Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Uphill Marine Centre

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Uphill Marine Centre
Uphill Wharf
Uphill
Weston Super Mare
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS23 4XR
Tel: 01934 418617
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 50 Reviews
                8/10 from 50 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BE54SAS 1 review from this member

Great stay at Uphill Marine Centre. You have everything you need. Sue at the site was extremely helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. Lots of great dog walks and the beautiful Uphill beach is only minutes away. The cafe and two pubs in the village provided plenty of good food and drink. The site is so beautiful and peaceful. The only problem is that you don’t want to go home! We will be back again as soon as we can.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SmithDL 2 reviews from this member

I phoned to check for availability for a one night stop. The woman I spoke with was quite officious - not really very pleasant.

£24 for a motorhome per night with EHU.

The site is a grass field with a pond in the middle.

There is a toilet and showers at the office block and a toilet and washing up at the other end of the circular site.

There is nothing else at all.

No shop, BBQ's are banned, phone signal is terrible, WIFI - not a chance!

Considering the facilities and services other campsites offer for this price point, Uphill doesn't compare favourably.

If you are stuck and in need for somewhere last minute, use these, otherwise move on.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

First time stay for us on this lovely little site but it definitely won't be the last! We loved it.

Booked over the phone and were advised about restricted office opening times. En route we were called by the site to say the office would be closed on our arrival and we were given our pitch number and code for the toilets/showers.

On arrival you drive through the boat yard to the campsite. First section is hard standings (of which we had pitch 1 - you have to drive side on to this particular pitch which means you get views from each window, but you also get battered from the wind coming off the sea!).

They seem to have around 7/8 hard standings and then the rest is grass. All pitches are around the lake and have the most stunning views of St Nicholas church on the hill and the surrounding nature reserve. I cannot explain in words how beautiful it is.

There are two facilities blocks but due to it being December only one was open. Not a problem at all as the site wasn't full. Entry by key code. Again not many toilets/showers but what was there was spotlessly clean every day.

There's a café right outside the site that was open everyday, although we didn't use it this time. There is also a bus stop outside the site but the walk into Weston-Super-Mare is easy, flat and along the beach. We mooched and it took about 30/40 minutes. Lots to see and do in Weston. There is also a local pub not far from the campsite but again we didn't use it on this occasion.

We have already recommended this site to lots of friends and cannot wait to go back again now we discovered this little gem.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Olly the vw van 2 reviews from this member

Yet another lovely stay at Uphill site, this time though we put up our 'brand new' motent awning - in rather windy conditions, so not as successful as it's going to be next time!

In between the rain we managed several walks along the beach, including one all the way to Weston itself (and back!) and a bbq, despite the wind! Another successful visit to The Dolphin on the second night of our stay, where both our dog, Dylan, and our campervan, Olly, had already been noticed by the locals.

Will definitely be coming again when we visit family in Bristol.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou 14 reviews from this member

Lovely site although the road leading to it has a lot of cars parked along it and can be a bit tricky if the bus comes along.

Warden can be a bit sharp and is a stickler for vans being in correct position.

As said on some other reviews more water taps and we noticed there was no recycling this could be addressed.

Also grass was not cut for the 2 weeks we were there and hadn't been done previous to our arrival.

Having said all that toilets and showers were clean and the walks and views are great. Dolphin pub nice for meals just a short walk and local shop sells most things.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Halliday24 7 reviews from this member

Very nice site, small but had decent showers and a small toilet block and washing up area. Used the site as a base to visit other places. It is a working marina and the walk to village pub and shop is worth it.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Olly the vw van 2 reviews from this member

This was Olly's first proper campsite and we were all very excited. We found the site easy and Dylan (our labradoodle) was delighted to discover the beach (dog friendly) within walking distance.

The site is just lovely. Very small, quiet and friendly - with a warm, busy pub (again within walking distance) - The Dolphin - and a cafe right outside if you're feeling lazy in the morning.

We will definitely be staying here again - in fact, we've already booked a night next month. Who knows, maybe we'll get the awning out and show Olly off in style!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

Uphill Boat Yard is, as one might guess, a working boat yard situated in Uphill village on a tidal creek off the River Axe. It also hosts a camp site situated around an artificial lake that hosts views of Brean Down. There are toilets and washing-up facilities in a portakabin on the camping field, as well as toilets and showers in the main reception block (which can be a bit of a trek from the further recesses of the field). The site would benefit from a few more water taps, which can also be a bit of a trek to find.

It costs £23 per night to camp with ehu, and it is the views and the tranquil ambience that justify this charge. On a warm evening it is enchanting to see Brean Down up ahead bathed in sunset, with Uphill church behind you sat atop its tall, rocky outcrop. Meanwhile, Weston-super-Mare is just five minutes drive away (or about three-quarters-of-an-hour's walk along the beach at the end of the road). There are also walks along the river that deliver one to Uphill beach. There are plenty of cycle routes too, most of the terrain being flat. And if you don't fancy cooking breakfast or daytime meals there is a cafe on the site you can avail yourself off.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Myfanwy Couple 10 reviews from this member

Lovely little site. Quiet, very scenic, good for walking. Toilets and shower spotless. Will become a favourite. Pleasant walk along the beach to town 40mins. Shop and pubs in village.

Lovely walks around the nature reserve that surrounds the site. Lots of options for dog walking

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Redfema 1 review from this member

What a find! This little site was a complete surprise. Although the facilities are basic they were clean and comfortable. The secondary block was closed as it is out of season but the main block with showers and toilets was warm and clean. Watching the tide come in on the river and watching the canoes on the lake was so peaceful. In fact peace is the order of the day here yet Weston-super-Mare is only a short distance away and there was a new walk for every day of the week. The cafe was a pleasure and the nearby shop very handy. Didn't visit either of the pubs but they looked nice.

A short walk to the beach, across the downs or up the hills and the dog was worn out all week. Definitely a return on the cards.

Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


352 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!