Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beaver Hall Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Leek > Beaver Hall Certificated Site Reviews

Beaver Hall Certificated Site
Bradnop
Leek
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST13 7EZ
Tel: 01538 304433
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 6 Caravan Hardstanding Pitches & a camping field
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 15 Reviews
                7/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Clemina2002 2 reviews from this member

I would not recommend this place. There are two toilets for everyone and one of them also has the only shower in it so as you can imagine in the morning when you need to go to the toilet you can be standing and waiting for ages. These toilets are also the toilets used by everyone using the equestrian centre also. They are a very poor quality also - a blind had fallen off the window, a dirty changing mat was leant up against a dirty window etc. They are so unhygienic and fairly disgusting toilets/shower facilities. They are also used by all of the horse/pony club members and at the weekend it is very busy. The toilets then have straw all over them from the stables which will of course have horse poo on it also. These toilets and shower are not fit for use for campers.

The sinks do not have any hot water. Its not that they ran out of hot water, I donít actually think they provide hot water to the sinks in the toilets.

I am told by someone that has been here before that they use to have a portacabin toilet / shower area but this isnít here now.

There is nowhere to wash any cups/plates. The only thing that is nice about this campsite is the cafe. Camping/touring campers etc are definitely not their priority.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: PHolds 8 reviews from this member

This site is amazing for children. There is a petting type farm with Lamas, sheep, donkeys, pigs, snakes, meerkats et. Al.

The site is situated within an Equestrian Centre, so whilst horse jumping, Dressage and the like is not entirely my cup of tea, it is certainly something you don't see every day, and to be fair is a spectacle when viewed live.

They have done wonders here with some land they have; there are 20 acres all planted up with approx. 12, 000 trees albeit very young ones. In 10 to 15 years this will be a sight to behold, and much respect to the owners for this extensive plantation. This makes for a reasonable wildlife walk around the grounds.

There are pony rides for the children and a fairly decent swings and other kiddie stuff.

The Cafe on site is BRILLIANT. You will struggle to find a better full English breakfast. The cakes are superb. Everything is freshly cooked, so don't expect fast food.

The only down side to this site is the showers and toilets.

It would be hugely improved if there was just one more shower and perhaps a couple more toilets.

But to finish; if you want a weekend away with the children, this is the site. Totally brilliant.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 86 reviews from this member

We spent a week at Beaver Hall to rendezvous with our family who had come down from Scotland. On arrival our reception was polite but brusque. We were told to take any vacant pitch, but there was a group booking for three pitches which limited choice. The heavens had opened in the previous few days and the top two pitches had waterlogged grass areas and were not really usable. We were left with Pitch 1 - next to the cess-pit! It The site slopes from bottom to top and in addition all pitches were sloping the opposite way. Without the motor mover we would have been in trouble.

The views are lovely and the pitches are in a quiet location. Unfortunately the toilet/shower facilities (only two, unisex, and shared with the Equestrian Centre) were sited in the main equestrian centre yard. Some way from the pitches. They were, however, always cleaned. The washing up sink was a disgrace. Only cold water; always dirty with a generous collection of dead flies - and next to the cess-pit.

The on-site cafe is a saving grace of the site. It serves teas, coffees, snacks, & breakfasts (all day) at reasonable prices.

There are animals on site for children (of all ages) to see, as well as some swings at the top of the site. In addition two groups of ducks were regular visitors - and always hungry!

Leek town, Rudyard lake, Peak Wildlife Park, Alton Towers, Tittesworth Resevoir and Ashbourne are all easily reached in a short distance, whilst Trentham gardens and Buxton are also within 'getatable' distance, which does make Beaver Hall a useful base.

However at £20 a night the site is well over-priced for the level of facilities, the state of the pitches and general standard of the site.

Would we go back? Never say 'never' - but we won't be rushing!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Timball 4 reviews from this member

A most excellent site. Very well run and nothing is too much trouble for the owners. David met us on arrival and made sure we were happy with the pitch. Outstanding views and everything was very well kept. We visited the cafe every morning for a big breakfast which was excellent value and consisted of, as advertised, locally sourced produce. The horse events that go on daily are most interesting as are the other activities this location offers. We will return for sure. This site is recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lisalongmore 3 reviews from this member

Liked: The camping pitches are down through the the farm, and therefore have a view of the fields and farms beyond. The pitches are well marked and although they don't take motor homes as we were a campervan they allowed us to stay. The owners seemed very helpful and the cafe is great~the paninis were lovely. There are walks out across the fields from the pitches, which was great as we have a dog. As you are at the back of the farm, any noise from the road is minimal and the horse boxes arriving for an event in the car park next to the camping pitches were no bother. It felt very relaxed in that as long as you weren't doing anything or parked where you shouldn't they were happy

: You are a little way from the toilets and there is only 1 shower but as it's mainly caravans ( who normally have there own showers ) it shouldn't be to much of a problem

There is a smell from the cesspit if your on pitch 1 which might be worse if the weather is hot. We were able to move our awning to the other side so it wasn't a problem for us.

There is no hot water in the washing up area, but as we had EHU we boiled the kettle.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J Brown 5 reviews from this member

I stayed at this fantastic site for 3 nights to 'get away from it all'.

Firstly, I had a fantastic, relaxing break!

The site is exactly what I like about touring.

Fantastic customer service. Greeted on arrival and told about all the amenities. Didn't even get out the car. Was told everything I needed to know. On my last day I was packing up the caravan when I discovered that my car battery had died. I went to the on-site cafe (Sunday morning and it was VERY busy). Explained. They came around in minutes in some of the worst weather I have seen this year and got me back on the road in no time!

The views are breath-taking. I was looking out on to fields, hills and a railway track that has a steam train running about twice a day at the weekend. Bring your camera!

I did not use the showers or toilet. The caravan has both.

I only use a small aerial and usually hope for the best. The reception was fantastic here.

The pitches are hard standing with everything you need. Even a grassy area to relax on when the weather is good.

I would highly recommend you come to this site! I have found a little Gem!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sophielock 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site over a weekend in August 2013. This campsite is part of a busy equestrian centre. There are views, but it's a working stables so don't expect uninterrupted rural-splendour-type views from your pitch.

The Good Stuff about this site: great cafe with good food, friendly staff and reasonable cafe prices.

The Not-so-good Stuff: caravan pitches are OK but a bit 'car-park-ey'; cesspit area was close to the lower (caravan) pitches and smelt pretty bad; but the 2 loos and the 1 shower were not close to pitches, so they're a (short) hike and in short supply. There are definitely not enough loo/shower facilities for the site; (equestrian centre/cafe customers share facilities with campers so expect loo/shower queues). Also, there is constant traffic noise from the nearby Leek-Ashbourne road.

I'm afraid I wouldn't return to this campsite or recommend it. Sorry. The cafe food is great though.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nellymosser 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful!

Small 5 pitch site in equestrian centre. Also does glamping in bell tents set in peaceful field lit at night with fairy lights. Pitches are comfortable and don't intrude on each other - they are on a gentle slope so bring your levellers. Toilet facilities are very good. Lovely large clean unisex shower room with sink and loo plus one other separate loo and sink.

NB: Ratings for Child Friendliness and Site Fcilities mean different things to different people. I rated 9s and 10s because I loved the uncluttered site with wide open spaces to be in as well as considering the size of the site. You may prefer a pub and brightly coloured playpark. See Alton Towers for those.

Owners are unbelievably helpful and work hard to provide good service.

7 miles from Alton Towers. Perfect antidote to the sweaty heaving mass of bodies in the 2 hour queue for the Smiler! Views of stunning countryside offset with horses gently grazing close by.

There is a lot of grassy area for kids to play in but I would suggest that this place is about tranquility. Expect to be up close to nature. This is a working farm focussing on horse livery so you can book your kids onto pony rides (in advance, I think). They have two cute little Shetland ponies. In such an environment, of course, very small kids will need to learn stay clear of horses - but then there are precious few cars to worry about!

On site coffee shop really is excellent. Good quality food freshly cooked. Great cakes! Bacon butties are very moreish. Generally open 10 till 5 but can be later if they have a horsey event on - dressage and showjumping are regular here.

We stayed for two nights in a twin axle - 2 adults and 1 (almost) teenager.

PS: Confused by previous reviewer complaining about the sticky mud going into their caravan. Surely this is an environmental issue and not a reflection of a campsite.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Esman 6 reviews from this member

A quite exposed site with limestone hardstandings which, whilst high and well-drained, were sufficiently wet and crumbly to make it difficult not to carry it into the awning and caravan.

More annoying was the very poor state of the toilets; dirty with continually wet floors. More importantly though was the lack of water to the wash basins and the single shower (in contrast to the water on the floor !)

Hook up seemed ok, only failing once and the water to the very convenient stand pipe was fairly constant - given the cold weather.

At £18 per night, I'd have expected better.

We won't be back, I'm afraid.

Management response: The review made in April by Esam is unfair as this was during a very cold spell whilst we were frozen up which developed a leek in the toilet which was repaired straight away.

The site was muddy as we also experienced an awful amount of rain & very bad weather during March/ April not a normal occurrence, campers must have been brave to camp in the first place.

As all previous reviews have been very good we feel this comment does not portray a true picture of our very friendly site.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allison71 3 reviews from this member

Spent the Jubilee Bank Holiday weekend at this site and can happily report that drainage on and around the hard-standing pitches is superb. 24 hours of rain & still no mud! Water & EHU are handy for each pitch.

The owners are also addressing the toilet/shower situation, with a large portable cabin installed just before our arrival containing separate ladies & gents toilets, basins & showers. There are clearly some teething problems, but no doubt these will soon be resolved.

At the owner's suggestion, we visited the Marquis of Granby in Ipstones and had a fantastic meal. We can also recommend the Jervis Arms in Onecote. Breakfast at the on-site cafe is also recommended.

We needed to take care exiting the gated area during the day, due to the number of horseboxes in the car park.

This site is easy to find and convenient for the South-Western area of the Peak District. For cycling, the Manifold Trail is nearby and takes you through some beautiful scenery.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4127 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019