Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Binion Bay Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Donegal > Binion Bay Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Binion Bay Caravan & Camping Park
Binion
Clonmany
Donegal
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: +353 749376800
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: H-kumpfert 1 review from this member

A nice place to relax!

Binion Bay Caravan Park is a small, neat, absolutely quiet place,

Beyond traffic and other noise, surrounded just by nature.

All needed facilities are there, clean toilets, warm water,

Good electric showers, washing machine and drier are available.

The village near the place has a super market and several pubs.

Within 2miles the beach can be reached.

A small restaurant, located at the neighbor village, serves the

Most fresh and delicious fish.

The Site owners knowledge about his area is extensive, he supplies

People with tips and information. However, above all, he is remarkable

Ready to help. We wouldn’t have managed a camper-van Problem without

His and a manual workers intensive support.

Gladly we come again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gpjw 11 reviews from this member

An unmanned site with no security gate. A narrow strip of land which makes pitching of caravans difficult and involves passing close to other caravans, motorhomes and tents. Views however were lovely, surrounded by mountains with the beach in the distance. I pitched on the grass section and although electric was available, it was quite a trek to go to the shower block, dispose of waste or get water. The toilet block had no lighting during the day, no hot water, no soap or towels/hand drier. One electric shower was provided in each of the men's and women's section. During my stay this area was never cleaned and the owner was rarely seen. On two days there were no bins for general refuse! Apart from me having his phone number there was no information as to how he could be contacted. My mobile phone could not get a signal, so I was glad I didn't need to. All in all, this site is uncared for, however the one big plus for myself was the peacefulness.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wavebird 1 review from this member

We were camping in a tent, as a couple, and stayed for 4 nights. The surrounding scenery is beautiful and it's a lovely setting for a site.

It's a quirky site however, as others have said, set as it is on one long narrow strip of ground. It means that everyone is pitched in a line with no room to the front as the track is right there. It didn't affect us too much but it does mean that every vehicle and pedestrian/child on a bike passes you inches away. It also limits the room you can sit or cook outside. Your car is alongside too of course taking up spare space. We were among mixed vehicles and tents as we booked with electric hook up. At very the far end it seems to be just tents but no electric at present. The loos are a good ol' trek for these people.

The owner has invested in WiFi for the site but at the time of our stay it wasn't working(an easy settings fix for him when he can get it sorted, I'm sure)

There are no soap dispensers in the toilets and no other form of soap or hand dryers so take soap and a towel each time with you.

There is one shower each for ladies and gents, free of charge and I never found a queue. They have hooks to hang things on but take your clothes in a bag to hang up as there's no dry area in the shower.

The reception wasn't manned while we there but the owner visited regularly so you just have to catch him. We were a bit put off as we'd phoned a couple of times before arrival to no answer and when you arrive a notice says to go and set up and the owner will find you later. We did this (choice defined by electric hook ups) but later when he did arrive he said that OTHER people had parked in the wrong place and we would likely have to move the following morning when he'd moved them(a completely exhausting thought when you've driven 8 hours and just unpacked all your stuff)

We didn't move in the end but were edgy for a good while we might have to, which wasn't much fun. This is my long winded way of saying to check exactly where he'd like you to pitch before you do so, if you can.

On the owners part, he could have had a much better daily notice in the window of reception telling people their slots if he didn't want to answer calls/be there. An easy solution for him.

(A sign to the campsite in Clonmany square would be great too!)

You can't beat the beauty of the area and the site is reasonably priced, clean and there are shops, bars and a chinese takaway close by.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aplpdf22 3 reviews from this member

Do not be put off by first impressions. On arrival we were not Impressed entrance sharp turn for our long twin axle van and nothing but a long strip of concrete in site BUT once you reach touring strip and get pitched you start to appreciate the beauty of the location. Total isolation great views in all directions and when we were there plenty of space. The owner Ian is very helpful. The toilets and showers could be cleaner and both I and the lady in the tent next to us had cold showers a couple of times due to an intermittent fault, annoying as it could work perfectly in the morning but only give cold water in the evening for no reason. However the total peace and views overcame this minor issue and we would thoroughly recommend using if visiting this area. Also Ian did say that he has plans to upgrade the facilities in general.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gus52 1 review from this member

Binnion Bay caravan and camping park, Inishowen Co Donegal.

Compact site but excellent shower and toilet facilities, very friendly owner, my battery was flat on my van and he immediately wanted to help, went for a battery charger and charged the battery.

He has a world of knowledge about the attractions in the area, shops dining and pubs are about 15 mins walk. First time caravanning but great experience.

Gus

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynjon 1 review from this member

Stayed 1st week in august and was delighted with the site. I would liken the site to a runway a long narrow strip, but this was ideal as there were no other vans in front or behind you so you had a great view of the surrounding countryside. The toilet/shower/laundry bloke were fine and placed in the centre of the static vans. There were no play areas for kids but the near by beaches are all they need. The warden/owner was very helpful and easy going. Take a per of wellies and you can take a short cut to the beach. The nearest town is clonmany 1 mile away with everything you need. There is beautiful scenery all around and should be checked out,

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vickywhyte1@hotmail 3 reviews from this member

Just back from 3 nights at this site this Easter and I agree with everything the previous review said.

On first impressions it is a strange looking site. A very narrow strip of land with one row of caravans and tents and a narrow road down the length of the site but once we set up we could see the benefits of this arrangement. You have an unobstructed view in front and behind your pitch and the views are beautiful, you could nearly forget there was anyone else there. There is a beach just in front of the site but you do have to walk quite a bit to get to it as there is no direct path but you could drive to it and it is really stunning when you get there. There are lots of other beaches up and down the coast so you wont be stuck for choice.

The nearest village, Clonmany, is roughly a mile away and we walked with our 4 year old several times.

One issue was the toilets. They are situated quite far away from the tent pitches and in the middle of the, approx 10, static caravans. Since it tends to be those in tents that use the toilets and showers it would have made more sense to have them nearer to this end of the site. Also the showers have no hooks etc to hang your dry clothes and the lights only come on at night. In the womans toilet there is one small window and neither of the wash hand basins are near this window.

The owner was very welcoming and was happy to describe and direct us to local attractions and sites. This is not a large site and seems to have about 12 EHU and then another similar sized area for non EHU tent pitches. We usually travel with our vw campervan and a 4 man tent and can sometimes be charged for both the van and the tent even though we don't have any facilities in the van and use the tent for everything. At this site this was not a problem you pay for a EHU pitch or non EHU pitch and you put up what you want also the pitches seemed to be very spacious.

All in all great site, gorgeous place and plenty see and do.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geordie C 1 review from this member

A great site, very quiet and ideally placed for visiting Inishowen. Facilities include electric, toilets and showers pluse a washer and dryer in the utility room.

Ian checks in frequently and the site is very secure. If you want or need some r&r this IS the place. Put your feet up, open a bottle of red and open your book.

No playparks or sandpits but we had a three and one year old with us for two days and they had a ball. Plenty of space to run around and be a child without the need for slides and swings.

On arrival there is no reception so you just pitch your tent and Ian will be in sometime to see you.

Big advice - unless you have an electric coolbox only take whatever fresh meat and milk you need for 2 or 3 days. Get more in the supermarkets. There is a Centra supermarket, pharmacy and a garage in Clonmany. Only 10 k away is a large Supervalu supermarket - Carndonagh.

There are plenty of local pubs and food around Inishowen, the Rusty Nail (go toward Dunaff from Clonmany) is excellent. There are beaches and bays galore in this area. You can find yourself the only ones there. Follow the road to Mamore Gap and drive through the pass in the Urris hills (20 minutes drive) go down the hill at the other side and turn right to Dunree. Take the first small road on your right, there is a layby just before Dunree hill with a path to a fantastic bay. Follow the road on and you will come to Dunree Fort. This is an old British fort that was then occupied by the irish following partition. The coastal guns are still in place in the bunker at the top of the hill. There are many other walks in the area of the site for example the waterfall approximately 2k from Clonmany toward Dunaff. You can park off road but remember to close the gate on entering and leaving the carpark. The Famine Village is worth a visit - be prepared for a lecture on ethics that will make you think a bit more about how you use your resources.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in S Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


659 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019