Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping De La Croix Saint Martin

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Auvergne > Vichy > Camping De La Croix Saint Martin > Reviews

Camping De La Croix Saint Martin
99 Avenue Des Graviers
Vichy
Auvergne   (Browse area)
03200
Tel: +33 04 70326774
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 It's a few years since we were last here, so as we like the town of Vichy very much, decided to stay again.

Not a lot has changed since last time, the couple who run the site are very friendly and helpful.

We cycled into the town along the river, a good route, but I did observe that parts of it were quite isolated, so wouldn't want to be there on my own.

We found some previously undiscovered areas of the town, the architecture is amazing, and we found that they have plans to refurbish the old square outside the Opera House, it will be wonderful when it is completed. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 98 reviews from this member

 Well, after the previous comprehensive reviews, I have little factual information to add. However.

What a lovely site this is! It has a natural, open feel to it and the access to the excellent cycle/walking paths as detailed is a real bonus.

The owners are charming, so friendly and informative about the area.

Bread (some of the best we have had) is from the local bakery and available to order at reception - or its a 15-20 minute walk to get your own!

The toilets and showers (water could do with being a little hotter at this time of year) are unisex at the moment - and there is now a higher than average toilet (with a handle on the cubicle wall- presumably in case of vertigo when using it) to complement the lower ones. All modern and kept clean.

For shopping there is also a large Lidl on the main road from Abrest to Vichy, which we found quieter to drive to than the supermarkets at Bellerive.

In addition to the delights of Vichy and the local area we had a trip to the Puy de Dome (about an hour using the motorway and well worth the 6 euro 40 toll) - the views from the top over the Chaine des Volcans are amazing and we highly recommend a visit.

This site is now definitely a firm favourite and one to return to. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 116 reviews from this member

 The campsite is just on the border of Vichy and Abrest. The pitches vary from large to enormous. They are all flat, well drained and shaded all about by mature plane trees. There is a medium sized covered heated swimming pool and fitness circuits for the more muscular camper.

The electricity is 10 amp using the standard European blue plug and the free wi-fi has a good strong signal but it is based on a Hotspot so is not secure.

A negative, and there always has to be one, is the sanitaires. They are clean, recently decorated and enclosed, but the toilet bowls are the size for children. The user is required to perform contortions found only in advanced yoga manuals and even then is not guaranteed a safe landing. Toilette paper is provided.

The water in the showers and basins does not really get above warm.

It is extremely easy to walk/cycle into Vichy through the parks and esplanades that border the Allier for several miles.

The town itself with its shopping arcades is very pedestrian friendly and the beautiful wrought iron promenades around the Opera are not to be missed. Drink the spa water only if you like the smell of farts, although the French think it is good for you.

Also in easy cycling distance, over the bridge to Bellerive, are Lidl, McDonalds and a very large LeClerc.

Overall as it is such a nice town and a very convenient campsite (except the sanitaires) we will definitely return 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 51 reviews from this member

 This is a small campsite in what feels like a residential/industrial area when approached through the town. However, it is down a lane and has a very rural feel, with lots of shade. We had some of the best dog walking of the whole holiday.

The wardens (Judith and Didier - he speaks English) were charming and keen to ensure that we were happy with everything. We were allocated a pitch towards the bottom of the site which was plenty big enough for caravan, awning and car.

The walk into Vichy along the river bank was most enjoyable, as there is parkland all along the way. There are a couple of bigger sites across the other side of the river, but this suited us fine.

The wash block was separated into male and female. It's possible that the facilities may be stretched in high season, but they were fine when we were there and the site seemed fairly full.

A small swimming pool is off to one side and has a perspex roof and removable sides. It seemed quite popular.

Vichy is an attractive interesting town and well worth a visit. We spent a fascinating couple of hours at a little museum with African and Asian artefacts.

We stayed 3 nights at ACSI rates. This is an ideal stop over point and worth spending a couple of days here. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We chose this site from the ACSI book as we wanted to visit the town of Vichy. It is situated just outside the town along the riverside, though not actually on the river. We followed the satnav, and were glad to arrive after coming through the town.

The friendly warden booked us in quickly and allocated a pitch, which was flat and grassy and had welcome shade. The site is very quiet and well kept.

The sanitary block was nearby, with separate facilities for men and women, all very clean. Washing up is inside, and the water was hot.

There is a playground for small children, and a nice heated swimming pool. There's a small shop and snack bar at reception.

At the rear of reception is a place that appears to be a cycle hire. They seem to own the parking outside the campsite, as when I asked if we could leave the van there in the morning whilst we visited the town, we were told that we couldn't, but were welcome to leave the van on the pitch, and could leave through the automatic barrier at any time.

We cycled into the town, most of the route is along a riverside park/leisure/promenade area. It took about 15 mins. The town is delightful, lovely architecture, and well worth a visit.

We really enjoyed our stay here, and would certainly return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blunmurr 12 reviews from this member

 Good clean riverside site. Cycle path takes you all the way into town along the river. Flat large pitches that are generally well spaced. Wide avenues and adequate space make it easy to pitch your unit. Sanitary facilities were excellent. Reception area was closed for part of the day so check first. Large off road parking area outside reception. We originally found it difficult to find and although we went through the busy town, this could have been avoided if wed studied the map rather than use a sat nav. Very good free wi-fi. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping De La Croix Saint Martin child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping De La Croix Saint Martin have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping De La Croix Saint Martin?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping De La Croix Saint Martin dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Vichy      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Auvergne

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57054 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement