Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Meadowsweet Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Rutland > Oakham > Meadowsweet Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Meadowsweet Farm Certificated Site
Knossington Road
Braunston In Rutland
Oakham
Rutland   (Browse area)
LE15 8QX
Tel: 01572
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jostar3737 7 reviews from this member

We missed the entrance on arrival so I'd advise to do prior research before you visit. Very small and informal, we had the site to ourselves and yes there are two pitches with hardstanding but our clutch didn't like reversing onto them! Nice views and very isolated. Farmer very friendly and lent us the firepit and access to lots of wood which the kids loved. The two collies were nice but only if you like dogs regularly around your caravan. Didn't use the toilet so can't comment. Did midnight walk around a formal trail which the farmer has installed, lots of statues and funny ornaments which kept us entertained. Lots of old outdoor toys scattered around the site which the kids also enjoyed. Nice rolling views over farmland. Presume that there are lots of PROW's either on site or nearby. Useful location to visiting Oakham, Rutland Water etc. Thought it was a bit expensive for what it is but since there is not that much choice nearby its definitely worth considering.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pennynoble 1 review from this member

Absolutely love this camp site. We had a lovely 2 nights with our girls (8 & 5) it was great to see them enjoy the beautiful countryside. There are two level pitches with EHU for caravans. The farmer helped us to straighten up on the paving he has installed on the very gentle slope. He is so helpful, friendly and welcoming and provides wood and lifts to the local pub. The farm dogs Holly and Belle are really friendly and so well trained. You are able to walk freely around the small holding. You are surrounded by sheep and cows :-) if you walk to see the 600yr oak then you will see the two pigs too! There are two fire pits (one single one and one to share). About 6 miles from Rutland Water, 2 miles from Oakham. We ate in the Old Plough in Braunston - the food was great and reasonably priced. The 'loo with a view' is adequate and fully stocked with paper and cleaning products. You are on a working farm so its not sparkly clean but its fine. There are a few kids toys dotted about the field. There is no shower so wouldn't be great for a long stay but ok for weekends. There is a local shop in Oakham (2nd left as you approach the town from Braunston). Very peaceful and a great retreat. It's a special place, a great weekend was had.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julib 7 reviews from this member

This site is a real gem. Had a fantastic few days here.

It's beautifully situated in rolling countryside with lovely views, off a quiet country lane. Access is straightforward.

The site has a gentle slope. The owner has thoughtfully installed a couple of level pitches but otherwise levelling ramps are a must have.

The facilities are basic but that's to be expected. There's a 'Loo with a view' which is in a shed but is clean and fresh smelling. The shed has one-way glass so does really have a view over the countryside. There are piles of logs if you want a campfire and there are numerous chairs available to sit on. There's a delightful woodland walk.

The owner is very friendly and extremely helpful but not at all intrusive. His two sheepdogs are also very friendly, bringing sticks to the caravan to be thrown. You'll be worn out before they are!

If you're looking for modern facilities this site is not for you but if you're after peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings then it's perfect.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pacarjar 3 reviews from this member

A splendid quiet site on a slight slope. There are a few (3) caravan/motorhome places that have slabs to enable level parking.

The site is very tranquil and an ideal spot for walking/cycling from.

The farm has a trail that runs round the perimeter of the farm, through several fields and takes in woodland, meadow and follows the burbling river Gwash for a while.

A few el;ectric hook-ups are available and the power was reliable for our short stay.

Only one toilet and wash basin is available but it was clean and tidy. These facilities are in an adapted shed that humourously says its a loo with a view. Quite right too - a lovelly view over the roling countryside. One way glass stops anyone seeing in.

There is no shower so it is suitable for short stays unless you have your own facilities.

The farm and site are run by a friendly family and they are very helpful with local knowlege should you need information.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FOX55 2 reviews from this member

Just had a fantastic weekend at this campsite with 4 others just us on the field the owner just left us to get on with what we came to do just CHILL OUT and we did.

The pub in the village was so welcoming and help full good food and good company and not that far to walk too

The toilet was in a shed but fully functional and clean

We will be going back at some point

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thebarbys 3 reviews from this member

Had a lovely Easter break at Meadowseet farm. When we arrived the field was quite wet due to the recent rain but the owner helped us out with his 4x4.

Lovely unspoilt views and birds a plenty. The site has a small wood to walk through leading down to a brook then across the field back up to the farm which we were happy to let the children venture off into by themselves. We were lucky enough to be there at lambing season with a couple being born whilst we were there, and we all enjoyed the company of Holly and Belle the resident sheepdogs who love a bit of fuss. Braunston village is within walking distance (less than a mile) with a couple of

Nice pubs. Oakham is a 5 minute drive for the shops and there was a market on Saturday and Rutland water was just a few miles more. Will definitely return

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rogerduffy 6 reviews from this member

Just got back from a lovely weekend at this gorgeous little site.

We only went so we could visit Rutland water but ended up so relaxed and comfortable at this site that we didn't even get to the lake!

The very nice farmer has really put it all into this site. A fantastic woodland walk around the site with little hidden animal statues dotted around to keep the kids amused.

A very nice campfire situated with sitting logs in place and free firewood at the bottom of the field away from the tents, great for the kids kept them occupied for ages collecting stick for the bonfire.

I must say this is the best site we have ever found on our travels yet. I didn't even have to level the caravan for the first time ever. As the owner has very thoughtfully leveled a couple of pitches.

Loo, although in a shed, is nice and clean.

Local village (braunston) has a couple of quaint pubs in although we didn't eat there we did have a couple of very nice beers sat in the beer garden. Just a few mile further on and you get supermarkets a sat market at Oakham.

All in all I can't rate this site highly enough. If a peaceful weekend with an owner who goes the extra mile is what you want then this site is for you.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mims 4 reviews from this member

This is a lovely, small, rural campsite; peaceful and situated in beautiful countryside. We have an XL tent, and had been assigned a reasonably level corner of the small camping field where we were perfectly comfortable; however, much of the site has a significant slope and larger tents could find locating a level pitch a little tricky.

That said, there is a delightful wooded walk around the site which is full of birds and interesting wild flowers. There are longer walks nearby and Braunston itself is within easy walking distance.

Oakham contains three supermarkets and is just a few minutes drive away. There is a temporary (and perfectly acceptable) 'loo with a view' housed in a shed until planning permission can be obtained for a more permanent structure, but no showers, so perhaps only suitable for caravans and short-stay tenters using smaller tents.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vivvy 1 review from this member

Had a really lovely stay here over a nice weekend. The owners were so welcoming and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble and they made some great suggestions for walks and places to eat and even offered to give us a lift back afterwards.

The location is really picturesque and very quiet - just off a small B road amongst fields and woods - with fabulous views.

The site was being upgraded to incorporate a toilet but there were already electric points available.

Access to the field was absolutely fine but it looked like it might be slightly awkward if there was a lot of rain, however I'm sure the owners would help if necessary.

Will definitely be going back soon.


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Oakham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Rutland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2921 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder