Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glentress Forest Lodges And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Peebles > Glentress Forest Lodges And Campsite > Reviews

Glentress Forest Lodges And Campsite
Glentress
Peebles
Borders   (Browse area)
EH45 8NB
Tel: 01721 721007
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Djsgrant 1 review from this member

 Glentress Forest Lodges is a great place to stay if you're looking for a budget-friendly and convenient base for mountain biking or hiking in the Scottish Borders.

The lodges are located just a short walk from the Glentress Mountain Bike Centre, which has over 70 miles of trails to explore. There are also plenty of hiking trails in the area, including the Pentland Hills Regional Park.

The lodges themselves are simple but comfortable, with a fridge, kettle, and heater in each pod. There is also a shared kitchen and shower block, which are both clean and well-maintained.

The staff at Glentress Forest Lodges are friendly and helpful, and they are always happy to give advice on the best trails to ride or hike.

Overall, Glentress Forest Lodges is a great place to stay if you're looking for a fun and affordable outdoor adventure in the Scottish Borders.

Here are some of the pros and cons of Glentress Forest Lodges:

Pros:

Convenient location for mountain biking and hiking

Simple but comfortable accommodation

Clean and well-maintained facilities

Friendly and helpful staff

Cons:

Pods are a bit small for larger groups

No en suite bathrooms

Overall, I would definitely recommend Glentress Forest Lodges to anyone looking for a budget-friendly and convenient base for outdoor adventures in the Scottish Borders. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jacqui 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet campsite in a beautiful setting near forests very laid back and friendly staff

Facilities clean and showers lovely and hot

Excellent nearby walks for our 2 dogs and

Close to Peebles for shops etc

Had 2 lovely meals in the Crown Hotel

Thoroughly recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevrei 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights. Very basic site and very steep hill to get to site. As I was sliding when towing the caravan.

Never seen any warden during our time there. The so called chemical toilet, was a big hole in the ground, which was disgusting. Toilet block was passable if you were quick to have a hot shower. As hot water was scarce.

More of a camping and camper van site.

If you have bikes, then great place for cycling, and bikes for hire at entrance to site.

We went 2 nights but not recommended for longer. Not for me Iím afraid. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Natash 2 reviews from this member

 Good facilities apart from the scolding showers so wouldn't recommend for children.

The pitch had hardcore underneath so the tent was not in properly and exposed with wind wasn't great.

This site was more catered to motorhomes and caravans so I wouldn't recommend staying there more than one night if you are in a tent.

Also there is no hookup pitches his for tents. To add it was £25 a night for a small 3 man tent which I found was a bit steep and pebbles is a good 40 minute walk some of it on 50mph road

Wouldn't recommend for families. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hobby 645 2 reviews from this member

 Really liked the helpful owner, arrived in the pitch black and Ian told me not try reversing my large unit in the dark, told me to pitch side on, he even popped up in the morning to see we were OK,

Spot on. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kamilt 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Amazing location and surprisingly quiet as very close to a major road to Peebles.

Lovely and very friendly manager!

Would come again (though from Hull that's a long haul!) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kamilt 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Amazing location and surprisingly quiet as very close to a major road to Peebles.

Lovely and very friendly manager!

Would come again (though from Hull that's a long haul!) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Revid 22 reviews from this member

 A great place to cycle and the mountain biking centre has every kind of rides.

Staying here are a few hook up pitches with good showers lots of hot water including the washing up sinks.

Very pleasant reception, a little rough tracks to pitch with a steep hill at the entrance, could do with a sign to direct to Glentress site. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MikeandSam 32 reviews from this member

 Handy site for biking at Glentress or Innerleithen. Great location for exploring the Tweed Valley.

Five mins drive from Peebles with a good choice of supermarkets and takeaways.

The site was pretty busy but we never had to queue for showers. These were excellent. Lots of hot water and good water pressure! Plenty of space in the changing cubicles which had a stool and hook to keep your gear off the floor.

Facilities were adequately clean - certainly not spotless but absolutely fine to use.

Outdoor undercover wash ups were OK too. I agree with the other reviewer. You'll probably need to give them a wipe over before use.

Some road noise at night but after a busy day it wasn't enough to stop us getting to sleep.

The first night was dreadful. A noisy group that got completely out of hand with their partying - but the on site warden was quick to respond to complaints and they were kicked off site the next morning. We were assured this was a very unusual occurrence.

You can have campfires and BBQs on site and there are no great long lists of rules about ball games etc so the children were able to let off steam and everyone was very considerate around the site. Not the kind of location I would let very small children wander round. And no playground if that's a must for you. Very suitable for outdoorsy families and a step up from v basic camping.

Not the place for a family holiday necessarily but ideal as a base for forest based activities. We would certainly use this site again. Tempted to book the wigwams outside the summer season. They were cosy and well sited. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Halfpint78 9 reviews from this member

 We chose this site for it's location (beside the 7stanes mountain bike centre) and we were not disappointed. It is right across from the Glentress Peel visitor centre. My 9 year old son and I had a fantastic time biking round Glentress.

It is close to Peebles and there are numerous other attractions close by. We walked at Glentress and also along the river at Peebles. We also visited Traquair house which I would recommend.

The site is set up for the wigwams but has an area for tents etc as well (some with hookup). The facilities are excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The showers are lovely and warm, clean and they were free!

There was a kitchen area with toaster, micro, fridge etc and a washing up area outside as well. We found the drying room invaluable. For £16 per night for the 2 of us it was a bargain too.

There were only minor negatives for this site. The pitches are quite stony and difficult to get pegs into. The outdoor washing up area was pretty dirty as well and I had to clean a sink to use it. If we were staying any longer we would have needed laundry facilities as well but could live without for a few days.

All in all we've had a fab holiday and would highly recommend the site to others! 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Glentress Forest Lodges And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glentress Forest Lodges And Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Glentress Forest Lodges And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Peebles      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4355 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement