Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Oakhill Cromford Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Cromford > Oakhill Cromford Certificated Site > Reviews

Oakhill Cromford Certificated Site
Oakhill Hotel
Intake Lane
Cromford
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 3RH
Tel: 01629 822211
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 4
Open: 10/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 
 Electric Car Charging Point

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rosinh 1 review from this member

 This is the second time we have stopped here.

Lovely friendly efficient on arrival, 6 clean tidy electric hook ups behind a beautiful hotel with a simple outdoor toilet and water tap. Views over Cromford, walking distance to Matlock bath.

Great kids park area We even treated ourselves to a v nice breakfast in the hotel. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Oisin 8 reviews from this member

 I am loath to give a glowing review, because the place will be swamped!

The truth will out though, this is a precious find, you enter through the hotel grounds, book in a reception where I was greeted by the most charming lady. And found the ? 6- 8 pitches beautifully spaced.

The facilities are limited to a toilet, but the hotel is open for food and bar.

Cromford village literally backs onto the hotel grounds, small playing area (council owned) appeared well maintained, it's a short stroll into Matlock Bath too.

I'll be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Oisin 8 reviews from this member

 Set in the grounds of a splendid Georgian hotel, check-in is in the hotel reception, where the delightful Sharon treats you as she would her hotel guests.

There are four reasonably flat, hard standing pitches and one grass pitch with electric. In the grounds tall elm and sycamore standing sentry over a pastoral view.

Behind is raised decking with seating and gazebo, against the garden wall should you wish to sit away from your van.

The hotel welcomes non residents at the bar and for food. Try and order a bottle of the strong Oak Hill cider made less than a minute away from the campsite, if they have any left!.

Across from the campsite gates is Cromford's children's play area well maintained swings etc.

To the left you take a 5 minute stroll onto North Street and a "proper pub" on the corner. Cromford is literally the birthplace of the industrial revolution, so there is plenty of history from the late 1700's to see.

Now, the caveat, there is only one toilet on the campsite, but you can use the bar when open of course, and no shower.

I wanted to keep this hidden delight to myself but, maybe Arkwright's social benevolence has rubbed off on me. 😁 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Oatcakekev 8 reviews from this member

 My wife and I chose this location for a quiet and much needed weekend break.

There were a few issues with my booking but nothing to shout about.

Outstanding food and really friendly staff. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Johnpaton 2 reviews from this member

 The first impression of rolling up at Oakhill is of an elegant and impressive country hotel, and the second is of how friendly and helpful the staff are.

After registration at reception I was escorted to the small 5 pitch site behind the hotel gardens.

The site is leafy, slightly sloping and graced with a cider and honey producing smallholding.

Facilities provided are a toilet with washing basin, water points and waste disposal, as these facilities are serviced by hotel groundstaff they are always well maintained.

You are invited to dine in the hotel or drink in the bar, where you can sample the potent cider produced next door!

At night the site is quiet despite being only yards from the A6.

Cromford village boasts a bookshop, several cafes, good pubs and boasts a Tapas bar.

I opted to breakfast in the hotel with the hotel guests, it was very good and I look forward to visiting this delightful site again very soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 Really lovely location and kind and welcoming owners.

A simple setup and a really peaceful night. It has all we needed, no park for the kids but my son loved running around the open field and small area of wood near our spot.

We had a really great time and will definitely be going back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LesleyMA 21 reviews from this member

 First let me say that I think changes must have been made between the reviews of 2015 and that of last year. The name also seems to have changed and it is now Oakhill.

The location is excellent. The village of Cromford with its historic Mill and peaceful Canal are less than five minutes away on foot. There are pubs, restaurants and cafes and a small supermarket. But best of all there are frequent bus services that can take you along the Derwent Valley to Matlock, Bakewell and beyond, or the other way to Derby. We didn't move our campervan at all during our stay

The facilities of the campsite are basic but clean. It has one outside toilet with a cold water hand-basin but no warm water or showers. The pitches are quite level but there are slabs of stone available for placing under the wheels for minor adjustments.

The hotel reception team gave us a warm welcome and provided helpful local information. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it is available for non-residents.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note Oakhill Cromford is the all new name for the Alison House Hotel 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Johnmw 1 review from this member

 I'd like to say it's awful and should be avoided, that way there will always be a spot for me when I go back.

But in reality it's fantastic, one of the best sites I have been to.

So quiet at night, on Wednesday we went to bed at 9 pm after a long walk we woke at 9 in the morning 12 hrs sleep I have never done that before.

Big thanks to Sharon and team for a wonderful 4 days 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mumidebba 5 reviews from this member

 A lovely little site in Cromford, handy for all facilities in the village and a short drive from matlock.

The site itself is pretty basic, with a toilet and sink in an outbuilding and a tap, water disposal and elsan disposal.

The field is slightly sloping, and access is quite tight through two gates.

We had been hoping for a very peaceful and quiet weekend, and have no doubt that it would have been was it not for the two camper vans next to us with loud children, loud music and constant (also loud) swearing. Had they not been drunk we might have asked them to quieten down. Luckily we were able to have lie ins to compensate for being kept awake until after midnight. Most unlike C&CC sites!

The one downside to a CS where you are pretty much left to your own devices is such campers who abuse the normally well observed 11pm lights-out rule ! Thankfully few and far between. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Oakhill Cromford Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Oakhill Cromford Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Oakhill Cromford Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cromford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2669 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement