Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Afon Teifi Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn > Afon Teifi Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Afon Teifi Caravan And Camping Park
Pentrecagal
Newcastle Emlyn
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA38 9HT
Tel: 01559 370532
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 110
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Beth31 1 review from this member

 Ok so to start with the good points seems fair:

Small site.

Beautiful riverside location which was a lovely change for us as we live near the sea.

Cheap for a week for four of us in an EHU Pitch.

Safe feel to the site, I was happy to let my children play without watching them like a hawk.

Park and football area for the kids.

Plenty of showers and loos with hot water.

Dishwashing and laundry facilities.

My kids had a great time. My eldest daughter is autistic and has never wanted to go to a play park with ďstrangeĒ kids or explore independently but she felt confident enough to do it here - this made the holiday worthwhile for us.

Fairly central for exploring the area.

Lovely walk by the river.

Dog friendly site with dog walking field.

Close to shops for supplies - Tip: donít be tempted to stop at the Nisa which is the first supermarket you come to, carry on a little further into Newcastle Emlyn. There is a large co-op food store here which is much cheaper and if you have student ID you can get an additional 10% off.

Disliked:

EHU pitch sizes arenít measured, just random sizes, we were ok but the pitch next to us was on a bend and had a smaller pitch which they werenít happy with and I donít blame them.

Cleanliness was quite poor to be honest and Iím no snob or clean freak. Toilets/showers closed for two hours between 11-1 and aside from the sanitary bins being emptied and the loo paper topped up nothing else was really cleaned. Every toilet paper holder had a thick layer of dust and grime in that remained all week, not great for high touch points - especially during covid times. Ironically in our last day we all commented that the toilets actually smelt of bleach for a change after cleaning, but it was still not to a hygienic standard.

The bin area is directly opposite the EHU tent pitches with at-least 8 big dumpsters, itís not the best view as itís not screened off. We arrived on a Saturday and these were overflowing, smelly and there were wasps everywhere. They werenít emptied until Tuesday. By the time Friday came around they were full and stinking again.

Wasps- there was a significant wasp problem particularly around the childrenís play area, tine bins and the tents sited here. Myself and my 6 year old daughter were both stung. We had to buy a can of wasp killer. We were using this 10+ times a day to deal with wasps coming into our tent or near our cooking. Iíve never seen wasps like it while camping! Hundreds over the week! We must have killed at least 50!

Noise! We arenít miserable people and donít mind the sound of people enjoying themselves into the evening or the sound of kids charging about. But new arrivals of a group of 10+ 20 year olds at 9pm on the next pitch cramming 3 small tents into one pitch and bbqing and shouting until gone 4am. With no other camping equipment so using 3 cars with their engines running and headlights as lighting illuminating ours and the other neighbours tents all night was taking the P**s. They werenít English speakers and our pleas for them to be quite as our children (and us) couldnít sleep were laughed at, hopefully because of the language barrier and not because they were that selfish.

Management - when the above issue arose we tried to find a way to notify the owners but the details on pitch up state that reception is only available until 8pm. The only other thing we could think of was to send a message via their Facebook page. Which was read the following morning (fair enough) but never responded to and management did not approach us about the issue. The noisy neighbours packed up and left the following morning leaving cutlery, skewers, plastic packaging and dirty plates shoved in the hedges which myself and husband cleaned as it was only likely to make the wasp problem worse or injure a child

On the Friday night the management came to empty the park at 9, the site went quiet for about 30 minutes and then the noise of kids charging around and loud drunken adults/music went on until 1am - didnít mind this so much but seemed again surprising considering the owners live on site over looking the fields.

Drainage - it was a mixed weather week which we had expected and prepared for, but drainage on the pitch was very poor.

Games Room- a games room was advertised which is located near the park. But this was locked up and not available.

We personally wouldnít return, but we spoke to many people who site their caravans here and visit often (some weekly) and we can understand how it would fit their needs. Particularly people with onboard facilities. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cymraes1dog 7 reviews from this member

 The owners were friendly and helpful and the site was clean and well kept. There were lovely walks and places to sit along the river.

I found only one major drawback when we were there - every toilet was soiled and there was no hot water from the taps. For this reason I didn't use the showers and relied on our onboard facilities. I hope this was an unfortunate blip and I would love to stay there again. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikeanddeb 30 reviews from this member

 I'd read already regarding the access road, there were a few pot holes, but still accessible.

We'd booked a hard standing, and on arrival told we could choose where we pitched. However, noticed a lot of them had been taken for parking cars on.

It appears to be a site more for seasonal, rather than visitors to the area. We set up, but the electrics tripped out, some pitches you could trip back in at the bollard, but ours wasn't one.

We went to see the owners and although it was outside the usual times, they were very helpful and came down to show us the box to trip it back on. Unfortunately, there was many a trip to that box, it was constantly tripping, not something we have suffered with before?

The campers were very welcoming. We were very near the river, and the weather took a turn for the worse, making us feel very anxious about how quickly the river was rising.

The site had just reopened its toilet/shower facilities, due to COVID there was not many showers available, but to be fair it appeared that every one used their own on board facilities, I know we did.

The site was an excellent central location for visiting New Quay, Tenby, Llansteffan castle and beach were amazing, definitely a place I would recommend.

There was so much more we could have done, but the weather restricted us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gemmafrow 1 review from this member

 This site is a lovely little place with such lovely regular campers. The owners sandra and wayne are always around and available to help if you need it. It's such a child friendly place and I feel more than happy to let my 4, 5 and 7 year old wander free wherever they please. There's a shower block with toilets, laundry, freezer and dish washing facilities, a little park and games room for the kids, and large field with goal posts. Great little site with a real community feel to it. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fosbert 3 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site in a beautiful setting and we will certainly be returning here. This was our first ever trip in a caravan and only the second time we had ever towed one. The access road to the site was fine, there is a short section that I think a previous reviewer had difficulty with however if you go slowly then it's really not a problem. The site has excellent roads through the site and plenty of passing places (very important if you are a novice). There are a number of pitch types and plenty of electric hookups. There is a nice park for the kids and our little boy had a wonderful time playing there with all his new friends. The toilet block was modern and kept clean with plenty of cubicles. Showers were great and included in the price. The ground are well maintained and the grass mowed regularly. There is also a separate family room with a shower and toilet. There are washing facilities a massive freezer and clothes washing facilities. One of the best aspects of the site was it's location and the beautiful riverside walk. We had a few stunning picnics along the river.

There is a small shop in a local garage which is well stocked.

Whilst we were here we visited:

Teifi Valley Railway - a small local tourist railway which is being slowly restored by local volunteers and our little boy loved this (also dog friendly). There is also a lovely walk from the railway station down to the river;

Cei Newydd (New Quay) - a stunning harbour town and we had a great day on the beach here. Dogs are allowed in the summer on one of the beaches;

Castell Newydd Emlyn - nice little market town with excellent antiques shops. We lunched at the lovely Riverside cafť which makes delicious home-made vegetarian food. There is also an excellent Indian restaurant with take away (Yassmin). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravanlovers1957 1 review from this member

 We used this site in the summer. It's a lovely site with a spotless shower block and good facilities. Lovely grass area for the children. Shame however than we probably wont use the site again due to the disgraceful Road accessing the site. The rain made towing the caravan difficult, it doesn't seem maintained at all which really lets the otherwise brilliant site down greatly 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stevestreeter 1 review from this member

 Have been a regular visitor to Afon Teifi caravan park for the last 10 years and I couldn't think of anywhere else I would rather go. It's a well maintained site run by the owners who are very friendly people and your always guaranteed a great stay. Newly refurbished shower block is fantastic. No extra expenses from on site clubs and children's entertainment so affordable to all who want a quiet family break. My kids love it there and spend all day making new friends and making their own entertainment which is how a holiday should be. Keep up the good work and see you soon. :-) 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ppiphome 7 reviews from this member

 Visited the site Easter weekend with three other families in caravans but we had a tent. What a nice site, very well looked after and the toilet/shower block is nice and cleaned regularly. Water points and electric points well placed by pitches.

Our two children loved it, there's a football pitch as well as a park and games room with pool table and dart board etc.

Didn't hear from our two, busy playing and making a lot of friends, when it came to leaving they wanted to stay longer.

Nice beaches not too far away, went to Aberporth beach for the day which was really nice.

Will return later on in the year and will be adding this site to our favourite list. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Valleytraveller 8 reviews from this member

 We only stopped at this site as our previous site was so poor and only for one night.

I have to say the site was really good. Spotless toilet block, really clean and well kept grounds and good facilities for the kids. Weather was great which always helps. Was a bit noisy at night from the kids playing in the park but it was nice weather so you have to accept that. After dark it was all really quiet and peaceful.

Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clb1 1 review from this member

 We stayed here as a family over the bank holiday weekend and what a wonderful time we had. The site was well kept with the owner's and all holidaymakers extremely friendly. The weather was beautiful which allowed us to have a BBQ with no objections. The children were able to play in the park although they were quite happy playing football on the playing field all day. The site was child friendly with all the children mixing together which was nice to see. There appears to be a new toilet block which is clean and immaculate. All with hot water and the family room was very useful. Highly recommend this campsite as we all had a lovely holiday! 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Afon Teifi Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Afon Teifi Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Afon Teifi Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newcastle Emlyn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1395 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement