Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Roman Wall Lodges

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Roman Wall Lodges Reviews

Roman Wall Lodges
Beaumont
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA5 6ED
Tel: 07784 736423
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 tent pitches
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tarifapirate 2 reviews from this member

 I were cycle touring route 72 and stayed at campsite just for one night.

Paul the owner is just a great guy. He was very accommodating.

10 out of 10 for the site, its clean and extremely well maintained.

Great showers etc.

Thanks again for helping me rid myself of my finger burning cup Paul. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hoggie16 1 review from this member

 I wanted to review this site since the last review was some time ago and wanted to give an update. We stayed in a tent and the pitch area was nice and flat and had a few wooden tables and benches for campers use. Unfortunately, we pitched near one which was a bit rickety so we were tentative about using the stove on it. Martin, the owner, did warn us that it was 'past its best' though. The facilities are pretty decent - a wooden lodge is used as a base for toilets and showers - there are two complete bathrooms, one has a bath with shower over it, one has a shower unit. Both bathrooms have a toilet and washbasin. There is also a separate toilet. The showers were nice and hot but I think the bathrooms could have done with a bit of a clean up; but that could just be down to scruffy backpackers. When you come into the lodge there is a long, rectangular table and chairs and anyone can come in and just rest up in there if the weather is unpleasant. There are some electrical points which can be used for recharging GPS, ipads etc. There is a pub, The Drovers Rest 5 minutes walk away - its a really lovely place with good food and real ale for those who are enthusiasts (we aren't and stuck to Fosters). As for location, Hadrians Wall Lodges is in a good spot for those, like us, walking the Hadrians Wall trail. It's a 5. 5 mile walk to Carlisle through Grinsdale to do that bit of the wall. We did this walk in both directions a few times but there are buses available Mon-Sat if you only want to do it in one direction. The walk from Beaumont to Bowness on Solway is about 9-10 miles and takes in St Michael's Church in Burgh By Sands - it is made from stone from Hadrians Wall and well worth a visit. There is also a memorial to Edward I in Burgh which you pass on the road so keep your camera handy. All in All Hadrians Wall Lodges is a steal at 5 per adult per night; a backpackers favourite judging by the regular visitors over the 3 nights we were there. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisaky 1 review from this member

 Stayed four nights april 2016, camping in own tent, very helpful owner, facilities great, ideal for backpackers and walkers, does accommodate large tents ( as was ours ) but I suggest to ring and book in high season as I can imagine it can get full quickly, if you want peace, quiet, walks, fires, and a pub 100 yards down the road, this is the campsite for you ! great stay, thankyou martin 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Seanfdh 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed in the 'shieling' which is a two room cabin. Twin bedroom, small bathroom, kitchen/diner area with double futon type sofabed. Everything was impeccably clean and worked as it should. We were told to just ask if we wanted more blankets etc but they weren't needed. We've also stayed in the 'wigwams' in the past, again clean and fully equipped.

The common areas are well looked after with good baths and showers and a supply of boardgames etc.

There's a good pub nearby and the Hadrian's wall shuttle bus goes past the end of the road. The wall path itself is a short walk from the site.

This isn't a site for a long stay in my opinion but as a place to sleep for a night or three when walking the wall it's ideal in my opinion.

Barbecues/fires are allowed and can be borrowed if you don't have one with you. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jdowd 3 reviews from this member

 Great little 'backpackers' campsite. Warm facilities such as a breakfast room and a chill out room. The facilities are clean and tidy.

There's plenty of space to pitch, and the grounds are well looked after.

It is out in the sticks, with a bus service every two hours or so each way. Also, bring food and snacks along with you, there isn't anywhere to top on for snacks etc although the local pub has a tub chocolates to purchase!

The staff are friendly and helpful but this is really for backpackers, and not really for people wanting to camp and do things.

Still, this is a great little site for short stops! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jrtonks 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on the fifth night of our Hadrian's Wall walk (East to West). I cannot fault this site. The pitches are perfect, it is set up for walkers and close to the Hadrian's Wall Trail. Prices are very reasonable and the facilities are excellent. The owner is a former hiker and knows what we need! There is even a CAMRA award-winning pub five minutes walk away. The owner allows Wall walkers to leave their cars safely on site for a reasonable fee. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pinky25 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed with friends for two nights camping. We were greeted on arrival and given a tour by Martin who was friendly and extremely helpful. He showed us around one of his wigwams when we asked and they looked really great and very well priced. We took some walks from the campsite up to the river which was lovely. Pub was a very short walk away, good food and ales. We were given a fire pit to use and some wood which was good as a lot of sites no longer allow fires. The facilities were very, very good. A large cabin with several bathrooms and a dining area. Would definitely recommend! 10/10. Thanks Martin :) 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Stickg 2 reviews from this member

 A smashing little site and easy to find. Martin the manager was very friendly and approachable. Stayed the night in one of the little chalets as the shower block was being renovated (Martin still only charged me the price of a single tent which was very decent of him) and it was clean, warm with a nice little kitchen and a nice hot shower. Would definitely recommend this site, and will stay there again 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BadgerBex 1 review from this member

 Stayed here with some friends over the weekend, couldn't fault this site in any way. The owners were extremely friendly, there was nothing more they could have done to help us, from supplying a BBQ, a fire pit, lending us extra sleeping bags (because it was quite a cold night), to supplying tools to help us fix a small problem with our engine.

The site has a cosy personal feel It is big enough to have your own space and privacy, but small enough that you don't have to walk far for that inevitable late night trip to the toilet! The facilities are exceptionally clean and well maintained, with three toilets, a shower and a bath as well as a library of books and games to keep anyone entertained.

There is a lovely pub 5 mins walk away with friendly staff and yummy food at decent prices. All the customers are welcoming and friendly, so it doesn't feel like a local pub for local people! And your canine friend can come too.

The main road gives you Asda if you want to buy BBQ supplies and for a beautiful walk with or without a dog, take a trip to Brampton, just 25-30 mins drive to Talkin Tarn, a beautiful lake with a cafe and ice-cream shop, where you can just walk various routes around the lake or fish for pike. Or head to any of the Hadrian's Wall sites, there are loads of brochures available to plan your days entertainment.

We will definitely return to this site, probably in the summer, and recommend it to all. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Fathead1dad 3 reviews from this member

 This really is a hidden delight, only about 6 miles from Carlisle city centre but feels a world away with its tranquillity and serene atmosphere.

The owner and his lovely wife couldn't do enough to make us welcome and were always on hand if assistance was required.

We stayed in the self catering cabin and found the facilities fantastic, this was a nice break in the middle of our campervaning tour of Cumbria and then across to york.

The Drovers arms pub only 350 yds away is a real oldy worldy type pub recently taken over by Sandy and Sarah and we wish them all the best in their venture( Food and real ales were great).

The communal lounge room at the site is a great idea and was utilised by our daughters to watch movies on our laptop while we relaxed in the cabin.

Over all fantastic value for money far exceeded what we expected for the price.

One small observation being that maybe the small hob in the cabin could do with updating soon its a bit temperamental and settings have rubbed off and if that's the way they Martin wants to take it a bit of canny advertising( we have posted on vw T4forum) to maybe widen his catchment other than walkers and cyclists.

Will definitely be visiting again. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Roman Wall Lodges child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Roman Wall Lodges?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Roman Wall Lodges dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7137 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement