Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lurcher Farm Cottage Camping And Caravanning Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Nottinghamshire > Newark > Lurcher Farm Cottage Camping And Caravanning Site > Reviews

Lurcher Farm Cottage Camping And Caravanning Site
Mansfield Road
Farnsfield
Newark
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG22 8HY
Tel: 07970 601397
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 86 Reviews
                9/10 from 86 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  86 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Karen sheldon 1 review from this member

 Love this place.

People are so friendly and the kids loved the bike tracks.

This is the 3rd visit this year.

Im sure we will fit a few more visits in Before the end of the year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: BondJ 1 review from this member

 Lurcher farm cottage what a pleasure!

Martin was so accommodating from the get go! He arranged for us to have EHU by jiggling around other campers.

We could arrive any time from 12 and due to Bank Holiday we had till 2pm to vacate on the Monday, I thought this was brilliant.

We arrived on site and greeted by Martins sister who showed us to our pitch we were on A4 which was right at the end near the hill. The size of the pitch is great. There are signs on the fence for the car, caravan and awning. I put my awning up and still had room to put a windbreaker pen for the dog.

The space next to us was empty so we enjoyed the space playing football and tennis with the kids. When driving up and seeing the large green containers I had thoughts of 'oh what are we going to get' but how wrong I was.

The facilities are immaculate! They smelt fresh every time I used them and not a bit of dirt! There is 1 unit for ladies shower and toilet 1 unit for mens shower and toilet and a unisex toilet. I have seen people mention about privacy while using the shower, someone else can use the toilet next door. It is close proximity but actually this is no different to any other facility just on a smaller scale.

The showers are coin operated 20p per minute, I used 2 showering me, My teen and my toddler and the water was hot and good flow, plenty of time. There were 2 washing up basins under a shelter and a fridge and freezer for campers to use, I used the washing facilities a couple of times and both times they did the job.

There is an enclosed dog run to let your dog have a run around, this is a great facility to have as dogs should be on leads around the site.

The bmx track is an actual bmx track with the hills which all the kids on the site loved using, There is a walk along the hedge line you can do to get to the pub or a little wood.

My toddler loved looking at the geese and peacocks and we got to see the new goslings and chick's, he loved listening to the peacocks.

This site is a hidden gem, it is so lovely. We are new to caravanning but this site is just what we are about. Family and dog friendly with some lovely owners.

The ground wasn't level on our pitch so I would recommend having chocks ect.

Would highly recommend this site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs C R Heron 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely welcome from Martin

Great facilities, very clean

We arrived with a 6 year old granddaughter who enjoyed running up and down the dirt bike track on day one, only stayed with us one night.

We then had a night for us as a couple with curry, campfire and star gazing.

Excellent curry cooked and delivered to us on site at our choice of time by Ahmed. This was on our own plates very eco friendly.

Beautiful view with nice walks

Local pub a bonus.

Loved seeing and hearing the peacocks

Great to have an open fire.

Great area for star gazing.

I will definitely be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Timca6 3 reviews from this member

 We (couple, older son and labrador) stayed here in our campervan with a pup tent for one night on our way home on a longer trip. We were met by Ahmed who directed us to the 'horse field' where the tents are situated, but just as we had finally found a somewhat level area of grass for the van and started setting up our tent we were asked if we could move as a family group were due to arrive with big tents.

The tent area is not quite grass, more scrubland and is on quite a slope and it was impossible to get truly level, particularly for the tent. The bottom of the field is fenced and bordered by the enclosed dog walking strip. We were directed to a plot next to the run and this turned out to be source of stress number 2. Camping dogs can be a bit vocal when other dogs come near, and we had plenty of dogs coming near. Some were friendly, some were a problem for our dog, and the very noisy terriers would have eaten him if they had managed to finish frantically digging their way under the fence into our pitch! It's also not so great to be cooking/eating as someone's dog is toiletting next to the fence :-((

The caravan areas were very packed in and felt too crowded, and with the later addition of tents and cars to the tent field it all felt chaotic. Our neighbours arrived in a noisy, fume-pumping builders flat bed van and were pitched right at the side of us with two big tents. Their dog was allowed off lead (despite all the signage to the contrary) and wandered into our pitch regularly, which added to the dog woes. Barbecues and fires are allowed on site, but being so close up meant our van was filled with smoke within minutes of our neighbours setting them up. They didn't account for proximity or wind direction.

There are very limited toilet/shower facilities built in containers. One shower + loo per male/female and one unisex loo. They were clean but small and not very private - esp. If you are using either when the door is opened! The shower is on a payment meter, which felt a bit stingy considering the nature of the facilities and lack of privacy. The loos are right by the site entrance where there doesn't appear to be any real security and I would not be happy about children having to use them by themselves. There are definitely not enough toilets /showers for the number of pitches.

The washing up area was undercover and quite roomy but was never clean when we went to use it: food left in the plugholes and wet.

The site owners have a food service which looked great on paper and will cook/prepare food to order. On a longer stay I would have tried Ahmed's cooking.

The site did get quiet at exactly 10pm which was a relief. But we still had dog walkers shining torches into our van and tent after dark, which was a bit creepy.

Our neighbours rose before 6am and the children were running around noisily straight away. One of their vehicles drove off site at 6. 15 and back at 6. 45am, and then at 8am they were trying to start their builders van. They then left it running while they got ready to go off, and we were choking diesel fumes for 15 minutes.

There were several motorhomes that seemed to be quite permanent on site and a few commercial vehicles parked on pitches. Not everyone seemed friendly, even to say hello in passing and there are several passive aggressive notes pinned up around the reception area. It wasn't a completely terrible stay at all but we didn't feel comfortable and we probably won't come back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pam and Chris 6 reviews from this member

 Wonderful quiet site and owners Martin and Ahmed were great!

They do take away to request and brought us out 2 freshly cooked tasty meals one spicy but not hot chicken curry and an Iraqi chicken dish.

Toilets were spotless but not sure about busy times as only one of each shower/toilet and 1 extra mixed toilet.

We went on Low season Sunday- Thursday 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Reecew 1 review from this member

 Great site and location. Brilliant facilities and was met at the entrance where everything was explained.

Bmx track is great for the kids and plenty of off road walking and biking trails straight out of the site.

Can't wait to return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ljo8ul 1 review from this member

 Beautiful setting, very peaceful and well thought out space, loved the washing up area, bmx track, even though no children with us, what a great idea!

The dog walking field was great use for us. Loved the animals too, even the cockerel at 4. 25am

The only drawback was the toilet and showers, however as we had facilities on the motorhome we were ok for a night but if we had planned to stay longer we could not have managed with the showers. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Helen5 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely night away on the campsite.

We visited from nottingham as a local weekend away, the site is very convenient for Wheelgate Park.

Nice and peaceful location and very friendly staff.

Our 2 year old son enjoyed running around the bmx track, and playing on the rope swing. Good value for money. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Netty4 1 review from this member

 The site is lovely and clean.

The staff are very friendly and helpful in showing you were to go on arrival. The on site shop is reasonable priced and you can buy ice creams that don't break the bank balance.

The dog walking section is great which allows you to let the dogs off their lead and have a run around.

The bmx track for the kids is fab it kept my two energetic boys entertained for the weekend.

My only criticism is the site could do with more electric pitches and possibly another shower block would be good. Only having the two showers on a busy site was not enough to facilitate the whole campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kellie 1 review from this member

 Clean and tidy camp site, ample pitch sizes. We had large tent including Windbreaks and gazebo and 2 vehicles and plenty of room for us

Kids loved the bmx track!

Showers/hot water system could do with updating, struggled showering with young children. 
via mobile


Previous     86 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lurcher Farm Cottage Camping And Caravanning Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lurcher Farm Cottage Camping And Caravanning Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lurcher Farm Cottage Camping And Caravanning Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newark      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2610 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement