Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Municipal Du Soissons

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Soissons > Camping Municipal Du Soissons Reviews

Camping Municipal Du Soissons
14 Avenue Du Mail
Soissons
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
02200
Tel: +33 02 23745269
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 117
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

Nice municipal site about 1 mile from the centre of Soissons.

Large pitches and good facilities.

Nice parkland surrounding the site.

Friendly welcome. Very good value.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 112 reviews from this member

The entrance to the site is not very obvious, so approach slowly ( there is a roundabout at the end of the road if you overshoot)

On arrival you go and choose your own pitch, set up and then proceed to reception to register. The pitches sizes vary from mainly large to enormous. There are one or two small pitches if you prefer.

The electrics are in group pods so you may need a lead extension, the connection is the normal blue fitting.

The sanitaire block is totally enclosed and reasonably modern but perhaps a bit tired. The water in all the areas is abundant and hot. Entry is by key code, but we found people propped open the door for easy access.

The campsite is within a large municipal parkland sports and leisure complex which has many walking/cycle paths. The towpath into town is a bit holely in parts and once past the town becomes a narrow track rather than your “voie verte”

The town centre is about 1. 5 kms from the site, where you will find a very helpful Tourist Office.

We found this to be a delightful, if limited site. Ideally situated at about 160 miles from Dunkirk/Calais as a first stop into France.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- The site is situated on the northern edge of the town next to a large swimming pool. It, and the swimming pool, are well signed from the centre of the town. The entrance seems a bit tight but its fine if you pull out into the opposite lane before finally turning in.

A fairly typical Municipal campsite although this one is open all year which is useful for people travelling to Spain during the winter. It is situated in a semi urban environment although mainly between the river, swimming pool and municipal park across from the campsite.

There are around 120 pitches in total all are on grass and delineated by hedges. Size varies but most are quite generous. Included in the total number of pitches are eight special motorhome pitches which have a metal all weather grid set into the ground. Electric points use CEE17 blue connectors and are rated at 6 amps. Whilst the points are convenient to most pitches we had to take our lead through the hedge to get to the box on the next row.

Water points are set out around the site but grey water waste can only be disposed of at the motorhome service point or the chemical emptying point in the toilet block. There is one toilet block which is accessed by a key code lock. It has unseated toilets but paper is provided in the cubicles. There are also covered dish washing and laundry facilities.

In terms of quality the facilities are functional rather than luxurious. However given that you are only paying £10 a night you can’t expect the Ritz? For children there is a small playground. Free WiFi is available around the reception.

The town centre of Soissons is within walking distance of the site with its many restaurants and bars. Next door to the site is a large swimming complex. There are cycling opportunities from the site. In and around Soissons there are a number of supermarkets.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Thechief 3 reviews from this member

Booked a night here on the way back North at the end of August.

I am amazed that this site has scored 9 out of 10 in previous reviews.

We found the site very tired (predictable at the end of August?). There was next to no grass on our small pitch. The showers were very cobwebby and the mens loos were a little disgusting.

We had to run our electricity cable across the front of someone else's emplacement.

There was a lot of noise until about 3 in the morning. I don't know for certain, but I suspect it was actually from outside the site. The site is secure though with quite a large fence and security gate that gets closed. You need a magnetic key (30 euro deposit) to be able to open the gate once it is closed.

On the way there we followed the satnav and ended up driving through the centre of a reasonable sized town.

We were pleased to leave the next morning and drove up to Zeebrugge in about 3 hours.

The staff were friendly and helpful though. We won't be back.

Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jackpiuk 1 review from this member

First time here stayed 2 nights 23/24 jan. 2 berth autoquest 120. Access good and level. On way down t Spain. Good site all amenities convenient. Value for money covers it all. Am now planning my return stay 1/2 mar. On my way back. Expect another review. Sites are only true second time round I feel. The twin tower church is a spectacle on its own. Definite re-visit was on the books when I left.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Elaine-n-Trev 30 reviews from this member

I really liked this site. We arrived mid October, the chap at the reception was efficient and told us where to park we have a campervan, so there is a special section. It was cheap at 14. 10 euros including electricity and WIFI. I guess the only issue was the fact that there were on a couple of electricity boxes, so there were electric cables from some campervans across the site road, which meant driving over them. But the toilets were clean and for one night we were happy. I think it might be worthwhile visiting in warmer weather as there were lots of places to walk. It was easy to find which is always a bonus.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Reido 4 reviews from this member

We spent 10 hot sunny days here at the beginning of September. Very pleasant site with reasonable sized pitches. There were larger ones than ours but we chose it because of the afternoon & evening sun. The facilities were clean although a bit cobwebby with plenty of hot water. Toilet paper but no seats, except for the disabled one in the ladies which had both. The showers were fairly small with one hook, tiny shelf and push button water, but it was always hot morning and evening. Good dishwashing area and huge clothes washing sinks as well as a machine and dryer, which took a very large load so we didn't use it, just did a few t shirts by hand using the very useful communal washing lines! Most other visitors seemed just to be passing through but we found plenty to do around and about, (castles, cathedrals and a bit of ww1 & ww2 history) There was lots of local information available in reception, in fact it was better than the tourist office in town! Cost for per night 2 adults tent, car & ehu €15. 75

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bwookie 5 reviews from this member

This site was very good, really cheap[ about 15 euros] very quiet and close to town which had a fab market on saturday with a 1 euro stall which was amazing!we stayed there to go to the tour de france in paris, drove to a train station called metry claye [loads of free parking] and then it was 10 euros return to paris.

I would recommend this campsite.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frogman14 17 reviews from this member

Nice site, good size pitches, separated by hedges, all sanitaires were clean and tidy any time of day, despite there being a number of school camps with lots of young children. As said previous prices are €3, 5 for everything, so g good value, . Moderately convenient for town with a bit of a walk.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Badger54 16 reviews from this member

We have used this site twice this year as a final 2-night stopover before driving to Calais and the ferry. It is very easy to find in Soissons, and adjoins a park with lots of sporting facilities close at hand - - the indoor and outdoor pools are right next door, and are apparently free if you are staying at the site.

Pitches are a reasonable size (some are very large) and all have EHU. There are also about 10 pitches set aside solely for MH's and these have semi hard-standing. The ablutions block is fine and on both our trips this year has been clean and tidy.

A 5 minute walk along the river takes you into the town which can keep you occupied for a while as there are many shops and a market twice a week. For those 'just run out of' groceries there is also a Lidl about a 10 minute walk away. The pricing is very simple, as everything seems to be 3. 05 euros - - my bill was 2 x adults, 1 x MH, 1 x EHU, a total of 12. 20 euros a night (our dog and internet access were both free).

I have to say we really enjoy this site as it is comfortable, quiet, and gives us the chance to stroll around the pleasant town and parks before heading for home.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4855 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019