Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Ship Inn Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Skegness > The Ship Inn Campsite Reviews

The Ship Inn Campsite
109 Sea Road
Chapel St Leonards
Skegness
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
PE24 5RX
Tel: 01754 871807
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (4)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kerrie 1 review from this member

 Stayed here as itís not too central and away from all the chaos, we were the only couple there for the two days and we have two dogs,

Pitches are spacious and a field just over the back to exercise the dogs first thing and last thing at night.

Very clean toilet/ shower facilities and a lovely pub.

Owners are very friendly, very much enjoyed our stay and would likely stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dcjovi 1 review from this member

 Newly taken over. Found landlord very friendly. Facilities basic but have been made as good as possible in a short space of time, hopefully will be further improved over time

Basic food menu in the pub but again all our meals were tasty, hot and reasonably priced.

It's in a perfect location within a short walk to Buses to Skegness etc

Hope to return in the near future 


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frodolivesincodnor 2 reviews from this member

 What a comedown! Been coming here for several years and been mightily impressed but not this time. On entering the pub to advise the guy behind the bar I'd booked 2 pitches for 3 nights I was met with a "not with me you didn't". After insisting I did book over the phone (with presumably the landlord who wasn't present) I was told to pitch up where we could. Bear in mind this is a 5 caravan site at back of pub, there were already 5 caravans present but only one was occupied, the others being allowed "seasonal" standings it would seem.

The pub has changed hands and has been refurbished to an impressive standard but not serving food despite the pub website saying otherwise and a big sign on side of pub stating same. The pub was empty for the 3 nights we were there, nobody came in at all, it which is such a shame and the pub was freezing with no heating on at all! not even crisp, nuts chocolate etc behind the bar for my kids.

The site was covered in dog poo, the outside toilet for the caravanners was blocked, no toilet paper and the single shower didn't work. Suffice to say bitterly disappointed and we wont be going again. 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Anj999 3 reviews from this member

 I rang to make the booking and spoke to a very pleasant man who asked me for payment up front (£20 per night) for a 2 night stay, and said the pub opened at midday so arrive anytime from then. We arrived at 12. 15, pub was shut and no one around, I tried ringing just went to answer phone after an hour we chose a pitch ourselves but couldn't use toilet as it was code locked.

We had plans to meet friends so left and came back in evening pub was open so got code. Toilet didn't even have a sink to wash hands after using toilet. The fishing was a stream at side of pub. Wasn't impressed, however couldn't fault the pub real fire cosy atmosphere and very good food, as a pub id recommend to anyone but wont use the camping again first caravan and camping site we've used and for the money in February didn't think it was worth it. Shame as all other reviews were very positive :-( 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Boris01 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Only stayed one night, as dropped off son in Chapel St Leonards. Owners very friendly and extremely helpful. Immaculately kept, would highly recommend. The pub is lovely too, fantastic floral display, nice atmosphere, friendly crowd and food very nice. Even though there was a Karaoke night on, which we enjoyed, when we returned to our motorhome we couldn't hear any noise from the pub at all.

Ideally situated for those that like to just be on the outskirts of a resort, but well within easy walking distance of village centre and beach. Owner even offered to give our son and partner a lift to their caravan site that they were staying in. Will definitely return next time we're in that neck of the woods. Thank you for a pleasant stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Teyah 2 reviews from this member

 This is a real little diamond, beautifully kept and very small, but this gives it a real village feel to your stay as everybody talks to each other.

The owners are great really friendly and will do anything for you, the food in the pub is good, curry night was a steal at £4 a pop good deal!

The site has basic amenities toilet and a big roomy shower no little pokie cubicle nice and roomy, always spotless.

Only a short walk to the beach and centre, lovely little dog walk across the road and over the bridge by the river, excellent for the early/late doggie runs, and most people cleaned up after which was nice to see as we are sticklers for this with our dog.

I cant fault this site in any way it was just lovely, can't wait to return next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John belton 3 reviews from this member

 Just had a lovely weekend at the ship inn. What fabulous site, only 5 vans. Everything is kept spotless, toilet, shower and the site. It is the friendliest site we have been to. Good food and beer in the pub. The owners are two off the nicest people you wish to meet. We had a great weekend with our daughter and son in law and granddaughter. It's only a short walk to chapel st leonards and the beech where you can walk for miles. Cant wait to go back see you soon 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rocketsoo 3 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent C & CC Certificated Site, situated at the rear of a great pub which serves good food and ale. The owner is very friendly and helpful, he prides himself on making sure everything runs smoothly. There are two toilets and one shower which are quite basic but always clean.

A walk of about 15 minutes brings you to the village, where there are shops, including a Co-op and two or three pubs, a fish and chip shop, Chinese takeaway, and an excellent Italian restaurant.

The beach is clean, lovely soft sand and the sea is perfect for little ones to paddle in. Good bus service from outside the campsite to Skegness or Mablethorpe, and great for cycling, very flat! All in all a smashing little site! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Ship Inn Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Ship Inn Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Ship Inn Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skegness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4892 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement