Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holton Orchards Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth > Holton Orchards Caravan Site Reviews

Holton Orchards Caravan Site
The Street
Holton
Halesworth
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP19 8PN
Tel: 01986 873142
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wsseaman 67 reviews from this member

 Easy to find the site as it’s signposted on the opposite side of the road. There is a large garden centre/farm shop opposite. The site is basically two large grassed areas linked together by a strip of land used to store caravans surrounded by an orchard.

It is a very quiet site and well kept, the shower/toilet block looked very modern but was closed due to COVID. Cost is £20 a night cash only.

The site owner is very friendly and accommodating. It took 30 mins to walk into Halesworth, the majority of which was on public footpaths which was very pleasant.

Halesworth is very well served with a pharmacy, vets, several garages and plenty of cafes and eateries.

I would definitely recommend staying there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wooliew 10 reviews from this member

 This is a superb site near the Suffolk coast and close to Southwold and RSPB Minsmere. Set in an orchard farm there is plenty of space for your caravan. There is a small modern toilet/shower block that is kept spotlessly clean.

The owners are friendly and attentive.

Good value at £20 a night which includes hookup and an awning. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sarahheath 1 review from this member

 Idyllic site for those who like peace and quiet. Lovely location. There is a farm type shop opposite the entrance to the site selling basics and more.

Also a nice little independent garden centre with a cafe which serves a good selection to suit all needs, from breakfasts to tea and cakes, not to mention lovely home made soup.

So, all the amenities and Southwold a short drive away

A trip to Snape Maltings with it’s music associations, shopping, antiques centre and cafes is not far away Not far away also is Aldeburgh which makes an interesting full or half day out.

All told, plenty to do and a peaceful end to the day back at the site

There is a new toilet block which is spotlessly clean 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jgeem 1 review from this member

 We stayed over a mid August weekend. There were never more than three units on site, but there is space for at least 40. The single male and single female toilet was very clean - but in an old residential van. The site is very quiet.

However I think it should charge around £10 a night, rather than £19. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bestieboy 25 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed this quiet site located in an orchard near Halesworth, just inland from the attractive Suffolk coast with all the usual areas to visit within easy reach, Southwold, Walberswick, Dunwich, Minsmere, Thorpness and Aldeburgh. Halesworth, which is a lovely 1/2 hour walk from the site, is a small pretty town with a selection of tea rooms. There is also a fair sized COOP supermarket for provisions and fuel within the town which is just 5 minutes drive away.

The site is all grass and the caravans are located around the edge of a clearing within the orchards. There are vans in storage to one side and quite a bit of old farm machinery lying around which can appear a bit scruffy but only in a charming way.

A lot of other campers had their vans in storage and had them pulled out for the bank holiday weekend. I would guess most use their own facilities as there is only one shower, basin and toilet for men and one of each for ladies. The showers are located in an old static van and again appears a little scruffy but is perfectly clean and functional with hot water.

We have dogs and enjoyed walks around the perimeter of the orchards in the morning and evening.

Only one very small gripe; grass regularly mown but not collected so this can get into van when wet.

We will visit again as it was quiet, reasonable value and well located in one of our favourite areas to escape to for a weekend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JulesMartin 6 reviews from this member

 We visited this site over a long weekend and had excellent weather just prior to their harvest period. This is a working orchard with thousands of apple trees in the middle of which is a lovely camp field near to a smallish fishing lake.

The field is flat with hook-ups and taps. There is a very small shower block which is actually a converted static caravan so facilities in regard to showers and toilets has to rated as limited but in fairness to the lovely couple who run the site this is designed for touring vans and not tents.

A good site and friendly couple well placed in the heart of Suffolk for touring. Oh and by the way, lovely apples  


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jennycolin 5 reviews from this member

 This was the perfect site for us as it was quiet and we had plenty of room to put up our drive away tent next to the campervan. We wanted to chill out and have a rest so we didn't do a lot of exploring but we really enjoyed short trips to Kessingland and Southwold.

The area is close to the coast and to nice inland areas, lots of small towns and pretty villages. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the smell of apples from the orchards was intoxicating! We stayed for an extra day and came home laden with fruit from the farm shop. The toilet and shower facilities are basic but perfectly adequate for us - you need a torch to get there after dark.

We had a wonderful view of the northern lights at night and heard an owl hooting, if you want a quiet country site this is for you We will certainly stay at this site again if we revisit the area.

Oops, sorry, in my review of this campsite I mentioned the northern lights - senior moment, it's not far north enough for that. I meant the North Star, and we saw lots of other stars too, I've never seen that many at home. We heard the owl every night, it really was a lovely place to be. We didn't have any children with us but there are games and books that the children can look at in the ladies shower block. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Plum1975 3 reviews from this member

 What a little gem of a site! If you want peace and quiet this is the place for you.

The pitches are surrounded by orchards which I'm sure when they are in full bloom is a magnificent sight. We turned up for a 4 night stay and found we were the only ones there for our whole stay, well apart from a few rabbits.

The toilet facilities are basic but do the job and always spotlessly clean and plenty of hot water for showers. They do charge a £1 for a shower, but when the cost is only £18 a night with hook up, I really don't think it is bad value.

The site is in easy reach of Southwold and I would recommend the bus service which runs on a regular basis and is cheaper than parking charges in the town. The on site shop is great and you can get all the basic supplies you will need. The couple who run the site are delightful, they are not intrusive and always happy to help if required.

I really had trouble whether to write a review as I don't want other people to find this site as it is an idyllic place to stay and want to keep it to myself. We will be going back very soon. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 A great site set within a working orchard. Very easy to find, you will see a brown “Holton Orchard” caravan symbol sign directing you up a long driveway. As you are set way back off the road, it is very peaceful, stars are very clear, and birdsong is exceptional, even in February.

Please note that the site is no longer open all year, but from 2012, for the summer season only. As I arrived without booking, the owners were kind enough to let me stay as an exception, so for the purposes of this review, I had the place to myself!

Pitching areas are clearings actually amongst the apple trees, so shelter from wind is good. Ground is virtually level, well prepared and well drained.

Toilets & showers (£1, honesty system, pay in shop) are conveniently located in a converted static caravan. Its interior is simply, but nicely done, and the ladies are even treated to a lounge area!

Families with children might like to note the presence of an unfenced pond on site.

Very dog friendly, no charge for dogs. Good dog walks on the footpaths across the adjacent fields.

Substantial on site Farm Shop for your basics (and numerous unusual apple varieties), and most everything else can be obtained in Halesworth.

To sum up: An informal and traditional style camping & caravanning experience as it should be. Apple pies all round then, 10 / 10 ! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holton Orchards Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holton Orchards Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holton Orchards Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Halesworth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3300 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement