Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Ter Hoeve

Campsite Search > Europe > Belgium > De Panne > Camping Ter Hoeve Reviews

Camping Ter Hoeve
Duinhoekstraat 101 8660
Adenkerke
De Panne
Belgium   (Browse area)

Tel: 0032 058 412376
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 7 Reviews
                6/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PW555 19 reviews from this member

 We booked a short stay over the Easter Bank Holiday (Fri-Monday) which we booked online and paid on arrival, for a party of 4 Adults, 1 Child, Caravan and Car came to 86 Euros which is not at all bad value for money.

The site itself was very easy to find, we arrived at around 9. 00am pulled into the ample car park as instructed so as not to block the barriers and booked in with Reception, we were told to pick any free pitch on the left hand side of Road 2 as that was firmer due to recent heavy rain, pitch up and come and pay later, we manoeuvred easily onto our chosen pitch (We were one of the 1st at site in regards to Tourers, but the site did fill up rapidly!) set up and went back to the office after an hour to pay the fees. As well as the fee you are asked to provide a 25 Euro Deposit for the Barrier Card which is more or less standard these days. You are given a refuse sack and told where to dispose of your rubbish and also re-cycling bins are pointed out.

The site itself is quite large with mostly Seasonal Pitches with semi -permanent Tourers in place, there are also a selection of Statics in a few locations, it has a little unisex toilet block for when the main one is closed (More on that later) which to be honest stunk to high heaven and that’s before anyone had used it! It has an adequate reception with lots of local Tourist Information and you can also buy tickets for the Theme Park (Plopsaland) next door. There is a decent play area for the little ones and plenty of room for them to run or cycle around, our Grand – Daughter really liked it.

The Main Toilet/Shower Block was clean and tidy, however, there are a couple of things that we just did not like, the first, it is only open twice a day (07. 30-11. 30 then 18. 30 – 20. 30) when we visited, I do understand the principal in the fact the you then only have to perform cleaning duties twice each day, however, when they are closed you are either using you on-board toilet or reduced to having to go to the “Stink Hole” We chose to either “Hold” or use on-board! The second problem is the showers, they were certainly hot enough when I used them, they were also really clean but they have a push and hold button that stops the water immediately when you let go which is a bit awkward “Mid Soap” and the shower jet was like an intense mist?! Which was a bit weird meaning you had to stay in longer to make sure you are rinsed having to constantly hold the button, bit hard trying to rinse your back!

The owners we found friendly until our electric blew, the better half went to the office to inform Luc and was met with accusations of using Hair Dryers or Straighteners, this puzzled and in fact irritated as it was clearly not the case, we had done our homework and knew the site supply only pushed out 3-4 Amps and any Hair Dryers had been used in the Main Toilet Block (When it was open!) Luc told us he would switch it back on once then no more, the thing that was blowing the electric? Our heating, which was actually on 50/50 Gas and Electric as opposed to Full Electric you would normally use. Yes, our electric blew again, so, I went full Gas and swapped our socket for another rather than bother with the Owners.

Out and about there are lots of facilities and amenities, Of course there is Plopsaland Theme park and PlopsaAqua next to the site, which although fully open never really bothered us during our visit, there is a Total petrol station at the end of the road, a Supermarket next door to that (On the Main Road Side, Lidl’s is now closed) which was stocked really well and stayed open for a decent amount of time, there are a couple of Restaurants that specialise mostly in grilled food, we had a great meal in Lambik Moeder which was packed to the Rafters Lunchtime and Evening Meal, if you like Steak, this is the place! De Panne is just a 10 minute drive away and a really lovely place, take a walk down the miles of promenade, there are literally hundreds of Bars, Restaurants, Shops etc. , we had a great day out, can highly recommend.

If you are a Smoker you will also have the benefit of paying less than half UK prices for your products if that’s your thing, not far up the road is a street in Adinkerke which is full of shops not only Tobacco but Beer, Wine, Spirits and of course Belgium Chocolate!

In summary, although we really liked the area, the people where on the whole lovely, I have never heard so many Waiters, Shop Assistants etc. Willingly speak to you in near perfect English and with a genuine appreciation of your custom (French Take Note!) We will certainly return to Adinkerke/De Panne, however, it will be using another establishment. We really tried to like the site, it did have some great points and the location was really quite good, we just didn’t like the set up the with the toilets, electric etc. And although clean and tidy it was a bit scruffy. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Livtoby 3 reviews from this member

 Just come home from 2 weeks touring and were pleased to find this treasure of a site. It cost 14 euros per night for car, caravan, awning and two adults. The site was immaculate, the toilets clean, we never used the showers so can't comment on them. It was handy to have the shop on site for anything we had forgotten and also to order our bread for the following day (though this we did find a bit pricey).

The owner of the site and his family are very friendly and speak good English, and will help with any queries you have.

The electric hook-up is only 4 amp so we couldn't use our electric kettle, toaster or hairdryer but had been advised of this when we booked and didn't find it a problem. We used a fair amount of gas the 6 days we stayed on site but the cost was less than we had saved on low site rent,

The area around De Panne is lovely, with France only half a mile down the road, Plopsaland (a very popular aqua park) next door, and the coastal tram which is very good value for getting along the coast. We were lucky to stop off in Ostend on market day (Saturday) which was a real treat and highly recommended. Just avoid getting on at peak work times as the locals also use the tram for their commute to work.

De Panne seafront is a delight to walk along, and we enjoyed watching the children racing around on the hired go-kart type vehicles. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MadNurseGaz 9 reviews from this member

 We went to Ter Hoeve for a short (5-day) break, wanting somewhere near to the ferry ports but not one of the usual sites in Nord/Pas de Calais. 3 minutes drive from the French border was this site, on the edge of the village of Adinkerke. The man in reception was friendly and helpful, explaining all we needed to know, and showed us to a pitch on his bike! There was also a plentiful supply of brochures and flyers for local attractions.

Our fellow campers were friendly as well, most appeared to be in motorhomes, but many caravans and tents were evident as well, from Belgium, Holland, France, Germany and the UK.

Electric hookups were only 4 amps, but it ran the fridge and lamps and recharged our phones etc. Without any problems.

Water taps were scattered about the site, so not far to carry water, and there was a motorhome service point by the entrance, which included the chemical toilet disposal. Open-air dishwashing points were there as well, and a laundry room with machines, dryers and irons for a small charge.

The tariff was very reasonable, with 5 nights costing 67. 5 euros, along with a 25 euro deposit for a gate pass card, which was refunded when we left.

The gates are closed from 10pm to 0800, which contributes to the quiet nature of the site. There's a car park outside the barrier should you need it.

The shop carried only a limited range, but the necessities were there, and the staff were so friendly, all speaking good English. Shop staff would take your bread orders before 6pm for next morning.

The toilets and showers were always immaculate whenever you visited.

A Lidl supermarket at the end of the road (400metres) supplied the rest of the shopping needs while the local petrol station was directly opposite. The petrol station was the place to buy tickets for the Coastal Tram (KustTram) which runs the entire length of the Belgian coast from early morning till late at night with trams every 10 minutes. The tram goes through all the resorts from Adinkerke at the west end to Knokke at the east end. The tram ticket (5 euros for a full day ticket!)is also valid for a bus from Adinkerke tram station to Dunkirk or Knokke tram station into the Netherlands! Adinkerke to Knokke takes about 2 and a half hours.

We had good weather, and will definitely be going back.

Ter Hoeve is a basic campsite, no pool, no club with entertainment, but if you're after a quiet, friendly site that's well-kept with lots to do in the surrounding area, it should be at the top of your shortlist!

Everyone in Belgium cycles, and they all take their bikes on holiday with them. Take yours, it's great cycling country. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Happypre65 8 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here lots of times over the last 10 years, and we found the owner to be very helpful,

Never had a problem with electric, but the showers are a pain, not always hot and you have to keep your hand on the button or it stops, and the cubicle gets full of water, so when dressing hard to keep cloths dry,

Good food and lovely beaches in depanne about a mile down the road,

Children's park next door to site,

Supermarket at the end of the road,

English is spoken, 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cardiff camperz 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this campsite twice and both occasions we had a lovely time! Prices are very reasonable here too! Met some lovely friendly people and found the owner helpful and friendly.

It is a well kept clean site with on site facilities such as a shop. This did not stock a lot and seemed to be closed a lot of the time but there was an Aldi about a 2 minute drive down the road. A laundry room.

Washing up room to do your dishes (we never used this but I believe there was a 50 cent charge to wash up). The toilets/shower block were cold inside but kept clean (you must take your own toilet paper).

The showers had nice hot water and did the job! There are also separate little cubicles to have wash and clean your teeth in private.

This campsite is located right next to Plopsaland which would be great for the children and about 25mins drive from Dunkirk Ferry Port. There is also a tram system which takes you right up the coast (it does get very packed though at times).

We paid 5 Euro per person for all day travel (you can get your tickets from the station by plopsaland) and we seen some lovely places like Ostend and De Hann.

The beaches are great too with loads of places to eat and drink! Great place to cycle too as belgium is nice and flat, no hills!

Overall, happy with campsite, loved the location had a fabulous 5 nights and will definitely be going back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Purday 1 review from this member

 Cheap campsite and close to the theme park Plopsaland, but that's about it. The owner is strict who has rules about everything. Be aware, for example, that there is a traffic light allowing you to get to the reception (didn't see the red light and got told off by him!). The showers are not very warm and are like a spray (in order to save money). The most shocking about the site is the kids playground : rubbish everywhere!

The site is also quite a long walk along a road with a narrow pavement from and to the tram stop for the beach, not easy especially with kids.

La Panne is such a nice resort though and the food in Belgium is excellent. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Henrikbhoy2000 13 reviews from this member

 Just spent the most miserable 5 days of our caravanning life on this site. The owner directed us verbally to choose a pitch on the poorest area of the site.

Toilets were freezing as was the showers, no toilet paper and no outer doors on the building.

The electrics were only 3 amps so we could not boil water.

We were instructed to use the electrical socket in the washrooms (Approx 2 meters off the floor) if we had a continental plug. I felt this was dangerous and not particularly hygienic.

Surrounded by seasonal caravans who had a good laugh at out repeated attempts to reinstate the electrics that blew every time we used more than a light or tv. The owner did not want to know.

We found out on our last day that the shower building on the front of the site offered showers at certain times of the day. Well away from where we were sited. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Ter Hoeve child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Ter Hoeve?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Ter Hoeve dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near De Panne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Belgium

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3385 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder