

Beautifully quiet eco friendly site to enjoy nature, listen to the birds, owls at night, gaze at stars. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vixdylan 1 review from this member

 Was a very lovely clean and welcoming place. Staff were very lovely and helpful.

Would highly recommend this campsite to all my friends.

Will definitely be returning. Kids really enjoyed themselves.

Was child friendly. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bubble63 2 reviews from this member

 Peaceful wooded campsite yet close to Monmouth and Ross on Wye- only a short drive away.

Well maintained by a young couple who only took it over about a year ago. Small shop on site selling ice creams and very very basic requirements.

Lots of walks directly from the site although mostly hilly. Clean showers and toilets. Hard standing pitches - reasonable size. Dogs allowed on leads.

Great little play area for children with rope swings in a wooded area.

Couple are improving the site and were in the process of installing a coffee machine at the small reception area.

Picnic benches available to hire and some to sit on outside reception. Will definitely use again 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ClairandAdam 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights as a base to explore the Wye Valley and it was perfect. Clean and tidy toilet and shower block, very well kept pitches and lovely forest surrounds. Handy little on site shop and maps available for walkers.

The only downside was not being able to have a campfire, but that is the trade off for being surrounded by woodland so understandable. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TandB 9 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 nights here en route to family further south, having wanted to visit this area for ages. The site was excellent, adequate, clean facilities, big pitches and in the middle of a forest. We had some lovely walks down to the river, with a family of deer crossing our path at one point. The owner is friendly and efficient, providing maps of the area so you can easily find your way on foot through the myriad tracks to the nearest pub. It's close to the main road as the crow flies but we didn't notice the hum of traffic much. Thoroughly recommend, especially for families as there is a wild playground as well as safe spaces to play, cars being confined to a carpark area. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul + stella 21 reviews from this member

 Ignore the sat nav and you will find yourself in a real beauty spot high up in the forest with fantastic walks straight from the site. Walking maps available from reception though you do need to prompt the lady in the office for any information. Obviously you don't get all that nature and peace without being a fair way from any grocery shops, so motorhome owners should stock up beforehand. It was very wet when we stayed but the hardstandings coped well. The showers and loos are a bit dark, cold and basic and being only 2 showers for each male and female could be a challenge in busy season. Brochure not worded in a very welcoming manner and we did find it expensive for April. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kakadu3369 16 reviews from this member

 Booked this campsite because of it being in the midst of the forest, having been to the forest of dean before I sort of knew where it was however I didn't take note of the route and did follow the sat nav directions which did take me up the wrong way and boy was I worried because the walls either side of the road were high and the road very narrow, with 4 bikes on the back of the VW camper it was a struggle so do take note and care when on route to this site to go the right way, which although bendy and narrow at times is nowhere as bad.

However when we arrived at the site it was like a little oasis in the middle of the trees - small, quiet, clean & beautiful.

The pitch we had was hard standing because of our camper and because we have a tarp shelter coming off of the roof and a small tent to the side we had to position the van away from the slabs so that we could erect the tarp over grass however the pitch allowed us to do this because they were very roomy with large grass piece to the side.

The shop does provide only a few bits and pieces so a trip out to Monmouth for most things is needed.

The ladies block had 2 showers and 3 toilets, all clean but as you would expect being in the middle of the trees a few spiders webs etc.

The only negative would be from my 2 children who love space to kick a ball around and we don't allow them to do this unless there is a designated area, which there wasn't, because I wouldn't want them to kick a ball into someone's space. They also said the park was very small.

The walks around are lovely and a trip down to Symmond's Yat is a must as well as going to the rock to see the view.

I loved the feel of this site and would be happy to use it again (if I returned without the children!) 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newportjones 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site. Easy to find using instructions from website, but it is accessed by a narrow lane. The pitches were all marked. We had difficulty hitting in the pegs due to the ground being very hard.

Lots of walks close to the site & a lovely play area in a fenced off woodland for kids. Our boys aged 7&6 loved it.

Toilets & showers were basic but seemed clean enough. Didn't try the showers so can't comment on them.

There didn't seem to be enough sinks in the washing up area so we had to wait to use the facility. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ljamfam 32 reviews from this member

 Yes it is a long narrow road which takes you to Doward Park but if you follow the sites instructions on its website, and drive with care, then you should not have a problem. Our motorhome is 21 foot long and we made it ok.

At the end of the road is a lovely well laid out site which is what camping is all about. The motorhomes are kept to one area all with hard standing and tents are separate around the centre and one side. After tents have set up their cars have to be parked in a car parking area and are not allowed to stay by the tents. This is an excellent idea with so many children playing about the site.

Toilets, showers and washing up facilities are adequate until the site fills up when you had to wait

So many walks direct from the site that even after a week we still found more which we had not done. Just be aware that when you walk down to the river it's a long way back but well worth it.

Basic supplies in the shop and staff all very friendly and helpful. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Doward Park Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Doward Park Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Doward Park Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ross On Wye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5290 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement