Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Doward Park Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Herefordshire > Ross On Wye > Doward Park Campsite > Reviews

Doward Park Campsite
Great Doward
Symonds Yat West
Ross On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR9 6BP
Tel: 01600 890438
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 36
Open: 29/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 125 Reviews
                9/10 from 125 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  125 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Algs 1 review from this member

 Our kids (9/6/3) had an amazing time playing in the gorgeous wooded play area. I loved them being free to play outside safely without worrying.

Pitches 7 & 8 have views onto it through the trees.

Good variety of play equipment. Badminton net, swings, sand pit, slides, rocking animals, balance beams, one of those big circular swings for lots of kids… plus lots of places to hide and play wide games.

Showers and toilets the cleanest I’ve seen. Shop full of useful essentials, delicious coffee and lovely ice cream pots at reasonable prices.

Staff cheerful, knowledgable and helpful. Another mum said she thought it was the first campsite where she’d had a proper holiday (time to read and chat) with kids. I’d agree!

Area has a few lovely walks direct from site. We didn’t need any more.

Ross on Wye you can park/shop at Morrisons, and go to Rub a Dub laundry (Cash only but they will change coins) (£4 for a large wash 35min and tumble dry £1/10min 20-30min but you may have to wait for machines. They also do a service wash/collection. ) Then browse the high st/do a top up shop whilst you wait.

Aldi also has a small car park, but only for during your shop. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 132 reviews from this member

 Pitches are reasonably level, sheltered, well marked and spacious. It is a relatively small site, surrounded by mature trees so don't expect a view.

The facilities are excellent, there is a well stocked shop and some wifi near the reception area. Doward Park is easy to find, just follow the signs to the entrance barrier.

The owners are very knowledgeable about the local area and maps and advice are available from the shop, open afternoons only.

This is a great place to stay to explore the Wye Valley. Ye Olde Ferrie Inn is the closest pub, about 30 minutes walk. The Saracens Head is further and across the River, either by ferry or Biblins rope bridge.

I completed a circular walk to Monmouth and back via the Naval Temple and The Suck Stone. You don't see a lot when walking through the trees in the valley but the views from Symonds Yat and the Naval Temple are amazing. After 4 days I felt I'd seen everything within walking distance.

£24pn for two and a tent, so not cheap. Also, everything else is extra, including picnic tables for hire at £3 a night! 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Niclyn 4 reviews from this member

 Very welcoming family run site with very clear travelling directions emailed to me prior to arrival. As the description says definitely a digital detox as the internet (free) was only available near the shop but that suited us.

The site had some lovely woodland walks surrounding it and about a miles walk down to the River Wye through the woods but well signposted by the sites owner.

Lots of walk information available on arrival and we took advantage of this walking to the River and local pubs and also to the view point at Symonds Yat.

The facilities were excellent, clean, modern and well kept.

We would definitely visit again but maybe not over the weekend unless we had the grandchildren with us as the site was very popular with young families on the Friday night we stayed- not really surprising as there was a very good children's outdoor play/ adventure area. 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Verity 1 review from this member

 Very child friendly. Quiet at this time of year with a handful of tents and units.

Very clean and well maintained. We'd stay again.

Not the cheapest site but it was well situated in a tourist area with lots to see and do locally.

Pleasant and friendly owner/staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bede 9 reviews from this member

 It is a lovely site. It isn't cheap (indeed, we've paid a lot less for a site with pool) but we loved it.

Facilities are immaculate and cleaned regularly. Pitches are a very good size. The hand dryers are so ferociously loud that they get turned off once it's dark.

No loud noise after 10 o'clock adhered to.

Wardens are friendly and the shop is handy for basic provisions. (I was very pleased that they sold sugar when we realised I'd forgotten to bring it. Pancake disaster swiftly averted!)

We walked down to the Wye for canoeing and for food at the pub but didn't otherwise explore.

We were towing a folding camper and the access roads would not have been fun had we met many others. On the way up the hill, we only met one car coming up the other way. On the way down, we met several but - happily - they all reversed for us. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pamwbr 1 review from this member

 Just the kind of campsite we like, beautiful surrounding, peaceful, natural.

We wanted to explore Symonds Yat and the location was perfect.

The site itself was well equipped for all our needs. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Suzann 1 review from this member

 A really lovely well organised campsite. Small, friendly, nestled in the hills, and very peaceful.

Facilities were super clean.

Just two things could be improved - the shop could be open a little longer and the Wi-Fi could have more adequate coverage.

There is so much to see in the surrounding area and internet is pretty important for finding out about places of interest, the many walking trails, and canoeing on the Wye. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Christ 1 review from this member

 Lovely small family site. A peaceful location. Nothing but birdsong' lulling you to sleep & dawn chorus.

Walked through the woods to Symonds Yat' enjoying the drifts of bluebells.

It is a little hilly on way back. So a couple of little stops on the way. It didn't deter us from cycling down on the hard track down & cycling to Monmouth on cycle path.

There's a lovely 'woodland play

Area' for children on site. Campsite showers etc. Kept spotless at all times 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Turner 1 review from this member

 Brilliant and lovely all round as always :-)

Toilets very clean and nice, shop just what’s needed, chris and Sarah lovely hosts as always.

We will be back again and again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blackc 1 review from this member

 Beautiful well maintained site! The walks around the site are wonderful, though plenty of steep paths. The River Wye is beautiful. With great pubs only two miles from the site.

WiFi? As one would expect from a site so deep in the countryside. It is only just useable, with a 3g signal available only at the top of the site. So - Take a break from the internet and immerse yourselves into the lovely forest.

Staff are knowledgable and helpful, so. Ask! 


Previous     125 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Doward Park Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Doward Park Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Doward Park Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ross On Wye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59067 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement