Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shepreth Mill

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Shepreth > Shepreth Mill Reviews

Shepreth Mill
Dunsbridge Turnpike
Shepreth
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
SG8 6RA
Tel: 01763 261310  or  07508 057426
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mjryan42 5 reviews from this member

 What a delightful little site bounded by a mill pond and race with trees to provide some shade and spacious pitches with metered EHU and access to water and Elsan disposal with a shower, toilet and dishwashing facility for £25 pn.

Helpful and friendly owner walked us to our pitch and charged the electric meter and we had a very pleasant evening in the company of water fowl and dragon flies. Restful night though the A10 is close enough to be heard.

Apparently there are a couple of pubs that offer food, but not on a Sunday evening, within reasonable walking distance.

We only used the site as a stopping off place having spent the day at IWM Duxford but weíd certainly consider staying longer and using it as a base to visit the area.

Beware of satnav taking you down the old turnpike road which is a no through road! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kimbr4 1 review from this member

 Beautiful lakeside site.

Very peaceful and well maintained small quiet site.

Easy access from nearby M11 and A14.

Thanks Tim for a very relaxed weekend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michae 1 review from this member

 Great site. Easy to find and the pitches are mainly level. Owner very keen to help and provides map of the local

Area. I feel the price is out of line with similar locations but this will probably not stop my wife from wanting to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jimbo70 1 review from this member

 Owners very pleasant. Site and pitches good. Amenities very tired but plenty of hot water.

Would use again in the future. Tescos Extra 2 miles down the road.

The Green Man pub 8mins walk with good food. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Antlau 1 review from this member

 Simple site, lovely surroundings. Great owners, really helpful, full of local knowledge.

The site was quiet - you could hear some road noise but nothing that troubled us,

Clean facilities and great local walks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bridie 102 reviews from this member

 Nor a good experience Iím afraid. No sanitizer left in toilets. Locks on Ladies toilets didnít work. Lights in Ladies toilets and shower didnít work.

Not enough hooks on door of shower and no stool To put things on or sit on. Grass unmown. Our electrics failed in evening. it ended out it had been a card slot electric post In the past and the owner didnít put the equivalent of our money in so only had what was left from previous occupant.

Will not be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hoedown 46 reviews from this member

 After reading the previous reviews we were somewhat disappointed with this site. Whilst it's location and abundance of wildlife are excellent, we felt the general untidiness of the site let it down. We could not work out if the new toilet block is finished or not.

The 2 toilets and 1 shower for ladies and equivalent for gents all work, but there were no disposal bins for anything in them, no mop or squeegee for the shower, toilet rolls were only replaced on the 4th day when we requested them, hand dryer did not work and the whole building was only cleaned once during the 7 days we were there.

The electric card system seems to be a bit hit and miss, we used approx 60p per day, whilst our friends in a similar m/home and appliances had to pay £2!

All of the pitches are rutted and uneven, although the owner did say he had someone coming to help him with those. We spied an old gas cylinder as well as a decrepit canoe half-buried in the bushes behind our pitch.

At £14. 50 per night + 50p shower + 20p hair dryer + elec card, we felt it was overpriced for what is really a very basic site. It is a shame because with a bit of cleaning and tidying and tlc it could be a lovely site.

We had a very nice meal at The Green Man which was about 10mins walk away. We also caught the bus in to Cambridge (only every 2 hours) and caught a train back (half-hourly) with a 20 minute walk back to the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ladypop 4 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Shepreth Mill and it was still as quiet and peaceful as before, the wildlife was still in abundance and watching the dragonflies zooming around the stream and pond was really time wasting.

The new toilet/shower block was not quite finished but the old one was kept scrupulously clean. I did confess to Tim the owner that I'd been scrumping, and a blackberry and apple crumble was the result of my misdemeanour! And very tasty it was too.

We had a super meal at The Plough in Shepreth village, a tad pricey but very nice. This is a great place to get away from it all and we look forward to visiting again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ladypop 4 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as it was advertised as a small site that didn't allow children or pets, what a find, it didn't disappoint. If you want a site with entertainment, modern shower blocks and lots of people DON'T COME HERE!

The only entertainment was watching the moorhens bobbing about on the stream and feeding the ducks on the pond. There was only 1 shower and 1 toilet for the whole site but as there were only 3 caravans there it was fine and most vans have their own facilities anyway.

The owner is in the process of building a new toilet/shower block but it has been slow going due to some unfortunate problems. We had electric hook up which is paid for by a card system and it only cost us £5 for the week.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, also knowledgeable of the area which was great as this was our first visit to Cambridgeshire. The local pub was recommended and we had a super meal there.

We had a really restful and peaceful break here and hope to visit again. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shepreth Mill child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shepreth Mill?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Shepreth Mill dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shepreth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5116 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement