Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Le Pontet

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Rhone-Alpes > Saint Martin D Ardeche > Camping Le Pontet Reviews

Camping Le Pontet
Lieu Dit Le Pontet
Saint Martin D Ardeche
Rhone-Alpes   (Browse area)
07700
Tel: 0033 04 75 04 63 07
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2020 to 30/09/2020
           01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 4 Reviews
                10/10 from 4 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kml66 3 reviews from this member

 Chose this site after reading the reviews, would have to agree with all things said from others after our visit.

Toilets and showers kept spotless, the only slight downside was at certain times the showers were cold whether this was from high usage or a technical problem not sure.

Cannot comment on the food and bar facilities as we didn't use them.

Swimming pool and play area adequate, more so for for younger kids, our teenagers only used the pool twice as we spent most of the time river swimming which was the main reason for visiting the Ardeche region.

Majority of pitches are under tree's so shade is guaranteed wherever you are placed, overall an excellent well run friendly site which is an ideal base for visiting the local area.  


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizzie 46 reviews from this member

 We spent a very enjoyable week at Le Pontet. The pitches were a reasonable size and were well shaded which was much appreciated as it was so hot. The camping area does seem a little cramped and you are very close to the people either side and behind you as there is no hedging between pitches. During the weekend, the site really seemed to fill up and quietened a little again afterwards as some pitches seemed to have weekend visitors. The site feels lively. Mainly French campers with one or two English families and a sprinkling of Dutch.

The showers and toilets are a little dated as previously said but were usually clean and we did not have to wait more than five minutes for a shower at peak showering time! There is a wash basin next to to toilet area with hand soap. The pool is a good size and unlike previous sites we stayed on this summer, people do not go off and leave their towels etc on sunbeds to reserve them which meant I always got a bed or chair when I used the pool.

We made good use of the campsite restaurant - the food and wine was excellent value. I particularly enjoyed the duck, lamb chops and the owner's own onion relish. On one evening they had a couple of singers in (entertaining) and on another night they did bingo.

The campsite is well placed at the beginning of the gorge area and so not in a high traffic area and affords the opportunity of exploring the Ceze region too. The Sautadet cascades are well worth a visit. It is a little too far to walk into St Martin in the heat which is why the restaurant on site is so useful. Some noise from military air craft passing overhead during the week. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Simon43 1 review from this member

 Yes, I would agree entirely with the previous review; the site is a gem with a lovely vibe. The area can be roastingly hot in August so seek a pitch in the shade if you can.

I also agree that the pitches aren't large but the atmosphere is good. Enjoy!

The location allows easy travel to nearby Provence (in addition to the Ardeche); there is plenty to see & do.

The bar is fun and the food is good and well priced. What is there not to like?

Also the site is set well back from the road so there is little traffic noise. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ellesbelles1 2 reviews from this member

 We found this site by chance, around 30km from Vallon, and reckon it's a little gem!

I have to be honest, at first I wasn't hugely impressed with the seemingly overcrowded, sun-baked pitches, with every permutation of gazebo struggling to provide some shelter from the blazing sun, but how wrong I was!

This is a site run by the French, for the French, and generations of families seem to holiday here; pitching caravans and tents under the shade of the trees and creating whole communal eating areas, and the ambiance is wonderful!

With vineyards on your doorstep, St Martin d'Ardeche with its beaches and shops just a stones throw away (NB dogs are not allowed on the beach there), and only a short car journey (or a good walk) to secluded access points to the wonderful Ardeche river - we found a little sandy beach from which to swim - what more could you want? There is also a wonderful patisserie in the nearby village (pastries and breads to die for!), as well as a good supermarket for daily provisions. There are some of the huge supermarkets nearby, if you want to venture a bit further.

There is a fabulous little open-air bar and restaurant at the site, where you can relax at any time of day and cool off under the gorgeous wisteria canopy. The meals are really good and reasonably priced (and the owners stop for lunch themselves, and sit down to eat there with the workers). It's all very relaxed!

There is some relatively low-key evening entertainment, but everything stops at a civilised hour and we were never disturbed by anything other than music (not of the pounding disco variety!) or laughter (not of the drunken, worrying sort!) coming from the bar area. It was fab!

The site is family-run and the owners are fantastic, and happy to share their knowledge and enthusiasm about the surrounding area. Ask about the ruined castle, or the Roman bridge. Do visit nearby Aigučze, nominated as one of Les Plus Beaux Villages de France ('The most beautiful villages of France').

The sanitaires are a bit dated, to be fair, but were always super-clean and adequate (we never had to queue). There are a couple of washing machines (not overpriced, unlike at some sites)and lots of sinks for washing clothes, as well as sinks for washing up (hot water in abundance) but take a line or a rotary airer to dry clothes (no dryers - not needed because of the heat!).

There is a lovely pool area with a swimming pool (single, rather basic slide) and a separate kiddie's pool. It's not the most huge pool we've seen, but it's nice and can be quiet if you go at the right time of the day. There is an adjacent play area, to keep younger kids happy.

This is a relatively small site, totally family-focused and where kids are well-behaved and courteous and you get a real sense of family values. It feels really safe for young children. People seemed to look out for each other, and were really friendly.

There are a few chalets for hire, but the emphasis was on camping.

If you do visit, I suggest you should take a gazebo or sun canopy, since it does get very hot and you might need to create some shade, even if your pitch has trees that sun does move round throughout the day!

This really is one of the loveliest sites we've ever stayed at in France and I cannot praise the owners highly enough. It's a site which is not just about the pitch size, or the swimming complex, or how fab the toilets are, it's about ambiance, ambiance and more ambiance.

Finally, we were quite surprised at how reasonable the prices are at this site, even in high season. All credit to the owners, who clearly love their campsite and charge a very fair price for a very lovely, typically French, camping experience.

10/10 for everything! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Pontet child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Le Pontet have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Pontet?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Pontet dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Martin D Ardeche      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Rhone-Alpes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1545 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement