Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Carrs Hill Caravan Site And Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Carrs Hill Caravan Site And Certificated Location Reviews

Carrs Hill Caravan Site And Certificated Location
Denny
Stirling
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK6 6RH
Tel: 01786 489205
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Badcat 1 review from this member

 A lovely quiet, peaceful location. Only a few miles south of Stirling. I wanted a quiet place for 2 nights getaway in my motorhome, to chill out and relax.

Right in the middle of the countryside, with farms in the area. Quite a few pheasants pottering nearby whilst I was there.

Small site but well appointed, with gravel hard standing and lots of space for each unit. Electric hookup included in the price plus water tap for each standing.

Small building on site with toilets and showers if required. There is decent lighting around the place once it gets dark.

There are no shops or eating places on site or in the immediate area so plan ahead and bring supplies of what you need with you.

Owners very helpful and available via mobile as needed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 40 reviews from this member

 Booking this site was straightforward, phone call then booking form on website with deposit paid via BACS. I would have appreciated an email to confirm receipt of funds and remaining balance for my own records but that's the only negative.

On arrival, we were warmly welcomed and shown our pitch and generally advised as to the layout. A little information sheet was also handed to us.

The site appeared to be well thought out with roomy pitches, 5 CL and 5 private. EHU and water was supplied to each pitch.

Nice little information hut situated in the lower part of the site which contains leaflets, menu's for local eating establishments, book swap, washing machine and dishwasher paid for via honesty box. We didn't use them but great idea for anyone stopping longer.

We visited the Kelpies and Falkirk Wheel, 15/20 mins drive from site. We walked from site down to Plean Country Park, lovely for picnics, dog walks and a bit of local history.

The quiet, sedate ambience of the site was welcomed by us and we were surprised to hear no road noise really as it's close proximity to major road networks.

We were blessed with the weather in the main and also kept entertained by watching the cattle frolic around the field next to our pitch interacting with the horses in the next field. I only heard the cows moo once or twice, they were obviously chilled out.

The morning wake up call from a pheasant or grouse made us giggle as it was as regular as clockwork, about 7. 30am.

The bathroom facilities were clean and perfectly adequate located at the top of the site up some steps, the elsan point was in this vicinity also and whilst ok for the fit and able, not the easiest to access if you have mobility issues.

The site owner is happy help with loo emptying if required as they're aware for some, the steps are difficult for some.

We will visit the site again as it is central to many of Scotland's attractions and we found this site inexpensive comparable to some other Cl's that we have stayed at up and down the UK and much more offered. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bcal 15 reviews from this member

 Site maintenance :- Excellent

Deposit required :- Yes

Electric hook up :- Yes

Some pitches have a tap. No long hose though.

Toilet :- Yes

Shower :- Yes

Wi-Fi : Yes (8Mbps) (£1 per night)

TV reception :- Good 140 + channels

Mobile reception (Vodaphone & Talktalk) :- None on lower pitches

View : No

Washing machine : Yes

Drier : No

Spacing : 20 – 40 feet.

Helpful staff : Yes

Traffic noise :- None

Park & Ride :- None

Main Food shopping Stirling

Co-Op. – Aldi – Lidl - Sainsbury’s

Attractions :-

Stirling Jail

Kelpies

Falkirk Wheel

Stirling castle

Wallace Monument (Shuttle bus available)

Bo’ness railway. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 47 reviews from this member

 We stopped for one night on the way North but wished we could have stayed longer. The road from the village to the site is single track road but plenty of passing places.

We were given the highest pitch on the site and the views were spectacular over the fields. The pitch was fairly level and the facilities spotless. We paid in advance by bacs and were met by the owner at the gate on arrival.

Very friendly and welcoming. Lovely walks along quiet country lanes.

A visit to the Kelpies and Falkirk Wheel are definitely worth the 15 minute drive. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rustyharas 5 reviews from this member

 The CL is situated next to a further space for about 5 units, and I would say the CL Spots are much nicer - better view and better spaced. We got the short straw and the last pitch which was a long way off level and next to the path to the toilets.

Family with small boy who went up the steps about once every 15 minutes! (But that’s just luck of the draw). Owners very helpful, communication good.

Not the cheapest site we’ve stayed at, £20pn but that includes facilities we didn’t use.

Good location for travelling north. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobc51 22 reviews from this member

 Stopped for a couple of days on Scotland tour.

Lovely little site run very well and looked after with friendly owners.

Very convenient for local attractions all recommended, Kelpies, Falkirk Wheel, Battleground of Banockburn, Stirling castle and Wallace Monument. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ouncy2 26 reviews from this member

 We used this site mainly as a 3 night stopover on our way to The Highlands. Site is very handy for the motorway and we used the two days to visit local attractions i. E. The Falkirk Wheel and the Kelpies which were both well worth the visit.

The site is on a hillside and those on the bottom pitches have a fair climb the the toilets and shower, particularly if you have mobility issues. Overall the site is well set out and the on pitch water is a bonus. A couple of little niggles which wouldn't cost much to rectify are the steps to the facilities are loose gravel and uneven and the toilets could do with a lick of paint. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Artic 15 reviews from this member

 This is a working farm site, 10 minutes from the motorway. But only 15 minutes from the Falkirk Wheel, the Heilx, Callander House and gardens (which are free), and not to be missed a little village called Culross. (National Trust)

The whole site is immaculate, with two toilets and one shower with plenty of free hot water.

On arrival you where given an information pack. There is also an information hut with local leaflets, and a washing machine with an honesty box.

The owners Gillian and Grant where very friendly, and could not do enough to help you.

We would definitely recommend this for peace and tranquility. 


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 51 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night going up to Orkney and another coming down. It's open all year and there was no problem about arriving late (unlike some other sites that insisted you arrive before 5pm and preferably earlier whilst there is still daylight, which in northern Scotland in winter is really not helpful if you are travelling all day).

We paid £18 per night in advance by bank transfer, hook up included. An extra £1 gets you wifi which we didn't try.

Two toilets both clean and one shower (a fairly feeble electric one but it was hot and free). The facilities were extremely cold! 20p bought you 10 minutes or so on a wall mounted fan heater which didn't really do much to raise the temperature in the shower cubicle. I imagine that those in caravans and larger motorhomes would use on-board facilities so even with one shower, I can't imagine a big queue forming.

The site is in a very nice setting and isn't too far from the motorway. Gravel hardstanding is good and water is on each pitch. Chemical toilet disposal is available on site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peter1474 6 reviews from this member

 Folks could be missing out here, this is not just a CL, the site also has 5 private pitches available to Non CC members. Same price btw. Nothing more to said that has not already been said.

Check out their website. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carrs Hill Caravan Site And Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carrs Hill Caravan Site And Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Carrs Hill Caravan Site And Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stirling      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3111 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder