Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Du Phare

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Honfleur > Camping Du Phare Reviews

Camping Du Phare
Boulevard Charles V
Honfleur
Normandy   (Browse area)
14600
Tel: +33 02 31 89 10 26  or  +33 023 12 42 212
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 13 Reviews
                7/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MalkP 3 reviews from this member

 Definitely 2 star site but well situated to visit a Honfleur.

Toilets clean but no seats or loo paper and showers were free but small and warm ( not hot).

Bread available in morning by visiting van. Easy walk to beach and town from site.

Pitch ok but random and various sizes.

No other choice for a site near town.

Motorhome service point convenient. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carol Jean 38 reviews from this member

 OK, to start with : we didn't stop here! But I thought these comments may help. We intended to stop at this site recently but we couldn't find it and it was a bit daunting driving through the centre of Hornfleur towing a caravan so we didn't try for long and headed for Le Briquerie instead. But when we had a trip on Le Petit Tren we then past it!

So to anyone who would like to visit it then these are some directions: If you are approaching Hornfleur from Le Havre direction you will arrive in Hornfleur with the estuary of the sea (I. E the Seine) on your right. Just keep right all the time hugging the water on the right hand side and you will eventually be driving along the boulevard and see the campsite on your left.

It is in a great location for cycling or walking into Hornfleur which would have suited us. Le Briquerie was nice but the last bus back was around 7pm so it would have meant a taxi if we had eaten there on an evening. See my review of Le Briquerie. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiftysomething 18 reviews from this member

 We've often used this site - you'll see my earlier review and my hope that someone would come along and give it the attention that it needs. Well, put simply, they have!

In mid-June 2017, we found the pitches had been mown (and they must have been drained too), those on the side by the road had been marked out, there's electricity on the central pitches so no need for that extra long lead.

The showers have been done up and the loos are getting better too.

The bakery van acts as an alarm clock when he drives around hooting but if you're too slow to catch him, wander in and have breakfast on the harbourside. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 59 reviews from this member

 We have used this site many times in the past, but this was the first visit for about 5 years and we found the experience very disappointing. The owners/managers have changed since our last visit and the helpful and pleasant man who used to run it has been replaced by a very offhand couple who seemed to have no interest in the comfort of their visitors.

The reception was only open from 9. 00am to 11. 00am and 4. 00pm to 7. 00pm meaning a long wait when arriving at our normal 2. 00pm. The woman on reception was very offhand and pointed to a printed notice saying that the site was very wet but if we could find somewhere, fine. We walked around and indeed the site was very very waterlogged with only a handful of units and what looked like some unused tents on it so we asked if it was ok to set up on one of the side roads where the ground was more solid, as we had done in the past (and pointed to the area on the site map) and she grunted her assent.

We went out for a walk and returned to find a group of angry itinerant workers who were living in the tents wanting to use the side road we were on to get their work vans near to their pitches. It was not a pleasant encounter so we moved to another part of the site, parked half on the grass and half on the road (not blocking anyone's access) and praying we could get off without too many problems 2 days later (as the weather turned better we did).

Apart from that the site has changed little.

There has been some work done but it is mostly superficial. The toilets were ok with new doors and tiling but but not finished off and could still do with updating. The showers are now free (as opposed to the old token system) but are still the same old showers that are also in need of urgent updating. There was a new ramp to the disabled facilities which was good, and new washing machines and driers in the washroom blocks that had seen a lick of paint.

The bread man calls every morning apart from Thursday. The motorhome service point is conveniently situated near the entrance.

With some tlc, hardstandings and a better attitude this could be a wonderful site. As it is it is not worth the price of 19. 50 euros a night in low season for a motorhome with 2 persons, and very expensive about 26 euros in season for the same and unless we had a pressing need to visit Honfleur we would not return which is a shame as we love the place. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 597 reviews from this member

 This site is in a central location in the lovely town of Honfleur. It's a great place to spend a few days - bars, shops and restaurants can be found in abundance and the town has some great buildings.

The site itself is OK. Facilities are grubby. Staff were generally find, though the female receptionist was rude at check-in.

Would use again due to it's location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiftysomething 18 reviews from this member

 We've stayed here before and its always wet, I think the water must run off the cliff at the (long) side of it, but this year the whole place seemed more run down than before.

I know it was the end of the season and that its difficult to do remedial work whilst there are visitors but the basin in the ladies loo was out of use and the ladies showers were cold so men and women were in the same building together. Not a problem in itself but it does mean there are less showers to go around. The grass (which is thick and green at all times) needed cutting.

The campsite has such a wonderful position though, I hope that it gets sorted out during the off season and we can enjoy it again next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jkilner 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site as a friend recommended Hoenfleur for a visit.

He always used the Aire in the port but I could never understand why as the cost between Camping du Phare and the aire is not too different.

However after one night we understood why!.

Camping du Phare is in an ideal position but is the poorest maintained site we had visited all holiday. The toilets were dirty with buckets at the side of the toilet full of used paper. To make this even more disgusting these buckets were emptied the next day into a larger OPEN bucket outside the cubicles. The showers were poor and not at all clean.

Generally the site was poorly maintained with overgrown pitches and poorly maintained hedges.

The staff were too casual and more interested in their own conversations than to complete registration.

We have stayed at far better sites for half the price.

My recommendation - forget this site and use the Aire at the port 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Catlover174 24 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the last night of our holiday and chose it simply for its location. We didn't really expect much due to its 2 star rating and it really lived up to expectations!

The site is difficult to find. I think we would have missed it completely without the help of a sat nav.

We were concerned when we arrived after a long drive to be faced with a notice saying that they were only accepting tents due to the wet pitches after 2 weeks of rain.

However, as we had pre-booked a few months back, the chap on reception agreed to honour the booking and let us walk round to choose a pitch that we could hopefully get in and out of. With a bit of mud sliding we managed it, but it wasn't easy. The pitches are nothing special. All grass, and a bit on the small side, but private enough with hedges separating them. The electrics are old style so you may need an adaptor. There is a small children's play area but nothing else in the way of entertainment. The wash-blocks seemed clean enough but were a bit dark and damp, and had no toilet seats, toilet roll or soap (not unusual in France). We didn't brave the showers, but they weren't very inviting!

This campsite could be so much better with a bit of money spent on it and some TLC.

However, I would stay here again, simply because it is so close to the centre of the beautiful town of Honfleur (5 minutes walk), and because it's so cheap. But I wouldn't want to stay for any longer than 1 or 2 nights, and would want to be in a caravan or motorhome so that I could use my own facilities! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Felicity73 15 reviews from this member

 Have been to this site once before so knew what to expect. Confusing route into the site but a little better than last year as the road works had gone. We were shown to our grass pitch which was by the road and overhanging with trees. Rather waterlogged pitch and as to heavy rain forecast and using a motorhome it was a bit disconcerting.

There are no water taps near the pitch and facilities not great. Parts of the campsite shut off because of too wet pitches.

The site needs money spent on it and improvement all round as where it is situated is ideal for walking into Honfleur. Hope we don't stay there again too soon 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Quiltnut 1 review from this member

 This site is handy for town of hon fleury. But electrics dodgy. Facility's could be better and when we went very wet. No hard standing. Half site shut because of water logged pitches. We will not be staying here again found much better sites since. It was cheap but not very well cared for. Access is through town can be busy and easy to miss entrance then along way past to turn round. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Du Phare child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Du Phare?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Du Phare dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Honfleur      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1940 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement