Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Le Tedey

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Lacanau > Camping Le Tedey Reviews

Camping Le Tedey
Route De Longarisse
Lacanau
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
33680
Tel: 0033 05 56 03 00 15
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 200
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

Went here after reading the fab reviews and checking out their website.

What we expected: forest setting campsite with large, flat pitches, opening onto good stretch of clean, sandy, lakeside beach with clear waters. What we found: Huge site with very 'rustic' pitches marked out with scrubby vegetation, mostly quite small and many sloping or undulating and every pitch covered in a thick blanket of dried pine needles, cones and etc (okay, it is in a forest!). The floor covering makes for a great insect haven, esp big black ants.

Two small beach / lake access areas, mucky sand covered in tree detrius, waters edge largely reed-filled. Signs up saying no dogs (we had a dog with us who loves swimming, one reason we chose this site).

Sanitaires were modern and excellent. Most cubicles were locked but it was early-season. It would have been nice if they'd bothered to clean the giant cobwebs from the open cubicles, esp as its logical to assume they're home to giant spiders?!

The washing-up areas have only cold water so best to use sinks in the sanitaires.

We found we couldn't eat our evening meal outside as we're plagued with swarms of gnats.

It was pleasant walking around the forest on the tarmac roads.

Staff were friendly and pleasant. On arrival, they photocopied our dog's passport (first time we've ever been asked for it on a site).

As has already been mentioned in other reviews, the area is flat and good for cycling (lanes make it safe). There's a nice beach area not far from the site but, again, signs show no dogs are allowed.

We possibly had too-high hopes for this site. We'd planned to stay for a week or two but left after just one night, complete with insect bites. It's worth taking insect repellent and a breathable groundsheet to keep your bit of the forest floor a bit more insect-free. And perhaps not the best area in France to take your dog.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kelper 75 reviews from this member

Having heard so much from fellow UKC-iters about this site. Just had to visit.

And, so glad we did!

We spent a week there. Despite some rainy days and cool weather, we had a great time.

As others have said: It's a huge site. But very peaceful. Though, truth be told, the week we were there was thinly populated as it was the first week of low season.

A shame that none of the pitches near to, or bordering, the lake are EHU-able. So no EHU pitches have a view of the lake. Which is a big attraction for any campsite by a lake (or river).

The setting is within a pine forest, but not your average sap dropping low pines. These are very tall. We got no sap!, but lots of needles!

Many pitches are enormous. Oddly, some of the biggest are non EHU pitches.

The bar at the beach is excellent and charmingly staffed. Creperie attached, but, as has been observed, no restaurant on site. A real pity. There is a take-away food service beside the reception area.

The sanitaires and other facilities are top rate. Clean, modern. Very hot water (temp controls for showers). The washing up stands (separate for the sanitises) dispense the hottest water we have ever found on any campsite anywhere.

The campsite mini supermarket is the largest and best stocked campsite shop we have ever come across. Including an excellent selection of wines.

The two beaches serve as a watersport heaven. You can hire boats (catamarans, kayaks, pedalos) or launch your own. Many do. If you have a motor boat, beware the license fee payable if your motor is above certain power rating. The lake was great for paddling/sailing our own craft.

No swimming pool is necessary on site as the lake provides something somewhat larger than your normal olympic sized pool. And a very gently sloping sandy ledge for kids. Note: the lake bed is sand, no silty mud here.

The area is very well covered by a network of cycle paths. And, being the Landes. Is pretty flat with the odd undulation.

There are plenty of restaurants with 3-10 kms of the site. Lacanau Ocean (5 kms) has plenty. Though it is a modern resort, whose main attraction is surfing. The beaches are full of surfers in pretty well all kinds of weather. The rollers always in evidence. Otherwise the town is functional rather than charming.

Bordeaux is certainly worth a visit and meander round. Do the city bus tour to get your bearings. The new Monde Du Vin ultra modern designed building is well worth a visit if you have any interest in the grape and viniculture.

As others have mentioned. Visits to the famous Bordeaux wine producing chateaux is easy enough.

But. Mainly a site to relax on. Enjoy everything waterspouts can offer and a great cycling network.

We will return.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+julie 58 reviews from this member

This year we decided to come here in June and glad we did. The weather has been outstanding.

3 out of 4 sanitaire blocks open and all immaculate all the time. Probably about 80 units on site, about the same as when we come in September, probably half of these occupying the non electric lakeside pitches. The whole experience was that of peace and tranquillity, even seeing red squirrel amongst the trees.

The bar has a new owner and she is very polite and friendly. I missed having dark nights and sitting looking out over the lake and twinkling lights in the distance.

The takeaway was only open weekends. The creperie every night until 9pm.

Wifi is free over the whole site and is very good.

Again we did loads of cycling, had some lovely meals out. Crecommend

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+julie 58 reviews from this member

We have been to this site the same week for the past 3 years and it never fails to delight. The standards are just the same, sanitaires immaculate. The site is quiet and peaceful at the moment but still people around to give atmosphere. The takeaway is now closed but the shop, bar and the creperie are still open at least for the next week ( to 16th Sept) The weather for the past 3 years has been the same, warm, blue skies 26c to 33c. The lake is lovely and warm too.

We probably will be back again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dav8 4 reviews from this member

We spent a week at Le Tedey in August 2015.

It is a huge campsite and you definitely get the most out of it by taking your own bikes. We had a standard pitch near the long beach (not the beach where the bar and boat hire is; the other beach). And we loved it. It was our first camping holiday with our children (6. 5 and 3. 5 at the time) and they had a fantastic time here.

Although it is huge, the site is really quiet.

The shower/toilet block was brand new and had children's toilets, too, which gave them a greater degree of independence.

The site supermarket is well-stocked, the pitch was a good size, the take-away food was good.

Children liked the playground, and we also played badminton, table tennis and boules. We never had to wait long to use any of these facilities.

Everything was clean.

We actually spent most of our time on the campsite beach or out on our bikes. There are loads of cycle paths nearby (a reason we chose the site) and we did a couple of short rides and one all-day outing where we cycled to Lacanau Ocean and back on a circular route. Our 6 year-old was knackered at the end of it, but he did manage the whole thing.

The sea on the coast is quite rough, I wouldn't recommend it as a beach holiday destination for young children if you want to swim. But the campsite is on Lac Lacanau which is essentially a huge outdoor swimming pool. It's calm and lovely to swim in.

My one criticism would be that the bar doesn't serve food. We went there and got crepes form the crepe take-away next door to the bar for our wedding anniversary (glam!). The kids loved it, but we had to queue a long time for the crepes and then again to get sweet ones for dessert, so it ended up being a long evening and the kids were starving by the time they ate. So get there early if you want to have crepes for dinner!

Lacanau Ocean was quite busy in the daytime, but loads of ice-cream and food places near the seafront.

We are going to Spain this summer, but plan on going back to Le Tedey next year. We felt that there was lots more scope for more bike rides and we understand why so many families seemed to be returning there for the umpteenth time!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@julie 58 reviews from this member

We left this site today after a week stay. It is the best, most tranquil site we have ever stayed on and No 1. In our top site list.

Site in tall pine trees with dappled shade. Pitches large. Over 100mtrs sq and non electric pitches larger although when the site is full in summer there will be some smaller pitches on the edges of the site. 3 sanitaires 2 of which are brand new, immaculately clean, loos are proper ones but with no seat or loo paper. Take away very god but closed on 4/9, shop and creperie open until the 9/9 and the best bar ever bordering the lake with views to die for unfortunately will also be closing around 9/9. The cycle paths from the site are fantastic. A spiders web of paths going everywhere. The area is big with surfers as the beaches and big waves are only 6kms away. The whole area did not appear to have a very touristy air and that was great for us, still people around to give atmosphere but not hoards of folk. All in all I would give this site 10/10 and will definitely be returning next year. J x

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matthewc 4 reviews from this member

We have been going to this campsite for about 5 years now, and it's a lovely place to stay. The campsite is on lake Lacanau and is served well by public transport and cycle routes, especially to the surfing resort of Lacanau Ocean.

The facilities have been upgraded this year and are great - no problems getting a shower etc. We took our speedboat this year. Although the slipway on the site is a little shallow (fine for sail or small inflatables) there are plenty of other 'free' slipways around the lake. There is a water ski area (no towable inflatables allowed) next to the campsite. Beware of the navigation charge for the lake - 120 for a week for anything over 100hp.

The pitches bordering the lake are much in demand. The other pitches are set in the pine forest, so can be a little overcast.

There is a bar, shop, take away and bakery on site. There's no swimming pool, but the lake more than makes up for this.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BobCat10 21 reviews from this member

Location 10 - by a huge lake, with cycle paths from the site to beach locations.

Pitches - HUGE, we got a great one next to the beach this year.

Facilities 10 - spotless

Staff 10 - wonderful

Security 10

Nearby - Lacanau village with a SUPERU

Lacanau Ocean - lovely resort with bars, shops and restuarants.

Medoc - the famous wine growing region.

St Emilion - Beautiful medieval settlement.

Bordeaux - Gorgeous city and only 20k away.

Getting there - motway network in easy reach.

We rarely if ever go anywhere twice, we have been to this site 5 times over a period of 10 years.

Lovely place, highly recommend it


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lacanau      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5638 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019