Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Roman Wall Lodges

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Roman Wall Lodges
Beaumont
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA5 6ED
Tel: 07784 736423
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 tent pitches
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hoggie16 1 review from this member

I wanted to review this site since the last review was some time ago and wanted to give an update. We stayed in a tent and the pitch area was nice and flat and had a few wooden tables and benches for campers use. Unfortunately, we pitched near one which was a bit rickety so we were tentative about using the stove on it. Martin, the owner, did warn us that it was 'past its best' though. The facilities are pretty decent - a wooden lodge is used as a base for toilets and showers - there are two complete bathrooms, one has a bath with shower over it, one has a shower unit. Both bathrooms have a toilet and washbasin. There is also a separate toilet. The showers were nice and hot but I think the bathrooms could have done with a bit of a clean up; but that could just be down to scruffy backpackers. When you come into the lodge there is a long, rectangular table and chairs and anyone can come in and just rest up in there if the weather is unpleasant. There are some electrical points which can be used for recharging GPS, ipads etc. There is a pub, The Drovers Rest 5 minutes walk away - its a really lovely place with good food and real ale for those who are enthusiasts (we aren't and stuck to Fosters). As for location, Hadrians Wall Lodges is in a good spot for those, like us, walking the Hadrians Wall trail. It's a 5. 5 mile walk to Carlisle through Grinsdale to do that bit of the wall. We did this walk in both directions a few times but there are buses available Mon-Sat if you only want to do it in one direction. The walk from Beaumont to Bowness on Solway is about 9-10 miles and takes in St Michael's Church in Burgh By Sands - it is made from stone from Hadrians Wall and well worth a visit. There is also a memorial to Edward I in Burgh which you pass on the road so keep your camera handy. All in All Hadrians Wall Lodges is a steal at 5 per adult per night; a backpackers favourite judging by the regular visitors over the 3 nights we were there.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisaky 1 review from this member

Stayed four nights april 2016, camping in own tent, very helpful owner, facilities great, ideal for backpackers and walkers, does accommodate large tents ( as was ours ) but I suggest to ring and book in high season as I can imagine it can get full quickly, if you want peace, quiet, walks, fires, and a pub 100 yards down the road, this is the campsite for you ! great stay, thankyou martin

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Seanfdh 12 reviews from this member

We stayed in the 'shieling' which is a two room cabin. Twin bedroom, small bathroom, kitchen/diner area with double futon type sofabed. Everything was impeccably clean and worked as it should. We were told to just ask if we wanted more blankets etc but they weren't needed. We've also stayed in the 'wigwams' in the past, again clean and fully equipped.

The common areas are well looked after with good baths and showers and a supply of boardgames etc.

There's a good pub nearby and the Hadrian's wall shuttle bus goes past the end of the road. The wall path itself is a short walk from the site.

This isn't a site for a long stay in my opinion but as a place to sleep for a night or three when walking the wall it's ideal in my opinion.

Barbecues/fires are allowed and can be borrowed if you don't have one with you.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jdowd 3 reviews from this member

Great little 'backpackers' campsite. Warm facilities such as a breakfast room and a chill out room. The facilities are clean and tidy.

There's plenty of space to pitch, and the grounds are well looked after.

It is out in the sticks, with a bus service every two hours or so each way. Also, bring food and snacks along with you, there isn't anywhere to top on for snacks etc although the local pub has a tub chocolates to purchase!

The staff are friendly and helpful but this is really for backpackers, and not really for people wanting to camp and do things.

Still, this is a great little site for short stops!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jrtonks 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here on the fifth night of our Hadrian's Wall walk (East to West). I cannot fault this site. The pitches are perfect, it is set up for walkers and close to the Hadrian's Wall Trail. Prices are very reasonable and the facilities are excellent. The owner is a former hiker and knows what we need! There is even a CAMRA award-winning pub five minutes walk away. The owner allows Wall walkers to leave their cars safely on site for a reasonable fee.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pinky25 2 reviews from this member

Stayed with friends for two nights camping. We were greeted on arrival and given a tour by Martin who was friendly and extremely helpful. He showed us around one of his wigwams when we asked and they looked really great and very well priced. We took some walks from the campsite up to the river which was lovely. Pub was a very short walk away, good food and ales. We were given a fire pit to use and some wood which was good as a lot of sites no longer allow fires. The facilities were very, very good. A large cabin with several bathrooms and a dining area. Would definitely recommend! 10/10. Thanks Martin :)

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Stickg 2 reviews from this member

A smashing little site and easy to find. Martin the manager was very friendly and approachable. Stayed the night in one of the little chalets as the shower block was being renovated (Martin still only charged me the price of a single tent which was very decent of him) and it was clean, warm with a nice little kitchen and a nice hot shower. Would definitely recommend this site, and will stay there again

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BadgerBex 1 review from this member

Stayed here with some friends over the weekend, couldn't fault this site in any way. The owners were extremely friendly, there was nothing more they could have done to help us, from supplying a BBQ, a fire pit, lending us extra sleeping bags (because it was quite a cold night), to supplying tools to help us fix a small problem with our engine.

The site has a cosy personal feel It is big enough to have your own space and privacy, but small enough that you don't have to walk far for that inevitable late night trip to the toilet! The facilities are exceptionally clean and well maintained, with three toilets, a shower and a bath as well as a library of books and games to keep anyone entertained.

There is a lovely pub 5 mins walk away with friendly staff and yummy food at decent prices. All the customers are welcoming and friendly, so it doesn't feel like a local pub for local people! And your canine friend can come too.

The main road gives you Asda if you want to buy BBQ supplies and for a beautiful walk with or without a dog, take a trip to Brampton, just 25-30 mins drive to Talkin Tarn, a beautiful lake with a cafe and ice-cream shop, where you can just walk various routes around the lake or fish for pike. Or head to any of the Hadrian's Wall sites, there are loads of brochures available to plan your days entertainment.

We will definitely return to this site, probably in the summer, and recommend it to all.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Fathead1dad 3 reviews from this member

This really is a hidden delight, only about 6 miles from Carlisle city centre but feels a world away with its tranquillity and serene atmosphere.

The owner and his lovely wife couldn't do enough to make us welcome and were always on hand if assistance was required.

We stayed in the self catering cabin and found the facilities fantastic, this was a nice break in the middle of our campervaning tour of Cumbria and then across to york.

The Drovers arms pub only 350 yds away is a real oldy worldy type pub recently taken over by Sandy and Sarah and we wish them all the best in their venture( Food and real ales were great).

The communal lounge room at the site is a great idea and was utilised by our daughters to watch movies on our laptop while we relaxed in the cabin.

Over all fantastic value for money far exceeded what we expected for the price.

One small observation being that maybe the small hob in the cabin could do with updating soon its a bit temperamental and settings have rubbed off and if that's the way they Martin wants to take it a bit of canny advertising( we have posted on vw T4forum) to maybe widen his catchment other than walkers and cyclists.

Will definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Redders499 14 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two nights stay at this site, we had our own tent. It has a couple of camping cabins or 'wigwams', and cabin, set up tent and space for maybe 7 or 8 tents.

The facilities are housed within another larger cabin. There are two bathrooms, one with a bath, and also a separate toilet. Martin, the owner, keeps the place spotlessly clean and obviously takes great pride in the appearance of the site and the communal areas. There is a library, and somewhere warm to sit if it rains outside! This is a really excellent feature.

The site is level, well drained, spacious and plenty of room to pitch. There are lots of walkers coming through here, and it is perfect for that.

Owner is amazing, he is genuinely interested in people, can't do enough for each visitor and has created a lovely, quiet site.

We would definitely return and would recommend to walkers and campers wanting to see the area, alike.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3150 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!